Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant

Mountain Horse
- Item #20553
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is a heavy duty windproof, waterproof, and fully seam-sealed pant offering you the absolute best protection from the elements while riding and caring for your horses.

Favorite Features

  • Windproof, waterproof, and full seam-sealed for the ultimate all-weather protection
  • Specially designed two-way full length zippers let you put this pant on over bulky under layers with ease
  • 100% fiberfill insulation
  • Reflective piping for night visibility
  • Ergonomically shaped knees are double reinforced for durability 
  • Faux leather full seat for extra grip 
  • Adjustable waist so you can get the perfect fit no matter what you're wearing underneath
  • Adjustable-elastic foot straps keep the pants from riding up 
  • Traditional zippered front fly for easy on/off 
  • One front zipper pocket to keep your valuables secure

Imported.

Sizing It Up

XS-XL

Customers Also Shopped For
Our best selling breeches winterized! Stay warm and ...
Description:
Our best selling breeches winterized! Stay warm and dry this season with the Piper Softshell Knee Patch Winter Breeches by SmartPak! Favorite Features Smooth soft exterior brushes off hay and shavings easily 4 way stretch Modified rise Wind resistant exterior with a cozy ...
The Pikuer Gracia Primaloft Vest has all the ...
Description:
The Pikuer Gracia Primaloft Vest has all the elements of functionality that you need done with the elegance and luxe details that you desire! Favorite Features Rose gold tone zippers and zippered pockets Detachable Imitation Fur on Stand-up Collar Very light due to 133g Primaloft® ...
Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying ...
Description:
Don't let windy weather keep you from enjoying your time at the barn! This practical and stylish windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Favorite Features Complete with cozy white kasha lining, draw cord ...
Our best selling breeches winterized! Stay warm and ...
Description:
Our best selling breeches winterized! Stay warm and dry this season with the Piper Plus Softshell Full Seat Winter Breeches by SmartPak! Favorite Features     Smooth soft exterior brushes off hay and shavings easily 4 way stretch Modified rise Wind resistant exterior with a ...
The Noble Outfitter Evolution Insulated Jacket is made ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitter Evolution Insulated Jacket is made from 100% polyester with a water repellent finish to keep you warm and dry from the elements.Favorite Features 100% Waterproof Dual action hand pockets Detachable hood Back vents and hidden storm flaps ...
Get warmth without the bulk in all types ...
Description:
Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather. Crafted with the latest in technical fabrics, the gorgeous Personalized UltimaSoft Shell Jacket goes from corporate to casual with ease. Hi-techProtection with a sophisticated, flattering fitted style. Favorite Features Wind ...
Keep warm on crispy fall days at the ...
Description:
Keep warm on crispy fall days at the barn with the Under Armour Storm Swacket! Combining style, comfort and storm technology!  Favorite Features  Reflective details, this will definitely be one of your favorite pieces Adjustable hood UA logo on left chest Drop tail hemline ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is rated 4.333333333333333 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Winter Riding and Chores Waterproof, full-seat and adjustable to fit over whatever layers the weather makes you wear that day! It's a winter staple! They do run small in the waste and long in the leg, both features I find to be positive! The XS fits a petite 16 year-old perfectly. I had to exchange my S for a M, and I normally wear a size 4. It is fantastic that there is a wide variety of sizes and adjustability so that you can definitely find the right fit.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Zippers Nice looking pants, fit pretty well and quite warm. The zippers they use are very poor and will break. Wore them less than 20 times and hardly rode in them at all, leg zippers broke.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great winter pants! Love love these winter riding pants, they are warm and light weight and long enough for me which is very unusual. I ordered the extra large and had to return them for the medium and they fit perfect. I am 5.8 and weigh 145. They are so nice to ride in and just doing chores in. Very warm with just light weight breeches or jeans. Easy to walk in and sit and whatever you need to do. I would definitely recommend these pants.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Warm I would give these pants a higher star rating, however the zipper on the size of the leg breaks making the pants un-wearable. I have a pair, both my daughters have a pair and my trainer and barn manager have a pair. We love them up until the zipper breaks and all of us have had the same issue. The pants lasted most of one season and are too expensive to keep replacing every year. Called Mountain Horse and they stated that the warranty had expired on the pants after a few months so there was nothing that could be done for the issue.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Thought I was getting a different pant. Was the only Mountain Horse winter pants listed. Did not fit and were too slippery and shinny . Returned them and later saw the pants I was expecting them to be.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made. These pants have many great features...adjustable snaps at ankle, many zippers in the right places. The only problem I had was that the measurements listed didn't work for me. I should have fitted into the smalls, but had to exchange them for a medium.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product but sizing is off If this product fit better, I would give it a 5 star rating because it is warm, light weight and waterproof. It could easily be used as ski pants. I initially ordered size small based on the sizing chart and had to return them because I couldn't zip them - so do NOT go by the chart - order at LEAST one size up from what the chart recommends. I am 5'7" and weigh 135 pounds. The medium fit is adequate but not 100% comfortable. If there was more give in the waist, I would be totally satisfied. Mountain Horse products are well made and I have never been disappointed in the quality.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing left pant cuff snap Left pant cuff snap fell off my Mountain Horse winter riding pants when removing pants from packaging. Sent email to Mountain Horse to notify them. Called SmartPak and the customer service was wonderful. Sent the pants back today for an exchange. I have always been impressed with how helpful SmartPak customer service personel are. I have purchased Mountain Horse products for many years and have always been very happy with the quality of their products. I am sure the replacement pants will be fine and I will change my rating of the quality to much higher.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain horse rider pant The pants are warm and light weight. easy to ride in. I am riding young horses that are all over the place and it is easy to stay put in the saddle. No slip
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mountain horse mountain rider pant Absolutely love these pants. I have waited a long time trying to convince myself to spend the money. I finally "bit the bullet" and purchased. ..love, love, love them. They are warm, convenient savvy, and you don't need fifteen layers. The zip pockets are great, but I do wish there was one or two more, maybe down along the side of the leg. The "M" sizing fits fine for me....5 5" and 140# and only need one under-layer here in missouri, but I would have needed a bigger size if I had bigger "saddle bags". The length is a little long when standing, but appreciated, when riding. ...no drafts! !
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will keep my daughter warm in the winter Was too small and will return for larger size. Great product.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE PANTS! I absolutely love these winter pants. I went riding in a windy 27°f with only fleece long-johns under them! Add toe warmers and a wool sweater and I'll be toasty all winter!
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfy-love the full seat! The fit was ok, do agree with other ladies that unisex is not the best idea, besides, I bet more women bye them then men. To help others- I bought a M -am 5'2 and 132 lbs.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great material but Size is an issue!! They seem very well made and comfortable but was very disappointed in the sizing. My waist normally fits a 32 pant size, but even the M which is supposed to be a 35 was tight. Also was snug in the hip but the length is very long. Got a larger size and kept because they are very warm and comfy... just wish mountain horse would work on the sizing.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Size an issue I returned the item immediately. The pants are designed for a tall, quite slender person. I was looking to replace a pair of winter pants that I bought years ago from another supplier, but although these pants seemed to be well-made, they certainly didn't allow for a variety of sizes. Very straight legged with no give. Was disappointed in the fit.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter over-pant! I recently bought this item and LOVE it! It's heavy enough to use as a mid-weight snow pant, while still light enough to be comfortable to wear. I love the zippers that go from top to bottom, with snaps to keep the pants closed around your boot. The reinforced areas for riding are great. I had been riding in more "traditional" snowpants and had worn them out. These are holding up great so far and I'm confident they will continue to do so. The only downside (and reason for 4/5 stars) I have noticed about this product is that it is a little snug around my rear-end. Granted, this could just be due to a curvy body, but I can still wear the pants and they seem to be stretching to accommodate my body, they're just a little tight in that area. I don't want the next size up as it would be too long, so this will work!
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best!!! I absolutely love, love, love these pants. I can put these on over my jeans or even yoga pants, head to the barn to do chores and be totally warm/waterproof. Easyon/off even with boots on. Haven't ridden in them so can't review on that. Runs true to size.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Dry! I live in South Central PA and bought these pants just after Christmas. My horse islame right now and I can't ride but I've been wearing these pants out to the barntwice daily to do barn chores. With all the snow/below normal temperatures we'vehad this winter I have worn these pants with my original style Mountain Horse jacket and have not been cold at all. Love these pants!!
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i really love these they are easy to get on and off they are just a tad tight in the waist i hope i can ride in them now im just using them to keep warm they are very high quaility
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I bought these 2 weeks ago and have worn them everyday since. Extremely warm and comfortable. I would recommend them. I bought a medium and they fit great. I am 5'4" and about 140 lbs (and old)!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I go so many winters without these?! I have been wearing this for a month in as cold as -20 below (with wind-chill) and they have kept me incredible warm. They are thick enough to be snow pants and go play/hike in , yet I can still wear them and walk around and not feel like the dough boy. I also have worn them to shovel the driveway. I wear them riding and they are excellent. The straps on the leg keeps the pants from running up, but can also easily be removed. The pants are easy to get on and off with my tall winter boots because of the side zippers. They are easily adjustable in the waste and go high up enough to make sure no snow or drafts get in. The full seat section is so grippy when I get into my car to drive to the barn with them on I feel stuck to my car seat (seriously, a testament to the quality). They also seem designed well enough that I can actually bend my knees to ride with them on. These pants are a live saver in the winter. I tried wearing leggings, yoga pants, jeans and then windbreaker pants but nothing is as warm and quality as these pants. I highly recommend, if you purchase these you are going to look back and wonder why you suffered so many winters without them.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm pants! Pants fit well and are warm! I haven't worn them outside yet as I am still using my other pair of Mountain horse winter pants.
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite winter pants. I was debating on if I should spend the money to get them or not, but when I did I was so glad I did! I love them! They keep you nice and warm and are good ridding pants as well.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pant for bad weather Features on the pants seems nice. They are very straight through the thigh, so I am currently trying to loose some weight in order to be able to lift my leg to get into the saddle. Great motivation in the deep freezes of January, but something with maybe a bit of stretch in the thigh/groin area would be more forgiving when mounting. Can't wait to acutally use them! :)
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love mountain horse products I have bought several mountain horse brand items and have loved everyone...these pants will keep you warm. I am 5 4 And they are a bit too long but as long as I am warm I can deal with the length.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but odd fitting They seemed warm and well made but they were really odd fitting. I'm 5'9 and found them to be super long, very high waisted, but yet still had about a two inch dropped crotch. The thighs were tighter than expected. That coupled with the drop in the crotch mmeant riding would be very difficult.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product. I love there riding pants. They are warm, well made and very practical for the barn or riding. Thanks!,
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from like the zip up legs I wish I could have ordered a Medium and 1/2.. wearing pants under them in the extreme cold made them tight in the thigh when riding.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable A rider friend bought a pair of these and I really liked hers, so I got a pair too. These are very nice! I wear a thin layer of long underwear underneath and have ridden in weather in the 20's and have been warm. The waist is higher than I expected, but does not cause discomfort. I'm 5'8", 150 lbs and bought size small. They fit perfectly.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm Cold Winter riding is no problem with these pants. The full seat gives plenty of grip on the saddle and my legs are comfortably warm. The pants have adjustable waist too. They are awesome!
Date published: 2013-12-24
  • 2016-09-25T12:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_10553, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders