Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18002
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The newest of the Mountain Horse winter boots, The Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is fashionably chic as well as functional!  This winter riding boot has been meticulously designed for a comfortable fit and superior traction on ice, snow, and in the stirrup.


Favorite Features

  • Durable, quilted PU upper boasts membrane technology making this boot 100% waterproof up to the start of the zipper
  • Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft Nylex lining
  • Heat insulating (and stylish) faux fur will keep feet and toes warm
  • Built in steel shank for increased stability while walking or riding
  • Specially slim and contoured designed outsole made especially for riding
  • Super strong and durable YKK zipper to extend the life of your boots
  • Unique side elastic for an individual fit
  • Reflective inserts along the back of boot for night riding
  • Fax leather foot-part has been tested to withstand one million flexes in 14 degree F weather
  • Dirt repellent tred zones on bottom of sole enhance your grip in the stirrup
  • Heel part is fitted with shock absorbing IPS System

Sizing It Up


Customers Also Shopped For
The Heritage Contour Boot possesses the refined features, ...
The Heritage Contour Boot possesses the refined features, quality craftsmanship and performance attributes that serious riders demand. Favorite Features Handcrafted from premium full-grain leather with a high Spanish cut top line Full leather lining Full-length elasticized panel on the lateral ...
The Tuff Rider Men's Baroque Field Boot is ...
The Tuff Rider Men's Baroque Field Boot is made with superSoft premium leather and offer elegance and traditional styling of a custom boot. Favorite Features Elastic panel offers great comfort and fit Contoured ankle High Spanish cut Round toe boot ...
The Solstice Classic Tall Leather Boot is beautifully ...
The Solstice Classic Tall Leather Boot is beautifully crafted from luxurious hand-burnished premium leathers. Featuring a waterproof foot bed and seam sealed construction. This boot is so versatile you will easily go from the barn to town & country! Rubber ...
The DeNiro Salento Dress Boot is a completely ...
The DeNiro Salento Dress Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality. Favorite Features Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, and water-resistantProtection Grain calfskin lining provides superior quality Full length ...
Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this ...
Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature ...
The precision and athleticism of dressage inspired the ...
The precision and athleticism of dressage inspired the thoughtful craftsmanship and style of the Cadence Dressage BootFavorite Features ATS Technology provides all day stability and comfort Duratread outside provides maximum wear resistance and flexibility Premium full-grain leather upper with reinforcement ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is rated 4.343283582089552 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I love these boots. Well made. Super warm. Comfortable to ride or work in. Recommend them to everyone.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I bought these boots two winters ago. My feet got numb riding after work in the cold and dark. The boots fit pretty true to size. I normally wear an 8.5/9. The size 9s were comfortable with plenty of room for my slightly wider foot and high arch. They are nicely tapered at the ankle, more so than previous boots. The calf is true to size. The wide calf fit my 16.5 inch calves comfortably. The lining is on the calf only, not the foot portion of the boot. There is an elastic gusset down the entire side of the calf, so when my weight went up and down the boots went with them.They are exceptionally warm. Sometimes my feet got too warm while riding. I was living in New Mexico at the time (temperature slightly above freezing). They are very cute and comfortable. I wore them all the time--riding, barn chores, going to the store. Very comfortable.My one complaint about the boot is their longevity. After two half winters (bought them midway through the first winter and moved to Miami half way through the second) a hole opened up on the foot of one boot. The hole was right at the crease that forms when you bend your toe. This has been the death of almost every pair of boots I've ever had, so maybe it's just me. They were still warm, but no longer waterproof. Everything else was perfect. The sole and upper were still in perfect condition when I passed them on. I would definitely recommend these boots to anyone riding in cold weather.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm boots! I bought these boots to keep my feet warm while I ride and they certainly do that! I went up a size in order to wear extra thick socks but they're a bit snug in the ankle so zipping is a bit of a struggle. They feel a bit clunky to ride in but I'd rather give up feel to keep warm.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like these boots. I've worn them for about fifty hours now. I do chores and ride in them and my feet stay warm. They clean up nicely and even though my silly horse has run us along the wall a couple of times, these boots show no sign of wear. I have large calves (18") and these fit over my Irideon winter breeches and long johns. The elastic panel does stretch very nicely, but you've got to be strong enough to pull it over and then up. I added shoelaces to the zippers to make it easier to zip and to save my hands. I also have wide feet, if my feet were a regular width I could probably wear thicker socks in them, as it is I wear smartwool socks together with noble outfitters best dang boot socks in them. The shaft is the perfect height for my leg, but the first few rides they did dig into my knee pits. The first few rides they did rub my heels, not to the point of blisters, but I was glad to take them off. These boots are perfect for me, best of luck with the boot search!
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my feet WARM! These boots are very attractive and very warm. I have had many compliments on their appearance and I can attest to their comfort.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite winter boots! They look awesome, are completely waterproof and my feet do not get cold at all in these boots. I have a slim calf and normally wear an 8 1/2 or 9. I ordered an 8 and they fit perfectly.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel and quality. The boots are of excellent quality, I usually wear a 7.5 and the 7 was still roomy especially at the heel area. I added a half foot insert and they now fit perfectly. They are a bit too tall for my 5 ft self, but I am hoping they will relax a little with wear. I have tried 4 different brands of winter boots and these are the best yet.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very pretty Although these boots are attractive they don't fit well for riding. The ankles ste stiff and the Gome up too high.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous boots! These boots are gorgeous in person! I wear a 9.5 in Ariat boots and the 9 fit me perfectly. They are very warm. They are stiff, so make sure you break them in a little before wearing them to ride. I didn't and I had a hard time riding in them the first time due to the stiffness not allowing my leg to fall in it's regular place. I had lots of compliments on them at my barn!
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking & sturdy but some drawbacks I Iove the looks of this boot & tried to convince myself that they were ok. I am 5'8 and long/medium build. After trying and trying, the zipper killed my heal as I slide my foot in and they were almost impossible to zip with fleece breeches. There would be no way with bulky socks. My husband had to pull them off for me. I have exchanged them for the Mountain Horse Active Winter High Rider. Thesere much more comfortable to put on and to zip. Supposed to be warm even at 10 degrees below zero. I am much happier with this boot!
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Boot I bought these boots last year for a super-frigid winter, riding in sub-zero temps nearly every day, and they were awesome! I ride 4-6 days a week, and these are still in great shape half-way through the second winter. I usually wear them with a pair of Smartwool snowboarder socks, and my feet are toasty warm - if the outside temperature is 20 or higher, my feet get a bit sweaty, but never cold. Also, the shank has an elastic insert, so if I wear fleece breeches, or fleece breeches with long underwear underneath, they still zip up easily and fit well through the calf.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I love these boots. It's so hard to find good boots that fit wide calves. My feet stay dry and are toasty warm.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I Love them! I bought these boots a few weeks ago so I could ride and school without my toes freezing. So far so good.I do find them a little stiff and tall, so I am hoping they will break in and be more comfortable. They are competing with my muck boots which I swear by but are not good for lessons.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Love, love love these boots! Can wear out or to the barn. Comfy, warm and classy. Will recommend to all my horsie and non horsie friends . Fit great
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do you have big calves? Read this! <3 I was soooo excited to see that FINALLY an off-the-shelf tall boot would be large enough for my giantess calves. Seriously, they're over 18 inches, and I'm not hideously overweight. (Riding English is humiliating on so many levels... most brands 'wide calf' is a svelte 17. Hey Ariat, I'm talking to you!) But I digress. These came, I opened them up - and beautiful! They look every inch well-designed and fantastic quality for what they are (winter boots) and the price (not that much). Then I try them on... and I can't zip them. They say "up to 18 1/8" and my calves with breeches measure about that, maybe 18 1/4. They gap an entire 1" at the back. I am devastated. Freshly humiliated. So angry at Mountain Horse that they LIED about the upper limit. But I was in a huge hurry and put them aside to write a bad review later. Today, I had time to actually work with them... and it finally sunk in that that huge panel on the outside calf is elastic. Really strong elastic. So I pulled the outside around and...violá!! They zipped up!! Being a tall girl, they are perfectly fitted like fancy stiff dressage boots (I mostly ride dressage) so I am so very excited that they will work beautifully. Hooray!!! Just wanted to write all this so if you have wide calves and think they aren't going to fit like you thought - pull hard on that outside part and they will come right around. :-)
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very warm boots Purchased early November for riding on those cold Wisconsin days, boots keep my feet very warm, but bite into, and have actually cut open the back of my knees, as they are too tall for me.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm Very comfortable boots and very easy to break in. Wonderful to wear around the barn while keeping your feet warm and dry yet comfortable to wear in the saddle with good riding support. Love them.
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish there was a summer version! Just bought these so I can't give a longevity review but will say that these gorgeous boots are hitting high notes for me. Crazy warm! I live in the Pacific Northwest...the snowy, frozen version of that region...and have full confidence that these boots will keep the tootsies warm on long mountain endurance trainin rides. And then will look fashionably adorable w my skinnies when I run into town for errands. :) as always, SmartPak's service is flawless.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the style of these boots! I can't wait for the snow to wear them! They are very warm and cute. Plus I can wear a thick sock if needed.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice boots, but run very tall I bought these boots in a size 10, I'm 5'9. Can barely bend my legs in these bots they are so tall. I'm very disappointed, because otherwise I love these boots and the quality looks very good.
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Leak! Had these boots since last winter. I liked them okay and better than a lot of others I've tried. However, this year I began to notice my feet would be soaking wet and beyond freezing after taking them off after even a short time. Needless to say, they are leaking terribly!. They are now un-useable, as they never dry out, and will just Very disappointed in the quality, as I've only worn them during the coldest winter months.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding boots Fitted me perfectly and shipping very fast. 1-2 days earlier than stated.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really warm ! I bought these boots a couple weeks ago because my feet would get numb when I rode . now my feet stay warm and I don't have to worry about my feet feeling cold . if you don't get the right size tho they might still get a little cold . I got a size to big so my feet get cold sometimes but not bad but other people at my barn say there so warm they don't even wear socks . I guess it's just how cold your feet get !
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable So, from reading the other reviews, it's clear that this boot works better for some than others. I wear a 6.5 shoe, am 5'7", with fairly slim calves. I ordered a 6. The height and circumference of the calf is PERFECT (and exactly as listed in the sizing chart, so do check that out before ordering). The foot is generous -- I have lots of room in there to add thicker socks.I found these boots comfortable right out of the box, warm (I have perpetually cold feet so am picky about this) both tromping through the snow and riding, and easy to put on and take off. They are much stiffer than, say, the Ariat Bromonts -- the feeling when you ride is like a proper dressage dress boot, and walking in them is a bit clunky at first.I can see how they would rub your ankle but in my case it has been fine -- if your calves match the listed measurements, order a size down for your foot and see if they work for you.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT WARM boot leg too tall I was very excited to get these boots. When they arrived, I could barely get them zipped up, never could get the snap at the top of the zipper to close and stay snapped. The boot leg is extremely tall, and calf is tight on me. I had on 2 pair of heavy winter socks and my feet still got very cold. I have a 14/12 '' calf so I felt they should ft. Over all I was disappointed in these boots for the money. This boot is cute and the details on the outside are nice, but too much money .They are not comfortable to ride in either on top of everything else. I sent them back .
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! So far I love these! Ive only worn them a couple weeks but they are comfy and holding up well with 2-3 days of riding..not even a crease in the toes! I was looking for a winter boot that could do it all..this fits the bill..they are warm, waterproof, good sole for mud ( or snow) ..AND a boot you can ride in ..unlike some that are really just for occasional riding. The foot bed is a bit bulky but I find it to grip in the stirrups really well. Another thing I like ..because these are synthetic they don't leave black marks on my white blankets like my leather boots do ( my friesian is very round :) and of course they are cute..lots of complements. I normally wear a 7.5 or 8 boot and the 7 in these were a perfect fit..I do think they run a little large. So.. if they hold up as expected.. its all good!
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not like A few years ago I purchased and returned several pairs of Mountain Horse winter riding boots and so I don't know why it was surprise to me that these boots fit so poorly. They were too large for me in every dimension and I was not impressed by the look -- which is rather clumsy -- or quality of them. My solution was to return these and order a new pair of Ariat insulated boots, which I have not yet received but am hoping to be happy with. My last pair of winter riding boots were Ariats and they kept me very warm, fit well, and lasted quite a while. I wear Ariats in warmer weather as well. Their fit is more suited to my feet :-).
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Priced too high for what you get These boots were recommended to me, after I received them and went on a ride I was VERY disappointed in these boots. The temp for the day was 38 degrees and these boots did not keep my feet warm at all. I had 2 pairs of thick socks on as well. They are very tall as well. If you are 5'7 or taller these boots would most likely fit you very well. I am 5'5, and I can barely ride in them. I couldn't get the snaps to close at the back. I have 14 1/2 " calves and I could barely get them zipped up. I think them might work ok in a milder climate, but for me at least they didn't keep my feet warm at all. I have summer boots that I wear 2 pairs of socks with that kept my feet warmer than these did. I will be returning these for sure.
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy! I got these as a gift last winter, and as I intended to use them then, I had horse issues and couldn't ride in them aside from once! They need a while to break in, but once you do you NEVER want to take them off. I used to wear them to school, to break them in. They're bulky looking down by the foot, but very elegant in the calf. You HAVE to make sure you clean them, or else the material will not be as waterproof as it should be. Wear thick socks though, there is an odd harder plastic at the bottom of the zipper that makes the zipper a lot stronger, but it is a lot stronger on your ankles too! That zipper is strong, it is harsh to get up and stays right in place, it looks slightly pathetic, but it is a wicked good zipper. This year I've been wearing them much more often, including riding! They're so comfortable, aside from the ankle gouging. I walk all over the farm, do stalls, and go out and about with them. Riding was strange at first, it makes a loud squeaking sound when you first start riding in them, eventually it tones down to the level of a normal saddle vs. boot squeak. They keep your legs very stationary, and look perfect with a pair of warm winter breeches! I would definitely recommend these boots, you'll get compliments on their style, and you'll compliment yourself on your toasty feet!
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THESE BOOTS! I was very excited to try my boots on when they came in.... not only did they fit EXACTLY like the measurements said they would, but they were so comfy I didn't want to take them off.  I'm very short but wear a 10 wide. I was worried they would be too tall, and they did start out a little bit on the tall side, BUT after about 10 minutes of wear I could tell they would break in to fit me perfectly.  I've had Mountain Horse winter boots before and I was OK with them... these are AMAZING!  Best winter boot I have ever had in my entire life.  I can wear them forever and feel like I'm working in a pair of comfy slippers! #ImaVeryHappyCustomer
Date published: 2013-11-14
  • 2016-10-27T13:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_8002, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders