Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing It Up

4 3/4"
5"
5 1/2"
12mm thick

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
Description:
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provies comfort and enhances performance. Popular full cheek exerts pressure for turning. Eggbutt sides prevent rubbing. 4.75", 5" or 5 1/2". 6.5" Cheeks. 13.5mm ...
?WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with ...
Description:
?WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with Lisa Wilcox and Ernst Hoyos. The KK ULTRA mouthpiece with the middle link turned forward by 45 degrees provides gentle but effective communication with the horse. The additional feature of the WH ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring provides an incomparable precise contact between rider and horse. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
Description:
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Description:
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically ...
Description:
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically shaped mouthpiece. They lie perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. Dynamic RS bits stimulate the horse to accept ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
out of 5
99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.821917808219178 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit My horse likes this bit. He accepts it easily. I didn't need anything harsh, and this friendly bit does the trick.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I purchased this bit for my 3 year old TB. He was fussy about a full cheek and not reponsive enough with a thick eggbutt so I decided to give this a try after much research. The dee rings are a perfect size and he listens very well with this in his mouth. I noticed increased salivation after having it in for 20 minutes. He does sometimes pay with the oval more than I care for but he is only 3. I feel like he is happier with this in his mouth and it looks great.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My horse normally is very fussy with his mouth, always chewing the bit, or opening his mouth. He is a green WB. I've tried loose rings, happy mouths, ect, and didn't get a great response. This bit had my horse so soft, and relaxed. He was responsive and got on the bit. LOVE this bit.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Bit I like the copper in this bit but am not overly impressed with the response I get from my horse when using to train. I will keep this bit and use it for more leisurely rides. Though, for the price I think it is overall a nice bit.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick! Just the bit we were looking for! Works great and a great price!
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the bill I'm sure people have their reasons for buying the other brands that cost $80 or even $150 but I think for most horses this version is just fine. I've used korsteel in the past and have no complaints. I had mine engraved too since it's the bit style of choice at my barn and everything seems to grow legs around there.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price, great quality I have a 15.1 TB mare that i ordered the 4 3/4 bit for. She took to it right away and does very well it in. My only complaint is the size of the "D." She's pretty petite and they look a bit large on her.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok bit Bought this bit in the hopes of finding something as palatable as the Happy Mouth but more durable. The price point was great and I think it's a good bit for the value, but I just don't love this bit for my horse. The copper french link is more of a coating so Teddy didn't mouth it as much as he had his Happy Mouth. I also found the D rings to look really big on his somewhat petite Quarter Horse nose. I have passed this bit along to my trainer who has put it on a OTTB who had been in a plain french link and he is really liking it. I upgraded to the KK Ultra D ring instead.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit for Baby I bought this bit for my three-year-old who just came home after his first 90 days under saddle. He was in a eggbutt French link and I wanted a nice stable bit with that mouthpiece along with the copper. I use a loose-ring version of this bit on my mare and she's pretty happy with it. So far it's worked well for him and these are well-made and designed bits for a good price.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit I got this as a change from a full-cheek snaffle for my quarter horse, and he LOVES this bit. He is very soft and round in it, with great forward movement. A lovely, gentle bit.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it I bought this bit for my brand new 5 year old OTTB and as far as I can tell, he seems to like it. I wanted to get the Herm S KK ultra but it was out of my price range and I am so glad I got this one. My horse is becoming very soft and responsive and being off the track, has a tendency to want to balance on the bit, so he is getting a lot better thanks in part to this soft bit. I would totally recommend it.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely bit my horse appreciated the copper link in the middle and he remained as light as he does in the french link gag. The bit is reasonably priced and is also quite lovely.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit, Good Value This is a good bit, especially for the price. I bought the 4 3/4" and the copper link seems a little large, but it isn't a huge problem. I don't know if it isn't proportionally sized, or if I was just expecting something a tad smaller. Seems well-made and high quality.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! This bit is well made, and my horse loves it. The copper oval link is my go-to bit for almost every horse I know!
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around bit! Use this for flatting, jumping everything for an ideal all around bit. Less severe bith multiple breaks and horses love it!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit and so do the horses. They are very soft when it's in their mouth! The mouth piece is curved too.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My horse, who has worn a regular snaffle all of his life took to this bit immediately and I feel that he's happy with the center piece.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far I bought this for my very green 6 year old Anglo-Arab. He is a big boy who is a bit mouthy. He seems pretty happy with it so far and chomps on the bit less. I am a fan of double jointed bits for the most part anyway so it was nice to see this as an option. The 5 1/2 inch size fits him pretty well too.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart purchase Love this bit. It was cost effect and does the job. Our horse responds just like we expected her to. Thanks SmartPak!
Date published: 2011-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what I needed but nice bit I was on a quest to find a d-ring with the lozenge without getting a KK Ultra. Nice bit, decent price, I just found out that my horse doesn't like copper and he didn't respect it much
Date published: 2011-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed. My horse wears a 4.75" bit. As you can imagine, there are very few bits that come in this size — and very few that are soft enough for his sensitive mouth. I love the curved bars of the JP bits, as I feel they are very soft and forgiving to my horse's mouth. The oval link is a lot softer on his tongue, too. My only complaint is the copper (which is also great for making him salivate) scratches up very quickly and the bit looks worn on that particular part, and it can be kind of hard to clean the joints. My horse loves it, so I can't complain!
Date published: 2011-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed This was the perfect choice for my green TB. The thin mouth piece fits in his small mouth better then fatter snaffles and he loves the copper center piece. I like that is has large D's on a 4.75" bit, most of them out there have small pony sized D's on that size mouth piece. Great quality, just what I expect from Korsteel.
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My horse loves this bit! I just wanted something simple and of course SmartPak has it!
Date published: 2011-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This is a nice hunter bit with just a bit of copper which is nice for softening their mouth.
Date published: 2011-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Hunter D Snaffle Bit I was very pleased with this bit when it arrived for our new horse. I had already tried several other snaffles I had on hand and he didn't like any of them so far. So I was hoping the little 'widget' in the center would make him happier and it did!We use it on him riding out cross country and he is very happy with it, so that makes me happy too! Very nice, heavy quality bit that should look good for years.
Date published: 2010-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality I bought this bit years ago on sale and put it away. Recently I dug it out to try on my gelding that would not round for me ever. The first ride with it he was softer and more responsive, working off my leg and seat better, and not pulling and leaning like he did in my rubber d ring. Within a week he was stretching through his back and rounding well. We still have a while to go before he has the perfect dressage frame but this bit has helped some.
Date published: 2009-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Korsteel Bits! I bought this bit for my new 5 yo OTTB mare, Irish Rose. We were using the Korsteel Eggbut snaffle I already had on hand and wanted to switch her to an even gentler bit for her super soft and responsive mouth. She loves the addition of the copper link and the gentle curve of the snaffle that allows easy communication without the pressure on her tongue and palate. She relaxes quickly into the bit and is stretching down through her back, something I love to see in my green but willing sweetie. I love the weight of the Korsteels, which has always been highly recommended by my vet and trainer; and the price for these bits is always a pleasant surprise. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2009-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bit!! Both me and my horse love this bit! It definately encourages my horse to salivate and play with the bit. Even during the first ride my horse went immediately into a frame and I could tell he really enjoyed having this bit.
Date published: 2009-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit as any JP Korsteel Bit, these bits are designed with the horses comfort in mind. My horses truly love the copper as well and really do salivate and accept copper bits well. I will only buy bits made by a few companies and JP Korsteel bits is one of them. SmartPak is a pleasure to buy from, and always quick to deliver.
Date published: 2009-07-05
  • 2016-09-29T12:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_5125, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders