Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

Made in Germany.

Customers Also Shopped For
Designed with a deeper seat and long flap, ...
Designed with a deeper seat and long flap, the balance and comfort of the HDR Lumina Close Contact Saddle make it suitable for any English discipline. Crafted with foam panels, attractive stitching, and a superSoft flap covered in oakbark leather. ...
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made ...
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather ...
The LeatherProtection Boots are made of tough butSoft ...
The LeatherProtection Boots are made of tough butSoft leather that conforms to the horse's leg while preventing interference. UltraShock padding absorbs shock and the dense fleece lining is breathable and moisture wicking. The LeatherProtection Boots are durable, fit like a ...
With flap options to fit any rider, the ...
With flap options to fit any rider, the versatile Gen-X saddle offers a great ride for horse and rider with its grippy calfskin covered leather flaps and seat. Favorite Features Euro-styled with added stitching details. Bayflexcontoured multi-density polyurethane panels. XCH ...
The HDR Pro A/O Saddle combines classic looks ...
The HDR Pro A/O Saddle combines classic looks with modern technology. With distinctive show ring looks, the HDR Pro A/O continues to be a popular choice amongst professionals and Amateur Owner riders, A slightly wider 10" seat provides optimum support, ...
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer ...
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer backorder. 42" wide Wooden Blanket Rack is made with sturdy oak finished dowels and durable 1 1/2" web straps. Strong and large enough for full size blanket, rug or saddle pad storage. ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.861313868613139 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply wonderful I purchased this product based on recommendation of my Schleess saddle fitter. Wonderful for my new saddle.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner! I use this product regularly on the underside of saddles and all over girths too keep them protected from sweat and to keep the leather soft and from cracking. Has extended the life on numerous girths and a little goes a long way! It can be a bit heavy for regular use on bridles, so I only use on the inside portion of bridles about once a week and then all over once a month or so. Great for recovering old, dry leather too!It does NOT come with a sponge. I have used a sponge with it a couple of times but quiet honestly it is the easiest to use with your fingers, it's a really thick balm and it's easier to control the quantity use put on your leather that way, plus it leaves your hands nice and moisturized too!Great product, smells good (maybe not as good as efax) but does a fantastic job, will be a long-time staple in our barn, highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff My first tin is almost empty (lasted over 4 years), so it was time to resupply. It is a rich formula that leaves leather soft and pliable but not greasy. Make sure you give it time to absorb and you might need to buff the excess off afterwards, but it won't stain. I also love the smell. I use Effax products as well-the ledercombi is great for daily post-ride cleaning, the creme soap is nice for deeper cleaning, but this is my preferred deep conditioner. This regimen has kept my tack clean and luminous for years.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Really works great. I used it on my old bridle and it really reconditioned the leather.I'm very glad I tried this product.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent leather conditioner!!! I used this product for the first time on an old mold and mildew ridden bridle and after using the Passier saddle soap I used the conditioner and wow, it looks new again. Definitely will be in my tack room from here forward.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does a good job of waterproofing I ordered this at the recommendation by a friend of mine and so far I've been really pleased with it. It does a good job of waterproofing the leather but does tend to leave a waxy residue. I thought this would attract dirt but it actually seems to do the opposite. Not the best deep conditioner IMO, but does a reasonable enough job. Also, the description claims there is a sponge included, but I didn't receive one.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! The Shleese saddle people recommended this and it works beautifully. I haven't tried the Passier saddle soap yet but I suspect it's quality stuff too.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made leather nice and pliable Made my leather nice and pliable without being sticky or overly soft. Wait a day or so before riding in whatever you clean.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal treatment to preserve fine tack! I have used this product (which I still cannot properly pronounce) for years. With saddles costing what they do, and qualified saddle makers thin on the ground, Lederbalsam is the best treatment for leather saddles and other tack. My dressage saddle gets a lot of use and my horse sweats heavily. After our workouts I will usually hose off my horse and then hose down my saddle too (don't panic!) getting the sweat, dust, and grime off the leather is very important. Then I apply a light coat of Lederbalsam using an inexpensive paint brush I got at the hardware store- brushing it on is the recommended method of application, and lets you work the Lederbalsam into tight spots and stitching. Buffing with a soft, LINT FREE, cloth removes excess. My leather looks clean, it's soft, supple, and best of all... Lederbalsam does not leave tack slippery! In fact, it adds a bit of grip (not sticky at all) so my seat stays firmly in place at all times! Love this stuff!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is recommended by fine international saddle makers - so far it is the best product I have used on my Schleese saddle which has quality fine leather. Definite "10"
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It surprised me I got this last week and had a clinic coming up and needed my tack to be clean. This is not your ideal tack cleaner if you looking for something that dries in 30 minutes. it takes 3-6 hours depending on how much you put on, But let me tell you its worth the wait!! My tack came out clean and supple. if your cooling for a touch up cleaner go for the feblings saddle soap spry (works much quicker)
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Old and New Now that I've found Passier Lederbalsam, I won't be using anything else! I have used it to bring old, dry reins back to life - and it's equally great for giving new leather that "broken in" feel. The cavesson strap on my new bridle was impossible to buckle until I used this conditioner. Smells great, doesn't leave the leather sticky, and even conditions my hands!
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best you can buy! The best leather conditioner out there. Perfect for conditioning new saddles and tack.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can restore ANY leather I love this leather conditioner. Love it love it love it. I bought it two years ago and I still have half a container left. I use it on my paddock boots and they've held up for 5 years. I use it on my saddle and bridle and half chaps and they look like new. I lent it to a friend who had civil war-era leather to clean and within two coats of this stuff it was almost completely supple again. BONUS: smells like heaven.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Bought this product about a month ago and it has given new life to all my leather products.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather oil in a can I bought this about 6-7 months ago when I bought a used saddle that needed a little fixing up. it had been a very nice saddle but when the girl got a new one she put her cover on the new one and it sat in the open for about a month. so I bought this and put it on and it made my saddle feel great. it kinda feels like your putting Vaseline on your saddle and you should use it when you aren't planning to ride in your saddle for a day or two, or cover it (preferably) but it comes out great IF you give the stuff enough time to soak in.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product Love this product . Use it on saddles, bridles, my coach purse, you name it.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy to use, smells wonderful. My leather was soft and supple after!
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehhh This product is very sticky. It does do a good job conditioning the saddle and gettin gall of the scratches away but it is very sticky. Sometimes it makes the saddle slippery but most times sticky. I do not like this product and I don't recommend it.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from spa treatment for leather I absolutely recommend this product. I've used it on several saddles and bridles and I can't believe how much nicer they feel. It breathes new life into older equipment and helps to keep the suppleness in the newer pieces. Also like the fact that you don't need to use a ton of it to see the results. The tin is large enough where it could easily last me the rest of my life. Hands down this is the best leather product I have ever used
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product saved my saddle I bought a used dressage saddle (the saddle is probably 10ish years old) last year and had mixed feelings. It fits my horse, but I didn't love the way it fit me. The leather was old, stiff and slick - my leg slid everywhere and I didn't feel secure. I was toying with the idea of buying a new saddle but decided to try to breath new life into my current one (the cheaper option). I bought this product based on all the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. I gave my saddle a good cleaning with saddle soap, applied the Lederbalsam and let it sit overnight. The saddle soaked up most of it and I wiped the rest off with a cloth. The leather is significantly softer, more pliable and I feel like I can actually ride in my saddle now (instead of sitting/sliding). It did make my saddle slightly tacky but after one ride the tackiness was gone and I was left with a soft, supple saddle.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I started using this and don't think ill ever buy anything else for my tack!
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all your leather needs This is my 2nd tin. The first one lasted over 10 yrs. My saddle looks great and it leaves it looking great. I think it also has a pleasent smell. Great product and a good price
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for new and old leather I've had a can of this for the past 10 years and it is finally time to order a new one. It keeps my 45-50 yr old Stubben Siegfried saddle in great shape. Everyone at the barn wants to know how I keep it looking so great. I tell them Passier Lederbalsam.!! I just bought a new bridle for my horse for Christmas. Passier Lederbalsam made the leather buttery soft after just two applications.It leaves the right amount of stickyness to my saddle to help prevent those unscheduled dismounts. Look out, squirrel !! :)My instructor wants a can for herself now after she has seen my tack.Attached is a sepia picture of the saddle. Look at that shine!!
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells so good! I like how this smells and goes on. It seems to be a bit sticky though, even after being rubbed down. Not sure if I like that. I prefer not to stick to the saddle. I will probably continue to use this for periodic conditioning but not often because of the stickiness.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather balm This leather treatment is excellent. Not only did it help dry patches on my saddle, but it did wonders for a leather chair at home.
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST tack conditioner, hands down! This is my first "real" conditioner. Before I just used a glycerine bar and horseman's one step, but I just realized that I should be taking care if my lease's tack like it's CWD/ANTARES, so I bought this!I first smelled this in my local tack shop, and it has been love at first whiff! I have never tried Effax, so I can't really compare the two, however Effax products contain whale oil and I don't personally support that (AKA I don't want it anywhere near me) so I tried this instead. I LOVE it! It makes my saddle beautifully dark and supple and it creates just the right "good" stickiness/grip. After using this on my lease's halter, he looked like the most loved horse in the barn!So if you love your horse, go for this! I just wish I could use it everyday! (But over-over-conditioning isn't good for the leather.)It would be even better if this came in a chic (possibly limited edition) glass jar- it feels like it will last me forever! A great Equestrian stocking stuffer!)
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This stuff has really improved my leather! I have reins that needed some serious CPR and this has made them supple and nice without being tacky or greasy. Smells good, works well, and great price for the quality.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome leather care I bought this a month ago and have used it to condition all of our English and Western tack. The leather looks new and is so soft and supple
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful stuff Smells great-not greasy. Leaves leather very nice.
Date published: 2014-07-28
  • 2016-10-22T11:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_128
  • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders