Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16475
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

IceHorse™ Tendon Wraps with FirstICE® provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury.

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg wraps that stay cold for up to 2 hours. Reusable after a minimum of 3 hours in the freezer. First+Ice inserts feature a patented food grade propylene glycol formula for quality assurance and non-toxic properties.

Includes: 2 wraps, 4 FirstICE® inserts. FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are made with a non-gel formula that stays soft and pliable when removed from the freezer. Conforms to the horse's canon bone and tendons. 

Made in the USA.

If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


Customers Also Shopped For
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back ...
Description:
Clinically demonstrated to promote relaxation and improve back flexibility, theSoft and pliable Equilibrium Massage Pad is designed to provide effective, easy to use, affordable therapy for horses and ponies. Each massage session lasts for 30 minutes, using strokes, vibrations and ...
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a ...
Description:
The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic alternative to traditional bandaging and are great for traveling, overnight support, or to help reduce typical post-exercise swelling. Favorite Features Breathable micro-holedNeoprene (airtec) wraps with Soft cotton liners provide comfortableProtection and ...
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, ...
Description:
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, therapeutic boots. The quiet running industrial compressor produces aeration around the coronet that massages, reduces swelling and aids in injury recovery. Water depth and temperatures can be varied, and medications (water-soluble) can ...
Reward you and your horse with relaxing aromatherapy ...
Description:
Reward you and your horse with relaxing aromatherapy while gently soothing sore muscles and tendons. The Absorbine Botanicals Concentrate quickly cools, soothes, and refreshes with 12 herbs and essential oils, including Aloe Vera and Arnica. Simply mix 1/3 oz with ...
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression ...
Description:
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage. No pre-planning necessary- the bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing penetrating cold ...
The Back on Track Quick Wraps use state-of-the-art ...
Description:
The Back on Track Quick Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain associated ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use ...
Description:
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps is rated 4.544117647058823 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must for Any Barn These boots get used a lot at my barn, and they are fantastic. They stay cold, conform to the legs, and are very durable to withstand use and abuse by a barn of 25 show horses. My gelding got a deep bone bruise on his knee last year, and instead of cold hosing, I used one of these boots over his knee, and it did the trick (instead of purchasing a separate knee boot). They can have the tendency to slip, so make sure to supervise your horse while using these (I like to use them while my horse is in the cross ties, while he is icing I can groom or pull his mane or supervise him while cleaning tack). Every barn needs to have a pair of these boots at their disposal, they are an easy and effective alternative to cold hosing.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! These boots are great. They stay cold for so long, it's easy to pack them in a small cooler and bring them with you for a day outing. They will still be cold enough to ice your horse's legs down.They're convenient too. Just pull the packs out of the freezer and slip them in to the boots and put them on, and walk away. No more trying to get your horse to stand in a bucket, or bulky ice bags to lug around.The ice packs don't freeze completely solid, so they easily conform to your horse's legs.These boots help keep my horse sound, and I use them after every jumping session and competition.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice product A lot of people have trouble with these slipping, but I don't think they are putting them on tightly enough. The straps have elastic and are meant to be put on very snug. It's a compression wrap as well as a cooling wrap.As for the ice packs, leave them out at room temp for five minutes before applying them. This way they melt enough to be soft and squishy; then they can be molded into the grooves of the tendon. This is the best way to use them in my opinion.I love these wraps. I use them after every ride, and my horse's legs are ice cold and tight when I remove them.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I love these wraps. They are easy to use, durable and fit great. We have used the inserts for a number of human mishaps as well. WAY better than ice given how nicely they conform to odd angles. Love them! Will buy a 2nd pair soon.
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for your horse! I got these boots to save time and water on hosing. Espcially in the summer here in AZ where cold water out of a hose isn't as cold as you would like. These boots are great for use after a heavy work with your horse and injuries. The velcro has not worn out yet which is great. They are made very well. My only issue is the ice packs inside. They freeze hard which prevents them from conforming to the legs but it will after a couple min of being on. They break easily and leak as well. I put my own ice packs inside the boots and use them as directed. The Rapid Relief ice packs are GREAT!!!! Try those. I didn't have an issue doing this because of the ease of replacing the ice packs inside. Over all, great boot with ice packs that work for you.
Date published: 2011-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item! My mare had a tendon injury 1 year ago. After cold hosing her leg for months and/or using ill-fitting people ice wraps, I decided to try something easier and ordered the Ice Horse Tendon boots. LOVE THEM!!! I have been using them religiously now for over 3 months, after each ride(yea!). They stay cold for a long time and are holding up really well. Would highly recommend purchasing them.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ice boots I was hesitant to purchase these b/c I had read other reviews on different ice boots that were not very favorable. However, I am thrilled with these boots. They far exceeded my expectations. They are super easy to use and very durable. I have already used them over 10 times and they have lots of useful life left. You can actually feel how tight and cold your horses legs are after using them - which we use after jumping due to a prior injury. For extra use, we use ziploc bags, doubled, filled with ice when the cold packs that come with this become warm.
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE... These ice-wraps are a staple in my exercise regimen! After a work-out, I put these on my horse's legs and leave them on while I hand-graze him. My horse LOVES me! These DO stay cold longer... are super easy to put on and take off... and fit perfectly thanks to the stretchy velcro closures. I have just ordered another set for the back legs, too.
Date published: 2011-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I took my horse to a three day clinic recently and bought these to help make sure he wasn't sore. I put them on after all three rides. First the back, then the front. And he didn't take one bad step the entire clinic.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon wraps - I LOVE them!! These ice wraps are the best! I got a full set and use them after a hard jumping session. They stay cold for a long time, even on a hot day. When I take them off, I can feel how evenly the cold has been distributed on the legs.You do have to make sure you put them on really tight because they could slip. I found out the hard way the first time I used them. The wraps slipped in back, my horse got mad and stomped and broke two of the ice packs before I could get the wrap off. This experience taught me to have a couple of extra packs on hand, just in case.If you have a full set, the ice packs will take up a lot of room in the freezer, but I only put them in the night before I'm going to use them.This is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made!
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great product ice packs stay cold for little over an hour. But Ice Horse Tendon Wraps do tend to slip down leg. But great product I would defiantly use this product again.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! These ice wraps are exactly what I needed. I have a nervous horse that is hard to keep in one place for icing. I also hated working with the ice trying to fill the pockets in some wraps. My horse is now able to eat hay in his stall after exercising while he is iced and I'm having great results.
Date published: 2011-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent therapy for returning horse to soundness After suspensory injuries to three out of four legs my horse has made it through rehab and several months of training and is still sound. Due largely, I believe, to application of these boots on all four legs twenty minutes daily after work. Ice therapy apparently is very therapeutic after exercise.I have found a couple of small areas of netting which hold the ice pack have torn. This occured early after purchase, but no other problems since.I am able to borrow someone's freezer for storage, otherwise I wouldn't be able to use this product. Ihaven't found that a wetting of the area with a sponge is enough, (as recommended) to transfer the cold to the skin. I find only a full shower gets him wet enough on the legs for the cold to mold to his legs. I probably need to experiment more to aviod the full shower.I wish they had a larger size for the hock ice boots, because I would buy them too if a larger size were available.By the way, in the evening I follow up with Back on Track leg wraps for support and to increase circulation. I believe the combo of ice and then later application of warming supportive leg wraps has made a big difference in maintaining soundness after so much trauma.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ice horse tendon boots very easy to use, ice packs retain cold for a long time, very comfortable fit for the horse.Wish I would have purchased them years ago
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Tendon injury in November and was hosing 3 times a day for a week, then purchased the ice boots and what a difference in the ease of treatment! Still treated injury 3 times a day without the hassle of hosing! Cold direct therapy with support. Easy to use, stays in place, longer treatment time and no messy wet clean up, especially in the cold winter weather. Have yet to use it for heat therapy. My only wish is to have the ice packs last longer, already on my third pair. Would recommend as a must have to any horse owner.
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High-quality, effective, comfortable ice boots These are soft, flexible, but durable well-fitting splint ice boots which are absolutely perfect for an injured horse. I would reccommend every horse-owner have a pair around for emergencies!
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a good idea These would be better if they came in sizes--they are large on my large pony. That said, they seem to do the trick. I would be happier if you could buy just one instead of having to buy a pair.
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Timely Purchase I purchased these to use after hard workouts and at shows. Well, my horse ended up having a bit of an inflamed deep digital flexor tendon and I have had to use them 2x a day. They work great! I do wet his leg down and the wrap to make sure there is complete contact but his leg already looks fabulous. I needed them 2 days after I received them. Very timely indeed!
Date published: 2010-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon Injury Necessity These boots have really helped my pony's recovery from a flexor tendon injury. Cold hosing in freezing winter weather was a daunting task, but the ice boots made cold therapy a dream. I am now using them for heat therapy as his tendon heals. This is an easy tool to aid healing through all stages of recovery... freeze for cold or warm them in hot water for heat. The packs maintain their temp for more than enough time. The boot fits extremely well and stays put. The only problem I have run into is when one of the ice packs leaked when I was heating it. The cover over the air hole became unattached. I am sending it out to be replaced and so far the others are fine. Great product!
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK , not the best. These boots have one bad flaw for my horses, They don't fit very well because the ice packs are to thick and bulky. When I changed the ice packs for slimer ones the boots are perfect!!. Also, I need to wrap the ice packs in a thin cloth so they don't sit against the horses skin.
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from maybe the best purchase I haven't used them yet, they were recommended to me by a women at my barn, she loves them if that helps.
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and effective! These are convenient, durable and easy to use. They do a great job icing down the leg without the hassle of hosing.
Date published: 2009-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Just purchased the Ice Horse Tendon Wraps - they look well made and durable, and are easy to put on. Will be a time saver for treating injuries or cooling legs after a hard work. I'm thinking of purchasing another pair so I can cool all four legs at the same time.
Date published: 2009-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous wraps that stay cold! These leg wraps REALLY stay cold. No more melting ice packs in the warmer weather. I've tried lots of different cold packs and cold therapies and these wraps are the BEST. It's amazing how long they stay really really cold. No more cold hosing yay! Except everyone at the barn wants to borrow them...
Date published: 2009-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy to Ice After a Hard Ride! Everyone at my barn uses these boots now; they are so easy. I strap them on the front legs when I start hosing my horse off after a tough jumping day and then move them to the hind legs after 10 or 15 minutes and they are still cold!The only bad thing is keeping other people from using them when I'm not!!
Date published: 2009-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have I have two sets of these boots and use them continually. The boots themselves are very sturdy and impervious to dirt and hay. The inserts are not rock hard and mold readily to the horses leg. The boots are easy to apply and my horses don't mind wearing them. After a hard jumping school I always use these on their front legs. This is an EXCELLENT alternative to cold hosing. These will spare your horse the scratches and soft hooves that twice a day hosing for weeks on end will cause. They are easy to pack and take with you to a show. Everyone needs a set of these!!
Date published: 2009-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! I had these Tendon Wraps for about a year before I actually needed to use them, but they were well worth having around. When my horse's leg swelled up for no apparent reason, I dug these out of my first aid kit. They were SO easy to use. Just freeze the inserts, place them in the boot, and velcro on. The elastic velcro straps made it easy to adjust pressure and how tight I wanted to apply them. The inserts were not hard when frozen and stayed cold much longer than expected. They even stayed cold in my hot car on the 20 minute drive to the barn in 90 degree heat. I strongly recommend having a pair of these around- when the time comes, you will be very glad you do.
Date published: 2008-08-12
  • 2016-09-27T12:36CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_6475, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders