Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

M. Toulouse Marielle Monoflap Saddle

M. Toulouse
- Item #16922
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The M. Toulouse Marielle Monoflap saddle is hand crafted of natural vegetable tanned, pigmented, aniline finished leather which will accept oil. The soft covered leather is tanned using French tanning methods. Designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master Saddler in France.

Hand laminated beechwood, steel reinforced tree with stainless steel stirrup bar. Ten year guarantee on tree. Wool lined foam panels.

Ultra soft, comfortable anatomically shaped, medium deep seat to provide better support for the rider and center the weight properly. Absolutely correct balance and the monoflap allows maximum contact with the horse.

Chocolate.

Favorite Features

  • Natural Vegetable Tanned Leather
  • Steel reinforced tree
  • Stainless steel stirrup car
  • Laminated beechwood
  • Anatomically shaped
  • Medium deep seat
  • Monoflap for maximum contact

Sizing it Up

16.5 - 18

 

Test Ride this saddle! Click here for details.
Customers Also Shopped For
The Wintec 2000 All Purpose Saddle is ideal ...
Description:
The Wintec 2000 All Purpose Saddle is ideal for participating in multiple disciplines and features a slightly deeper Equisuede seat, offering greater support and enabling a strong balanced rider position. Brown. A cutting edge all purpose saddle that includes top ...
The Pro Buffalo Dressage Saddle is crafted by ...
Description:
The Pro Buffalo Dressage Saddle is crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, give you world-class European designs in the finest imported leather-all at a reasonable price. HDR riding saddles and leather goods are not built on a ...
Saddles crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri ...
Description:
Saddles crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, give you world-class European designs in the finest Imported leather-all at a reasonable price. And Henri de Rivel riding saddles and leather goods are not built on a massive assembly ...
This beautifully crafted close contact saddle offers the ...
Description:
This beautifully crafted close contact saddle offers the ultimate in comfort. Ideal for both Hunt Seat and Equitation riders, as well as Jumpers who prefer a slightly deeper seat. The medium-deep seat, narrow twist and double leather flaps and knee ...
The Aachen saddle features a deep seat, mildly ...
Description:
The Aachen saddle features a deep seat, mildly forward flap and is overlaid entirely of French calf leather. The Adjusta-Block moveable/removable knee block system allows positioning for optimum comfort and effectiveness. The gusseted panels ensure great fit for your horse. ...
Why We Love ThisThe Thorowgood T8 High Wither ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Thorowgood T8 High Wither Compact GP Saddle is ideal for shorter backed or croup high horses. It is a very good option for the petite rider on a large pony or small horse. Tailored for high-withered ...
TheM Toulouse Alyssa Dressage Saddle is a beautiful ...
Description:
TheM Toulouse Alyssa Dressage Saddle is a beautiful design with extra grip. It isoverlaid entirely of French calf leather. It features a hand laminated beech wood, spring steel reinforced tree.The gussetedwool flocked panels ensure great fit for your horse.Standard long ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

M. Toulouse Marielle Monoflap Saddle is rated 4.458333333333333 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO COMFORTABLE! Bought this 3 years ago for x-country, jumping,& trail riding. I have 2 horses & got so SPOILED by the comfort of this saddle that I dreaded riding in my other saddle, so this week I bought another one just like it! Now my back never hurts after riding either horse. The medium deep seat, ergonomics, & QUALITY leather make this saddle VERY SECURE, as well. The mono-flap gives great contact, especially on my Shire/TB, as there's no extra bulk. This saddle puts your body & legs in perfect position. Almost feels like a hybrid of a jumping & dressage saddle. Did I mention: COMFORTABLE?!
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle, great price! When I realized my old saddle, which fit my horse great, was forcing me into an awkward position, I began the search for a saddle that fit ME better. I tried what seemed like 20 saddles (some very high end used saddles to new pessoas and stubbens) and ended up loving the feel of the Toulouse Monoflap. This saddle has a wider twist than I'm used to, but I actually like it more. The monoflap gives you the ultimate contact with you horse. This saddle felt broken in the moment it arrived, and after I conditioned it, it is so soft and supple. The leather is great quality and very grippy which I love in a cross country saddle! This saddle fit my horse great, although most saddles fit him well, so I don't know how it would be on those hard to fit horses! I had heard mixed reviews about the quality of the Toulouse saddles, but I am very impressed with the quality of the Marielle. I would definitely recommend this saddle to anyone!
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this saddle!!!!! I bought this saddle for Smartpak with some good and bad things said about M. Toulouse. I went ahead and ordered it anyways because I knew sending it back was always an option. After riding in it just once I was sure that this saddle was a keeper! I have a really bad habit of sitting too far back then getting left behind, and this saddle helped me so much!!! A lot of people say jumping any kind of height in M. Toulouses is hard, but I was jumping 3`3 training level cross country fences without problems! There were some problems with if it was in stock, when it was being shipped, and also if it was even shipped! But with there amazing customer service, ALL my questions were anwsered and all the problems were fixed! Just another reason why I love ordering from Smartpak!!!!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the price, not quite right for me Wasn't quite the right saddle for me or my horse, which was a shame as I thought the price point was very reasonable and the quality good. Twist is medium, I strongly prefer a narrow twist, and I couldn't quite find a balance when I jumped small fences in it. I found myself leaping up my horse's neck or getting left behind - this might have been due to the saddle not sitting correctly on my awkwardly shaped horse - I really don't know. It's a very pretty saddle and I like the wool/foam combo panels, it may work better for those with more easy to fit horses.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality for Great Price I have a TBXConnemara with no withers and I LOVE this saddle because it fits both me and my mare great. The knee and thigh blocks are in perfect position and the "grippy" leather helps me stick on the flat and over fences( comes extremelly handy when she jumps a 2' fence 5' high). I would recomend this product to everyone.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy! I tried a bunch of saddles and finally settled with this one. It fits my wide Conn/Tb mare very nicely. I've only had the saddle for 3 weeks and the leather is already breaking in very nicely! If you're looking for a comfortable event saddle for a reasonable price, I would recommend this one.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting fit? I was very hopeful about this saddle as I had just sold my mtl celine because it no longer fit my horses and I just loved that saddle I really wanted to find a Toulouse that fit. This saddle fit my aged quarter horse with high withers and a nicely laid back shoulder and not so round back better than my Irish sport horse who has a more upright shoulder, average wither and nicely filled in top line, which is weird to me, but both had the same problem. The front of the saddle was to wide at the pommel side of the panel and to far forward where the panel met the shoulder causing it to interfere greatly with the shoulder or causing the saddle to fit way to far back on the horses back and REALLY mess with the saddles fit.additionally I find that all of the Toulouse saddles I have ridden in have to much curve in the panel causing the saddle to rock or bounce on the horses back. This can be remedied. Or at least lessened by using a good corrective pad but I personally want my saddle to fit without gadgetry. Plus when I add a pad I tended to get some back pain from the ponies. The construction is gorgeous the saddle is comfortable but not the most comfortable have ever sat on but no complaints. The billets are SUPER long! My dressage girth had to go all the way to the top hole on both sides so go with a 20-22 inch for the average medium horse. Overall the fit is awkward and noth that great. I imagine it would fit wider horses better. Plenty of room for withers though.I have images to share but the site won't let me load them...
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the price Nice quality saddle, especially for the price. Seat is very comfortable. I only did a test ride in the saddle, so I cannot comment on how the saddle wears over time. The front portion of the tree fit my horse, but the cantle panels were too wide, and the saddle moved from side to side when I rode. Other than that, I would have purchased the saddle.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saddle! I love this saddle! I can't say enough about it! I love to jump in it, and my pony loves it too! The leather is really nice :)
Date published: 2011-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit- Watch the stitching. Bought this for my daughter for D3 level pony club/ eventing. Horse is a 15.1 wide half quarter/half arab and the wide tree fits him beautifully! Three days of eventing clinic and no sore back. Her position is great in it too.HOWEVER, after only this late spring and early summer of use, the stitching attaching the panel to the flap came unstitched in two of the three places where it's attached. She takes immaculate care of it for pony club, but we can't use it like this now. I am working with Smartpak customer service to see what we can do. It should last years without problems, not months. We'll see what works out. We love it and still want to stick with this model.
Date published: 2011-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle Love this saddle! very good for cross country and any type of jumping. Gives you a great position. It is true you will need a smaller girth, a dressage one will work perfectly. Only small problem is that the stirrup leathers can rub you leg, but that can be fixed with thinner leathers. A great buy!
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this saddle! I bought this saddle because my saddle was biting the dust. I had never ridden in one but based on reviews of the saddle I bought it anyway... Best thing I ever did! The saddle makes my position so much more secure compared to my previous saddle. The saddle does scratch a bit easy but the saddle is completely worth it! I'll have this saddle for a long time :D
Date published: 2011-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointed I was looking for a monoflap saddle to get rid of the girth buckles that off and on caused sores under my knees. I liked the sticky leather but was very disappointed with the position it put me in. I rode in it for 5 minutes and knew it was going back to the shop. I couldnt trot in it with any comfort, and cantering wasnt much better. It fit my horse reasonably well but I was stuck being thrown forward despite short stirrups. The nylon the billets are attached to could rub your horse so just be cautious. It may work for you but not for me! :-((
Date published: 2010-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from didn't fit i love smartpak, they always have great service and great products. unforntunatly this product didnt fit my horse. it was also out of stock so i had to wait quite a few weeks before i got it but once it was in stock i got it the next day. they were very nice about me returning it, hassle free and quick. my loss, wish it fit!
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME I received this saddle the other day. It's BEAUTIFUL with very soft leather (but be ready to take care of it, it kind of scratches easily).I rode in it for the first time today and I felt how EXTREMELY close contact it was! My young horse even spooked and took off bucking, and despite my stirrups flying off my feet, i was able to really keep myself secure in the saddle.The wide tree fits my 16.1hh, warmblood built-TB very well. CAREFUL BUYING A GIRTH. She went in a 52"-54" normal girth and with this, she goes in a 24"-26".
Date published: 2010-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awome Saddle Great Saddle, especially for the money! This saddle is perfect for anyone wanting a monoflap saddle, but who doesn't want to spend the money on the more expensive brands. It offers all of the same feel and support, without the big price tag. I have ridden in some of the more pricey monoflap saddles and absolutely loved them, so I had high expectations when I purchased this saddle, it lived up to all of them, including a nice narrow twist that I prefer. I would recommend this saddle to anyone!
Date published: 2010-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOOOVE IT! I LOOOOVE this saddle! I was pretty skeptical at first and it took me six months to get up the courage to order it. I was afraid it wouldn’t fit my horse, that the leather quality wouldn’t be good, and that the overall quality just wouldn’t be there. But I shouldn’t have worried. The wide fit my QH gelding well. He measured a med-wide but by using a sheepskin half pad this saddle fit him pretty well. The panels fit his back well, the channel is wide allowing for plenty of spine clearance, and its well balanced on his back. This saddle fits me well too. It was an adjustment from my old close contact saddle, having pencil knee rolls and a fairly flat seat, but I felt secure and well balanced in it, something my old saddle lacked. The seat is sooooo amazingly comfortable, I feel like I’m sitting on a couch! The flaps fit me well (I’m 5’ 4” and average thigh/calf length) and I have room to adjust my stirrup length from dressage to show jumping without losing the security the saddle offers. The leather quality is absolutely amazing! It’s buttery soft, takes oil well, and is grippy right from the start. The underside of the flaps aren’t as high quality but the leather isn’t cheap. I have only good things to say about this saddle! I do believe it runs slightly on the smaller side, I ordered a 17 in which fit me, but my old Close Contact (which was a true 17 in) was a little big for me. The billets are pretty long, my horse fits in a 24 in dressage girth and is a size 50 regular girth, so I would be careful about that. I’ve only ridden in this saddle a handful of times but so far it looks absolutely brand new. The leather color is a darker brown with a reddish tone in it, it would probably match the majority of dark brown and reddish tack. Overall I would reccomend this saddle to the avid trail rider, budding eventer, and show jumper that want a secure comfortable seat plus the added close contact feel a monoflap gives. It is a great price for the quality, well balanced for horse and rider, and is a sound purchase.
Date published: 2009-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this saddle! This saddle is comfortable and secure for cross-country or hacking out. It feels broken-in from the start. The price is reasonable because they do use cheaper materials for the underside of the billets and flaps, but it doesn't seem to affect the use of the saddle. I love the secure leg position and the closeness that the monoflap gives. I had lots of questions about this saddle before I ordered it for a test ride and the people at Smartpak were very helpful.
Date published: 2009-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional quality for the Price! This monoflap saddle from Toulouse is truly an exceptional saddle for the price. SOFT leather is comfortable and secure from the get go and the design provides the rider with stability and balance.Lightweigt and supple it can serve many budding eventers on their way to the top.Owners will want to be the sort who take care of their goods, as this is fine leather.
Date published: 2009-04-02
  • 2016-08-25T11:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_6922, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders