Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Micklem Multibridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20930
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A better way forward for a better way of going, the Micklem Multibridle relieves pressure on the sensitive parts of the head.  This unique bridle is designed to comfortably fit the shape of the horse's skull, avoiding pressure on sensitive areas.  It can be used as a bridle or lunge cavesson.  Helps to eliminate pain, numbness or damage to nerves, veins and muscles due to ill-fitting bridles.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Two main pieces of equipment in one: A bridle and a lunge cavesson
  • Made from eco-friendly vegetable tanned leather
  • Comes with tongue protection clips, bit straps, and curb groove strap

Imported

Please note this bridle does not come with reins. We have a wonderful selection of reins you can choose from, for the full list please click here.

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
Spend more time riding and less time cleaning ...
Description:
Spend more time riding and less time cleaning with a Wintec Bridle! Ideal for trail riding. Reins sold separately. Favorite Features Durable, lightweight, and weatherproof Synthetic leather Padded noseband Easy to care for Stainless steel hardware Sizing It Up Cob ...
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted with durable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows! Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the ...
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic ...
Description:
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic balance has made it Pessoa's number one jumping saddle worldwide. Made of ultra supple and long wearing English leather. Features BayFlex contoured multi-density polyurethane panels. BayFlex is an extremely versatile material that ...
Available exclusively at SmartPak at an unbelievable value, ...
Description:
Available exclusively at SmartPak at an unbelievable value, Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Favorite Features Delicate fancy stitching detail Traditional styling Supple imported leather Stainless steel hardware Hook ...
With flap options to fit any rider, the ...
Description:
With flap options to fit any rider, the versatile Gen-X saddle offers a great ride for horse and rider with its grippy calfskin covered leather flaps and seat. Favorite Features Euro-styled with added stitching details. Bayflexcontoured multi-density polyurethane panels. XCH ...
Enjoy theSoft, padded feel of this lightweight, synthetic ...
Description:
Enjoy theSoft, padded feel of this lightweight, synthetic rein. Favorite Features Durable, lightweight, and weatherproof Synthetic leather covering is easy on hands Easy to care for Stainless steel buckle ends Includes rein stops Padded for comfort Sizing It Up 5/8" ...
The Aachen saddle features a deep seat, mildly ...
Description:
The Aachen saddle features a deep seat, mildly forward flap and is overlaid entirely of French calf leather. The Adjusta-Block moveable/removable knee block system allows positioning for optimum comfort and effectiveness. The gusseted panels ensure great fit for your horse. ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Micklem Multibridle is rated 4.1875 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, but does not fit all horses... We were really excited to try this on my daughter's fussy mare, but we ran into a problem with fitting it. Mare has large cheek which meant the upper cheek strap of the regular horse size bridle was too short. We also tried large horse size, but that meant that the lower nose strap was too big. Wish it had worked....
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different horse! I have a mare who has always been very resistant to any contact. We have always struggled with tension and I could never get her to fully relax. From the moment I put this bridle on she was a different horse! Happy, relaxed, and willing to go into the contact. I am amazed at how much softer the connection is and she no longer fights with me. I wish I had tried it sooner!She has always been hard to fit for a bridle, she is between a cob and pony size. I bought the cob and it fit great except I had to put a horse size noseband on. I bought the black, and it did come with reins. A great product!
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice; didn't fit. I like the design of this bridle except that the diagonal piece connecting the cheek and nose pieces assumes certain dimensions of the horse's face and can't be adjusted. If that part doesn't fit right (like on my short-faced, large jowled horse), no adjustments or sizing up/down seem to help.I tried both cob and horse sizes on my 14.2hh Arabian. With the cob, the browband and jaw strap were too short, and the noseband tended to sit too low. The horse size fit slightly better, but I had similar problems with the short jaw strap and noseband where once I got one in the right place, the other would be wrong. If the jaw strap had been an inch or two longer it could've worked but my horse did not enjoy how tightly it fastened on the last hole. I'd be open to rebuying this bridle to try on a different horse in the future, but it just doesn't fit my current needs.As far as quality, the black bridle I ordered first was very stiff but the brown one I got when I exchanged sizes was much less so. For some reason the brown one also came with reins, which I didn't try. Bridle is easy to clean.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bridle bought this bridle to fit a horse with prominent cheek bones. This bridle fits him but I had to make some adjustments. My guy has a big head and the bridle length is great but the nose band was to big even for my horse. Beautiful bridle
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Multibridle If your horse goes well in a flash, figure eight, or drop noseband, this may be great for you. For horses that have never had those types of nosebands, they may hate it. It was especially great for my idiopathic headshaker, and my current OTTB goes well in it, but he goes pretty much the same in a figure eight. It can rub the cheeks with some mullen mouth bits.The leather is mid-grade quality with good stitching and decent padding. I let the bridle soak in oil for a day, and it came out pretty nice. My favorite things about this bridle are the ergonomic design (although it won't work for every horse's head shape) and.. how few pieces there are to clean! I changed out the stock browband for a brass clincher, and use this set up as my XC bridle. Very happy with it, have had three Micklems for the last four years and all held up well, even got nicer with age.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, lovee this bridle! I've been using the Multibridle for a few weeks now and it really does make a difference. I have a 15.2h fine headed anglo arab and the cob sized fit him well;He's stopped needing to itch his face, and it looks great.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful fit tends to run small, so be sure to up I have a very sensitive Arabian, he loves this briddle. He is so soft in my hands, an foaming at the mouth. He has never been such a pleasure to ride!! Thanks many happy rides to come.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bridle! I love the way she relaxes into our lesson much faster than she does with a regular bridle.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I got my Micklem bridle three weeks ago and a piece of the nose band already brook. The leather is a little stiff. I regret throwing the package back otherwise I would have ask for an exchange
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fitting Bridle I purchased this bridle for my young, Icelandic gelding. It fit him perfectly and he seemed very comfortable with this bridle. He can be hard to fit, but the standard horse size was perfect for him. The bridle is very well made and has excellent features. I would definitely recommend this bridle.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new way to look at things I have purchased both the Micklem multibridle and completion bridle. The multibridle is a better quality of leather than the competition bridle. The reins which came with the competition bridle are thick, rubber and not really useful for me. I tried this bridle because I have a horse who tilts his head slightly to the left. He was never fussy with this quirk and the degree of collection made no difference. We had determined that the cause was not his teeth or my hands and he checked out OK from a chiropractic stand point. From the first ride with this bridle the head tilt was gone and it has stayed gone. I was skeptical that simply a different style of bridle would solve this problem. To say the least, I was more than pleased. I would certainly consider this bridle as a possible solution to any bridling or head issues.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fit my horse I tried twice to adjust this bridle to my horse but could never get it quite right. In addition, my horse didn't seem to like it as he kept tossing his head when I put it on. I never did ride him with it on as it clearly wasn't going to work so I returned it. Looks nicely made.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not big enough for warmbloods I have not been able to give this bridle a full try because it is not big enough for my warmblood. The leather is too stiff, so I don't know whether softening it might allow me to try it. And I don't know whether I can stretch the 'throat latch', although it is not really at that spot on the horse. Either way, I have to decide to alter it and keep it or send it back without giving it a chance. I don't know why they don't just make that strap a little longer.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I'm impressed with the quality as much as the functionality of this bridle. Only critique I have is that I wish the bit clips were brass instead of plastic.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perhaps for a finer-boned horse This is a lovely piece of tack, well-made, nice leather, great concept, however it seems like it is for more lighter, fine boned horses. I can picture it fitting beautifully on an TB or Arab. On my 4-year old curly bashkir (with just a hint of warmblood ancestry), the noseband was in the wrong spot and was actually way too big, and the throat latch way too small. The bridle is nicely constructed for an ergonomic fit, but the angles were all wrong for my guy. Nice DVD by Mr. Micklem for fitting the bridle with and without the bit and as a cavesson. Kind of irritating that it didn't come with reins for the price though.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit issues The bridle did not fit my mare at all. She is an Azteca with a quarter type head and the jowel strap was far too short.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bridle for a small head! I've been using this bridle for a few weeks on my Arab. It fits him better than most cob size bridles. I love that there is so much less bridle on his face. It looks great on him and doesn't have extra straps and buckles that cover up too much of a smaller horses face. I've used the bitless version as well as using a bit. My horse goes great either way. I have also found that he seems happier with a bit using this bridle that with the other bridles I have. I'm so pleased with this purchase. Wish I had tried it sooner.
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought the Micklem Multibridle on Apr. 8. I like it. It's very easy to put on and use. Contrary to many of the reviews I had read, I found the leather quality very acceptable. I do feel that the hardware could be a little sturdier, and the rings, especially the front nose ring for lunging, need to be bigger. The bit straps need to be about an inch longer. I am using a D ring snaffle and I have the bit straps on the last (longest) hole which means the end of the strap won't fit in it's keeper but sticks straight out to each side. Also, Micklem claims to send a spare pair of those straps, but instead they send a spare pair of the plastic tongue protector clips which I will probably never need. Of the three bitless options that are available with this bridle, only two are available to people in the States, due to some sort of patent issue. So you don't get the long strap that goes over the poll, crosses under the jaw, then out through the bit rings. I can easily find a strap to do the same thing if I need it. I had rigged and used the same thing many years ago. Gee! I could have gotten a patent and been rich by now! The horse I use it on is a shade over 16 hands with a standard to maybe a little finer size head. The standard horse size fits fine, except for the bit straps. A head much bigger I would definitely go to the large horse size. I do like the concept of the bridle and would buy another if I needed it.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite bridle I honestly don't know why some have said the leather quality isn't that great. For the price, I found it to be wonderful. It's much nicer than low quality leather, and it feels really good. I LOVE having just 2 straps to buckle and it's hardly anything to fuss with when tacking up. Which is really nice when you're short. In addition, I love the ring on the noseband to use as a cavesson. Plus it comes with a chinstrap to use as a bitless bridle. AND you can clip cross ties to the side rings, without having to take the entire bridle off because of the bit.With regard to fit, I was surprised. My mare is a little QH and while the main headcollar fit fine, the cheek strap was too short! I had to punch a hole in it. I measured before ordering, and she was between a cob and a horse size. So if you have a horse that is bigger than a QH, I would say go a size up.. you can always adjust the headcollar upwards to be in the right position, but you can't make the cheek strap longer. Otherwise, I am absolutely thrilled with the bridle. Does my mare respond better? Seems like it. Try it!
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it I bought the Micklem Multibridle (in Black) and found the fit perfectly fine for my mare's head (friesian × saddlebred). The leather was ok quality, but NOT anywhere near the quality one expects for the price. I would say it was closer to what you would expect of a bridle around 1/3rd of the price...HOWEVER...my mare loves it...so I'm keeping it. It also looks fabulous on her with a browband upgrade (the pirouette browband from Smartpak!).It would get perfect marks from me if the leather quality fit the price category. Really, it boils down to "what's more important" to the individual horse & rider.
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bridle, has some kinks As the general consensus states, the bridle was stiff upon arrival. A treatment with Passier Lederbalsam helped fix that. The video that came with the bridle skipped- so thank you SmartPak for posting the instruction clip!! I did encounter some resistance from my gelding in this bridle, but he is also green. For the most part, he went in a relaxed and happy fashion, with the exception of a couple small "objections." All in all, I'm excited to continue to use this bridle and will see if it lives up to the hype. 
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful for young horses and beginners We have a 5 year old quarter horse mare with a very sensitive mouth.  She was my daughter's 10th birthday present (she is a beginner).  She had been riding in a halter, as I didn't want her in the mare's mouth while she was learning to keep her hands steady.  However, she needed more control than the halter provided.  After research, this seemed like a good idea...and it was.  She rode bitless for quite sometime.  However, the bridle afforded good control, without mouth contact.  When it was time to add the bit, we used the bit clips, which allowed both of them to ease into using the bit.  I should note that the mare was also in professional training and being ridden by more advanced riders in a traditional bridle/snaffle while my daughter was using the Micklem.  It provided a very nice transition for her.  Now, a year later, she still rides in the Micklem and we have purchased the competition version, as well.  The multibridle does not come with reins, but we were using rainbow reins, anyway.  The quality of the leather could be better, but with proper care and oiling, should last.  We will probably use this bride on another of our younger horses.  It may also work will for some of our therapeutic riding students who aren't ready to use a regular bridle, but could use more control than a halter.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing issues I have used this bridle twice. I ordered two, Cob and Horse, for two different horses. I have a fine-headed 15.1 Oldenburg GOV mare, and the Horse Size fit her fine, overall, but was very roomy in the noseband. The Cob size was intended for my 14.0 grade gelding (appears to be Mustang - very stocky, but with a similar shape as a Welsh Cob, hence why I ordered him the Cob size.) Both horses were right in the middle of their sizes, based on their height/head size, so I never expected fitting issues. However, the Cob flash wouldn't even close on the 14.0 gelding. I was ready to return both, until I tried mixing up the bridle parts.I switched the nosebands on the two bridles, and both fit better. Obviously, this isn't an option for most people. The Cob flash is on the last hole on the 15.1 mare, but is plenty roomy. And the Horse noseband and flash fit the pony great. Both under-straps, on both sizes, are very short, given the sizing chart.The mare is still in early training, but accepted the bridle well on the longe, with the bit clips. The pony, who is very sensitive in the mouth, accepted solid contact for the entire test ride, for the first time in two years! He usually curls back off the bit. I did use the bit clips, but it sounds like they aren't legal for competitions. From everything I could find online, this bridle IS legal WITHOUT the bit clips, but its always best to check the most recent rules. The leather seems nice enough to me, so far.The Crossover Strong Bitless Strap IS NOT included. It says two (not three) bitless options are included on the description, but I didn't pick up on it. There is a patent issue in the US, so the Strong Strap can't be included on US sales. I've seen comments that the strap can be bought online somehow, separately, from Europe, but I haven't found it yet. This was part of the sales concept, so its elimination reduces the flexibility of the bridle.The only other thing that may be an issue is the actual longing ring. My longe line clip is too big for the little ring and rubs the noseband. A larger ring would have been nice, to accommodate various clips without damaging the leather.Overall, I think the value on this is good, but I docked the score because of the fit issues, lack of "Strong Strap", and lack of reins. That being said, I'd rather pick out my own reins. Also, my order was missing the spare set of bit straps. All of this being said, so far, I really like the way the horses are responding to the (mix-up) bridles. The bridle just seems expensive, given the issues I had, and the fact that most people can't mix two sizes. I included a photo of my mixed-up final result. The dark bay is the 15.1 mare and the dun is the 14.0 gelding (sorry for the weird photo ... I was riding!).
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I bought this bridle for my 17.2 hand Irish Sport Horse. Though I bought the large horse size, it's currently on some of the loosest fittings, but that's okay by me! My horse goes so well in it! I need only a fraction the the pressure in this bridle to achieve what I was previously doing in my other bridle. Shipping said it would be 2-3 weeks, but SmartPak is awesome and had it to me inside of a week.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle, Very Different Design I bought this bridle for my daughter for Xmass. She is very happy with it. Val from Smart Pak was a big help in picking it out and answering questions. We got the cob size for my daughter's 14.2 H Mustang. It fits well. We had to loosen the chin strap ( it does not have a tradtional nose band) so it could fit over his Roman nose. It needed a heavy oiling when it arrived. I find the hard wear to be a little flimsy. It's very attractive on. We got the black color and he's a RED sorrel. I like the design very much. It looks to be very comfortable for the horse. It's very different from a traditional bridle. It can also be used as a bitless bridle.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle if it's right for you. I was very enthusiastic about this bridle based on issues with my three year old mare, and rave reviews from Ireland and England's top competitors.I found the bridle hard to fit though this can be mastered. I bought a cob but it seemed too small. Then I bought the horse size and it was too big. I tried the cob again and after figuring out that I had the bit straps wrong it fit fine.Unfortunately the leather is thick with no pads and she was upset by the feel before I even rode her. I gave up on it.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle Fits 14.2 hand Mustang well. Looks nice on. Appears to be comfortable for horse. Needed heavy oiling when delivered.
Date published: 2013-02-25
  • 2016-09-26T12:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_10930, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders