Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Favorite Features

  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility
  • UV protection where fabric is solid across the back (approximately 90% UV protection)

Lightweight polyester ripstop outer.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Customers Also Shopped For
A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
Description:
A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides,Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oilsincludes catnip, argan, citronella, thyme, ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
Description:
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant ...
Description:
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant bugProtection forHeavy workouts in the hottest, most humid weather! This water-based formula kills and repels multiple species of flies and mosquitoes and stays active for up to 14 days. Favorite Features Protects ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
Description:
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears is engineered for durability and comfort, unlike no other! Unique patent pending Flex Spline Technology creates a canopy away from the horse's eyes, while unique contoured fit prevents insects from penetrating the ...
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 ...
Description:
The Pyranha Spray Master System includes a 1/2 horsepower electric motor-driven pump controlled by a solid state electronic timer. This timer is programmed to dispense an insecticide formulation in the form of a very fine mist at specific intervals through ...
The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills ...
Description:
The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System. Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying insect control ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 3.925581395348837 out of 5 by 215.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Safety concerns - this sheet does not stay put Purchased this, and will be returning it. My horse wore it for one day, and three times I had to readjust the because the whole thing was hanging off of him. Per other reviews, I ordered one size smaller - but then found the bottom of the sheet didn't even cover my horses sides completely, it was about 6" too short on both sides. If you have a horse who just stands around all day, it might work for you - but for an active horse who lives outside, rolls, runs and plays, buy something more secure!
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet for a Great Price! I bought this fly sheet for my gelding who suffers from sweet itch and is very sensitive to all insect bites. He came with an Amigo Bug Buster, but they tend to be quite tight through the shoulders and it would rub 6" of his mane off.This sheet is much more roomy in the shoulders and fits him better than the Amigo did. Many reviewers are right when they say it runs large, but it's not a huge difference. It doesn't run any larger than the Amigo does, and the 69 fits my 14.2 Morgan a little big but it will be fine.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE This Sheet! I bought this sheet a couple years ago and it is still going strong! My mare is hard on flay masks and neck pieces to sheets and blankets, but this sheet has held up very well. She has rolled in fresh piles and mud with it on, and it washes out with a quick hosing and toss in the washing machine. Up close you can tell that it is now an off white color, but at a distance it looks brand new. My mare has to have this sheet during the day, she has a hair loss problem on her face, neck, shoulders, and patchiness on her hindquarters. Waiting on a biopsy to confirm the reason for the hair loss. This sheet keeps her from sunburning in the summer sun!! As plus it keeps the bugs off of her as well. My only complaint about this sheet has to do with the neck piece. The neck piece where it attaches to the sheet has a tail end that covers the fleece wither patch, this tail end flips to where it hangs down towards her ears when she is grazing. Exposing her wither region to the sun which for her could mean a potential sunburn. I bought this sheet so long ago I can't remember what size I bought for her or if the size ran small or large.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice sheet but did not fit my horse I thought the sheet was very good quality, well made, and it did keep him cool. However the shape just didn't fit my horse and no matter how I adjusted the straps it would slide off one side or the other. If it fits your horse it is a good value for the price.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lasted 3 days I bought this and my 3 year old (who was going out alone in a round pen) managed to put a whole in it and take the whole belly strap off. I was impressed that it lasted 3 days. Very nice and light weight material, but way to many straps on the neck and not enough for the belly...
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flysheet- runs HUGE. I was looking for an alternative for traditional mesh flysheets. I have had problems with the mesh sheets pulling and being restrictive around the shoulders.This sheet had a little more structure and I like the mesh panels to keep the horses cool. Overall I really like this sheet but the sizing is way off. I ordered a 69 for my horse that is normally a 74 and a 72 for my horse that usually wears a 76.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! This is a great sheet. I just got it so I can't say anything for the durability but the fabric does seem very durable. The sizing runs massive- My 16.3hh OTTB wears an 78-80 in other brands (his winter blankets) and I got this in a 72 for him because other reviews said it runs large as well. The 72 fit him absolutely perfect! The neck is a bit too long but not even enough that I had to fold it- it just has a little bunching towards the front, didn't bother my guy. All in all I'd say I love the product so far, just order it in a smaller size!
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps her clean I have now bought two of these, one for at home, and one for shows. They are very lightweight, even in the hot Florida summer, but of fabric that is easily washed. We use them when in the trailer to keep the hay off so the horses arrive at the showgrounds as clean as they were when they got in the trailer.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought this would be the answer....it was not. Purchased this for last spring and summer. The neck piece was literally 8" too long. I was going to fold it over and either sew or velcro it back, but then I thought it would be too hot. My horse has a normal size frame/neck for a 15.3 horse. The body fit VERY WELL, however, the sheet kept twisting to either side. My barn manager was exhausted trying to keep an eye on him to make sure he was not caught up in it. She had to put it back in place within a half hour of putting it on the horse. I was skeptical, so I spent a a week at the farm observing him while helping out with summer camp. She was telling the absolute truth. I must have fixed it 5-9 times each day for 3 days until I said enough is enough. If the neck piece had fit, and the thing didn't twist, I would have loved it, however, I cannot have a product become a HUGE safety concern.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great use sized wrong I love these sheets. We have used them for years, still have some of the original sheets from a few years ago. Only thing I have to say is that my horse that wears a size 81 in Horseware Rambo Supreme fits in a 75 or 78 in this sheet.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have I have been using these for years, they're durability depends on your horse they may or may not  last long but for the price i'm happy to get  a season out of 2. Beside the UV and insect protection i really like the grooming time it saves me, yes i said it, i don't always have time to groom head to toe! 
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flysheet I've found for my horse! I absolutely LOVE this fly sheet. It is a soft fabric and actually fairly durable. My playful friesian sporthorse is pretty rough on his blankets and, after wearing it every day for more than 12 hours since March 2013, it has only recently torn-- and that tear was the tail flap because he was rubbing his rear end and it got caught on something. Additionally, he gets very hot in our NC coastal weather (super humid!!). I used to use a mesh Centaur flysheet and he'd be so hot that he'd be drenched in foam and even panting in August. In this Kool Coat Airstream sheet, he was never NEVER once drenched in foam or panting, even when the heat index was 110+ degrees. The value for this sheet is incomparable. I will never again buy another fly sheet. This is my favorite, hands down.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent sheet, but runs large This sheet is at least one size too large -- I have a TB who measures 74" exactly, so I ordered the 75" sheet. Big mistake. It hangs all the way over her butt, and constantly twists and turns on her. I finally got rid of it, because I was worried it would get tangled and injure her. The sheet was relatively rugged and durable, but I would strongly recommend getting a size smaller than what you think you need. It's a good price, just wish it fit.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expected More I bought this on a different website a couple of months ago. I was looking for an affordable flysheet with a neck cover for my dark bay thoroughbred, and I've always had good luck with Weatherbeeta products - thought I'd give it a try.Several issues were immediately apparent. Firstly, the rear end of the blanket drapes strangely over the hindquarters, almost as if it was made for a very skinny horse (and my gelding isn't exactly large-quartered). The next thing I noticed was how badly it twisted to one side. I know that my horse likes to lay down, roll, and shake during the day, but don't most horses? Would appreciate more/better placed darts to stop the slippage problem.I did appreciate the mesh panels as it kept my horse from getting too sweaty and helped keep the dust off. It also seemed to alleviate some of the swishing and stomping. Stitching and materials seem well-made and I expect this to hold up to paddock use. I would not recommend this for turnout and/or with multiple horses.I didn't send this back because I couldn't afford a better sheet and I hate the hassle of returning things. (Also, it had become dirty and a small hole was ripped in the mesh. The place I bought it from only accepts returns in new condition) Would not buy this product again.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This sheet does run a little large. I bought it to keep my black mare from bleaching out during our hot Texas weather. I was concerned about her getting too hot with it on since our temperatures at night are in the high 70's and high 90's during the day, but she may be a little warm under it, but not sweaty.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality purchase for the money. We are very happy with this summer sheeting. Good fly protection.l
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality and value but strange fit Great blanket but bad fit. My horse is a perfect 81" and should be a blanket model. The leg straps are so close to the stifle joint, they are rubbing my horse and then the blanket shifts off to one side. I'm having the "D" moved forward towards the girth to see if that helps. If not, it goes back.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet I have used several different types of flysheets and this one seems to keep my horse the coolest. The cotton on top keeps the sun from bleaching his hair and the mesh on the sides allows more air flow to prevent sweating.The belly band is a little weird in that it connects very high on the horse's side, however, I just end up not using it. The sheet doesn't seem to shift when you use the leg straps in back.It does show the dirt, but simple enough to throw in the wash and line dry.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly sheets I ever bought light weight, durable, excellent fit. Keeps my horses cool and protected 24/7 in the summer. Easy to wash and dry. I have all 8 horses dressed in Kool Coat for many years now and never will buy another fly sheet brand again.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Sheet! I absolutely love this sheet! My sensitive thoroughbred mare hates anything touching her; she has become so much happier now that she gets to wear this sheet everyday. Since she's black it does a great job keeping her nice and shiny, much better than a regular fly sheet. It's super easy to clean, just throw it in the washing machine. We've been using it for two years now and the only problem has been some little rips in the mesh which can easily be sewn up. Awesome sheet!!
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Fly Sheet! My mare hasn't destroyed this yet so it must be durable! I love the detachable neck cover I think it really helps her get away from the flys and keeps her cooler.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this sheet! This is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have a thin skinned TB who is absolutely miserable when there are any bugs. He loves this sheet! He went from standing in his run-in all day to avoid the bugs to grazing all day. For the price, I would say this sheet can not be beat. It seems very well made. My guy has been wearing it daily for several months now and it still looks the same (albeit a little dirtier!) as when I first put it on him. I actually think he has stayed cooler with the sheet on. Even on 90+ days with humidity he has not become too hot underneath it. The mesh panels on the neck cover and sides of the sheet seem to allow nice air flow. My only issue with this sheet is that is had tended to shift a little but I do not think this has to do with the design of the sheet - has more to do with the fact that my horse is an aggressive roller!
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for a fly sheet I have been looking for a fly sheet to not only help keep the flies away, but to help keep my horses cool since I live in FL. I would say as far as fly sheets go I liked it, it was rather light weight and it helped keep the flies off and seemed pretty durable. The bad part is though that it did NOT keep my horse any cooler. I took the fly sheet off of my gelding and he was a hot sweaty mess. Maybe if they had more of the mesh on the whole sheet it would keep them cooler, but as it is right now I have trouble calling it a "cool" sheet.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase This sheet does run large. I use it for my black mare so she will stay a little cooler in the hot Texas sun and keep from bleaching out. She is warm under the sheet, but not sweaty.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy! This Kool coat is wonderful. Light weight and keeps my grey mare safe from the sun and she looks great in it. The neck has a bit too much arch in it for my mare but it will do the job of keeping biting flies off her neck. I think it runs large for my Arabian mare. Maybe I just couldn't measure correctly but after returning it 2 times for a smaller size, this 69" sheet fits fine. I am amazed with the customer service. I ordered the wrong size TWICE and I got it exchanged with no questions asked even after I had her name embroidered on each one. Best customer service ever!!!!
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lasted Less Than 72 Hours This fly sheet lasted less than 72 hours on my mare. She came in from turnout with the sheet in tatters around her. It seemed to run large, so the sheet tended to slip to one side, and the girth strap was not very effective for keeping it in place. Thankfully, the material of this sheet is not that durable, so the fabric shredded instead of trapping any part of my mare's body. I wouldn't buy it again, nor could I recommend it to anyone who has a horse that rolls or moves while in turnout.On the plus side, it did seem to keep her cool before it shredded to pieces.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I've seen in awhile! Love, love, love this fly sheet!!! Can not say enough good things about it. Bought one for my mostly white paint mare and the next day I am ordering one for my Arabian gelding (I just bought a new fly sheet for him last year too)! Very well made sheet. Very pleased. They do run a little on the bigger side.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value This is a nice sheet. My horse seems pretty comfortable in it in 80 degree weather. It seems well made but I have only had it for a few weeks. It runs a bit small, so I would size up. Overall, great value. The neck piece really helps keep my horse clean and keeps flies off.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Sheet Overall, this fly sheet is awesome for the cost. My horse lives in a field with 2 yearlings who are extremely rowdy and like to rip things off of other horses. So far, it hasn't ripped at all. I will say though, when it gets hot out this summer, I'm worried it will be too hot because of the normal fabric used for 90% of the sheet
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the price For the low price its decent, but for my hot tb its too heavy. The material is dense and evn though it's white I wouldn't recommend it on a day over 80 degrees. My horse loves to roll and not a single rip! But it's just too heavy - I did order a size up though! Going to try smartpaks uv/fly sheet that's all mesh instead
Date published: 2013-05-18
  • 2016-08-25T11:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_206
  • loc_en_US, sid_5929, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders