Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring

- Item #16145
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Loose Ring with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion.

Favorite Features

  • Copper mouth to increase acceptance of bit
  • Increases salivation

Sizing It Up

4.5", 5" or 5.5".


Customers Also Shopped For
Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by ...
Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring provides an incomparable precise contact between rider and horse. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically ...
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically shaped mouthpiece. They lie perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. Dynamic RS bits stimulate the horse to accept ...
Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique ...
Novocontact bits are designed to create a unique oval shape which widens the contact surface on the tongue while the rider keeps a steady contact. As the rider gives a rein aid the mouthpiece turns forward and the contact surface ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring is rated 4.88 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gentle bit I bought a new horse that was ridden in a french link snaffle. I borrowed one and he was fine in it but when I purchased an identical one he seemed stronger. So I ordered this one which is thicker and he loves it! I think the copper really helps a lot!
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! At my barn this is pretty much the only hit we use. It is extremely soft! I never worry if I'm accidentally hurting a horse's mouth with a small misstep or tug. This is an extremely well priced bit and it will last for a very long time. Very pleased.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thick easy going bit My horse seems to like this bit. It's easy going in his mouth. The loose rings slide easily so the bit is always positioned as it should be. It's "thicker" than it looks in the picture.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to bit I like that it is curved and copper mouthed. Too thick for my current horse, but I keep it on hand because I think it's a good bit. Much more economical than it's European counterpart.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for young horses I use this on OTTBs when reschooling them and it helps to keep their mouths soft
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! My horse loves his new bit, he is nice and soft in the bridle with this bit.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic bit It seems well constructed and I expect it to last.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Handy Bit I've got a mare who has a low palette, a sensitive mouth and who had suffered some severe poll trauma before she came to my farm. While she is willing and likes to work, finding the bit that didn't cause her any discomfort has been an ongoing challenge. (And, believe me, I've got a HUGE bit box in the barn so LOTS of things got tested.)This bit has worked surprisingly well. There is nothing to cause any stress or discomfort so the horse's mouth is much more relaxed and she's foaming more readily.The difference is subtle, but enough to make both me and this lovely, sensitive mare happy.BTW: Don't let the low price fool you. This is a nice bit.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bit our trainer suggested a copper loose ring bit and I expected to have to spend much more for quality. This bit is perfect. The quality is excellent. We are very happy!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat customer;) This is the second bit I own, I use it for everything and didn't want to have to keep changing bits between dressage and jumping. My mare loves it. High quality bit.
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I purchased this bit because I was looking for a "kind" bit that my horse would carry without constantly fussing at it. I bought a 5" bit for my last horse and he loved it. My new horse has a smaller mouth and it was a challenge to find a 4 1/2" bit that was this quality without paying a fortune. My horse has been in training now for about 5 weeks and he carries himself very well without fighting the bit at all. I am very pleased with this bit so far.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very soft in my horses mouth I switched from a loose jaw curb bit to this copper oval mouth snaffle because he was stopping and rubbing the sides of his mouth alot. My horse just loved it. He was so much more calmer and comfortable. He mouthed it a little at first but settled right into it. I love this bit for my boy!
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit I've used so far My mare was in a small shank when I first got her and I immediately wanted to switch her to something softer. This worked excellently for her. Copper keeps her mouth soft and salivating, loose rings help her to be soft. I've tried several bits and this is the one she takes most willingly... actually sometimes she doesn't want to let it go! Switching to a D-ring to help with our lateral work, but I will stick with JP Korsteel. Amazing price for this bit!
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Encourages Relaxation My Saddlebred loves this bit. He's very sensitive and with his previous bit, he tended to have a false collection (overbent at the poll, hollow back) and not relax into the contact. When I tried this bit, I immediately noticed a difference---his tail relaxed, and he was much more willing to accept contact. After 3 weeks of riding with this bit, he's like a totally different horse. Now he reliably relaxes into contact, I can feel his back lifting me up and his hind legs swinging forward.I think this bit is perfect for horses who need some encouragement to relax over their topline and settle into a trusting contact. I don't think it would be a good choice for a horse who tends to get heavy in the contact. If I ride a half-halt wrong (i.e. from the bit only without my seat) even my sensitive horse will blow through the aid. Which I love, cause it just tells me I'm doing my half-halt wrong :)Before I bought the bit, I was concerned that it might be too heavy (previous reviews) or not as good as the more expensive KK counterpart. My horse doesn't think the bit is too heavy at all. And I tried out the KK: I actually like this cheaper bit better!
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL of my horses love this bit! I own this bit in several different sizes and have not met a horse that won't go in it. I am a professional trainer and have used this bit on greenies to schoolmasters both dressage and h/j horses. It's a great bit whenever you want to use a snaffle. It's not as nice as the HS bits, but for the price, it really cannot be beat!
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit, but heavy I have a young OTTB with a very sensitive mouth - this is the bit he graduated to from his rubber snaffle. He absolutely LOVES this bit. Went from being somewhat challenging to bridle to taking this bit out of my hand if given the chance. It's gentle enough that it doesn't bother him while riding, and he goes onto this bit willingly - you've never seen so much foaming! :) My only complaint is the same as the other reviewers - this bit is extremely, shockingly heavy. It doesn't seem to bother him any, but I can't imagine how it doesn't!
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good bit Great price for the bit. Having alot of succes with my horse accepting the contact better and more chewing!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit at an excellent price! I got the 5.5" for my 16.3hh Percheron Cross and it fit perfectly, so it might be a bit big for a normal or small mouthed horse. She really seems to like the thick mouthpiece and the copper. She chews and slobbers this bit a lot more than her old single-jointed snaffle. She also doesn't grab this bit and pull through it, she seems to seek the contact and relax more with it. Over all, I'm very pleased with the quality and the price! We've only been using it for 2 weeks and it already has some teeth scratches (she just got a dental done the day before this bit came!) so I don't know how durable it will be. But the price can't be beat!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less expensive but effective I was using my trainer's Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring bit and bought this just to have something of my own, but my horse goes in it just as nicely as the Herm Sprenger, so for $100 less I'm very happy.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love this bit. Have used it on many different horses, and they all become much more relaxed and supple. All my TBs and Warmbloods have loved it. Definitely my go-to bit. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I have used this bit on three horses and each has loved it. My new horse has been going western and I'm switching him to English. He sucks this bit into his mouth, and won't let go when the ride is over. Encourages a soft, gentle chewing with plenty of good moisture in his mouth. Will be ordering another so dressage and hunter bridles have one.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit at a great price My mare loves the bit no issues. Actually bought a more expensive bit before this one and she hated it! Love Smartpack as well ; )
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive bit Spent $150 on a herm Sprenger and my mare hated it! Spent $30 on this one and she loved it.I believe it was the thickness of the bit.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job In the past I have bought Herm Sprenger Aurigan KK bits because my horses responded so well to them. Money being more scarce these days, I decided to try this bit. It seems to make my horses happy and does the job. I have purchased two in different sizes.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal Bought this bit for my Arab who had been running with his head up and who was reluctant to take the bit. Since he'd previously been ridden in a D-ring, I wasn't sure how he would go in a loose-ring, so I didn't want to spend a ton of money on a top line bit, but still wanted quality-this bit has been exactly what I was looking for!He loves the copper in this bit, actually reaches down and picks up the bit on his own and will hold it in his mouth when I'm trying to take the bridle off.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good purchase This is a great bit. I highly recommend it. I use it on my high spirited little arab mare. She is soft mouthed and this works well on her control.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described I have only placed this in my horses mouth so far, not actually used it. He has a $120 "German silver" bit he likes just fine, but he immediately started chewing on this one. Also, the copper is noticeably warmer than the stainless rings, I see this as a plus.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bit for my mare love the combination french snaffle with round center link. I searched for a while until I read the reviews on this bit myself and found it all to be true. Not only can I start my mare with it but I can use it far into her training in dressage and use it for shows as well.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bit As many other have said, this bit is great. The only thing I would love to see is a 6" my horse, well, he has big box head with a wide mouth. The 5.5" only just fits.Other then that, I can not fault it.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewing! Wow... For the first time EVER, my horse is relaxed and chewing on his bit. Usually, he just sucks it into the back of his mouth and holds it in his teeth... Yeah, no love for his past bits, but with this one, he is like butter.. I am ordering another for my other horse!
Date published: 2011-07-14
  • 2016-10-27T13:01CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_6145, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders