Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

- Item #18857
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair



Customers Also Shopped For
Smegma, see you later – get rid of ...
Smegma, see you later – get rid of gunk and build-up with Smeg-U-Later. This formula is made with Organic Hemp Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, gentle and effective Coconut derived cleansers and soothing Honeysuckle. They have also added Essential Oil of Lavender, known for ...
The Andis Freedom Cord/Cordless Clipper is a rechargeable cordless ...
The Andis Freedom Cord/Cordless Clipper is a rechargeable cordless equine clipper that allows you to easily groom your horse anywhere. Easy-to-use clipper includes an adjustable blade (adjust from fine to coarse coat lengths (10-30) to help reduce lines) and is ideal for ...
Bath time has never been so fun! Manufactured ...
Bath time has never been so fun! Manufactured using patented technology the Foam & Frolic sponge is perfect for both the horses and riders! Favorite Features Smell great! Cleans andSoftens coats Quick and easy to use Safe for both horses ...
Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded ...
Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded strap for easier grooming. Green. Rubber Hand Groomer effectively lifts out dirt and breaks up clumps of mud to deep clean. Favorite Features Easy to clean out Durable Sizing It Up4 " ...
Cool-running and easy to use. The Oster Clipmaster ...
Cool-running and easy to use. The Oster Clipmaster is a real powerhouse! Clips hair continuously all day. Good for all types of animals. The variable-speed switch offers a wide variety of settings - from 700 to 3,000 cutting strokes per ...
Quic Silver is a color intensifying shampoo that ...
Quic Silver is a color intensifying shampoo that enhances brilliance and depth of coat color, particularly grey and white. The added bluing agent makes it great for stain removal. Quic Silver does not contain harsh chemicals or bleaches that leave ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.721649484536083 out of 5 by 97.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This brush has worked really well. I've gone through a lot of brushes, so it's nice to finally find one that's durable!
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail brush ever! I have Morgans with unpulled manes that can get very unruly. I have used MANY mane and tail brushes over the years and am so pleased with this one. I have only been using it for a month on my 4 Morgans and it is holding up great!!
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stick to the Basics! I used this brush a few times before, and it isn't anything special. The circular design is hard to brush with. You miss sections in manes, it's rough in tails, and I just didn't like it. I like the regular square brushes or brushes for my own hair. Not a fancy mane brush.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Brush This is an amazing brush. I love how durable it is. It works great on his mane and tail.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than it looks! I love this mane and tail brush! Yes, I know, it looks like quite a few others on the market and they all cost less, but this one works better. I don't know why, it just does. In my search for the perfect tangled tail detangler, I tried quite a few others - even some innovative looking designs, but this one wins. It not only works faster and better with less pulling, but it's very comfortable to hold. I would give it all 5 stars except I think it's a bit expensive, but really, for the durability, it's worth it. It does not pull the hair like most others (even some that look the same) and it easily handles those dirt-filled ringlets my mare gets when her tail hasn't been groomed in awhile. I think this is the best mane and tail brush out there.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mane and tail brush I don't buy these items often, because old fashioned mane combs do just fine, except when you've got thistles, mud, and unruly hairs! I did not know what to expect with this brush but it has done just fine so far. Does not pull hairs out and is gentle on the tail. My horse tolerates it well and the results are good.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best brush Works wonderfully on long winter coats along with doing manes & tails.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This brush has really hard plastic prongs/bristles that are good for getting out dreadlocks or tangles from horses with super thick manes or tails. Unfortunately it does tend to pull out a lot more hair with it than a "ball tip" brush, so you have to be careful. Using a detangler on the tail first helps to reduce the amount of hair that gets pulled out. Still a fairly good product though.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane/tail comb around I already had one of these and absolutely love it! I like to keep separate grooming tools for each horse and the price here was better than I could get it locally. Both my horses have long manes, and the draft X is very coarse and thick. This comb goes thru without pulling any hairs out, for the most part, so his mane stays long and full. Same for the tail. The Arab has a thinner mane, also prone to tangles, and this works without the use of spray detanglers. Love it. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tail Brush Really gets into deep tails without pulling them out. I usually use a detangler first. Durable, easy to hold. Bristles are really hard, so just be careful to not pick yourself.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BUY OF THE YEAR This is the best product I have purchased in ages. Wish I had done it when it first came out. Untangles manes without yanking the hair out. Easy to clean and comfy for my hand. A+++
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane and tail brush This is a great brush. My horses all have long tails and it brushes thru them easily and without breaking hairs or pulling them out.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oster knows their stuff! Have always been happy w Oster products, works great!
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect brush Easy to use and doesn't pull out their tail and mane. It gets through tangles so easily without breaking the hair. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this brush I have been using it for over a year. Good grip. I particularly like it because it doesn't break the hair as other brushes can do.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from oster mane and tail brush I find that this brush works the best out of so many that I have tried
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush easy on the hands Very comfortable brush to use. Works great on long thick manes and tails and doesn't hurt my hand or wrist. One of my boarders has one, too, and loves hers as well.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster tail and mane brush Great brush! Don't know how I managed without it before--cuts grooming time in half and is so much gentler on the mane and tail!
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, so far, I think... I like that this brush is the same shape but does not have the "cushion" because those never hold up. I bought this to replace my old "cushion" brush that I had for years, I'm sure well past it's life expectancy. It's nice to have a brush that doesn't come apart or have the bristles come out when you're using it. The handle grip is very comfortable but it seems like the handle is at a weird angle compared to the brush head, but maybe it's just me. I'm a little worried that since this brush doesn't have any "give" to it, it will tear out or break more hair so I've had to remind myself to be careful with it. I'm just not sure how I feel about it yet, it seems to work well and be sturdy, but I feel like it's a little too aggressive. Maybe I just need some time to get used to it? Regardless, it sure beats having the brush come apart with every stroke!
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush My horse has a thick tail that tangles quite a bit. I have tried other brushes but this one works very well. I have not had any problems with bristle tips coming off yet after about a month of regular use. It is nice in my hand and seems to do a very good job. I'm pleased. I use it with the hair moisturizer below and it is a great combo.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush!! This is a wonderful product!! I am sooo picky about my horse's tail and do everything I can to keep from ripping it out while brushing. The bristles on this brush are spaced wide apart and specially designed to minimize breakage of the hair. It also has a substantial handle that is comfortable in your hand. You need one of these if you want a beautiful, thick tail!!
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane & Tail Brush This brush does an excellent job of brushing out the mane and tail quickly and without pulling tons of hairs out or breaking them.
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane and tail brush I love this brush. My horse has a very thick mane and tail and I can get thru it easily without breakage and pulling too hard.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Comfortable This mane and tail brush is well made, sturdy and fits nicely in my hand. It does an excellent job on my horse's long, thick tail and full mane.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Cent! My horse has a thick tail and a thinner mane. While his tail is lush and eats normal grooming brushes for lunch, usually the thin grooming combs will work fine on his mane. I was looking for something more versatile for both his mane/tail. I've always known Oster to be a great brand, but the price raised my eyebrows. I had heard a few negative things about the brush, such as it's durability--I have never had any such problems. The bristles are very durable and I have not seen a single dent or bend to any of them. I love this brush. It's also very stylish and easy to used. It fits easily in my hand and makes brushing out a huge mane a ten second tidy!
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super This brush is easy on my hand/wrist and it does an excellent job combing out manes and tails quickly and without pulling lots of hairs.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tail brush This is a very sturdy, well balanced brush for any mane/tail. Strong bristles and handle make it easy to use. Our trainer has one and when it came time to replace ours, I didn't hesitate. Well worth the price, will last a long time.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I was looking for a second mane and tail brush, and this one is quite nice. Fits well in your hand and is sturdy enough to get through my trail horse's super thick/tangly mane.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've Used ! Tried every brush/rake/device out there....still come back to Oster.
Date published: 2012-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail brush ever... bought some years ago that i still use but they are finally getting pretty beat up so i replace my old with new...
Date published: 2012-04-10
  • 2016-10-26T12:55CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders