Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot

Professional's Choice
- Item #16205
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boots are made with DuPont's original ballistic nylon, a material used in the manufacture of bulletproof vests.

Ballistic Overreach Boots use the ballistic nylon as the outer covering, binding at the bottom of the boot and stitching. These boots are extra tough, and able to withstand the daily abuse of riding, regardless of discipline. M (Cob), L (Horse), XL (Warmblood), XXL (Large Warmblood).

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Ultrashock lining -- provides protection and shock absorption
  • Ballistic binding -- provides high degree of durability
  • Covers back of hoof to ground -- Superior protection to critical areas of hoof
  • Double hook & loop fasteners -- stays on securely and will not come loose while riding
  • Soft, padded rolled pasterns -- reduces rubbing, keeping horse more comfortable
  • No-turn knob -- keeps boot from turning, remaining in correct position for better protection

Customers Also Shopped For
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back ...
Description:
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back flexibility, theSoft and pliable Equilibrium Massage Pad is designed to provide effective, easy to use, affordable therapy for horses and ponies. Each massage session lasts for 30 minutes, using strokes, vibrations and ...
The Back on Track Ceramic Knee Brace creates ...
Description:
The Back on Track Ceramic Knee Brace creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber, which is designed to reflect your body's own warmth. The Ceramic Knee Brace can help reduce pain associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection ...
Description:
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection to the next level! This superior boot combines technology with savvy design to provide serious overreachProtection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," the tendency for ...
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
Description:
The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure withHeavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined with ...
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, ...
Description:
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather, and wool. Melp is highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products. Favorite Features Specially formulated for lamb and sheepskins Restores the natural properties Highly concentrated ...
As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize ...
Description:
As an incentive to conscientious horsemen who realize the benefits of booting all four legs, a Value 4-Pack is offered which contains a full set of both front and rear VenTECH Elites at a substantial savings. Combining the high level ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Boot is rated 4.427672955974843 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with these Bought size XL for my large-footed warmblood and they fit well. Very happy with them.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is my second pair, as my horse has different sized hoovers. I had a medium before, and it was getting turned around just on the one hoof when I rode. Now I use two different sizes, and neither moves around. They are well made and great. I like them so much better than the rubber bell boots.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you have a big warmblood... I used to have a WB/TB cross and he was a large. A fine bones WB is an XL and a big WB is a XXL.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing runs WAY small! I wanted to love these boots. However, they were way too small for my boy. Farrier suggested starting with Medium when I talked to him about bell boots. I read the previous reviews, and got Large in this model. It barely fastened around his hoof. :(
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protective Bell Boot My horse went lame for a few months this past summer - and after discovering he had a bruised heel, I knew I needed to find a protective bell boot. I put him in the basic gum rubber bell boots, but after one weekend, he developed scratches from the rubs! After that, I searched for a bell boot I could easily take on and off - he really only needs the protection during work. I came across these and decided to splurge and try these. I'm so glad I did! They are easy to put on and off, and when put on correctly they stay in place and don't turn at all. They've held up well over the past 4-5 months, although I think I will need to reinvest in a few more months. You can see the spot on the boot where he hits himself behind, but his heels have remained in tact and he's been sound. I'll continue to use these in the future and so glad I found them!
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable no-turn boot This product does what it says it does - my horse is a big overreacher, but he also has sensitive skin, so cheaper boots (ahem Davis) left rubs/sores on his pasterns & at the back of his coronet band area. You have to put these on a little high and then push them down so they 'lock' into the divet at the base/back of the pastern, but once they're in, they don't move! These run quite small, as others have said - my horse wore a L in Davis boots (though I had to trim off the bottom because it was too long) and needs an XXL in these boots. They sit just off the ground and have taken quite a beating without tearing or falling apart. Velcro seems sturdy too.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as durable as I'd hoped The good news is my horse has not pulled them off, the bad news is they are shredding in the back. He's also managed to throw a shoe even with them on. A lot of money for a product that's not doing what I expected it would do.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs very small These appear to be very well made and durable...for that I would give them 5 stars. I purchase them for a WB who wears size 2 shoe in front, so NOT tremendously big feet, and ordered XL and these did not come close to fitting. Ended up with a size L in the quick-wrap style and they are great. On a GREAT note, they were returned and taken back by SmartPak and credit issued with NO PROBLEM. For customer service 100% satisfied!!
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These were recommended by a very good rider, and she was absolutely right. They don't turn at all, which is great, and they seem to be pretty durable. They cover the hoof very well. The one thing is on the inside it seems like they are starting to rub a bit on the inside.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I bought these a month ahaI and they really hold up. I have a horse that over reaches.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballistic bell boots! I love these boots. My horse overreaches big time and has gone lame from kicking her own heels before. They offer the perfect level of protection. I do think the sizing is a little off and think I should have ordered a size up for my thoroughbred.
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I am very happy with these. My horse has shoes in the front & I bought them for trail riding and hunter paces so he doesn't lose his shoes. He is a standardbred with average size feet. I bought an XL after ready the reviews to get the next size up. Glad I did. Perfect fit. I wash them in my washer and hang dry with no problems. The velcro gives a very secure fit.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Good protection I ordered a size Large for my 15.2 1100 lb. "usually size Medium", Quarter Horse mare. You will want to size up, as suggested in previous reviews. These are well made, a nice fit and if you snug them up they do not turn. Good coverage across the heel and on the sides. Worked well for my mare who was pulling her shoes off because she needed the sides of her shoes set "out" for hoof re-growth.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ordinary rubber bell boots These look neat and clean but are very rugged and durable. Easy to put on and take off. Love them! Some reviews said they ran small but I found the sizing to be accurate. Medium fit my 16H WB/TB cross.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough material....is it tough enough? Just got these but they seem very durable, haven't turned and are light weight and easy to brush clean. They run small....I have a 17 h oldenburg but her feet aren't huge, and had to go with the XL even though I read reviews saying these ran large...dont know what they are comparing them to. She wears them 24/7 due to humid conditions here in the South. The only complaint, and I have had this with other Professional Choice boots, the velcro is not very heavy duty. I'm hoping the fact there are 2 pieces will keep the boot secure. So far, so good!
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Protective, no turn, but a little small too tall These boots do protect hooves from being kicked, but they are a bit too tall behind, and the size run a bit smaller. The material is very good.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised. I thought they looked small for my 1500# lb. 17h. Oldenburg. However, the extra large fit perfectly. They do not move at all and don't seem to pick up much sand.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bell boots out there My mare needs bell boots on 24/7 to help keep her bar shoes on, these are the best bell boots out there. High quality material, they do not leave rubs like the rubber ones do. Long lasting and high quality. Another great professional choice product!
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and well fitting! I have a gigantic, 18.1hh horse, and these are so amazing. He usually destroys everything I put on him, but these have lasted so well. They may seem to be too small at first, but they aren't meant to cover the front, and they totally cover the back. My guy is really big boned and has big hooves, and these fit! They are so durable.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds up well and look awesome! I really like these boots for cross country for my draft cross mare. Because they run seriously small I can't use them for a horse with anything larger than a size 3 hoof though. the XL - XXXL all have the same height which I find crazy! I Love them, just wish the XXXL would actually have a height of at least 5 inches or more.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great for all my horses I use these on my barrel and pleasure horses, never have lameness problems from overreaching anymore. Two of my QH have eggbar shoes and I turn them out in these, haven't lost a shoe yet. I find they need the XL for full coverage. The smaller QH I use a large.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and nicely padded boots I have used these for about 6 months and am very happy with them. They are thickly padded, fit well, stay on, and protect the heels.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great protection, not so gentle to horse's skin? The size was too small for my horse, so I had to return this product, but they sure looked very protective against accidental cross firing. However, the neck (upper part) of this product is a bit stiff for my taste. If a horse sweats or goes in water, the ballistic nylon looking material might be a bit tough on the skin (around ankle). For a lighter, shorter exercise or turn out, I think they are great.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse started loosing his shoes frequently. After using these bell boots he hasn'lost one. They do turn however dispute a good fit
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Falling apart at 6 weeks old. I am really disappointed with these. I've been using them for 6 weeks and they're falling apart. I only have 1 horse, and I ride him 3 or 4 times a week. He is also lunged in these and turned out in them for few minutes after the ride. But in less than 30 uses they are trashed. The Velcro still works but they are fraying everywhere, not just near the heel. The Pro Choice logo fell off of one boot. I'll probably go back to using the cheap ones I've had for years that still work and even look better at this point.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bells Boots I got these bell boots and they are amazing! I use them for jumping and cross country and they hold us really well. they dont spin because of the knob in the back, and dont rub at all. They do get really dirty, but the mud and dirt just slides of with a good hose off. I truly love these, and plan to use them for a LONG time :)
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection, not extremely durable I got these bell boots at a show because my horse had just gotten some complicated shoeing done and kept pulling off shoes right and left, and he has yet to pull a shoe when wearing these (knock on wood). They run very small, I have a 16.1 h TB with pretty normal sized feet (but absolutely no heel), and use the XXL, it actually prevents him from ripping off a shoe. however, the binding at the bottom starts coming apart fairly quickly, my first pair lasted a few months before I saw signs of wear, so I bought another pair just for shows, and those started showing signs of wear in a couple months. Will be buying another pair, however, they're a staple in my barn.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect overreach boots! Every horse is different, so going through products to find what works can often be frustrating. However if your horse is like mine, and trying to figure out where his feet are (and that he has four of them) these overreach boots are awesome! My boy has knocked his front feet and pulled his shoes off too. While these will not protect against pulling shoes off, these do protect from the impact and potential trauma. Unlike traditional rubber bell boots, these overreach boots really absorb the shock and impact and protect the sensitive bulb and upper heel area. They're not meant to go all the way down to the bottom of the hoof's heel. They are easy to clean, and keep clean, as well as stay put! They also fit my boy really well. I would highly recommend trying these if your horse tends to overreach and "kick" into his front feet.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea but didn"t work for me I bought these boots about 6 months ago, and my horse wore them only for work in hand on the ground and some light riding (he is a baby, so nothing strenuous happening on the exercise front). He does not have shoes on, but still managed to completely destroy the binding at the bottom edge of the boot which started coming off about a month into using them. Just threw them away today. They have a weird fit that sits really high and barely covers the delicate bits at the front of the hoof, despite their little pad intended to stop them from turning round the foot they still turn all the time. They didn't rub and they are lovely and thick so when your horse has a habit of standing on one hoof with the other everything is well protected, just the boot won't last. I had an XXL for my warmblood that usually takes an XL in other brands, and I could barely close them. I am always going to be tempted to buy them again because they are so well padded and protective, but the fit and quality will probably stop me for this horse. The good thing about them being so high on the foot is that the horse cannot step in one boot with the other and trip like with rubber bell boots. A TB in my barn has these and they fit and stay the right way round just fine, so it must be my horse.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from overreach boots these are by far the best bell boots I hav ever seen.Fit really nice to
Date published: 2013-05-16
  • 2016-08-25T11:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_153
  • loc_en_US, sid_6205, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders