Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12322
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional!

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitch, 1” nylon webbing with padded nose band
  • Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat
  • Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8” poly lead adds a touch of fashion to your everyday halter 
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear
  • Brass plated snaps and hardware to insure maximum strength.

Sizing It Up
Pony (Pony/Yearling)
Cob (Arab/Cob)
Horse (Standard Horse)
Oversize (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Please note- sizes tend to run small. If your horse is a large cob, then you should consider ordering a large size halter. If your horse is a large horse, then you should consider order an XLarge size halter.

Halter Size...Crown Piece (ring to middle hole)...Cheek Piece...Nose Band...Throat Latch
Small...12 ½ "...5"...8"...10"
Medium...16 ½"...6 ½"...9"...13"
XLarge...20 ½"...7"...11"...14"


Please note, all breakaway halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead is rated 4.452830188679245 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Halter & Lead!!! I love this halter. We have had it for more than 2 years now and it's lasted well as our "after bath" halter for shows. My horse has never really resisted so can't speak to the strength of the breakaway piece. The halter and lead have both been through the washer and dryer multiple times with absolutely no sign of wear or materials fatigue. They both still look brand new even a couple years later! We just got a new horse so are transitioning our previous SmartPink halter to every-day barn use and are about to order a new one (in a more "manly" color for my gelding) for use around the show grounds.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal halter I bought this for my 20 year old North American Singlefoot! He looks so handsome in it and it fits great! Rave reviews from all at the barn!
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I've owned two of these halters, and I have been very pleased with them. They hold up really well even though my horse is pretty rough on halters. Plus, it looks great on him! I've bought the matching fly sheet too, and I've been pleased with it as well. Kensington is a great brand, and all of their products have lived up to my standards! This halter is my favorite halter to use!
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking halter I bought this halter for my PMU Belgian cross gelding after purchasing a similar halter for another horse. I chose the extra large, which fits him well. It's a beautiful halter, and we've gotten many compliments. It might not be quite large enough for a full sized Belgian or other draft, although at 17-2 and close to 2000 lbs, my guy is no shrimp!
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Halter I really am a huge fan of Kensington and this halter came as expected. A nice quality, good look and for a fair price.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For sure break-away I bought this thinking I could use it for everyday. However, I'm really concerned with the break-away feature, it is a super thin piece of leather with a single chicago screw. It feels as if the horse were to object slightly the leather would break. Too much break-away. LOL. Still a pretty halter and I'm taking it to a cobbler to have thicker leather sewn on.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely halter / Faulty leather LOVE LOVE LOVE this halters look, the colors (I bought the blue one for my solid bay), the assembly and overall functionality. What I was not prepared for, was the flimsy leather breakaway strap it comes with.The *first time* I used this halter to bring my boy up from the pasture, it snapped when he dove away from me to eat yard grass. Luckily, he's motivated by the grass being greener on the other side of his pasture, and munched happily until I was able to fetch another halter. However, had we been at a show, the resulting halter snap would have been disastrous, as I would have been that horse owner you see scurrying around the show grounds while the stadium announcers voice booms "LOOSE HORSE!!" over the speakers.My advise: buy the halter - it's fantastic and you'll be pleased with it. But, before you checkout, grab a couple of the "sold separately" leather strap replacements also sold by SmartPak. They, unlike the leather strap sold with the halter, are thick and made to withstand any champion grass blade diver you might own.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way way better than I expected! This halter and lead rope were top notch! I'm the envy of everyone in my barn! You will love this set.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!!! I have gotten SOOO many compliments on the SmartPink halter. It looks GREAT, and the extra padding makes the halter more comfy for my pony. In response to SmartPak's recommendation, I ordered one size LARGER than I would normally get-- and it fit my pony just fine. DEFINITELY recommend this product!
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small Loved how these looked and appeared well made, but the sizing runs small. Have a small draft that normally can fit in warmblood/oversize halters, but this one didn't come close to fitting him. Sadly had to return.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter I love this halter. The only problem is the design of the snap under the break away, which snapped on to the fence in the paddock, however the halter broke away like its supposed to. I solved this however by just turning the snap around.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful halter I have been using rope halters for a while now and I wanted to get a classic halter for my horse. The Kensington halter is very well made, I like the padded noseband for comfort and the breakaway for safety. The green plaid is a beautiful color and I like that it is not ordinary. I like that the halter came with a matching lead rope. All in all its a very nice halter and I would highly recommend it. It fits my horse true to size, it said it ran small so I ordered a size up, but had to return it, it was too big.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered a Kensington Breakaway Halter with the lead and am disappointed to tell you that it broke after a week. My horse isn't exactly a wild and crazy horse. A breakaway halter should break at the clasp so that it can be re-used as opposed to the leather reinforcements that are meant to hold it together. Unfortunately, I have a broken halter that I paid for and can't use. I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous halter! I love, love this halter and lead! It looks so nice, the lead matches nicely and the padding on the nose band makes it seem more comfortable. I LOVE that SP sells the replacement strap, especially since my horse got a hold of the halter and the strap got lost within the first week!My only complaint is that the XL barely fits my large warmblood. It's difficult to find cute halters in larger sizes, just wsh this XL was a touch bigger.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter I got this halter for my first horse, a 5 year old pinto. I figured if he spooks, or anything, it would be a good choice. The first week he was at our barn, he stepped on his lead rope and freaked out. The breakaway broke perfectly and also at the right time! I was very happy with the halter, aside from the fact that I then had to chase my horse around the farm to catch him! ;) I have had this halter for over a year, and we just replaced it, but only for a different color for Splash's Christmas present! (blue to red)
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just recently purchased this halter and am very pleased with the quality. The red looks fantastic on my dark bay gelding and the padded noseband is really nice for him since he's always bumping himself. He does enjoy halter tag and I have yet to see if it will hold up to his games, but I am pleased so far.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Breakaway Halter Halter fits well and is padded which is nice. Haven't had to wash it yet so I can't speak to that but seems durable. Lead line nice and very long.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I love this color on my mare! This halter is very durable and I love the padded nose.
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Love this halter and lead rope set. Very good quality. I didn't love the price, but I have the rest of the smart pink collection and of course needed the matching halter. When I put it on my horse I was not disappointed and feel it was worth the money.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halter Tag Winner If I added up all of the money I have spent on halters over the past 7 yrs I could buy another horse! My OTB likes to play over the fence with his buddies and this halter looks like it will withstand many games. Fit is perfect, love the padded noseband and while I love the purple color on my bay boy, I think Santa might bring him the blue as well!
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halters at a great value! These are some of the best looking halters I have ever purchased. I bought the black and the sage green and love them both. I'll probably get them in every color! I also needed lead ropes. So that fact that these came with matching lead ropes was a huge bonus. The lead ropes are long and soft, not course, stiff or short like many I find in the store. I've only had them a week, but I'm expect to be very pleased with them in the long run.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and value I am very pleased with this product. The quality is obvious and it fits my horse beautifully. While he is almost 18 hands,his head is long but narrow and finely chiseled. Most halters are too wide for him or too short. The Kensington halter fits him perfectly and looks just great. It is nicely padded and I appreciate the safety of the breakaway feature. I have found the halter my horse will wear for life!
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Love this halter- it still looks snazzy after a month of use and is very well made. Wish it could be personalized!
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive halter on my bay Love the blue on my dark bay mare! Very attractive halter and matching lead rope! Love it!
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter We use this halter for t/o and I just love it. The pink color combination looks super cute on my buckskin, and I really like the breakaway feature, as well. The cute plaid also hides dirt really well, which is a huge plus.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter This is a very beautiful halter that is well-made. It looks great on my horse and I received several compliments on it from barnmates. The checkered design hides the barn dust well and even though we use it every day, it looks new and clean.
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy! Very cute halter and lead combination! I love the padded noseband. Great product for the price!
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pretty I love the look of this halter and it would be fantastic if it could be personalized! The halter itself is well made and sturdy!
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I purchased this halter in large for my 16.2hh thoroughbred and it fit him absolutely perfect right out of the package! In the past, with nearly every halter I've bought for him, I've had to add holes around the nose piece due to his longer, narrower face. I love the padded nose band, which sits nicely and gives him some added protection without rubbing or leaving marks. The blue plaid is beautiful on him with his bay coloring and I would buy him another without hesitation when the time comes!I ordered a few extra breakaway pieces to have on hand, and immediately changed out the one that comes with the halter The replacement tabs are much stronger than the original and I haven't had to change it yet (he is pastured with 8 other geldings).I'm VERY pleased with this halter and the lead rope that comes with it. The quality of both are great and match nicely!Definitely 5 stars!!
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I adore this halter. It is amazingly durable, safe, and the plaid colors are great! My pony has yet to lose his SmartBlue halter (knock on wood). It fits him perfectly (he is a larger pony, so the medium fits him to a tee), and I like how the safety release is a small leather piece on the side rather than up over the poll. It is very easy to replace. Great quality and a great price! Definitely purchase this for your horse!
Date published: 2012-07-23
  • 2016-10-20T13:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_2322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders