Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Hooflex Conditioner

- Item #10227
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Hooflex® Liquid Conditioner is an easy-to-apply liquid form of Hooflex® Original Ointment. Made with the same unique formula of nine active ingredients, it uses a breathable barrier to help maintain the proper moisture balance necessary to keep hooves pliable. The brush-in-cap applicator makes using it fast, convenient and hands-free.

Hooflex® Original Ointment is Americas best selling hoof conditioner and has been recommended by farriers for over 85 years. Regular use of Hooflex will keep the frog, sole, heal, and coronary band flexible, healthy, and resistant to cracking

Favorite Features

  • Creates a breathable barrier to maintain proper moisture balance in hoof
  • Increases hoof strength and flexibility to prevent cracks
  • Leaves a healthy shine and works as an excellent show dressing
  • Brush-in-cap keeps hands clean

Sizing It Up

8oz - liquid
28oz - ointment



Customers Also Shopped For
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural ...
This silky, perfectly balanced formula rich in natural botanicals gently conditions while nourishing the delicate pH balance of a horse's skin to promote proper skin health as well as a thicker,Softer, healthier and more beautiful coat, tail and mane. The ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse ...
Feel good knowing you are lathering your horse with the same healthy products you use on yourself!Warhorse Equine Shampoo & Conditioner is an innovative, multifunctional, high performing shampoo richwith nutrients and fatty acids from food grade, well knowningredients. Humble and ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
Essential Elements Shampoo is a thoroughly modern volumizing ...
Essential Elements Shampoo is a thoroughly modern volumizing shampoo rich in natural botanicals. Gently cleanses and restores your dog's healthy coat while nourishing the delicate pH balance of your dog's skin to promote proper skin health. Rich in both hemp ...
Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that ...
Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that annoying roll of duct tape! The Pack-N-Sick HoofTape eliminates the hassle of cutting, assembling and apply duct tape to packed hooves (which anyone who's done it before know what a true challenge ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Hooflex Conditioner is rated 4.703703703703703 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect My daughter wanted this. Says it works great uses it all the time.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Really love the difference it makes in my horse's hooves
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every Horse Person Should Have This! I use this on my mare's hooves three times a week,and it has made a huge difference in preventing chipping to her hoof wall! She jumps 2-4 times a week, so hoof health is a staple to her career. This has kept a healthy moisture level in her hooves.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hoof saver My OTTB's feet were starting to look a little "beat up" and on the brink of cracking... And then I started using this conditioner 3 times a week, and now his hooves are looking great! There was a noticeable difference just a few times after using it. Love this stuff!
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof product I use this product 1-2x a week, and have tested just about every product out there. Very pleased with the moisture balance in keeps for the hoof as well as the breathability that is so important in hoof nature. It wards off fungal & bacterial infections. Easy to apply: not overly runny or sticky mess like other products. Hoof absorbs it efficiently. I make sure I always have this on hand- highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not what I expected I thought I would get the liquid conditioner with the brush as pictured here in this review page but got the paste instead. I had to round up a sponge and brush to appy to my horses feet. the product works but is a mess in the paste form.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great and Covers Well I really like this. My horses hooves have been awfully dry this season due to no rain for months. I can see a difference in just three weeks. Even the farrier noticed. The only downside is the large side doesn't come with a built-in brush. I REALLY wish it did, it is a bit of a pain having a separate brush that stays greasy so it collects every ounce of dust and dirt between usage. I ended up sticking it in a baggy after each use, but I'd still rather have the built in.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical healthier hooves My horse was getting cracked hooves loosing shoes and now his hooves look fantastic then are growing out quicker and don't chip anymore he also dosnt lose shoes all the time this really made a difference I apply it 2 times a day :)
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goes on easy I was use to a gel hoof dressing, so this one is a bit liquid,and runny,but seems to work as well.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comparable to others I purchased this because SmartPak does not carry Hoof Heal. It will work in the interim, but I prefer Hoof Heal.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Nice thick consistency, that goes on so smoothly. We've only been using this product for a few weeks, and already his hoofs are looking good !
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST BUY!!! I just want to say get this product! If your horse has cracked or "eroding" hooves…get this! It repairs the hoof over time and it's so easy to use! Also, it's so cheap! BUYIT NOW!!!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great hoof conditoner I just started using Hooflex conditioner on my OTTB gelding. He has ok hoof but we have been having a dry summer and Finn's hoofs have been chipping and dry, So I thought I would give the hooflex a try. So far I have been very happy with it. Finn's hoofs are starting to look a lot better and they don't seem as dry as they have been, I put it on his hooves 2-3 times a week and it seems to be helping.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I use HoofFlex on all three of my horses, applying 3 or so times per week and more often before a show. I've never had major cracking/dryness/brittleness since using this, and my horse's hooves look great! I do apply it at the start of grooming so it has a chance to soak in before the horse goes back in the pasture and might rub some of it off. Definitely recommended!
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can Actually See A Difference For a long time I didn't even bother with hoof oils because I felt like they did absolutely nothing for my horse's feet. On a whim I decided to try this. What a difference!! I only use it twice a week and both my farrier and I can see just how well it works. Cracks and nail holes from previous shoes are growing out quicker. Love this product and will buy nothing else.
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too thick to work well This product is almost jelly like and very hard to apply. It comes out almost like a thick jelly/paste like consistency and is hard to apply evenly on hoof. I feel like too much product comes out at once and it attracts all sorts of dirt and debris. I've used other products by this company and been satisfied but not this one.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love. Love. Love. My poor mare had shoes on when I first got her and threw them rather quickly in pasture. After a few weeks using this on her hooves almost everyday, they grew back healthy with minimal cracking.Because of the drought this past summer as well, this is was a God-send! The only downfall with this product is trying to use it in winter... It's fine if you have a heated tack room but unfortunately I don't have one. =( This is definitely a product everyone should use on their horse!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from does it's job I wanted to try a different hoof oil so I bought this. I use before washing off my horses legs after riding as a barrier between the water. This is more liquid than other conditioners out there, but it does seem to keep the water from getting to the hoof. In the cold this will congeal more than in the warmer months if it's kept in a heated tack room. I will probably not buy this again but for the price point it does a good job.
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Helper Due to drought conditions this year, I used Hooflex Conditioner to keep my horse's hooves from becoming brittle. First time I used this product & the results were great, just what I wanted. Shooter's hooves were stronger & less chipped with Hooflex. Thank you!
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! I wish it came in a bigger bottle! Although Hoof Heal was one of my favorite hoof conditioners, (especially for the show ring), i ran out and decided to try something new. I was recommended Hooflex and within days, my horse's hooves looked healthier and stayed moisturized. LOVE THIS STUFF. Hoof Heal is great, but I like this kind BETTER! The container of the ointment type works a tad better, but the bottle type is much easier to put on. WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I found this sooner! I had been using Hoof Heal for a while but it just wasn't cutting it, my horses feet grew increasingly cracked until I found this.My friend has tried and tested about everything on smartpak so i tend to ask her what to get and I was extremely happy when she recommended this to me.It is a perfect mix between Hoof Heal that is watery, and rainmaker that gets hard.After about a week of using this I was shocked when the cracks in my horses hooves started to improve and lessen.I just wish it came in a bigger container!
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic product that still delivers Hooflex has been around forever, but is still my go-to hoof dressing. It is easy to apply, absorbs well, and is a must in dry weather or for a horse that is stalled on very dry sawdust or shavings. It helps to restore moisture to the hoof, and helped to minimize cracks and chipping of the hooves during our long dry summer in Iowa. Good stuff at a great price.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner! I've been searching for the right hoof conditioner for my horse's hooves. A fellow equestrian recommended Hooflex as she raved about her horse's hooves looking amazing after using Hooflex for only a short amount of time. I had to try it! It was very easy to apply and did not have an unpleasant odor like other hoof conditioners I have tried. It did not have any build up and made his hooves shine! After a couple weeks of using Hooflex, I started to notice a big difference in his hooves. They looked amazing! I am very happy with the product, it will definitely be on my wish list!
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Conditioner I horse has excellent hooves & does not wear shoes. However, when the weather conditions are extremely hot and dry I like to put conditioner on them once a week. I've always used Hooflex. Not sure why but my theory is - if it works ok, why change! I would not rave about it but would say I use it and it's fine. Guess it would all depend on the hoof and the reason you would use the conditioner.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using this on my thoroughbred mare's hooves since I bought her. My farrier suggested it because her feet were so hard when I bought her. She is slowly getting better feet. It will ALWAYS be in my grooming kit.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I have never used any hoof conditioner until 2 weeks ago. I moved my horse to a different stable. The paddock is dry and the trails have some rocks. I noticed that his hooves were becoming dry and there started to be some small cracks. Within 2 applications of this I have seen a remarkable difference! It really works! It is a staple in my tack box from now on.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome for my TB I have a TB that I go back and forth with about her feet being too dry and then too soft with lots of rain or lots of dry weather. This product really keeps her feet in balnce even my farrier has noticed a big difference. She can also be a bit thrushy and ever since I started using this I haven't smelt any thrush since!I recommend highly!
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from old time favorite Well, I used this years ago when I had a horse in my teens, in fact it seemed everyone did. Now I can only find it online and I love this product. It smells nice, goes on easy and though sawdust can stick to is, as it soaks in all the stuff falls off. It is the consistency of honey and is helping my horses hooves a lot I feel. I wish it came in a larger container because it has lasted exactly one month used nearly every day.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Nice consistency and texture. Looks good and keeps hooves in nice condition.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good stuff My mare has been on stall rest for the last 4 months. It has made her hooves somewhat dry. I've used Rainmaker, Tea Tree Oil, and Hooflex. I think Hooflex is my favorit and will be purchasing it again in the future!
Date published: 2012-02-08
  • 2016-10-23T12:00CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_227, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders