Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

Made in Germany.

Customers Also Shopped For
Rugged, handsome, and lightweight with large 10" wheels. ...
Description:
Rugged, handsome, and lightweight with large 10" wheels. Lid flips up for access to a divided storage compartment with dry erase board, pen, mirror and removable towel bar. Houses two saddles, two bridle racks and has three hooks. A third ...
The award-winning Thorowgood Dressage Girth features stay-soft Airoform ...
Description:
The award-winning Thorowgood Dressage Girth features stay-soft Airoform cushioning throughout. The material is textured for optimal airflow and comfort for your horse. Favorite Features Shaped to fit and eliminate pinching. Designed with double layer stitching system and stainless steel roller ...
The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive ...
Description:
The Pro Performance XC Boots are incredibly comprehensive boots designed for the sport horse who needs the extra support andProtection the most! These boots feature an outer layer of rip-stop Pro Mesh TPU material for the ultimate combination of impact ...
The strongest, lightweight, affordable tack trunk available today. ...
Description:
The strongest, lightweight, affordable tack trunk available today. Strong lid that can be locked with a padlock, and molded in handles, this sturdy design will keep its shape and not stretch when filled. Includes tote tray. Grey, Granite, Black, Burgundy, ...
Top quality, water resistant French leather is combined ...
Description:
Top quality, water resistant French leather is combined with the revolutionary T-Foam liner for a contoured fit, unparalleled shock absorption, superiorProtection and an exquisite look. T-Foam isNeoprene-free, lightweight and pliable. It reduces stress on pressure points and is breathable. Favorite ...
The "Equi-Locker" is a very versatile cabinet for ...
Description:
The "Equi-Locker" is a very versatile cabinet for any barn or stable. Lock-up your medicines, boots helmets, shoes or any of your personal items. Each Locker includes two adjustable shelves, a hook to hang items, storage net forSoft goods and ...
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer ...
Description:
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer backorder. 42" wide Wooden Blanket Rack is made with sturdy oak finished dowels and durable 1 1/2" web straps. Strong and large enough for full size blanket, rug or saddle pad storage. ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.866666666666666 out of 5 by 135.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Heavenly! This is my second can! Love this stuff! It smells like honey! Nicely conditions my tack and saddles. NOT JUNK! Will only use Passier Lederbalsam!
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Leather Conditioner! This is one of the best leather conditioners that I have ever used. I have been using it on my dressage saddle and dressage bridles. it smells wonderful and leaves my leather soft and smooth. It's not sticky, nor is it oily - at all. It does work better in the warmer months as the product is hard when it's cold. Here in central California our winters are mild enough that I am able to soften the product just by warming it up in my hands. If you're looking for a good leather conditioner, this is it!
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stuff Ever I had used some from a friend and loved that it did not leave any residue on my tack. It has condition my tack extremely well and I would not recommend anything else or use anything else from now on. Not to mention it smells great!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stiff leather This really helped soften and condition the leather on an older saddle. Did not leave any gunky residue either. I've even used it on my reins.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Passier lederbalsam is fantastic. I use it on all of my leather tack to help it become soft and supple. Plus, it smells really good! :) I usually just apply it with my hands which makes them really soft afterwards.
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conditioning product ever! While I have never had this for my own tack, I used it at a good friend's barn on their tack when I rode their horses every day that I was there while I was home and the tack was sooo soft and supple. Highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay... I bought this from SmartPak, because they don't carry Effax Leder Balsam & I didn't want to purchase one thing of it & have to pay more $ than it cost to ship it.It is ok compared to Effax, it has a slightly pleasant smell-it makes me think of chemicals, not saddles. It is a bit greasy, not all of the product soaks into the leather (good leather).I wouldn't purchase it again if I had to do over again.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! Recently bought a new saddle and would not use anything else!
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived Decade-Old Leathers! Passier Lederbalsam is my conditioner of choice for all of my tack. Last week I used it on decade-old stirrup leathers that were so stiff I couldn't bend them, and after one application of Lederbalsam, they were back to being supple and soft. It's the first thing I apply to any new strap goods I receive, and it's also responsible for keeping my older saddle in like-new condition. Love this stuff!
Date published: 2011-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stocking stuffer I use this consistently on everything leather..saddle, bridle, boots, halter. My tack is very seasoned and I keep it looking good with this product.
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I use Lederbalsam after every ride and cannot say enough about how fabulous it is! I had been using another "popular" tack cleaner, but splurged on the Lederbalsam when I bought a new saddle. What a great purchase that was! Not only has it kept my new saddle looking amazing, but it has made my old bridle look absolutely wonderful again as well! It is well worth the price and I will never use anything else again (aside from the Passier Saddle Soap, which I use before the Lederbalsam once a week to keep any grime from building up).
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product This will be my last product review as after many reviews left I still did not win any $25.00 .This product does not need any review , it is a classic and the best in the world.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My leather loves it! I love it too! This leather condition is very nice. It works into the leather well, esp. if you use you hands to warm it up and bend and roll the leather. It soaks in well and does not leave the leather gunky.
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I like this product it isn't to heavy or sticky, dries well and keeps leather soft
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff This is a great conditioner and helps you stick to the saddle!
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a bit, but I got it! I ordered this a while ago and when I first used it I was not impressed. It was hard to get off and it made my leather very slimy. The other day I was cleaning my tack in the sun and I applied this to my old stubben, my old hunter bridle, and my Plymouth dressage bridle. I had always heard that sitting your tack in the sun would open up the pores of the leather and it would absorb conditioners better. Well I am a believer now! My saddle and bridles soaked this stuff right in. I applied it an within minutes it was almost gone! My stubben was fairly stiff before applying this, but afterwards it was noticeably softer and more supple then before. The same was true for both of my bridles. Funny enough, the Plymouth bridle, which I purchased from SmartPak, isn't even very old, but it came in a bit stiff for my liking and now it's much much nicer as far as how soft and supple it is! I would highly recommend this product to anyone with older or stiff leather products, but be sure to apply it in warm weather or in direct sunlight because it works 90% better than inside in a cooler environment.
Date published: 2011-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmm Best leather conditioner ever. Guaranteed to make your leather smile!!
Date published: 2011-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My trainer turned me on to this product and now I'm hooked. Since tack costs an arm and a leg, I really want to take good care of mine. Nothing does a better job on my boots, saddle and bridle.
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft and supple Love this stuff. Used it on my brand new Harwich dressage bridle and after one treatment it was perfect!
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for all leather This is the only leather product I will use anymore. My old trainer got me hooked on it and it has brought saddles back from the dead! Love it, and I use it on all my leather stuff.
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tack old and new The winter weather has left both my old tack (25+ years) and newer tack very dry. My old faithful conditioning products just weren't helping. This product has helped bring back the luster to the old bridle, softened and conditioned the new bridle, and my saddle feels great!
Date published: 2011-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great leather conditioner Love this leather conditioner. It helped an old saddle go from dry to supple in record time. A little bit goes a long way, so the can will last a while. Great product!
Date published: 2011-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Conditioner! Wow, I am in love with this stuff for deep conditionings. I don't think I will use it often, as it seems like 2-3 times a year would be plenty with this heavy conditioner but it sure brings old tack back to life. It makes all my leather soft and supple again, and really seems to make a big difference in my overall tack's well being. I love how it makes my tack ever so slightly tacky after using it but its not sticky or gross. Its a great product.My mom even steals it and uses it on our leather furniture once a year!
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff It was recommended to me by my saddler to get some sort of Lederbalsam instead of using oil. I have to say this makes my saddle (and all other leather products i use it on now!) feel so soft, and just great. It smells like a vanilla candle to me too, and makes my saddle a little tacky, not slippery. My friends have used it too and they really love it as well. It seems like it will last quite awhile, so well worth the money spent!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best I use this and Effex Leather Combi...it's all you need for perfect tack...clean, pliable, not sticky.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leder-AWESOME! I love all Passier products! Ledarbalsam truly leaves my leather apparel shining, clean and conditioned. I use a can every 3 months, as you need very little! Beware, you really do need time to let it sink in, and wear jeans you don't care about, it stains. Start with Passier Saddle Soap for amazing results. All in all, Passier has hit the ballpark with this!
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well have been trying a bunch of different stuff lately. only used this once so far. love it almost as much as stubbens product. makes leather soft but need to have time for it to sink in!
Date published: 2010-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow This is the BEST tack cleaner I've ever used . LOVE THE SMELL and the conditioner is really good too.
Date published: 2010-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best conditioner out there I've tried just about every conditioner out there, and Passier Lederbalsam can't be beat for the price. It leaves every piece of tack soft and supple with a shine that lasts! Plus, it dries without leaving the tack sticky. Even with cheap or very dry leather, you will see instant and lasting results. You can use it so sparingly that the jar will last a long time and you'll get your money's worth.
Date published: 2010-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner Don't waste your money on Leather CPR and other combination soaps/conditioners. A bar of glycerin soap, a sponge and some Lederbalsam and you'll have the nicest leather in the barn. The scent is great, too!
Date published: 2010-07-19
  • 2016-08-23T10:58CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders