Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Raised Standing Martingale by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17213
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Perfect match for the Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle and Plymouth Fancy Raised Bridle.

Favorite Features

  • ½” plain raised leather
  • Stainless steel hardware 

 
Sizing It Up

Pony, Full.

Customers Also Shopped For
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the ...
Description:
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the Edgewood Standing Martingale is vegetable tanned in the U.S. and has elegant and traditional styling. Favorite Features Raised fancy-stitch Rich chestnut finish that oils beautifully Crack resistant leather Smooth, nicely plated back ...
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is built to last for everyday schooling! Made with eye catching SmartPak Blue elastic whichallows for greater freedom of movement whileyour horseis moving or jumping. The elastic insertsminimize the restriction on your horses ...
The OV 5 Point Padded Breastplate is made ...
Description:
The OV 5 Point Padded Breastplate is made from Wicket and Craig American leather which is known for its rich color and willingness to take oil. Accented with champagne colored stitching, enhancing its overall beauty. Genuine sheepskin disks and navy ...
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is unique ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Plymouth Raised Standing Martingale by SmartPak is rated 4.659090909090909 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy quality leather, great buy but definitely oil it first!
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fine Quality Leather Only purchased the Plymouth Raised Standing Martingale three weeks ago and therefore gave a four star rating . So far so good! The leather is a fine quality leather very soft and yet the construction is durable.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and value Wanted a nice martingale for schooling. This one is nice enough for shows and a great price!
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its great for the price! I bought this for my ottb, she has the longest neck and nothing would fit her. This at a size full on the last setting fits her. its supple and wonderful quality. i do wish it was a lighter brown. Its brown to the point its almost black.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it but... I liked the look and feel of this martingale for the price (pretty flexible) but unfortunately it did not fit the giraffe we just acquired. But it seems like it is adjustable enough to fit your normal horse.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matches my Plymouth bridle perfect! I'm very happy with this martingale. Not only does it match my bridle perfect but it's also long enough for my big bodied thoroughbred and a great price!
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it I bought this martingale a while ago and I really like it. For the price you can't go wrong. I didn't even oil it since it came the day of my lesson. I threw the stop on and took off to the barn. It's a tad stiff since I don't oil it and it's got sweat on it. But I really am happy with it. :-)
Date published: 2015-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great martingale Bought this to go with my Plymouth bridle. Fits great and supple out of the box.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality leather! I bought this a month ago and although it doesn't come with a stopper, it is great quality and looks very nice. I love this brand!
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit my warmblood! I was hesitant to order this since it only came in one size and my horse is a larger warmblood, but it fits great! Looks like it sizes down to handle a wide range of horses. Matches perfectly to my Plymouth Raised Bridle and is a great quality leather.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy!! I bought this about 2 weeks ago...i really, really like this martingale so far. Right out of the box it was soft and supple and after i oiled it, it was even better! Also the threading was nice and tight. he color is great also. GET THIS PRODUCT
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice! This is a really nice martingale, especially given the price point. Stitching is nice and tight, color is great, and its pretty supple straight out of the bag. Looks like a much higher end product.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the tack room! I bought this to compliment the Plymouth bridle I bought. The stitching is beautiful and the leather was soft and supple right out of the box!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft Super soft leather without even having to oil. Straight out of the box into the show ring. Great quality, great price!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Martingale This martingale is beautiful. After being oiled, it is just perfect and looks great on my horse.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product Love this product looks just like the pictures seems overall durable.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price. I bought this martigale to match my plymouth bridle, and so far so good! I've used it for a month now, cleans well, looks great.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I ordered this as a schooling martingale for my new gelding, but I think it's nice enough to show in! I love it. It is a rich darker leather that only needed a little bit of oiling. The stitching on it contrasts very nicely and matches my non-Smartpak bridle pretty much perfectly. I did a lot of looking before purchasing this one and I don't think you will find a better value for the money.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase This martingale is very attractive and great quality. Nice fit as well. I bought this for my thoroughbred and it fits perfect.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth standing martingale great value for the money
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice martingale, happy with purchase! Very nice and soft leather, cleans up easily and looks nice on w/ matching bridle! The only negative is it runs a little large, the neck strap is very long, although i would still highly recommend this for a good priced, nice looking piece of equipment!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded Expectations I needed a standing martingale for my horse, but I'm also riding another horse who tends to put everything in his mouth, so I wanted something I could use for both of them that wasn't super expensive, just in case he got ahold of it! This is a much better quality martingale than the price would suggest. It came out of the box dark and soft, and took minimal oiling to get it to be nice and supple. Fits the horses and looks great! Of course, I'm now eyeing the matching bridle ;)
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Martingale! I LOVE THIS MARTINGALE! It's amazing quality, darkens nicely and is extremely durable! My horse pull's alot and this martingale shows it can stand her and her attitude!
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price Great martingale with a great price. Dark leather and white stitching, matches the plymouth bridle I also purchased nicely.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent Martingale This is a decent martingale, it seems it be a little small. The leather is stiff and the knot is very prone to slipping. Overall it is an acceptable martingale, but the bridle of this variation/style is of better design.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite Good I'm a newbie to the whole horse leather world, so I don't really know what leather is quality and what isn't.It arrived quite well. The non-raised parts weren't very stiff. The raised parts were, but after some oiling they are now getting quite soft.However, while I was putting some rubbing alcohol on it, purple-colored dye came off onto the cloth. This didn't concern me at first, until I looked at a few spots on the martingale where I faint purple like spots! Some olive oil quickly fixed those, but there was a whole spot where it was almost pink colored. It has darkened with a few coats of olive oil, however that certain spot is a little bit lighter than the rest of the martinagle.It is a very pretty, attractive bridle and the color is gorgeous, aside from the light spot. You get what you pay for, and in fact this is a very good quality martingale. I have not used it yet so I don't know how durable it it.
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as I hoped With this martingale, you get what you pay for. It fits well and the leather is ok. My complaint lies in the fact that the raised part was full of light colored scuffs, scratches, and even cracks before I ever even used it. While oiling and rolling it, the leather started to crack. The scuffs won't go away, even with darkening oil. I bought this to match the bridle, which I love. Wish this was a bit better.I do know a friend that has this same one though and she doesn't have these issues so maybe it has to do with how I oiled it?
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but stiff I like that it mached great with the bridle but it's stiff, I'm sure it is do to it being raised to match. It did not come with a rubber stopper (donut) so it moved around a lot until I got one.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice! This is a great martingale for a great price. It does come pretty stiff, but of course with use it gets softer. I have had it for a little over a month and it is starting to soften, but other than that, it is great quality.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must buy for the price For under $50 this is a very good quality martingale. Stiff out of the package but with a couple coats of oil and a few minutes of rolling to loosen the fibers it felt great. I also purchased the Plymouth Elite Hunter Bridle to match. I have hunch that the bridle and martingale are made by the same company that manufactures Bobby's English Tack which is by far one of my favorite tack companies. Now I have two quality bridles/martingales
Date published: 2012-01-19
  • 2016-08-29T11:19CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_7213, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders