Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!


Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visibility
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece

    Sizing It Up

    Customers Also Shopped For
    Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying ...
    Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying your time at the barn! This practical and stylish windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Favorite Features Complete with cozy white kasha lining, draw cord ...
    Number 1 on the A Circuit. Favorites of ...
    Number 1 on the A Circuit. Favorites of professionals and amatuers alike. Classic fit and superb detailing. Designed by Grand Prix Riders. Classic style Professional Low-Rise 4-way stretch breech with clarino knee patches. Lightweight, 67%cotton/26% nylon/ 7% elastane. VELCRO® Brand ...
    Get warmth without the bulk in all types ...
    Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather. Crafted with the latest in technical fabrics, the gorgeous Personalized UltimaSoft Shell Jacket goes from corporate to casual with ease. Hi-techProtection with a sophisticated, flattering fitted style. Favorite Features Wind ...
    The Dubarry Hawthorn Coat is the epitome of ...
    The Dubarry Hawthorn Coat is the epitome of style, quality, and function. This elegant, tailored women's tweed coat features a flattering fit and flare silhouette with quality details including: Teflon coated 100% Pure wool Signature Dubarry jacquard lining in contrast ...
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women’s ...
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women’s fleece jacket!Fitted cut and princess seams flatters your figure Unlined, anti-pill Loftex fleece keeps you cozy and comfortable Embroidered logo on the left chest and jacket back shows off your SmartPak love ...
    Perfect for riding or barn chores, this jacket ...
    Perfect for riding or barn chores, this jacket has you covered. Built to last, thisSoft canvas is relaxed enough to provide comfort and mobility, while remaining durable and functional. Imported. Favorite Features Diamond quilted brushed tricot lined body and drawstring ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.3875 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! These pants are perfect in the cold weather we've been having. They keep me warm in below zero temps. I ordered a small and they fit well and are comfortable for riding. A little long for me but most things usually are as I'm 5'1". They are holding up well and after a wash they look like new! I am very impressed with the quality and fit and in my opinion are good value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm! These are stylish and very warm - it was in the single digits today and they kept out the cold and wind. Comfortable to ride in and I like the zippers and extra snaps at the waist. Great Mountain Horse quality! Find these and get them...you will not be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing is difficult Well, I did not see that these were unisex sizing until after purchasing. Nonetheless, I used the sizing chart and ordered a size L. I am 5'11" and about 185lbs. I wear a size 12/14 in street clothes. The L fit great everywhere except the hips, which were quite tight, and waist, which was simultaneously tight, but gapping at the elastic part in the back. Very odd. I decided to order a size XL for comparison. The XL arrived last night and I don't even need to unbutton/unzip them. They are so large, I can just pull them on like sweatpants. Baggy all over. For some reason, the size L has a 2 button waist adjustment on either side (you could take the waist in by 2" if needed by moving the snap), but the XL does not have this same feature. Very odd. I sent the XL back and will keep the L and... hope to become slightly smaller in my hips??? I'm still thinking that one over. Other than sizing, these seem AWESOME, which is why I am really torn on what to do with the size L pair - keep or return? They are so toasty warm, super easy to get on and off thanks to the full length leg zips on either side, and the full seat gives lots of grip. They would be super duper awesome if they were simply cut for a woman instead of unisex.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, comfortable and nice for riding In very cold weather these are my go to riding pants.   Very comfortable and well made.  Not flattering however.   The hips are very oversized.  I'm 5' 8" 150 lbs and have the medium size.  They are just long enough and fit my 31" waist with little room to spare.  However the hip area must be at least 36" -- it's overly wide/roomy.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I stayed warm! Wanted riding pants to wear in the winter without bulk, to stay warm and dry.  Wore them on Christmas Eve and the temperatures were low 20's.   Product is excellent.  Wore them with a nice pair of thermal long johns.  Unisex sizing but would like female sizing options.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Warm! I got these pants just after our 10 degree days turned to the forties. They will make great pants for bitter days. They are what they look like in the ad, somewhat bulky, fitted at the waist. Sizing was difficult for me. I am keeping the extra smalls though they are shorter and tighter in the waist than I would like. The smalls were way too loose in the leg.I am 5ft 6 and 108 lbs. I were size 26 reg. breeches.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase These winter breeches are great and live up to the positive reviews. They do run bigger just as the reviews say, but I ordered a size down and extremely satisfied. Usually I wear a size small (3/4-5/6) and I ordered an extra small in these and they fit perfectly! I wear them comfortably over jeans, but can easily get on from the ground when I wear regular breeches underneath them. These are great.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unisex cut; not for curvy women I've owned a pair of these breeches that I bought from another vendor and asolutely love them. Friends from my barn have warned me that the same breech from Smark Pak are oddly cut (male cut; straight through hips), but I had to try after my other pair wore out. I returned them because they were definitely different (small) through the hips and thighs than the ones I have had before. Be forewarned that these appear to be unisex size and not for curvy women. Very sad about that because other than that, these are great winter protection. Very warm and waterproof!
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and not bulky! I just moved to an area with cold winters and needed something warm to ride in. I just used them for the first time today at 24 degrees and a 15 mph wind (so with wind chill it was about 7 or 8 degrees) and they are excellent at keeping the wind out and I was comfortably warm the whole day. The zippers were easy to manage and I'm sure I'll be using the snow gaiters inside soon. I've used ski pants in the past but they were too slick on the seat to ride properly; these are actual breeches, so the seat has some grip- nice and easy to ride in. Although they kept me warm, they're not at all bulky or bunchy, which is another improvement over ski pants or jeans with long johns. I have no idea how durable they will be, but the materials and construction are quite good and I think they'll last for quite a while. Am planning on giving a pair to a friend in Montana for Christmas, they're that nice.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warn and easy to wear. These are really nice pants and very high quality. They are easy to get on and off and have GREAT zippers. I like to put them on over my breeches in the morning and when it warms up in the afternoon I take them off. I'm going to use them for skiing too. They are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm in upstate NY Held off because of the price but so happy I ordered these breeches - they are so worth it.I am at a cold barn in upstate NY every day and am able to ride in a icy indoor or out on trail in comfort. Higher -waisted than I expected since everything seems to be low waisted these days but warm and cozy. Wear silk long underwear underneath and I am fine. Nice quality. Good length with zipper to accomodate boots.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cold Weather Gear! These pants are fantastic! The fabric is very nice and WORKS in cold, dirty, working conditions. They are comfortable and fit well. They are not hipster style clothing which I appreciate. (I don't have to tug on them to keep my body covered!) I can wear them over other layers too. The fasteners work well and they open at the ankles to accomodate boots and stuff. I think they may double as an extra pair of ski pants too when I hit the slopes.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changes the game These full-seat breeches totally changed my relationship to winter riding. They are extremely warm and comfortable, totally waterproof, and sealed well (no drafts at the ankle). As other reviewers have said, they are sized generously enough to layer (today, I wore jeans under them). Best investment I've made this winter!
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Mountain Man" breech These breeches are made the best. They are warm, materials and stiching are excellent and I especially like the seams at the knees for easy bending. Problem is they are unisex in size and I would say they are actually made more for a man than a woman. If you happen to be shaped like a man and are really tall and order a smaller size you might get along pretty well. If you are shaped like a woman and don't mind a big gap in the waste and an extra 6 inches at the bottom of the pants, you will also probably get along well with these breeches. For what they charge I think it is time Mountain Horse ditched the unisex sizing and designed something specifically for a woman's figure and height. That said, the workmanship is great and although pricey, you get what you pay for. Too bad they don't fit!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm LOVE these pants. It was 7 degrees here today. I stayed toasty warm all day. I have stopped wearing my Carhartts because these pants are warmer. They are comfortable to ride in and breathable so I do not over heat.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome quality Nice pants w/ lots of extras. These pants look so durable. I haven't gotten to use them much yet but, they look like the perfect pants to put over my riding pants in the extremely cold winter weather in SD.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, but very large I'm 5'5 and 105 pounds (and normally wear 25 inch waist / 30-32 inch length jeans) ... and I tried these in the smallest size, XS. Unfortunately, they were way too big!The quality seems great, and I would definitely buy if they had only had a smaller size...
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm! I got these pants over Christmas. I have been wanting a pair since 2011. I love them they are very warm!!!! I even can wear them with my jeans, but you get very warm. I would wear them with breeches or sweats. :) But they look great and hold up!
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pants I love mountain horse products and these pants aren't an exception! I live in Utah and we have cold, snowy winters. I board my horse at a facility that keeps all the horses outside 24/7 in paddocks and shelter. They don't have a barn and other than the shelter there's no cover for me from the snow while I'm working with my horse. So far these pants are indeed waterproof and wind proof. I work my horse in the outdoor ring year round the outdoor round pens and these pants keep me warm and dry. In fact, I just got back from the barn and it's snowing hard right now. I was outside till almost midnight cleaning my horses paddock and shelter, etc. It was a whopping 28 degree and I was toasty as ever!
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs Long! Many reviews say that these breeches run large. I am a size 16, 5'7" and they fit loosely, but they are looong!Giving 4 stars across the board based on previous MH products but will have to exchange these for a smaller size.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Comfort Investment Ever These pants are the best. They are warm, comfortable and easy to get on and off. I ride in temperatures in the low 20's most of the winter and these pant are awesome.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Pants Ever! I received these pants last week and LOVE them! It snowed the day I got them, so I got to try them out in the cold and wet, and they stayed warm and dry. They were comfortable to wear on the ground and in the saddle, and I love that I can wear either jeans or breeches underneath them.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I bought these because I tend to be very cold in the winter which effects how often and how long I ride in the winter. After reading all of the reviews that said they run big I wasn't sure what size to order. I am 5'8", weigh 160lbs and wear a size 4, the small ones will work just fine over my jeans. They have just enough room in the hips and seat so as not to become uncomfortable for extend periods of time in the saddle. I can't wait for the cold weather to get here so I can put them to use!!
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very big Huge! Ordered a medium and it was way too big. Im 5 ft 10 and 150. I have never been a small and I could have fit 2 of me in the medium! But good quality.
    Date published: 2012-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice pants Because of reading the other reviews, and because I wanted these pants to wear only over long underwear -- as I HAVE other insulated pants for use over clothes, I ordered the XS. They are still HUGE. I am 5'6" and less than 120#, and although still large, they fit OK over thick jeans, but I would not be able to wear them alone.They appear well-made, and are easier to get on and off than my older pants, so I will keep them... but disregard the sizing and measurements when ordering... not even close!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great winter riding pants love the snow pants... a little long in the legs but very nice over all
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! It finally got cold here! It was a negative 6 out and barn chores had to be done. I have been waiting all year to try my new mountain horse pants out! LOVE them! I didn't get cold, best buy ever! They are comfy and I could move freely. I climbed the hay loft stairs and carried down bales without issue. I highly recommend them. Im not a big winter rider and without an indoor I don't ride often this time of year but Im thinking I just might now since I won't be cold now! Great product!
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice.. I love the new snow/riding pants... I'm 5'5 and 155 and I ordered a large.. I like the fit but a little long. these are very very warm... I live in the northeast and they are great for our cold weather... best winter riding pant I ever had..
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing Runs Huge I'm short but average build (5'1", 115 lbs) and am a small in most things so that is the size I ordered. They just arrived, and fall right off my waist and hips with the snaps done up. Other than that they look extremely warm and well made. Bummed that I won't be wearing them in the cold this weekend, exchanging for an XS.
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely run on the large size . Otherwise these are the warmest winter breeches I have ever owned even on the coldest winter days and have lasted well over 3 winters so far. I love them.
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    • 2016-10-24T12:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_8519, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders