Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

One K Defender Matte Helmet

One K
- Item #21807
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Matte Helmet is sure to keep you cool with two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents! This all-around stylish helmet is great for both schooling and showing in a number of different disciplines!

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Stainless steel mesh
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Imported

Customers Also Shopped For
The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
Description:
The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
400 denier and Cordura nylon helmet bag fits ...
Description:
400 denier and Cordura nylon helmet bag fits velvet hunt caps and practically every SEI/ASTM helmet on the market. Rugged, water-resistant exterior and plush, lined interior that cushions andProtects. A practical solution that serves as a finishing touch to an ...
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
Description:
Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Favorite Features Pure carbon fiber external shell provides unbeatable strength-to-weight ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
Description:
The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Favorite Features Front air ...
The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
Description:
The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
Description:
The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest ...
Description:
Introducing the JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level ofProtection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated toProtect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic logo is positioned ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

One K Defender Matte Helmet is rated 4.670731707317073 out of 5 by 82.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet, Great fit I absolutely loved this beautiful helmet, and would have kept it, but the chin strap was a no go for me. The fit was perfect, the blue color was a delight. I ride trails only, and wanted a new, well vented helmet. At first I was "oh this is it!" ( I ordered 3 different helmets to try) but I was sad at the chin strap. I spend several hours at a time out riding the mountains, and was afraid this would cause me great discomfort. I suppose if I rode only an hour it would be ok, but it was very distracting. I'm going to say this is a nice oval shape. I would definitely have kept it, but for the chin strap. I also had my horse girls try it, they loved it too, but again the chin strap (we all trail ride) So that's why 4 stars, it would have easily been 5.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Light weight. Great fit. Would recommend to my friends
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn!
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from similar style pricier helmet - not as customized This OneK is a similar build to the Samshield for 1/2 the cost ... certainly the customization of the Samshield (specific hat sizing vs sm/med/lg) is nice - and they add a few side products which might be nice - winter warmers) ... but for anyone budget conscious, this one fits the need with a much more affordable price!And yes, if you are on the cusp of the top sizing for your head measurement - order the size up.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy for a nice looking helmet Great fit, comfortable, doesn't give you a "bucket head," phenomenal buy for the price.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I have ridden several times in this helmet and my head stays cool. Very comfortable I don't mind wearing it for several hours at a time!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet at a more reasonable cost I love this helmet! Super comfy -- just put it on and forget about it. It looks stylish and "show worthy" without a price tag north of $400. Definite thumbs up.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, looks sharp Good buy. Comfortable fit and doesn't make your head look like a giant dome.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Time for a new helmet brought me shopping here, since I'm a SmartPak customer.I liked the look and venting features advertised, since I live in a very warm, humid area, so I ordered the One K. Love the fit, it is snug but not uncomfortable, well padded and appears to breathe fairly well.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit Very comfortable (once I traded my L for and XL) and cushy liner wicks sweat away quickly. Large enough for my hair to be up or down in a pony tail.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! This helmet is super comfy and light! And the vents help a lot especially when the weather gets warmer.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet. I have a very hard time finding helmets that a large enough, yet do not have a huge profile. I have always worn Tipperary helmets, but have been unable to find a T2 lately. After tons of research I tried this One K. The XL did fit comfortably, but the helmet profile just appeared huge. I returned it for a L, and tried it with an XL liner as many people had advised. The fit feels the same, and it feels much less cumbersome overall. Very comfortable helmet, well-ventilated, and I quickly got used to the more forward chin strap.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I just received this and I love it! It is gorgeous.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! Great price! I had an IRH helmet before this for awhile and recently bought the One K Matte Defender and I love it. It's a great price, super comfy and look great!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet! I've had this helmet for about a year and a half and I originally bought it because my CO GR8 didn't have any ventilation for summer riding. Out of all the helmets I tried, this one fit the best and had amazing ventilation. I can actually feel breeze when I ride in this helmet and it doesn't leave my hair all sweaty after I'm done! Definitely recommend this helmet!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks great! .. But what about protection??? Falling is inevitable. It's just a matter of when and what helmet you will be wearing when it happens. The helmet itself has a nice look to it and is comfortable to wear but during a fall, the protection that it provides is very slight. It held up just fine and the plastic shell remained intact, however, it was absolutely painful. The helmet itself might be so uncomfortable during a fall that it causes more concussion than no helmet at all would have, as my head slammed into the arena sand. I've worn a variety of different brands and had plenty of spills as an exercise rider for racehorses -- not that I love to admit the falling part -- but if you haven't fallen, then you likely haven't ridden enough. Anyway, this helmet hurts. It doesn't get a recommendation from me. For your safety, you might consider looking elsewhere.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still digging this helmet I have the Black Matte for Hunters and love it but i think I may have to get it in Navy too, to match my Jumper attire :) Price wont break the bank either.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this helmet for my daughter who is in pony club and wants to start showing more this upcoming year. She loves it! It is very comfortable and I wish my head was a tad smaller so I could share with her. I will be ordering one for myself in the near future.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet!! This helmet fits like a glove!! I absolutely love how sleek and low profile this helmet is. I have a slightly oval shaped head and my other helmet didn't fit the best so I went looking for something new. I came across this one and immediately fell in love. I ordered this in a large, but it was just a tad snug. I ordered and XL liner and snapped that in instead and now it fits perfect. I am in love with this helmet!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and very light Great fit and very light with good airflow. Washable as well
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Nice helmet. I haven't owned it long enough to rate durability, but the easily removable and snap back in liner is something I appreciate. Replacement liners are available, too. Harness is comfortable and snaps nicely. My regular IRH was on months' of backorder and I read reviews saying this is what riders had switched to because of similar fit. I agree. Note that my measured size was right on the cut off between two helmet sizes. If you are in doubt, order up a size. Smartpak easily exchanged my too small helmet for the correct size.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet! I brought this a month ago and I love it! It's beautiful! The first thing I noticed was the airflow and ventation. I got many compliments from how nice it looked; someone even thought it was a samshield. I love how easy it is to take out the inner cushion. It makes washing it easier and allows me to avoid the terrible helmet smell I have gotten in my past helmets. It's my schooling and showing helmet(it's that nice).
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price & Looks Great in the show ring! I bought this helmet after loving my matte Samshield! This helmet takes a little while to break in, it is pretty snug during the first few uses, but it looks great in the show ring and is priced well! I do feel that this helmet gives you a lot more airflow than the samsheild and still provides a removable liner for easy washing.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this helmet for my daughter about a month ago. She loves it. It is much cooler than her previous helmet which is really important since we live in Florida. Looks great in the show ring!
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughters love it I bought this helmet for my daughters, they love the helmet. It was a bit snug the first time they tried it on, but it fits great now.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet I got this helmet a few weeks ago and am so glad I did. It actually fits well and I'm I'm love with the matte finish. I can just clean it off with water, its great. It's also really comfortable.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet My one k is by far the comfiest and most breathable helmet I've ridden in. I love the look of a matte helmet and these are much cheaper than samshields. The interchangeable liners are lifesavers, especially for people with thick hair. The chin strap was a little tighter than I expected, but it's easily adjustable. And now I find myself preferring a tight chin strap because the looser chin straps feel unsupportive and uncomfortable
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've ridden it is several times so far. It fits well and is comfortable. The price was very good for the quality. It shipped very fast and I was able to ride with it the next week. The Velcro piece on the chin piece hides the excess after adjusting the chinstrap length.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Have not received yet. I would love to actual rate this helmet. I ordered them for my daughters Aug. 1 they were on back order. Didn't receive till Aug. 27. Had to return because they were too small. Did get free shipping on the return. Returned them Sept. 1 it is Sept 15 and I am still waiting for the replacement.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy! Helmet looks a little large compared to my Charles Owen but it's super comfy! The ventilation is also great!
Date published: 2015-09-15
  • 2016-08-25T11:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_11807, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders