Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

- Item #15125
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing It Up

4 3/4"
5 1/2"
12mm thick


Customers Also Shopped For
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Rein loops add leverage to the simple loose ring. 13mm thick. Imported.
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provies comfort and enhances performance. Popular full cheek exerts pressure for turning. Eggbutt sides prevent rubbing. 4.75", 5" or 5 1/2". 6.5" Cheeks. 13.5mm ...
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards ...
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards bit technology. With the help of computer design, Neue Schule has the freedom to be more innovative with creation of mouthpieces and cheeks to promote overall comfort for the horse. Neue Schule ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring provides an incomparable precise contact between rider and horse. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique ...
Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique oval shape which widens the contact surface on the tongue while the rider keeps a steady contact. As the rider gives a rein aid the mouthpiece turns forward and the contact surface ...
out of 5
99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.8108108108108105 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit Good bit for a good price, the copper oval was larger than I expected but my thoroughbred does like it. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit! I bought this bit about a month ago and love it! My off track tb does too, especially with the copper. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good use as a bit we bought it for a horse that it seems to work very well on
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit My horse is doing quite well with this bit. We are learning dressage together and he is more accepting with each lesson.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this bit! My mare lunges, hacks, and jumps 3'6" courses in this bit. She loves the copper so much that she dives to take the bit (used to have bridling issues) and holds onto it for an extra minute when I take the bridle off. It's very easy to clean as well.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bit My 6 year old TB mare loves this bit. I bought it for her because she was tossing her head a bit with her plain eggbutt snaffle, and I really wanted to try something less harsh for her. I've had this bit for about 8 months now, and I have been using it on her every ride and she loves it. She is super soft in the bit and is very willing to bend and flex and stay round the entire ride. I wouldn't use this bit with my very hard mouthed Mustang mare, just because it isn't a strong bit, but it works phenominally well on my soft mouthed TB.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for an Affordable Price! So far so good! Wasn't really seeing behavior changes or rudeness while riding but I always wondered how my little gelding would do in something like this rather than a regular snaffle. There was a noticeable difference the minute I put it in his mouth. He loves it that's for sure. Highly recommend. Will see how long the bit holds its quality. Just purchased and only used a few times.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit Nice, soft bit. I've found with the bigger one that I have that sometimes the joints aren't as flexible as the smaller one that I have. Overall good quality. My one horse went so nicely in it that I tried my other and he loves it too!
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit Horse loves this bit- the copper center is wonderful!
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For soft mouths All three of my geldings like this bit. They have soft mouths and the larger size and copper center encourages them to accept the bit.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A big hit with my pony! My pony loves copper mouth bits, so I was sad to retire her snaffle, which was too big for her. She had already firmly rejected a new, non-copper bit (she would shut her teeth against it HARD) so I worried that she would reject this one, too. Nope—she loves it! And it seems to make her salivate freely, so it's a hit with me, too!
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it He is going softer and happier. The big D looksgreat on his face which is smaller
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great starter bit I bought this bit for a horse that had been ridden in mainly western curb bits. He seems to really like the bit and salivates nicely in it. It's a great bit.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this bit as a lunging bit as my mare goes in a ported bit normally. She loved this bit so much that I can school her in it as well and save the other bit for shows.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVES this bit! My 20 year old Arab gelding has been going in a Dee ring snaffle for as long as I know. I decided to try something different, but not too different. This is essentially what he's used to but with the addition of a copper French link. I had no problems the first time I put it in his mouth and now he practically swallows it when I bridle him. He really likes the copper. Happy horse and happy rider.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bit for the price I have a 17 hands OTTB with a sensitive mouth & i've searched & searched for a thinner bit with copper and even willing to spend $170 for a good bit until I saw this JP Korsteel Hunter Dee. At first I thought the oval copper seemed big but when I put in on my horse it worked perfectly well and he loves it. The rings are a bit wider but since I have a big horse its OK because what I was looking for is a thinner bit because some bit may have smaller ring but the metal are so thick and bulky. My horse and I are so happy with this bit and I definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Least expensive double-jointed D available from SP Needed a D bit to fit in at a hunter show. Since I don't do too many, I wanted the cheapest I could find provided it has a lozenge. It feels slightly large, but otherwise no complaints. Does what I need it to! Everything seems smooth and well-made.
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for a young rider! My daughter's pony is a very well schooled connemara gelding. This bit is very forgiving on the pony's mouth with a rider who is just learning to steer and may accidentally pull too hard. There has definitely been better communication between pony and rider since switching to this bit! Love that the copper link encourages him to salivate. I will definitely be purchasing more like this!!
Date published: 2014-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Bit This is a very nice bit. I unfortunately decided to return it because it seemed a bit heavy and clunky with the oval link, and I needed it for a pony with a small, refined mouth. I think it would be great for a larger mouthed horse, though!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit, good price This is a quality bit at a great price, working well for us
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mouthpiece I love the mouthpiece but the D rings are way to big, especially for my cob size mare's head (wears a yearling halter). The D-Rings are big, and give a little too much bounce in the rein. This curved, slim mouth piece fits in the mouth well, and its nice to find a double link copper mouth. I have lent this out to other people as so many (hot and slow) horses like this mouth. I had better results with the same brand in a loose ring (much smaller rings) version.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Basic Bit Needed a D bit for a hunter show I entered. Seems to be of good quality for a good price tag. No rough spots and good solid weight.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sensitive TB LOVES it! My young OTTB in training for eventing loves this bit. Very accepting and calm.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality bit As nice as more expensive bits and well made. Love this bit!
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bit squeaks; horse fussed somewhat when I introduced it
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit!!! So I got a new horse, and Before I bought him a bit i used my trainers which is this one, then I bought another French link dee, and he hated it, so I started riding in my trainers bit, and he loves it, it's the only bit he'll use
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! This is a great bit to try if you want to avoid the nutcracker action of a regular snaffle. it looks good, is good quality, and my horse likes it. It gives me more control than my loose ring oval mouth JP copper mouth snaffle.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit I purchased this bit for my QH. It made a world of difference. When I first got him, he was resistent to taking the bit. Now he gives me minimal difficulty. He also enjoys playing with it and promotes good salivation. I would recommend this bit. When I first pulled it out of the bag I thought the D ring looked very large, however, when put on it looked okay. Overall, I think my horse and I both love it.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JP Bit I am a big fan of JP korsteel bits (Have 3 of them lol) and I decided to buy this bit for my QH mare who hates every bit I've tried on her besides a short shanked curb with a copper dog bone mouth piece, but I wanted to use a milder bit so I looked to this one and it has been the best so far, think the copper makes a big difference in her acceptance of a bit, and I like that it is formed to lay over the tongue better. I would definitely recommend this bit
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bit! When I first got this in the mail, I worried the D rings would be too large and overwhelm my mare's small mouth. (They measure 3.5" in height if anyone's wondering, I absolutely could not find a measurement online at all)However, after a few rides I realized that it's perfect! The larger D rings are in style (at least where I live) and they actually aren't too large at all. My mare loves the copper pieces and I've noticed more salivation already!Very nice, mild bit!
Date published: 2013-06-22
  • 2016-10-20T13:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_5125, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders