Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask)
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material


Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 ...
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout blanket provides value and durability in one!Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier polyester outer shell Coat polishing polyester lining Patented front leg arches Straight front closures Compatible with the Horseware ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing your ...
The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is to ...
The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Favorite Features Waterproof & ...
Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic blanket for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Favorite Features 600 Denier Polyester Outer Waterproof and Breathable Coat Polishing Polyester Lined Patented Front ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.246376811594203 out of 5 by 138.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great in theory I bought this because my QH has developed an allergy to gnats and her vet recommended she wear a flymask with ears as the gnats really attacked the insides of her ears. This particular fly mask is great in design to keep it away from the eyes but for my horse, she almost immediately slung it off. I did have to return it and of course, SmartPak was as great as always in accepting the returned item. I am exchanging the Rambo mask for a different style, hopefully I'll have better luck! In rating it, I can only give 3 stars as I really don't know how durable the mask is in actual day-to-day use but the quality does seem like it would hold up very well.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly mask every fits my horse like a dream, a little large for my little girl but not their fault, covers all that needs to be covered including the nose but does not bother eating. Not close to the eves. Love the way it has the double closures and easy way with the tab to open
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have product for anyone who has a horse with uveitis. I've tried all the fly masks out there and this one is superior the rest.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask Great Fly Mask overall, but used it for eye injury, which worked excellent due to the fact it kept the mask away from the eye, which a lot of fly masks do not. My vet loved it too!!!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fabulous Intergalactic Beekeeper Helmet! I love this product! My horse has a chronic eye condition, and I love that this mask does not even come near his eyes! He wears it 24/7 and it has lasted for about a year and a half. It has soft, thin padding along the edges, and has never caused any rubs to his ears or head. Also, the wide "brim" (if you will) acts like an early-warning system and keeps him from bumping his head into things, since his vision is not the best, and he likes to hide in trees. I took the nose flap off, as my picky pony (read: spoiled dressage horse) does not believe the benefits outweigh the sheer irritation of wearing that particular accessory. As far as upkeep, I recommend using a hose with strong water pressure to rinse it if it gets dirty, and hand- rather than machine-washing if you want it to last forever. That being said, they do stand up to the washing machine fairly well, but I've had too many a fly-mask rip in the washing machine to risk this -considerably more expensive- one's life too often. Also, this product runs a little large. My horse has a large head (partly because he's obviously fabulous, and mostly because he's 18 hands tall), but it's slender/refined, so the horse-size is almost too big for him as far as width. However, his large ears (for which there is ample room in the "ear sleeves") seem to work to counteract and stabilize this factor. All that being said, it's definitely worth the extra money and will last much longer than most of the other fly masks I have tried.... And yes, I do call it his "Intergalactic Beekeeper Helmet" because in addition to being a fabulous fly mask, that's what it looks like. Hope this was helpful!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, But Beware of Color Choice ! I've reviewed the Rambo Plus Flymasks before. Absolutely love them!However, I recently purchased the newer colors (Silver mesh / Blue trim and Silver mesh / Purple trim) and will be returning them immediately. The older Oatmeal mesh / Black trim flymasks are very easy to see through. However, the new silver mesh on the Blue and Purple trimmed flymasks reflects light and makes it very difficult to see. This was true both looking directly at the sun and indoors. A shame really, because I love the idea of different colored trim.I've just ordered another 6 of the older oatmeal / black Rambo Plus Flymasks. It is still my absolute favorite flymasks and our horses like them, too!
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this flymask! This flymask may look quite silly on your horse, but it does its job and it does it well! It's very sturdy! My favorite feature of this flymask is the fact that it's virtually impossible for the mask/mesh to have contact with their eyes. This way there is no chance of rubbing the eye and causing a number of eye problems (even blindness!) My horse rolls as soon as he steps foot in the pasture, and this mask has not bent or misshapen AT ALL. It is reassuring knowing there is virtually no way the mask can mash into his eyes and cause damage.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horse gets it off Nice design but my horse slipped it off her head too easily. Back to basic Smart Pak mask. Just wish it had a nose cover.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly mask!!! I bought this about a month ago and am in love with it! It stays on my horses head keeps the bugs out doesn't create rub and fits great I did Size down like they say to and got the cob instead of horse which fit great! The fly mask keeps out of his eyes and works great!
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not recommended Doesn't fit a normal horse head well. And does not stay on well. The straps are stiff and it is difficult to get it to not gap. I ended up taking the long nose section off as it simply hit my horse's nose in a place where it appeared to be more awkward than helpful.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Coverage So, it's big. It covers most of the face, and quite a bit under the jaw that many masks don't cover. My appy has a larger-than-normal head, and it is roomy on him. The ears are plenty big, they might even work for a mule. All the edges are rounded and very soft, I don't think it's possible for it to rub or cut anywhere. I am able to put his halter over it when I bring him in from the pasture. He gets itchy, which I think might be related to his forelock being held inside, so when I take it off I scratch his whole head for him, and then he's good to go. Does not seem to mind when I put it back on. It has not yet come loose or lopsided. The Velcro strips are wide and covered in soft fabric so it doesn't collect hair or grass by being exposed.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great design I bought this a few ago and have to say it is nicely made. I haven't put it on my QH yet as he hasn't needed it. I am sure in the next week or so he will. He has a white blaze that is prone to sunburn and this nose piece is nice, not sure how he will do with the ears being covered.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not holding up very well I bought two of these fly masks and within a few weeks, both had started to fray pretty significantly at the end of the nose piece. My other issue with them is that hay strands and small sticks get stuck in the holes of the mask, especially on the nose piece of course since that's the part closest to the ground, and can be pretty uncomfortable for the horse, poking him in the nose. The mask does hold its shape well and it does have enough structure to stay off his eyes but I don;t think I'd buy another one.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific fly mask! My horse has been wearing this about 3 weeks now. It stays put, and the large eye area is great. Her previous masks were always too close to her eyes and would sometimes rub, plus she would frequently take it off herself. So far she hasn't gotten this one off and seems very comfortable in it.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mask! We have a draft cross with a wide face, and very heavy/thick eye-lids. This makes finding a mask that doesn't poke her in the eye a challenge! We tried several others, including ones similar to this that just didn't work. This one is absolutely perfect - it keeps the mask far away from her eyes. Our vet and farrier have even commented on how nice it is! We've had it about a month so far, and it has held up very well. They definitely run large - we've usually bought draft sized masks for her, and the horse size fits her just right.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd sizing This looked great and was made of quality materials. I did return it because my QH who usually wears a small horse didn't seem to fit any of the sizes. The cob wouldn't latch around her jaw or nose by several inches and the horse was way too large. Also there are 2 places where you have to Velcro and neither is locking so I fear pasture mates would get this off.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great design, but incredibly short lived! I bought this fly mask a) to keep my eye irritation-prone mare from getting poked in the eyes by her mask and b) because she's a big roller, rubber, and all around destructive horse when it comes to the gear I turn her out in. It's a little pricier than I was initially looking for, but between the design and my trust in Rambo's (usually) durable product line, I thought it'd be worth a shot. Unfortunately, while I loved the design, I was super bummed when it fell apart about 3 weeks After that time, the structure of the fly mask popped out some time when she was in the pasture, rendering it virtually useless - see photos. The idea is great, but it's for the price point of the mask relative to comparable alternatives, it's not durable enough to be worth the investment. Pretty disappointed in Rambo on this one.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A quality product! I purchased this mask for my mare a few months ago after looking and researching numerous flymasks. I am so glad that I settled on this one. While we all joke around the barn that she is the resident bee-keeper, because it is somewhat larger than your average flymask, no one can fault the mask for not doing it's job. The eye guards draw the mask away from her face preventing her from rubbing while also providing enough room for her halter underneath. This mask has lasted longer than any others.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Cute My mare goes through fly masks quicker then I can order them!She takes them off, rips them, and who knows what else. She has had this one for 2 months now and she hasn't gotten it off or ripped it. Kind of a miracle!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea but not quite there... Bought this about 2 months ago. Loved that it was far away from his eye lashes and eyes to prevent rubbing but within the month the metal piece that holds the fly mask out and round poked through the side and now it is limp and bothers his eyes and face. Love the idea, just needs to be more durable. I had no rips in it but my horse isn't the type to rip his mask off and since the metal band holding it away from his face poked through the mesh, it is useless to me now. Way too expensiclve or only a months use.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems durable The cob was just a little too small for my 16h mare, but the full is a little too big and came off a few times until barn staff started adjusting it differently. A full fits my 17h gelding perfectly. Stays off their eyes better than a regular mask.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on and fits well The design keeps the fly mask from rubbing on the horses eyes. It fits very well, stays on and my horse seems comfortable in it. It is a little awkward getting the halter on so you might need to let the halter out a notch or two to get it over the front of the flymask. Overall I think it is a great product.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality fly mask I really like this mask because of the roominess around the eyes. I have a small mare and the cob size fit her perfectly. It seems quite durable and comfortable for her. I like the extra, removable nose protection, and the personalization is very cute.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awesome looking, but lost in field now! My gelding got out of this mask on day 2 or 3. Granted, he hasn't worn a mask before....I have yet to find it, as we have extremely large, multiple pastures. It's too bad, since the mask really looked to be of nice quality. However, I've since ordered some cheaper backups.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago and it is the only fly mask that my horse does not take off! It looks ridiculous but it does the job of protection .and does not irritate the eye lashes!!
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good design, good fit Put this on the 1/2 Arabian gelding I'm leasing yesterday. I was concerned that the line of fabric that keeps the mask away from his eyes would spook him, but within 5 minutes of wearing the mask he was eating and drinking as normal. My gelding is 16.1 and wears a normal horse size bridle, but I sized down to cob size mask based on recommendations from reviews. The length is good on his face, but the Velcro closure is almost too small. I feel that either the horse or cob sizes would work for my gelding, so I would size down at buyer's discretion. Overall very pleased with fit and quality, and the silver/purple color is awesome. My only complaint with design is the rear closure with hook and loop design hits right behind my geldings jaw with the potential to be drawn too tight.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite fly mask! I buy these new for my gelding every year. They last the longest with how he like to destroy his fly masks! Very durable and hard for him to get off on his own. Offers great protection from bugs and sun! Only fly mask I'll purchase anymore.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very interesting concept i purchased 2 of these for my horses this past "fly season".....the band across the eyes flipped both of them out, and they are well behaved gentlemen.....i returned them after seeing the interaction in handling my horses in & out of the pasture. perhaps someone gets lucky & finds one that does not discomfort their field of sight. both were returned, no questions asked, but did info with the tech. Smartpak is the bomb!!!!!! love, love, love! so no slam on them
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mask stays on - all day!! My horse can get out of any fly mask within minutes. Except this one. He tries scraping it off on the trees in his pasture, but it holds fast. The ears are starting to look a little rough, but they don't have any holes yet. My guy takes regular horse sized everything, so I ordered regular. It was snug, I was afraid the Velcro wouldn't reach, but it did. Any larger and the bugs would get in it. Definitely worth the price. The only mask that has worked for me. Mask never touches his eyes, so no irritation, even with him rubbing it so much
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask. One big problem. I bought this mask because I was tired of all the other masks that would, with time, end up rubbing on my horses eyes. I loved that this one had a band that would keep it away from his eyes. The problem is the placement of that band. On my horse, it goes right across his field of vision. He couldn't see well because of that band, and he was very spooky with it on.
Date published: 2016-05-17
  • 2016-10-24T12:42CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders