Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17209
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Unprecedented quality at this price.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use.  Raised ½” caveson and browband (except O/S which is 5/8").  Traditional hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins. Brown.

Favorite Features

  • Raised caveson & browband
  • Great for schooling or at a horse show
  • Holds up to everyday use

Sizing It Up


Customers Also Shopped For
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds just that extra bit of sparkle to your ride! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our favorite choice for hunter and derby horses! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive ...
The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is ...
The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafter from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Trendy fancy stitched 1.25" wide ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents ...
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Double raised leather detail on the noseband and browband adds some subtle elegance that compliments any dressage ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.527777777777778 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, inexpensive bridle I needed a pretty, fine-featured bridle for occasional use showing. This bridle is a nice quality for the price and serves the purpose for which I bought it.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, high quality bridle I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of this bridle. The leather was already supple and well moisturized when I got it, and the color was perfect. I oiled it once before my show, and it fit my gelding well and looked lovely on him. I will be buying another one so that I don't have to switch bits between HUS and Equitation.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I bought this bridle after reading countless good reviews, however ordered a Cob as many reviews said the bridle runs huge!This bridle runs true to size as the cob was too small for a thoroughbred with a refined head. Since I bought it on sale I could not return it and so I had to sell it to a friend. I was very dissapointed but I will not hesitate to order another.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a great basic bridle! I purchased this bridle for my one youngster who is just starting his training - I read previous reviews, and thought that this sounded like a nice, basic bridle for a reasonable price. I am very happy that I gave this bridle a chance! The leather quality is nice, and I did oil, clean & condition it after I received it & before putting it together. I think it could stand to be oiled again (but I don't like to over oil!). I like that the nose & brow bands have a very thin look to them - it makes the bridle have an elegant look when it is one. The fit is very nice - this is a very nice entry level bridle for the price range! I do own a Harwich bridle as well for my other young horse. I am very impressed with the quality of Smartpak bridles - I feel like the quality of the materials & workmanship is excellent, especially compared to other major name brands. I do plan on purchasing another Smartpak bridle in the future for my youngster that I'm starting in this Plymouth bridle right now. I definitely recommend this as an entry level or spare bridle.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for second bridle I purchased the Plymouth as a second bridle to use with a more corrective bit for trail rides with my opinionated chestnut mare. I can keep the trail bit handy in this second bridle. Makes life a little easier.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Value I bought this bridle for my Mustang, who can be a bit difficult to get a good fit for. It works wonderfully on him. Great value for the price.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle for the price! Lovely bridle, especially for the price. This bridle is not only a great schooling bridle, I think it looks nice enough for the show ring as well.The leather was quite soft right from the box and is breaking in very easily and nicely.A horse size fit my 16.1 hand Canadian Warmblood mare perfectly.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this bridle This is my second review of this bridle... I liked the one for my horse enough that when they were on sale I picked up one for my daughter's pony. It's a smidge too large for her, but it is one TINY pony and nothing seems to fit her right. The first bridle we had for the pony had leather that quickly became thick and difficult for my daughter (6 years old) to handle with her tiny fingers, to the point where she always needed help fastening and unfastening the bridle. With the Plymouth the leather stays smooth and even so she is able to do everything by herself. She loves it so much more than the other bridle and our 'pony jockey' has also commented on how much nicer it is than her old one too.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I was expecting this bridle to just be 'nice for the price'. But was happy to see that this is a bridle with true quality. The leather is so nice and the contrast stitching is beautiful. I found that this bridle runs true to size, many reviews said it ran large and on my fine thoroughbred the cob was too tiny. Despite the size issue I will never hesitate to buy a Plymouth again, they are the first line I will go to!
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for Price This is the second Plymouth Bridle I've purchased and I'm still amazed at the quality for the low price. You can't beat it!
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value I have two of these bridles that I use for everyday riding/schooling... They aren't top notice quality, but you'd never know unless you really looked at them. I've noticed a few flakey spots on my reins, but with a little oil it seems to help. My biggest complaint is that this bridle runs huge! I bought the OS because both of my horses have big ole heads, but the OS just doesnt fit right... The brow band is too big and I'm almost to the top hole everywhere. I still use it on my big guys cause I don't really care if the brow band looks goofy... I bought the Horse size and it fits the big guys just fine
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent There is a horse at my barn who uses this bridle. The leather is pretty soft and so far it has held up well. (It survived the summer camp.) It's a good, basic bridle for schooling.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dye rubs off with only 2 uses I purchased this bridle a couple months ago and only used it twice before it just got too hot to ride. I took it out today to oil it again, since it's still new, and the dye is rubbing off on the insides of the reins and on a few other spots on the cavesson. The rub spots on the cavesson may be from using it with a chambon, though the same chambon has never rubbed any of my other bridles. If you're looking for a cheaper bridle that will hold up, I would look at Tekna. It looks like leather and is more durable and softer than this bridle.
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bridle didn't work out, but great customer service Unfortunately one of the bridle hooks broke when I went to put the bit on this. It would be OK for schooling, good quality for basic Indian leather, but I wanted something more suitable for show.I was impressed at SmartPak's response, though. They were ready to send me a replacement right away AND let me keep this one for "spare parts". I'd found another bridle so I just returned it.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft! This bridle required some break in time however after riding with it three days a week for about six months it is now amazingly soft! After the first conditioning it softened right up and is even show ring worthy. I purchased the WB size for my 17hh Appy cross and the throat latch was too big. There was space to punch three more holes and now fits perfectly.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality. Nice bridle for the price. Self-assembly required!
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great bridle! I wanted an English bridle that was not heavy; would fit my Haffie and match my Western saddle. (Yep, I like to mix & match.) The fit was excellent; the leather was soft which made putting it together a cinch and the price was perfect. Add to all those reasons, great customer service and a quick delivery and SmartPak rules! ODIE has his own blog where he reviewed his new bridle:odiethehaffiehorse.blogspot.com
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I bought this bridle for my new warmblood. I am very happy with the look, fit, and quality.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle I was very pleased by my recent purchase of this bridle, and the fit & overall look is great. The leather softens up easily (some dye initially rubbed off onto my hands, so if you have a grey horse it might be an issue when it's new) Overall very happy with the product for the price, cannot be beat!
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle This is a great bridle for the price! The leather is soft enough right away, and it fits my Thoroughbred well. The leather color looks great on him (dark bay) and I'm sure it would compliment other coat colors as well. No signs of wear and tear yet! The cavesson buckle is especially easy to undo, which is a plus.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality The quality of this bridle is amazing for the price. It is nicer than a more expensive "show" bridle I purchased and looks great on my mare. I can't comment on the durability yet since she's only worn it a couple of times. I highly recommend purchasing this bridle!!!
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value I bought this bridle based on the fabulous reviews it received for quality and value. I definitely agree with the value part and this bridle (cob size) fits my Arab's little head and looks great on him. I've gotten some compliments on how pretty it is, too!I've been a little bit disappointed with the quality of the leather, which has already gotten scuffed up and the reins have started to fray after just a few rides (and after being oiled). I don't think I'd be able to show in it, but it is a great training/schooling bridle for us to work in, regardless of season or weather conditions.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should cost a whole lot more I purchased this bridle for my draft cross. i did not have a lot of money to spend and was actually gonna get a bridle from a competitor for considerable less. After reading the reviews on both items, I thought I would be crazy if I did not go with this one. I received it today and was so impressed with the quality. It is actually as nice as my stubben bridle. The leather was soft right off the bat. I can't wait to try it on my boy this weekend. My only crazy complaint was that it came unassembled.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great 2nd Bridle I wanted an extra bridle to use for long lining purposes, and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. This bridle was perfect - reasonably priced and suitable for my needs.
Date published: 2010-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bridle! I am so in awe! I love this bridle and it was soooo cheap!
Date published: 2010-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for Money As I have reviewed this product before, I have found that it holds up to day to day schooling and have become very supple leather. I am very pleased and will be purchasing another Smartpak bridle very soon. Feel confident in purchasing this bridle, I do feel that you also will be very satisfied. Thanks Smartpak for making a modest priced bridle.
Date published: 2010-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from value for money I needed a schooling bridle and read all of the reviews for this and purchased one. I was impressed when I opened the bag. It seemed to be made well, it did oil up well, and fit is good. I currently own Edgewoods, Wellingtons and Bevals, this is a very nice addition to my collection. Feel confident is purchasing this bridle. FINALLY, someone has made a modest priced bridle that has good craftmanship and durability. Thanks Smartpak, will definately do more business with you!!!
Date published: 2010-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price! I was very impressed with the quality of this bridle. I purchased it as a schooling bridle, but it's nice enough to show in! I purchased the oversized, which is a true oversized - plenty roomy for larger horses. I will note that the reins that came with the bridle are very long, though. If you have a very large horse with a long neck, they are probably just right. My warmblood has a shorter neck, however, and the bight of the reins is rather long. This is a really high quality bridle with nice, thick reins - a great deal at this price!
Date published: 2010-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely beautiful i was so impressed when i saw this bridle and the quality of the leather. i had ordered the padded fancy stitch bridle and loved it so much that i decided to keep it for shows and purchase this one for everyday work. the quality of the bridle looked like something a friend of mine had purchased for much more. its beautiful and when i used leather conditioner on it, it became supple. i didnt even have to use oil, thats how good the leather quality is. i have already recommended this product to several of my friends as well as one of my clients. i absolutely love it!!!
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle! This bridle is amazingly supple and well-crafted, especially considering its price point. The color is not too light and not too dark, which "goes well" with most tack. The stitching is tight and straight, and the edges are nicely finished. The only reason I gave this bridle 4 stars for quality is because, when the caveson is set at the next-to-the-last or last hole, the leather end extends well below the noseband. While my horse doesn't wear it there, others who might would need to have it trimmed. Also, note that the O/S browband is very generous. There is more room in this O/S browband than in the O/S browband on the Plymouth dressage bridle. Overall, though, you can't beat it for the money.
Date published: 2010-04-28
  • 2016-10-26T12:59CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_7209, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders