Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

Customers Also Shopped For
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon ...
Description:
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. Covered withSoft leather, requires no break in time!The SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers measure 7/8" wide. Holes spaced .75" apart. Stainless steel roller buckle. Brown 48" or 54" long. Black ...
Why We Love ThisSay goodbye to the annoying ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisSay goodbye to the annoying problem of uneven stirrup leathers with the Thorowgood Stirrup Straps! They have a strong nylon web core that will never stretch or snap. Highly recommended for use with the Thorowgood saddles.Favorite Features ...
Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made ...
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
Description:
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Favorite Features Half hold lined leathers made of fine calfskin with nylon lining Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk Provides ...
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the ...
Description:
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the world patented and made of aluminum and titanium, two extremely light materials. These innovative stirrups feature a wide, titanium footbed with a high densityNeoprene to provide extra grip. The unique design of ...
The Wintec Slimline Stirrup Straps are exceptionally strong ...
Description:
The Wintec Slimline Stirrup Straps are exceptionally strong synthetic stirrup leathers can withstand the toughest of riding. The material used is non-stretch which prevents riding with uneven length stirrups. These synthetic stirrup leathers are weatherproof and easy to clean, providing ...
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups offer security, flexibility, strength and comfort! This international, patent-pending style consists of four links allowing for movement in four directions at the same time, enabling immediate release in case of emergency. Favorite Features The Herm ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.753846153846154 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe i spent so much on stirrups! It had been over 25 years since i had a new pair of irons... but mine were getting pretty rusty and i was having some trouble keeping my boot in. I was surprised to find the selection had certainly changed from 25 years ago. As i read the reviews, I couldn't help but be drawn to these, being 25 years older has brought lots more aches and pains, could these stirrups really help? I was shocked i pulled the trigger and bought them. Yah, they sure do help! I've had only one ride in them, but as the other reviewers mentioned, i had a stronger base, more secure in my position, less pain upon dismount, in fact, i had the best ride I could remember in a while.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Stirrups Great product. Reduces stress on your knees and increases ability to put your leg in the correct position. Thinking about buying another pair for my other horse.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why wait for less discomfort? So, I recently manned up and bought a pair of these expensive stirrups thinking that I could return them because I believed the stirrups couldn't be as good as reviewed. Well, I was wrong. After knee and foot surgeries and multiple broken bones I tend to be rather uncomfortable from my thighs to my toes when in a saddle. After I put these on my AP saddle and adjusted the angle I fell in love. They are easy to pick up. Stay in place across your foot and most importantly relieved me of the source of my pain. If you're thinking about a pair of these, don't think, just suck it up and buy a pair. Your body will thank you.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are Worth the Money! If you have ankle pain like I do these stirrups can make a world of difference. They have also improved my leg placement. My lower leg stays closer, thanks to the MDC stirrups without a struggle. I will not use anything else now!
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY ARE WORTH EVERY PENNY! I ride dressage so I put them on the 90 degree angle they suggested. These stirrups were wonderful even after several hours of riding my knees,ankles or hips did NOT hurt! They are worth the cost.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stirrups! These stirrups are AMAZING! I have knee, back and neck pain from previous injuries, and riding only further stimulated the pain. I tried these stirrups, and for the first time, I got off and I had NO pain :) I've read reviews that these stirrups compromise your equitation, and they don't provide a solid base when jumping, but I have yet to experience either of those problems. Plus, the adjustable tops made it easier to get my stirrups after no stirrup work. These stirrups are so comfortable and overall just a great investment!
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC STIRRUPS I LOVE THESE STIRRUPS, THEY PUT YOUR FOOT IN THE CORRECT POSITION AND IMPROVE YOUR RIDING
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What took me so long? I just bought a second pair for my second saddle. These are wonderful. They are supposed to be easy to pick up if dropped, but they hang so nicely and my foot is so secure that I don't ever drop them. Also, I have a trick knee and this alleviates pain that I get if I ride too much.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped my ankle pain!! As a Podiatrist, it was very frustrating to have ankle pain after riding in "traditional" stirrups from trying to force one (inflexible ankle) heel down constantly. These stirrups are so comfortable and flexible that I easily and painlessly now can keep both heels down with no ankle issue!!! The 45 degree rotation takes the strain off of my "tight left ankle" and provides balance to both legs. Also, they are quite heavy and help to keep the foot and therefore lower leg down because they do not bounce around like the lighter weight, more traditional ones do. Love, love, love these!!!!!
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have only been riding in these stirrups for a week, and I can already tell a huge difference in how my leg is positioned, and how I feel after I ride. Having a bad back I really needed some stirrups with support, and these were it!
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate stirrups These are great stirrups, adjustment ability make a big difference with ankle, knee and hip comfort. Pricey but glad I made this purchase.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give 'em a chance They take a few rides to get used to, but if you're looking for adjustability and flex through the leg, then you'll likely enjoy these irons. Be prepared to shorten your leathers a hole, as they are longer than many traditional fillis irons. Good fit and solid feel.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my MDC's I'm always amazed when I hear someone wasn't totally impressed by a pair of these. I cannot ride without them. I had started having knee and sometimes hip pain after riding and it was getting to be a real problem. I don't know why the stirrups can change that, but that they do. Fabulous invention. And they make it SOOOOO easy to regain a lost stirrup! Simply lift your toe, and the stirrup puts itself right back on the boot. No fishing around. Yes, they are pricey. But super durable, and they do what they are supposed to do. BUY THEM!
Date published: 2011-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Converted to Herm Sprenger MDC Ultimate Stirrups were too long and heavy. Weighted my saddle down and stirrups were difficult to pick up. Side-by-side comparison to Herm Sprenger made me a believer in Bow Balance. Now I just need to sell my MDC's. :-)
Date published: 2010-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much flex I purchased the MDC smart stirrup for my dressage saddle. The smart stirrup does not have the flexible base that the ultimate stirrup has. I loved them and decided to purchase the utimate stirrup for jumping, thinking the flex base would be helpful. BUT, I can't stand my stirrups flexing around like that. It's kind of like standing on a wobbly fence or something. So, I am going to trade to the smart stirrup instead so that I have that support. I am much more secure in the lower leg with the traditional iron. I do however love the swivel top of this stirrup as I usually get really bad leather burns on my legs.So, to sum it up, if you don't have knee problems, I would recommend the MDC smart stirrup over the ultimate stirrup for jumping and cross country anyway.Marian in Pheonix
Date published: 2010-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I've made! I have had terrible pain in my knees for years in and out of the saddle. In the past 6 months it has gotten nearly intolerable- and I had to take time off riding.I decided to try the MDC Ultimates as a last resort to help my knees in the saddle.WOW. Huge difference. I thought I had tried everything on the market as far as flexible stirrups goes and I hated all other flexible stirrups. I didn't feel secure/stable in any of them, and I disliked the light weight ones. MDC Ultimates are absolutely brilliant, I cannot ride without them. They have relieved my knees of most of the pain, to the point where I can ride for miles again without any issue. They are a great weight, easy to catch, easy to adjust, and they really made a tremendous difference in my pain.I also feel much more secure in them, and feel like my leg is in a much better position.Without a doubt I will be buying another set for my other saddle. Best money I've spent in years.
Date published: 2010-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate Stirrups These MDC Ultimate Stirrups really do help position yourself in the stirrups. They also with ankle and knee pain. You don't really notice them till you stop riding. I would recommend them.
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First After a horse riding accident several years ago with a horse falling with me, I decided these stirrups are a must. Ive ridden with them now for several years and just bought an additional pair for another saddle for a new young horse. They are spendy, but my life is worth $200.00! Not only are they safe, they are very comfortable.
Date published: 2010-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can ride again! After a 20 year hiatus and two knee surgeries, I started riding in borrowed tack. But I thought I'd have to give it up again because of knee pain. However, after buying the MDC Ultimate Stirrups I was instantly pain free - no soreness whatsoever in the saddle or upon dismounting. The price isn't an issue considering the options are not riding at all, or buying an expensive stirrup. They're worth every penny.
Date published: 2009-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The be-all and end-all of stirupps! If it wasn't for these stirrups, I wouldn't be able to ride at all. It had gotten to the point where I couldn't sit on my horse for more than 5 minutes without being in dire pain in my knees and ankles, and my feet going numb. When I would dismount, I would hit the ground, I couldn't use my legs, and I would have to sit there on the ground for several minutes before I could get up and limp back to the barn. I saw these stirrups and were scared they were an expensive gimick, but after reading several favorable reviews, I decided to try them....or quit riding. I'm here to tell you, they worked miracles!!! A week after I got them, I went on a 4 hour trail ride...something I would never have tried before these....and when it was over, I couldn't even tell I had been riding at all! These will always be on my saddle!!!!
Date published: 2009-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without Them These are the ultimate in comfort and ergonomics. They fall into my list of "must haves" or "can't live without" for riding. The ability to twist the top helps relieve knee strain. The flexing also helps absorb some of the shock. I have chronic low back pain as well as chronic pain in my left ankle due to a bad riding accident that left me with permanent screws and a plate in. These stirrups have allowed me to ride almost pain free. Thank you MDC!!!!
Date published: 2009-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I REALLY LOVE THESE! I rode in my trainer's saddle for a few days and she had these stirrups on and I found them so much easier to use. They went straight across my foot and stayed in place, no more twisting and fussing! Even though they are VERY pricey (the thing I don't like about them), I will probably invest in a pair for my new saddle! These are amazing and really let you focus more on your riding than fussing around with your stirrups. They also take a lot of strain off of your body. I highly recommend these for anybody, no matter what type of riding they do!
Date published: 2007-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from highly overrated I bought the MDC Ultimate Stirrups after reading all the great reviews. I have discovered that this stirrup is taller than others, and when you use the 90 degree position, a part of the top sticks out and will poke you in the ankle/leg. I also did not experience the "knee relief" that others report (possibly due to my distraction at being poked in the ankle). If I had known about the 30 day return policy, these would have gone back. In my opinion, another expensive gimmick. My trainer wasn't crazy about them either.
Date published: 2007-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and safety combined! I purchased these MDC Ultimate stirrups for both my husband and me. We both trail ride, sometimes for several hours, and these take the strain off our knees. The stirrups are always in the right place, so we don't worry about losing them. We tried offset eye stirrups and jointed ones, and these are the best. Yes, they're pricey, but definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2007-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ahhhh! That's what your knees and hips will say when you first ride in these! I am very impressed with how well these stirrups release the stress in my leg - from my hip to my ankle. It is much easier to keep my leg in the correct position. I use these in the 90 degree position on my jumping saddle and in the 45 degree position on my dressage saddle.
Date published: 2006-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! I recently purchased these stirrups and absolutely love them. I turn them the full 90 degrees and what a difference I notice in my riding. My leg is way more comfortable and the flexing sides make it so my knees and ankles never get tired. You don't know how much you need these stirrups until you ride in them!
Date published: 2006-05-22
  • 2016-08-29T11:32CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_3786, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders