Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Professional's Choice Clinician Halter

Professional's Choice
- Item #18900
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, has a smooth finish.

Favorite Features

  • Comes with a 15ft lead with poppers
  • Ideal for all groundwork
  • Strategically placed knots on pressure points to help maintain control

How To Tie a Rope Halter

Sizing It Up

Universal Size 5/16 inch in diameter with 15 foot lead


Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
Description:
The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that isSoft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful havana ...
Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, ...
Description:
Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, snap throat and adjustable nose, double crown buckles and solid brass hardware. Leather with navy cotton or hunter green cotton. Favorite Features Ends of webbing are reinforced with leather Adjustable noseband to ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple!The SmartPak Breakaway ...
Description:
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple!The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offersHeavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use. Favorite Features Adjustable Chin Brass ...
The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
Description:
The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Favorite Features Adjustable ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Description:
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is rated 4.55 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knots in the perfect spot I was having some ground work issues with my new Haffy & this rope halter really helped get my message across and because it is so thin & broken in - the pressure is released the second he gives in. Perfection!
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prof. choice rope halter I am using this halter to do Warwick Schiller horsemanship training. It is perfect!
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I bought this to use on my new horse...however it was too big and I didn't want to untie the knots top make it fit.He is still young. .so will probably purchase again when he is older.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clinician halter This halter has helped me work my horse with out a fight the regular halter we was fighting to lunge
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super happy with purchase I've bought two of these, just in case I misplace one. Comparable to much pricier brand.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter for my 2 year old Friesian! Would have given 5 stars but I was expecting a stiffer halter according to the reviews.Works great anyway.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The four knots. Love this product, it gives me the extra control I was looking for in a halter. With minimal pressure I get the response I was looking for.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training halter and lead Love it at a great price. Just as good as any expensive items sold by clinician s
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rope Halter! I bought this halter to use on my 5 y/o OTTB. It has been wonderful to use for groundwork so far. I really love the durable feel of the halter and the lead is the perfect length with a good weight to it. Overall great product!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter/Lead Combo My mare recently began pulling back when tied (she wasn't afraid-just doing it for fun to escape to eat grass until I found another halter to bring her back to the barn-too smart for her own good!) so I needed to go back to a rope halter and lead to use with the blocker tie ring to remind her to be a good girl but not be too harsh. This halter and lead rope was a great combination. It fits her well, looks great and gets the job done. The quality is as good as much more expensive brands.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value I purchased this after reading theReviews written by others who areUsing this product. It is well made and has a nice long lead. My trainer isHaving me do ground work with myNew horse who is a young gelding. We are working on manners and gettingHis attention. So far is seems to beA reliable product that is making myJob a little easier.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous halter and lead rope combo I have owned this halter and lead combo for a couple of years. I use the halter for ground work training. I added a snap to the lead rope and use it with a regular halter all the time. It is my favorite rope ever. It has a nice feel, is easy to tie with, and is long enough to do some "discipline lunging" in the event of a behavioral problem while leading. It has held up to heavy use very well.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic halter! An amazing halter for teaching ground manners. Identical to the Clinton Anderson halter that costs twice as much. I have used this halter on my mare for three years and its still in great condition. I just bought a second one for a new horse. This halter has become a staple in my training.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I started doing some basic ground work with my horse and needed something that he would respect a little more. The knots on the noseband did the trick. Its seems fine, I just thought it was a little pricey for what it is (it didnt seem as "rigid" as I had expected). The 15ft lead is perfect!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As far as fit - I'm not sure why so many have said these halters run small, my appendix has a big roman nose and wears a horse size in everything and he had more than enough room with this halter. You are supposed to have it a little more fitted and not hanging way off their head, but I still have more than enough room to tie it looser. For usefulness - I found this works better than a chain over the nose to get my stall rest/rehab horse to pay attention to me. The first time a trainer used a rope halter in my horse it was a wake up call even after having used a chain. I'm not a NH expert by any means, but I understand from someone else who is that the lead rope quality is very nice.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Tool My young Warmblood can be quite the handful and this halter has really helped with ground work. The lead line is a great length and the halter fits his big head just right!
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive but pushy horses! This halter fits my small TB gelding perfectly. It's very adjustable so I've used it on bigger horses with no issues either. My horse doesn't like when you use a chain over his nose but occasionally needs a reminder that I'm still attached to the end of the rope! This halter works out perfectly in times like that. The two extra knots on the nose give it a little more "oopmh" than a normal halter but does it without upsetting my horse. The lead rope is really long with a "popper" on the end that comes in handy when you're doing groundwork. I'd prefer if the lead was a bit shorter for just regular leading but it's soft and is easy to carry. I've had it for over a year now and it's holding up great. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a more responsive horse when leading or someone who's horse does not appreciate a chain over their nose, like mine.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Oops This rope halter is good quality and the lead is nice and long but the halter size is small. It hardly fits my 15hh QH. He does have a nice jowly QH head but not overly large and this does not fit at all. I can hardly get it tied. It's got to be a pony size. I'll use the lead and give the halter to someone who has a tiny little horse.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH IT!!! I am very happy with this halter combo. It is great for training my horse and the price is great!!!
Date published: 2012-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flawless Beautifully designed. Easily adjustable to custom fit your horses head. The 15 foot lead line is a God-send! A little pricey but worth it.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this every day This is the first time I have used a halter like this and I have to say, it sure made me feel like I had control when my horse was new to me and acting up a bit on the lead. I never wanted to use a stud chain and the previous owner used one to get him to load into the trailer. I have been using this during ground work and its really nice. I sort of wish I could take the lead/lunge line off, but thats a minor issue. Definitely a good price fort the set of both halter and lead/lunge.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and works well This rope halter is great. My horse is in rehab and we are now spending a lot of time on the ground and this is the best way to do it. Very good quality and I would highly recommend everyone own at least one.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in size I purchased this halter for $39 rather than Clinton Anderson'srope halter at $90. I have always been very happy with professional choice products in the past. This halter is way too small for my 16.1 QH. I had approximately 4 inches left to tie thru the loop and was too tight on jaw bones. Lead rope was nice.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would have been great if I had a small horse This halter is just too small if you have a larger horse. My mare is draft cross and this can hardly get around her nose.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality halter! This is a really nice halter to have around even for the English world. I have a 17hh thoroughbred gelding that sometimes just needs a good reminder or refocus. This halter is made of a good sturdy material and with its long lead I am able to easily get my horse working and get his attention back. The only bad thing about the halter is it runs small. It barely fits my horse.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Great for the money. Effective training halter. I have used Clinton Anderson's halter. Considering the significant price difference, this is a good, affordable alternative.
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! Normally I am not a "rope halter" kind of person. I don't care for the look of them and I much prefer my biothane or leather halters. But I bought this for my big buckskin stock horse, who can be a little stubborn at times. First off - I have to say, this looks GREAT on her head! The black halter is very neat and fits her big thick head perfectly. It looks so much better on her than an "English" style halter. The 15 foot lead rope is very soft, pliable, and well made. It has a great leather popper on the end, which is a bonus. I have used this on the Arabs when I think they will be lugging on my arm and it has worked beautifully. But I have larger, heavier Arabs. The knot is very easy to tie, the material is stiff and thin so it really has a bite to it for those stubborn "I don't wanna" moments ;-) Overall, this was a GREAT purchase for me!!! I would highly recommend this halter and lead combination - even if you're not a western/rope halter kind of person. I will be purchasing another one of these because I like it SO much!
Date published: 2011-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rope Halter It was a good value and worked well, however my horse is a cob size and the knots were more for a horse size.....
Date published: 2011-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This product is a great training tool.Keeps my gelding's attention on me and allows for clear but gentile communication.
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This halter was recommended by my Certified Natural Horsemanship Trainer & it has really improved my Paso's responses in her training, A great product & gentle training aid. I would recommend it highly.
Date published: 2011-05-14
  • 2016-09-25T12:40CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_8900, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders