Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask)
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material

Imported

Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

Customers Also Shopped For
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
Description:
Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
Description:
A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over.Favorite Features Waterproof VELCRO brand and double buckle closure prevents ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Sheet offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
Description:
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with ...
Description:
Add to your SmartPink and SmartBlue collection with these fun sheets exlusively from SmartPak! Favorite Features Polished stainless steel hardware Detachable elastic leg straps Nylon lined shoulders to prevent rubs Fleece at withers Double front buckles and two belly surcingles ...
Top of the line features that no other ...
Description:
Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Favorite Feature Waterproof ...
The Weatherbeeta 1200D FREESTYLE High Neck Turnout is ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta 1200D FREESTYLE High Neck Turnout is a premium WeatherBeeta turnout that combines innovative fabric technologies, with leading functional features to give your horse the ultimateProtection while allowing freedom of movement. Favorite Features 1200 Denier Triple Weave Strength outer ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.21259842519685 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great design I bought this a few ago and have to say it is nicely made. I haven't put it on my QH yet as he hasn't needed it. I am sure in the next week or so he will. He has a white blaze that is prone to sunburn and this nose piece is nice, not sure how he will do with the ears being covered.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not holding up very well I bought two of these fly masks and within a few weeks, both had started to fray pretty significantly at the end of the nose piece. My other issue with them is that hay strands and small sticks get stuck in the holes of the mask, especially on the nose piece of course since that's the part closest to the ground, and can be pretty uncomfortable for the horse, poking him in the nose. The mask does hold its shape well and it does have enough structure to stay off his eyes but I don;t think I'd buy another one.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific fly mask! My horse has been wearing this about 3 weeks now. It stays put, and the large eye area is great. Her previous masks were always too close to her eyes and would sometimes rub, plus she would frequently take it off herself. So far she hasn't gotten this one off and seems very comfortable in it.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mask! We have a draft cross with a wide face, and very heavy/thick eye-lids. This makes finding a mask that doesn't poke her in the eye a challenge! We tried several others, including ones similar to this that just didn't work. This one is absolutely perfect - it keeps the mask far away from her eyes. Our vet and farrier have even commented on how nice it is! We've had it about a month so far, and it has held up very well. They definitely run large - we've usually bought draft sized masks for her, and the horse size fits her just right.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd sizing This looked great and was made of quality materials. I did return it because my QH who usually wears a small horse didn't seem to fit any of the sizes. The cob wouldn't latch around her jaw or nose by several inches and the horse was way too large. Also there are 2 places where you have to Velcro and neither is locking so I fear pasture mates would get this off.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great design, but incredibly short lived! I bought this fly mask a) to keep my eye irritation-prone mare from getting poked in the eyes by her mask and b) because she's a big roller, rubber, and all around destructive horse when it comes to the gear I turn her out in. It's a little pricier than I was initially looking for, but between the design and my trust in Rambo's (usually) durable product line, I thought it'd be worth a shot. Unfortunately, while I loved the design, I was super bummed when it fell apart about 3 weeks After that time, the structure of the fly mask popped out some time when she was in the pasture, rendering it virtually useless - see photos. The idea is great, but it's for the price point of the mask relative to comparable alternatives, it's not durable enough to be worth the investment. Pretty disappointed in Rambo on this one.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A quality product! I purchased this mask for my mare a few months ago after looking and researching numerous flymasks. I am so glad that I settled on this one. While we all joke around the barn that she is the resident bee-keeper, because it is somewhat larger than your average flymask, no one can fault the mask for not doing it's job. The eye guards draw the mask away from her face preventing her from rubbing while also providing enough room for her halter underneath. This mask has lasted longer than any others.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Cute My mare goes through fly masks quicker then I can order them!She takes them off, rips them, and who knows what else. She has had this one for 2 months now and she hasn't gotten it off or ripped it. Kind of a miracle!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea but not quite there... Bought this about 2 months ago. Loved that it was far away from his eye lashes and eyes to prevent rubbing but within the month the metal piece that holds the fly mask out and round poked through the side and now it is limp and bothers his eyes and face. Love the idea, just needs to be more durable. I had no rips in it but my horse isn't the type to rip his mask off and since the metal band holding it away from his face poked through the mesh, it is useless to me now. Way too expensiclve or only a months use.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems durable The cob was just a little too small for my 16h mare, but the full is a little too big and came off a few times until barn staff started adjusting it differently. A full fits my 17h gelding perfectly. Stays off their eyes better than a regular mask.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on and fits well The design keeps the fly mask from rubbing on the horses eyes. It fits very well, stays on and my horse seems comfortable in it. It is a little awkward getting the halter on so you might need to let the halter out a notch or two to get it over the front of the flymask. Overall I think it is a great product.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality fly mask I really like this mask because of the roominess around the eyes. I have a small mare and the cob size fit her perfectly. It seems quite durable and comfortable for her. I like the extra, removable nose protection, and the personalization is very cute.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awesome looking, but lost in field now! My gelding got out of this mask on day 2 or 3. Granted, he hasn't worn a mask before....I have yet to find it, as we have extremely large, multiple pastures. It's too bad, since the mask really looked to be of nice quality. However, I've since ordered some cheaper backups.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a month ago and it is the only fly mask that my horse does not take off! It looks ridiculous but it does the job of protection .and does not irritate the eye lashes!!
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good design, good fit Put this on the 1/2 Arabian gelding I'm leasing yesterday. I was concerned that the line of fabric that keeps the mask away from his eyes would spook him, but within 5 minutes of wearing the mask he was eating and drinking as normal. My gelding is 16.1 and wears a normal horse size bridle, but I sized down to cob size mask based on recommendations from reviews. The length is good on his face, but the Velcro closure is almost too small. I feel that either the horse or cob sizes would work for my gelding, so I would size down at buyer's discretion. Overall very pleased with fit and quality, and the silver/purple color is awesome. My only complaint with design is the rear closure with hook and loop design hits right behind my geldings jaw with the potential to be drawn too tight.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite fly mask! I buy these new for my gelding every year. They last the longest with how he like to destroy his fly masks! Very durable and hard for him to get off on his own. Offers great protection from bugs and sun! Only fly mask I'll purchase anymore.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very interesting concept i purchased 2 of these for my horses this past "fly season".....the band across the eyes flipped both of them out, and they are well behaved gentlemen.....i returned them after seeing the interaction in handling my horses in & out of the pasture. perhaps someone gets lucky & finds one that does not discomfort their field of sight. both were returned, no questions asked, but did info with the tech. Smartpak is the bomb!!!!!! love, love, love! so no slam on them
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mask stays on - all day!! My horse can get out of any fly mask within minutes. Except this one. He tries scraping it off on the trees in his pasture, but it holds fast. The ears are starting to look a little rough, but they don't have any holes yet. My guy takes regular horse sized everything, so I ordered regular. It was snug, I was afraid the Velcro wouldn't reach, but it did. Any larger and the bugs would get in it. Definitely worth the price. The only mask that has worked for me. Mask never touches his eyes, so no irritation, even with him rubbing it so much
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask. One big problem. I bought this mask because I was tired of all the other masks that would, with time, end up rubbing on my horses eyes. I loved that this one had a band that would keep it away from his eyes. The problem is the placement of that band. On my horse, it goes right across his field of vision. He couldn't see well because of that band, and he was very spooky with it on.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! A fly mask that has lasted longer than 2 hours. He did get it off in 3 days but its not Dead yet! YEAH!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my horse loves this mask! Love this mask. My mare likes to sleep in the pasture and does comfortably. No rub marks anywhere. We've had this mask for 3 weeks the ears are snagged but still intact.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our new favorite fly mask! We have tried various masks which either rub our sensitive-skinned horses, or collapse on their eyes. We even had one brand that we had to cut the ears at the top because the ears weren't long enough! Enter the Rambo Plus flymask...It is very well constructed and doesn't rub nor collapse on the eyes. The ears are sufficiently long for our Hanoverian mares. The mask closes securely under the jaw so that the bugs aren't able to bite our girls under the jaw. These masks look funny and are heavier than most fly masks, so they take a bit of getting used to. They do run large -- both of our 16hh girls wear the cob size, and our 16.2hh girl wears the horse size. The nose pieces remove easily (velcro) to clean them, since those nose pieces can get pretty nasty. As far as cleaning the whole mask goes, we have found that it works well to soak them in a large bucket of soapy water and just spray them off; hang to dry. All in all, I believe the construction of these masks is very well-planned, and worth the more expensive cost.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My horse has always hated fly masks. I'm not sure if she has unusual eye position, or what...but most fly masks do not give enough eye clearance for her. Finally, got around to trying this mask...it is sturdy, and is far far away from her eyes. She is a warmblood and I ordered a horse size. It fits great. Definitely worth the price. Yes, it looks like she is wearing a lampshade, but she has fly and gnat relief at last!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea but... I have had this for about 2 weeks. My boy really doesn't like normal fly masks because they touch his eye lashes so I thought this was a great idea. Unfortunately when I went to put it on this morning the "band", for lack of a better word, that holds it away from his face was poking out - kind of like when your underwire bra goes bad. So I'm going to try and fix it but I don't think it has the normal Rambo durability we've come to expect.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally something stays off his eyes Love the way this fits his face just like the picture. However the ears are only taller but still very narrow. As a result my gelding is getting rubs on the sides of his ears! Better than bugs but unsightly when his mask is off.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I looked at everyone else's reviews and I'm glad I went a size down. I think horse size would have been too big for my mare. Fits and looks great!
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The search is over! I have an older Swedish Warmblood gelding who has recently developed a pretty severe case of uveitis. He is extremely sensitive to the sunlight but also hates wearing a flymask. If the mask touches his eyes at all he will just rub his face and irritate his eyes even further and or remove the mask. I have spent hundreds on flymasks trying to find one that he will keep on and that won't rub or irritate his eyes. I was skeptical to buy this mask based on the other reviews, but figured i didn't have much to loose at this point and everything to gain. I have only had it a few days so I can't speak as to its long term durability but I will say this mask is everything i have been needing and more! The double straps and snug fit keep the mask secure all day, the wire over the eyes ensure the mask stays away from his eyes even if he rubs his face, the wire keeps the shape of the mask and ensures his eyes are not bothered. He has not even offered to try to rub this mask off, i truly think its because it stays out of his eyes and gives him the comfort he has been lacking with other masks. The sizing is the tricky part, based on most of the reviews I ordered a smaller size that I usually get him. He's 15.3H and bridle/halter wise usually a cob size. I ordered the pony size in this mask and it fits perfectly. It is super silly looking, but that is a very minor price to pay to finally have the relief of UV protection and comfort i have been searching for!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great but a little bulky This mask works fine but is super bulky. Ear pockets are huge! So my horse looks funny but is not bothered by flies. Love the nose flap which covers his sun sensitive nose.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse size is too big-Rurned It's just too darn big. I have an average old-time type large Quarter Horse gelding. He takes a regular Horse size in everything on his head. This "Horse size" fly mask has ears 4 inches longer, more fit for a mule, and the nose flap hung 2 inches off his nose. Tightened up all the way there were gaps underneath flies could easily get in. If it fit, it would be a useful tool to keep the mask away from the horses eyes. It really looks dorky, but I can see in some circumstances, It would be useful to a horse with problem eyes, medicated eyes, or a mask rubber. Just downsize if you have to have it.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bee keeper look but awesome flymsk This style keeps the material from rubbing my mare's eyes. Stays put. Runs LARGE.
Date published: 2015-08-12
  • 2016-08-24T11:51CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders