Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Ovation Competitor Helmet

- Item #18868
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned slightly off of the riders face for comfort.


Favorite Features

  • Stylish
  • Lightweight
  • Low Profile

ASTM/SEI Certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Favorite Features Pure carbon fiber external shell provides unbeatable strength-to-weight ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision that will get you noticed in any show ring! The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside ...
Stay cool, comfortable, and show-ring ready with the ...
Stay cool, comfortable, and show-ring ready with the RJ Classics Prestige Kids Wrap Collar Show Shirt!Favorite Features Classic Cool wicking fabric aids in staying dry and keeping cool Chokerless, angled wrap collar with easy snap closure Patterned inside of the ...
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest ...
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level ofProtection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated toProtect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic logo is positioned ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Ovation Competitor Helmet is rated 4.510204081632653 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from already getting compliments! Its very light weight, low profile, and visibly attractive which is what I love! the velvety outside is nice because I can use it for shows without having two helmets! Price is very reasonable for this helmet, my coworker was even surprised when I mentioned the price for the helmet and is planning to get her own now! only downside is the sizing, I'm usually a medium and the other ovations I tried on I fit a S/M, the liner does not fit my head at all and is very tight, but when I take it out the helmet it has enough wiggle room and with the adjustable knob its a perfect fit. I may purchase another larger liner, or just make my own but I still love the helmet. I'm a size 7-1/8 to 7-1/4 for reference to others with the same problem.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Light! This is a very light helmet. I haven't bought a helmet since before they started putting vents in ones that were less than $400, so I was quite shocked at how different the manufacturing is now! Rode in it for the first time yesterday and it was very comfortable, light, and airy, and felt secure. No falling into my eye line, and I like that I can wear a ponytail with it or not, and adjust it with the dial accordingly. It looks nice enough to show in, which I enjoy because I don't want to have to purchase a separate helmet for that.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this helmet! Great helmet for the price. Love vents to help keep cool.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT FOR EVERYONE I ordered the Sm/M size in this helmet because my previous Ovation helmet which I loved was a M. When the helmet arrived and I tried it on, it was too tight. I exchanged it for the M/L and that one was so much larger it obstructed my vision. I ended up returning it and bought the Uvex lightweight helmet instead.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cheaply made helmet "You get what you pay for" holds true for this helmet. I bought this helmet because of the excellent reviews it received and its reasonable price. But was quickly disappointed after opening the box. The helmet has an overall cheap feel and look to it. The "velveteen" cover was thin and bumpy to the touch. The dial to adjust the fit is nice for a growing child.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for This is a great, quality, comfortable helmet at an incredible price point! Just what I was looking for!
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this for my daughter and she loves the helmet. It is light weight and comfortable during the summer show season.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helmet Love this helmet fits awesome which is hard to find seeing as my hair is so thick I can never fit it all up under the helmet. Also can use it for shoes which is amazing!
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the Price Very lightweight and attractive helmet for schooling or showing. Adjusts easily for a comfortable and secure fit.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value and looks very nice I had been looking for a schooling helmet but wanted something that looked nice too. I took a chance in this one because I figured I could also wear it for local shows in English classes. I have a small head and this helmet was almost too small. It's a nice looking light helmet and I can wear it for long periods without getting a headache. A win in my book
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good helmet at decent price I wanted a pretty velvet helmet without spending $$$$ and the reviews for this seemed favorable. I measured my head and I run right between a Medium and Large for most sizing so I decided it wouldn't be a bad idea to get a dial-fit for my first helmet.It's quite pretty, fits well, and looks like it has lots of venting - which was also very important to me. I am really uncomfortable in high heat and mugginess, and we get plenty of that in NY. I can't wait to compare it to the cheaper but airier schooling helmets my stable has, I'm hopeful that I haven't sacrificed much temperature control.I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I love this helmet! It is the most comfortable and stylish helmet that I have ever owned! It is super light weight and easily adjustable with the small dial at the back of the harness. I would absolutely recommend this for a schooling or local show helmet. Spectacular buy!
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I bought this one This ovation helmet was on sale when I purchased it. It seems to run a bit small but I'm so glad I bought it. It seems super in every other way. The faux velvet finish is classic and looks durable.Bottom strap has a padded add on for comfort and it sports a removable lining. If I were manufacturing this helmet, which I'm not, I'd improve on the plastic visor. It is made of a thin plastic that appears not as well made as the rest. Overall, it is very comfortable to wear and looks great.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This helmet is everything and more. If you are looking for a nice looking, low profile helmet that is not going to break the bank, THIS IS IT! It is lightweight and I love the adjustable dial for the winter when I wear an ear band or hat. It even comes with a little helmet bag to keep the "barn dust" off when you are not using it!
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price! I love Ovation helmets, they seem to be the only helmet that fits just right! This helmet is sharp looking in the show ring too!
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! I bought this to replace a hard hat that was 17 years old! I am sort of 'old school' & love my worn out velvet hard hat with the grosgrain bow on the back, but it was time to upgrade & get with the times. I really like this helmet---it is lightweight, looks great, not bulky, & is super comfy. I finally got to ride in it this past weekend & it didn't shift or pinch. I like the air vents-will be nice for hot summer riding. The 'velvet' looks pretty good & fancy enough to show in. The visor is a little flimsy, & mine was actually bent from the box, but I was able to bend it back to it's correct shape. I love the dial in the back for getting the fit just right. I had put off buying a new helmet because I just wasn't embracing the 'new' styles, but I found what I like in this one.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit! Very comfortable helmet and the adjustable dial really helps when sharing. Cushy interior, durable exterior with a soft velvety finish but it withstands dirt. I toss my helmets around and this one still looks good.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great helmet! Great helmet, looks and feels great but a little narrow on the sides of the head. Great for people with more of an oval shaped head. The velvet is very appealing but does get dirty easily. Helmet keeps you cool even on hot days!
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Recently I started showing again in an adult league and my trainer suggested that I get a show helmet and she suggested several and her fav was Charles Owens brand so I tried Dover's full line and none of them fit right. Low n behold OV makes a velvet version of my schooling helmet that I LOVE (I love the fact that I can adjust the tightness). You have to love SMARTPAK because they got it to me the Friday before my first ever show and I had ordered it Tuesday late night. And the price is wonderful because it didn't break the bank.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet The Ovation Competitor Helmet was a great purchase for a very comfortable helmet. I have always been a fan of ovation helmets because I like the dial-fit system. I am glad they make both schooling and show helmets, because they are comfortable and have a great life cycle.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Low Profile Helmet! Great helmet! Very comfortable low profile and light weight design. Wore it this weekend at a big rated show and received several compliments on it. Everyone wanted to know what brand it was and I loved that you couldn't tell just by looking at it. Looks spendy, but isn't!
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! i had been riding in my previous helmet for two years and had just entered in a schooling show when i was informed that my helmet was not ASTM approved. the show was in three days and i was riding in two days. So i went to my local tack shop and tryed on the ovation competeter helmet. it fit perfectly and was comfortably. I loved the velvet look so i could show and was not sufficating it is easy to clean and comes with a helmet bag.The small viser is helpfull becuse it does not affect vision. At the tack show it was 75.99 dollors so I went to Smartpakequine.com and it was only 67.99. I was worried it would not arive in time but it came the nexed day! I also ordered ovation zocks so I could get free shiping. I LOVE THIS HELMET.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pleasantly surprised Very surprised at the quality of helmet I got for the money! Extremely light-weight, and the most comfortable helmet I've ever worn. Keeps my head remarkably cool. Dont hesitate to buy, you wont be disappointed. Not a bad looking helmet either!
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, fantastic price! I bought the Ovation Competitor helmet during the International Helmet Awareness Day promotion. This is a fantastic helmet. My head is a bit small and the dial fit system allows me to get the perfect snug fit. The removable coolmax liner is a dream as I have always had issues trying to figure out how to clean the inside of my CO skullcap. The Ovation is well ventilated, which is a must for me in TN summers! I've only schooled in this helmet so far, but the velveteen exterior is sleek enough to show in. The only reason I did not rate the durability is that I have only had the helmet for about a month. I absolutely love this helmet and you can't beat the price for a helmet that looks this nice. Since buying this helmet, my CO skullcap is sitting in the tack trunk!
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value This helmet was the best deal! Excellent price and the quality was way beyond what I expected. I will use this for showing so I expect it to last for a vey long time.
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet Great Price This is my first helmet and I love it! I've worn several other helemts and this is the most comfortable and easy to adjust. The dial fit system is great and it looks sharp. The only drawback is the visor. It looks okay but feels cheap and flimsy. I have yet to test the durability. Overall a good helmet for a great price.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit as Always I really like how the Ovation helmets fit me. I ride in the Sync for schooling. I bought this helmet for show and had the opportunity to use it this past weekend. It fit perfectly and looks nice with the lower profile. It does seem like it will be hard to keep clean, but that is true of most velvet helmets. Since it will be used only at shows, I am not too worried about the dust.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value! bought this helmet as a present for my student. wanted a nice middle of the road helmet for schooling and the possibility of schooling shows in the future. fit her perfectly from the second she put it on her head. great low profile and shape. nice enough for showing, and everyday schooling. comfortable interior. not sure about durability yet, but looks great!! GREAT value for the price! would DEFINITELY recommend!
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Schooling Helmet This product is new - it used to be just a plastic helmet but then the company made the feux-velvet version. I loved the low-profile fit and the fact that it wasn't plastic - all for a really affordable price. I think it was great. I had to wait 2 months because it was on back order but that is because at the time it was a new product and I called 3 other companies and none had it in stock. Smartpak was the only one that offered to ship it to me overnight for free - they have the best customer service!!
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, well fitting helmet (for a great price)! This helmet was recommended to me by a friend, and I'm glad I tried it. It is light, fits well and I love the dial to adjust it depending on what kind of "hair day" I'm having. It looks very nice, too; people always ask what kind of helmet it is. The only slight drawback is that the velvety material attracts dirt very easily.I can't attest to the durability yet as I've only used it for a few weeks (hence the average rating, I didn't see an option not to rate durability).
Date published: 2012-04-30
  • 2016-10-26T12:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_8868, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders