Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Horseware Competition Jacket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #21008
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Horseware Competition Jacket is a lightweight stretchy softshell competition jacket. Bonded with contrasted light fabric for ultimate movement. Breathability 1000mvp, Waterproofness 3000mm.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight shell is breathable and moves with you, freeing you to perform your best
  • Contrast red lining and red/silver zips on front pockets adds stylish flair
  • Horseware logo buttons add subtle detail (spare button included on care label)
  • Vent in back for comfortable riding
  • Ladies jacket has a vertical style line on front for a more fitted shape
  • Machine washable for easy care  
  • 85% Polyester, 3% spandex, 12% PU. Machine washable.


Sizing It Up 

XS (4)
S (6)
M (8)
L (10)
XL (12)

Customers Also Shopped For
Designed for the rider who wants the traditional ...
Designed for the rider who wants the traditional look with a high tech fabric! Finally, a show coat that recognizes the demands of the sport while maintaining the classic, traditional look. Favorite Features Unconstructed interior (no lining) allows the rider ...
Perfect for the hunter ring, this classic-looking, easy-care ...
Perfect for the hunter ring, this classic-looking, easy-care shadbelly provides exceptional quality and tailoring at an affordable price. R.J. Classics takes pride in offering you the choices to fill your personal look of refined elegance in the show ring, and ...
Perfect for the Pony Finals, this classic-looking, easy-care ...
Perfect for the Pony Finals, this classic-looking, easy-care shadbelly provides exceptional quality and tailoring at an affordable price. Favorite Features Reversible points that are canary yellow on one side with a coordinating pattern on the other Black lined tails add ...
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and ...
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. Part of the RJ Classics XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid stretchSoftshell material that is not only comfortable, but machine washable.Favorite Features Stain resistant and water repellant ...
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of ...
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of lightweight stretchSoftshell fabric and sewn with the quality tailoring you expect from RJ Classics. This Xtreme Collection Grey LabelSoft Shell Hunt Coat featuresSoftshell fabrics and styling that brings innovative elements and a ...
ASoft shell coat with traditional styling, the RJ ...
ASoft shell coat with traditional styling, the RJ Classics KidsSoft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a solid stretchSoft shell material that is stain resistant and water repellant. Favorite Features Water repellent, stain-resistant stretchSoft shell stays looking sharp and moves ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Horseware Competition Jacket is rated 4.467741935483871 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely coat, lots of compliments I have only worn this once, for the dressage portion of a combined test. I got lots of compliments and someone asked me where I purchased it. The judge even commented on our nice turnout. The material is not so stiff as I expected from the other reviews--it's quite nice.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Just got the berry coat and I'm in love!! Wait, no, I mean I hate it. You'll all hate it. Nobody should order it. I swear once a few people show in these everybody will want one. The color is amazing. The fabric and fit seem a bit improved over prior years' versions too. Still the same scratchy noise, but a bit lighter weight, and a more tailored fit through the waist (less boxy). The fabric is no Grand Prix Techlite, sure, but the coat is 1/4 of the price. The color and the fit are both great. I originally bought this to just be a "rainy day coat" but I seriously see myself wearing this just as often as my others. Maybe more. I just hope Smartpak will carry the matching fly bonnet!I'm between a small and a medium and things are often tight on my arms, so I ordered a medium and the fit is perfect. I'd say it runs true to maybe SLIGHTLY small. There's plenty of stretch too.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this jacket recently in the Berry. But I have to admit I have it in blue and black. I love the way this jacket fits. I'm 5ft tall so finding jackets to fit me are like finding a needle in a haystack. The blue and black are the older style and the fabric seems to be a little thicker, but great for a rain storm. Must get some water repellant breeches or else they soak up all the water!!!! I do wish they came in a double vented back because I'm slightly apprehensive about showing in the equitation with it. Although, I did show in an equitation class with the blue and won so it must not really make a difference. My favorite!
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable! This is a great jacket for the price! It looks great for dressage and show jumping. I originally ordered both a small and medium to be sure I got the right fit. The small was a hair too small in the chest, and the medium was WAY too big all around. I ended up moving the buttons over 1/2 an inch and now the small fits great.This jacket gives you excellent freedom of movement!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird texture and fit I bought this coat after hearing a couple of my friends rave about it. It looks A LOT different then it feels. It is made of this really stiff and awkward material. It feels more like a windbreaker than a show coat. While this jacket fits beautiful on someone with shorter torso, It looked quite boxy on me...i am 5'10 with a narrow figure. For some peopke it works and others it just doesn't, so don't feel bad if this isnt the jacket for you.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice cut and look- it is hot in warm weather I bought this jacket to be a rain coat and save my dry cleaning required Pikeur. I liked the cut so much and it fit so well I wore at a show here in North Carolina even though not raining. It was really quite warm and didn't feel breathable. I think the fit is true to size- I wear a size 2 top and the XS fits well.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Show Coat I needed an appropriate, stylish and budget friendly coat for my first dressage show. This jacket was the perfect solution. It was lightweight and moved with me, and the slightly stretchy fabric made the jacket feel like it was a semi-custom fit. Machine washability was a big plus, and allowed me to wear a clean jacket both days of the show.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too small I purchased this jacket in hopes that it would work for me but it was to small in the bust area and shoulders. I ordered it according to the size chart listed.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horseware Competition Jacket We really wanted to love this coat, but sadly, it didn't work. It runs big, and the fabric felt cheap, shiny and stiff. For the price I didn't expect it to be perfect, but the fabric just wasn't good enough for the show ring. Returned.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great coat, especially for the price! This is a really great coat. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but it looks like a much more expensive coat! I always get compliments on it! Love the fabric and fit - only complaint is it runs a little snug.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fabric, love the buttons Love the fit have not had a chance to show or ride in yet
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not like fit my daughter did not love the fit or material of this jacket
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from show coat my mom bought this for me for christmas and i love it...about to show in it this week so excited
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I'd ordered two sizes to try Loved the coat the first time I saw someone else wearing it and knew I'd buy one. I'm 5'3" and consider my build pretty average but definitely have more muscular upper arms. I ordered a Medium and everything about the jacket fits nicely except right where the sleeves attach to the coat and across the back. I find this to be just a little tight. If I get into jumping position it may be a little small. However, the stretch may make it alright. I wish I'd ordered both a M and a L and just returned one of them since it's free return shipping. I'll be ordering the L as well and making my decision once I have both.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for summer Nice fabric and so flexible! It wrinkles a little bit. Being 1,63 tall and 110 lbs weight, the small fits me excellent. Nevertheless, its great only for summer. Not recommended for cold weathers!
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show worthy with athletic stule I bought the blue in size medium. I like the shorter length and athletic fit with stretch through the shoulders and back, perfect fit through the waist and great style with zippered pockets.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it-- So comfortable The fabric is great. Super flexible. I have used this for foxhunting already and plan to use it for eventing
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I have two of these Horseware Competition jackets (one in each color). They are a good price, washable, and they fit well.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price Caveat - first show coat I've ever bought so I have no reference point. I really wanted to like this because the price is so reasonable but it just didn't work. The fabric is very lightweight and "shower-proof". I liked that it was not shiny even though it was technical fabric (I got the black). The sizing just didn't work for me. The medium was too tight in the arms and shoulders (but I do have chubby arms) and the large was just sort of shapeless/too big with very long sleeves (ref 5'6", 150, 34D/DD). Would work great for someone with long arms. Also probably for thin people if you get a small. My trainer said no go for dressage because it only has 3 buttons but I think she may be on the traditional side.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Material is classy as are the features I did not want to spend a fortune on one of the new soft shell coats and was delighted to find this one!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lines & Lightweight I bought one of these at Rolex 2013 as I live and show in the southeast, and it is no fun to wear wool in high temps & severe humidity. It has nice lines and its fit is flattering. The fact that it is washable and then quickly air dries is great as well. I wear a size 6 normally and the small fit me well.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for the price! This jacket fits great, slim-fit, waisted. I got the xs and it was perfect for my fit; 32D chest, 5'8", and I'm usually difficult to find a good fit. The blue is really pretty. It's thin and cool, great for hot weather shows. I love it! Can't beat the price!
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for price I bought this jacket and like it very much. I am 5' 2" and an embarrassing 135 pounds and the medium fit well. I am short waisted and it probably won't work on those of you who are long waisted, it is quite short. The jacket is comfortable and washes beautifully, dries quickly. I ended up returning the coat, however, as I wanted a dark navy jacket and the navy is more of a French blue.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid coat for the money! Bought this coat after trying it on at a local tack shop- but Smartpak definitely had a better price. I love the fabric- not too hot to ride in, doesn't get dirty, and doesn't hold horse hair. I got the navy which is a lot more blue than navy, but I absolutely love the color. I have a grey horse so the color looks great and I don't get covered in white hair!I was told that this jacket has no shape, but I think the fit is great- better than any other brand I've tried on. Feels like a tailored fit! I'm usually a 14/16 in hunt coats, took a L and it looks great.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very good I got this coat just in case the expensive one i ordered didn't fit, since i needed a new show coat and the show's in three weeks. The color is odd, my hunter/jumper show probably won't allow it because its not navy blue. It's like royal blue. It's easy to tell from looking at it and touching it that its cheap. The fit was nice though. I think it would be good for someone doing simple shows like schooling shows.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Tech Coat! I ordered black in size XL to use for the stadium phase in eventing. After seeing the pictures I wasn't exactly sure what the coat would look like in person. Well, I was delightfully surprised! This looks like a $400 coat! It fits beautifully and I love the detail. It is incredibly lightweight and comfortable. Love, love, love!
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat!!! Cannot say enough good things about this jacket, not to mention the fantastic price. I will keep my wool Elite coat for medals (just incase this isn't "traditional" enough) but I could live in this jacket, so light and stretchy! I have got so many compliments on it in just one show too! Highly recommend - as far as sizing I wear a 32 shirt and generally use a "medium" in everything but needed a small in this, luckily with smartpaks awesome return policy sizing shouldn't be an issue
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit and Look were great for price Just rode in this for the first time on the weekend - comfortable and not too hot (it was 95 degrees) and got loads of compliments.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great jacket at any price! I was looking for an affordable softshell show jacket. I first tried an RJ Classics jacket and could not get the fit right no matter what size I tried. I then tried this jacket, and from the moment I put it on I loved it. It fits just right, not too long in the torso like most jackets are for me. The material is lovely, comfortable and flexible. I also love that the color isn't as dark as most navy blues, it really looked sharp next to my grey horse. It is also not nearly as hot to wear as most other show jackets I've worn. Nothing but compliments here!
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Jacket, not long enough for me Ordered this in black, for the price the jacket was very nice! I am tall (5'10") and the large was too short in the arms and the XL was too large in the body. Its a great jacket if it fits
Date published: 2014-06-12
  • 2016-10-22T11:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_11008, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders