Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Hoof Wraps

Item #16183
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Hoof Wraps put an end to the fussing, fighting and overall pain that comes with trying to treat common hoof problems. 

The wrap makes it easy to address issues like an abscess, stone bruise or shoe loss. The Hoof Wrap is constructed of tough 1680 ballistic nylon that will stand up to light turnout, offers great traction and is extremely easy to clean. The industrial strength hook and loop fastening system will ensure a custom fit.

Favorite Features

  • Easy and convenient
  • Safe for light turnout
  • Heavy duty nylon
  • Easy to clean
  • Custom fit design
Sizing It Up

One size fits most (horseshoe sizes 00, 0, 1, 2). An EVA foam pad is also included for added comfort (measures 1 ½” thick x 5 ¾”W). The Hoof Wrap measures 8”W x 11”H (when laid out flat).

Buy the single Hoof Wrap (all with included EVA foam pad), Hoof Wrap with additional 2 Replacement Pads, or Hoof Wrap with additional Gel Pad.

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked ...
Description:
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger ...
IceHorse Tendon Wraps with FirstICE provide uniform compression ...
Description:
IceHorse Tendon Wraps with FirstICE provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury. Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg ...
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory ...
Description:
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing for the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker ...
Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, ...
Description:
Banixx safely and effectively kills bacteria and fungus, making it a great all-around addition to your first-aid kit! Its non-irritating formula works well on wounds, lacerations, post-surgical wound care, fungal infections, scratches, white-line disease, thrush, rain rot and more. Favorite ...
Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-roundProtection for healthy ...
Description:
Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-roundProtection for healthy hooves. Promotes the elasticity of the hoof horn and makes evenSoft hooves very robust. Effol hoof oil is absorbed very quickly and gives a long-lasting shine. Favorite Features The practical brush-tin ensures ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
Description:
White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
Thrushbuster forms a cleaner barrier and deters dirt ...
Description:
Thrushbuster forms a cleaner barrier and deters dirt and manure penetration into the healthy frog. Unique color tells you where it's doing the job, with a fresh coat needed only where the color has faded. Thrushbuster is more effective than ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Hoof Wraps is rated 3.608695652173913 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting concept, but not so easy I bought these to replace some hoof socks and tougher boots for a horse dealing with recurrent abscesses who needed something to hold meds on his hoof during turnout and beyond. I'm old. I couldn't figure out the wrapping instructions with the hoof in the wrap, so I took the wraps indoors and spent some time working at it. Once I got the basics down, I left the front closed up and slid the boot on. That was easier than doing it from scratch with an impatient horse.I've only used one overnight in the stall so far. In the morning it was twisted sideways but still in place, which was okay. I wasn't using a poultice wrap under it. That might have made it stay put. I am not at all sure about the traction part, so I changed boots for turnout. This is a smooth, ballistic nylon wrap with nothing in the way of nubs or rubber dots to afford traction, and I am not a fan of pulled suspensories, so I didn't take the chance. You might want to try it in a small paddock. I have a large pasture with a lot of room for idiocy.For the price, these are worth a try.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't like I could not get it to fit securely enough to actually use. I have a Connemara /TB (not big hooves). Maybe it would be better on a smaller horse?
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the fence Bought these with two purposes - provide padding on long trailer trips (managed to find the gel inserts at two different local stores, one each), and to help when packing hooves.It took a few tries to get semi-proficient at performing the origami skills, still do not have it perfected. The suggestion of using vetwrap around hoof and pad(s) helped. I cannot imagine doing this with a less than patient horse! Much easier to wrap without the pads (i.e. when packing the hooves). When wrapped with pads the pads slip to the back leaving the toe of the hoof unpadded. If I wrap the back tight enough to minimize slipping it rubs the back of the fetlock.Disappointed in the durability - a total of maybe 7 hours in a trailer (rubber mats and shavings) and a grazing walk on show grounds (stayed on grass) and one layer of the bottom has worn through.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use! I bought this product for my horse who was going to need his hoof wrapped on a daily basis for about a month. I was using vet wrap and medical tape and diapers to keep his foot clean and hold medication in, but was struggling to keep the bandages from shifting and keep my horse from destroying them. This product was great because it adjusted to fit around his hoof and bandage and is numbered and labeled right on the product for ease of use. It lacks long-term durability, but I was able to reuse this wrap on his foot for several weeks without any issue. He wore the wrap all day and night and is pretty rough when it comes to bandages.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was skeptical, but is super easy. I was a bit skeptical about trying this product, but turned out to be super easy to use! Pad included is a bit hard for my liking, but effective with/without it!
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price and useful! I bought these with the gel pads to make a poor man's SoftRide - I trailered my mare 1000 miles over 2 days and wanted to give her some added comfort in the trailer, without the expense of the SoftRides which have become so popular. The gel inserts were easy to cut down to her size, and after putting the wraps on once it became pretty fast and easy to do. It's not rocket science - the tabs are numbered and if your horse is reasonably well behaved, they are not difficult to figure out. The wraps did show some significant wear after 2 days on the trailer, particularly the ones on her front feet (which are shod), but overall they held up incredibly well and I was impressed. They also - amazingly - stayed on the horse! I'm not sure how well they'd stay on with a horse kicking up their heels out in a pasture, but for trailer rides, or wrapping an abscess or sore foot while keeping them stalled or in a small paddock, I'd recommend them. I'll be buying a backup set for when these wear out!
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall - useful I purchased this for a barefoot horse who has a large section of hoof wall cut away to allow healing for a bacterial disease. I need to keep mud out of the area with no hoof wall. He is stalled 12 hours and turned out on pasture 12 hours. I need the boot for turn out. The boot worked great for about 3 days, then I noticed a small hole beginning to form at the toe. I continued to use the boot for a total of 2 weeks before the hole was too large and not repairable. I did "patch" the hole for the last few days before the bottom layers separated and began to fall off completely. Two weeks of night time turn out was all I was able to get out of the boot.Even saying all that, I liked the Hoof Wrap. I am going to purchase two more - and try bandaging the hoof with a diaper before putting on the wrap to see if that slows down the hole development. I do think they will wear out and probably 2-3 weeks will be the most I can get out of them, but they ARE convenient, and contrary to many reviews, I did not find them difficult to put on and they stayed on well until the hole got too big. I did rinse it and clean the velcro with a stiff brushoff each morning and hang it to dry. I may try adding duck tape to the bottom to see if I can get a few more days out of them. I have had better luck getting them to stay on than I did with the diaper/duct tape boots.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product The hoof wrap is great for a tender footed horse. I can turn my gelding out with it on as long as I have it wrapped tightly to his hoof. It holds up very well to the beating he gives it. It does eventually wear down and I have to get a new one but his first one lasted over a year. I didn't fit the inner foam pad just right so it didn't fit as well as my second hoof wrap bandage does, so I had to go pasture hunting a few times especially if it was muddy. But I'm very happy with how well it comforts his tender feet especially for the price.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you're good at origami... I really, really, really wanted this to work. Really. My mare has had abscess problems for over a month and I thought this would cut down on the time I spent constructing a duct tape bandage. I practiced putting it together many times before I tried it on her hoof. Aside from the directions and the photos on the package, (which are close to useless) it just doesn't fit properly with or without the huge hoof pad that comes with it. I could tell it would not keep out sand or dirt or shavings or the damp for that matter and with an abscess the area should be kept as clean and dry as possible.What was particularly worrying was the way the rear section cut into the back of her ankle (fetlock). It was sure to rub it raw - like breaking in shoes that are a bit too small - right, Ladies? Ouch!After I got it on, I walked her about 5 feet up the road and back to see how it would work in motion. I could see it wasn't going to and all that velcro was starting to collect dirt and bits of hay. I took it off and got out the duct tape. While I was packing the item up to return I noticed that just within the short walk a small hole had already started to appear on the bottom of the sole. I'm sure it wouldn't have lasted but a day in a dry lot pasture situation. I am really disappointed because I was so hoping this would work, but the quality and fit seems very poor.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh- buy a better one Left this on my horse overnight in his paddock, it was off in the morning. To be fair, it was a pretty muddy day, but I was not impressed. Maybe if your horse is very old and/or slow? A little bit complicated to put on, but not too bad if you read the instructions. I recommend buying one of the more expensive, better constructed options.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not reusable Maybe you can use this boot just for one single occasion, after that you can throw it away!
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Wrap Excellent quality at a reasonable price. Stayed on even in mud. Easy to use.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money My TB gelding has a habit of pulling off his front shoes despite bell boots and always on the weekend. I have used the Hoof Wrap out on our trails (gravel and dirt) and it has held up amazingly well, in fact I have re-used the hoof wrap about 8 times on 1.5-2hr trail rides before deciding it was time to replace it with another one. The Hoof Wrap is easy to put on as you just follow the numbers starting with 1 and ending in 6. I would recommend buying the extra pads as they do get compacted pretty quickly. I recommend it to all my friends.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised I actually was really happy with this product. My horse came in with a shoe half off and the nail went into the side of his hoof wall. I needed to pull the shoe and the farrier couldn't come out for two days. So instead of packing it with duct tape all around (which comes off a lot of the time) I used this which I had in my emergency trunk.My trainer called me two days later, "Where did you get this thing!!! He was turned out for two days and the thing didn't come off at all! My upper level horses never keep their hoof wraps on!"I couldn't believe after reading the reviews that he had kept it on, and he runs around a bunch too.The bottom of it did get some holes... but it's not rubber or thick nylon folks, it's really thinner. The design is awesome and fits the hoof really well. I put medicine over my horse's hoof resection and then duct tape over the hole, then I placed this over it and the duct tape and medcine remained for the duration! It worked great for us.If you're looking for a more permanent suggestion you're going to have to purchase one of those trail boots... otherwise I mean really, you're buying nylon not leather. It's going to tear.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hoof Wrap - Great Idea, Needs Improvement The Hoof Wrap is an excellent idea, but did not stand up to even 24 hours in a stall bedded with shavings. We put it on a front hoof that had lost a shoe. The problem was a seam right across the middle on the bottom of the wrap. Perhaps wrapping it with Vet wrap or duct tape would solve this problem. Everything else was well-made and held up great! If the seam hadn't shredded and ripped, I would have given the Hoof Wrap 5 stars on everything. The included pad does a nice job protecting the hoof. I especially like the directions printed inside the wrap itself telling which parts to attach in which order! A great idea!
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst waste Ordered 2 for a 21 yr old in limited turnout, Boot was utterly destroyed (as in ripped apart fabric) within 10 hrs. Not sure how he did it but definitely disappointed with this product.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Serves the purpose I used the wrap when we lost a shoe. Very easy to apply and it stays in place well. It prevents hoof soreness. Overall I liked the concept and design. My only complaint would be durability - the sole started to wear through after 1 day of turnout (my horse is quiet). I may get one more 2-3 day use out the one I have. Overall I am glad I had it on hand.
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised it stayed on! After a poultice wrap held in place with Gorilla tape failed to stay put, I bought this wrap to see if it would work better. It's going on it's second day of holding the poultice while the horse is on full turnout and that's good enough for me! (We did put Gorilla tape over the velcro tabs so the horse doesn't pull the tabs and remove the wrap since he likes to pull on things.)One piece of advice, attach the straps while the horse is standing on the wrap so you can get it tight enough. (The directions say that you can also affix the wrap while holding the hoof.)
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inexpensive but still not worth it The velcro flaps are confusing to use and the pads that come with the wrap can only be used once. Our horse got the boot off easily which defeated the purpose of the wrap.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was easy to wrap on the foot and stayed put. I used it with medication and as a protective wrap later. It was excellent in both cases for my horse.
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even fit my size 4 WB during Hurricane Irene I'm so glad to have had this item on hand during Hurricane Irene!!! During the height of the storm, I witnessed a tree fall into my horses' pasture, causing them to spook. My 17.3 h, 1600 lb. DWB was at 5 weeks with his last trim and he had alot of growth in those 5 weeks. After the tree fell and my WB settled I noticed he was lame. His shoe slipped, held on by only 2 nails and he stepped on one of the clips, puncturing his white line. In 30 mph sustained winds with up to 60 mph gusts and driving rain holding an unsettled horse, I was able to quickly nip off the other nails, wrap with poultice and quickly slap on the hoof wrap. The wrap says it fits up to a size 2, but my horse is a size 4. It was snug, but it worked. I'm on the third day using the original hoof wrap and treating for a suspected abscess. In my opinion, this item is a MUST HAVE. I would have had to wrap with duct tape, and we all know what happens with duct tape when we are in a hurry with a nervous horse.
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value After 2-3 yrs of keeping Hoof Wraps in my trailer "just in case", my horse lost a shoe on the first day of a 3 day rodeo where I was running event and sponsor flags. It protected his hoof from chipping and stone bruises before I could get home to my shoer. My horse already wears pads and has very sensitvie soles. The boot and velcro held up great. For those reviews that said the velcro kept catching while putting it on, of course it did!! It's that good!! Great item to keep in your emergency kit at home or in your trailer in case your horse loses a shoe and you need to keep riding before you can get to a shoer.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Great Price! This is a great product for the price. I was looking for something affordable to treat a hoof abcess and this is it. My first one lasted for a very long time - including turnout - before it was time for a replacement. I keep one of these on hand all the time.A little difficult to figure out how to put it on the first few times, but once you get the hang of it, it's okay - read the directions and follow the numbers!
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it I bought these to use as an additional protective layer to use when hoof packing. They did not even last a day. They were very difficult to put on, difficult to adjust, and once on correctly they only stayed on for a couple of hours. Not worth the time or money, an extra layer of duct tape is cheaper and easier to use.
Date published: 2011-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hopeless I tried the Hoof Wrap for the first time this morning on my WB mare with an abscess. Even though she is a model patient who stands like a stone as I bandage her, the Hoof Wrap was too difficult to put on her. I finished the job with duct tape. I actually had trouble putting it back into it's bag: the Velcro got snagged on other pieces, and when I pulled one strap off another strap got snagged. I can only imagine what an impossible chore it would be to try to put one of these on a horse that was difficult. I'm going to buy the Hoof Sock, with good reviews on its ease of use.
Date published: 2010-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are perfect! I ordered these for my horse while he was recovering from a hoof abscess. They are easy to use, strong an cost effective. A great solution for short term needs!
Date published: 2010-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh.... This boot was *alright*.... I bought it in an emergency because my horse abscessed and had a crack on his sole and I wanted to overnight something and the others were much too expensive with that, and he is only a yearling so other boots are too small for him and this looked adjustable enough to get me by. he can wear it OK enough, but I had to cut the gel pad to size. I was able to secure it decently enough for it to fit him for stall use after alot of pulling and folding and poking around, but I'm still not sure about turnout. He walks heavy for a yearling, so he wore right through the foam pad that comes with it, so I added a few layers of gamgee under the gel pad too. he seems comfortable and doesn't mind it at all and is fine for walking around in it.Ease of use though... even if he was fully grown and I had bought this product I'm still not sure I would buy it again. it takes a while to get it adjusted correctly and the velcro sticks TIGHT. Which I guess would be good for the horse, but as far as trying to re-adjust it in the process some of the stitching is already coming loose. if you have a horse with small feet, don't buy this unless you're prepared to do alot of cutting and specialized folding.
Date published: 2010-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I bought this wrap for my TB who lost a shoe. I was hoping I could use the wrap on his hoof for a few days until the farrier was able to get out. I had hoped that I would be able to still turn him out with the wrap on however he ended up losing the wrap while in his stall overnight. There is no way this would have stayed on for turnout.
Date published: 2010-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They stay on but do not last long The hoof wraps are easy to put on as the manufacturer has made an easy number system to help us and they stay on even if your horse is turned out. HOWEVER, not everything is provided in the kit and you have to do some serious hoof wrapping , do some cutting and adjusting to the pad , then wrap the hoof with the wrap. Each day you have to unwrap, put a new pad and rewrap; the wrap itself is not strong enough. every single one had a tear where the tip of the hoof was , you think they would reinforce that part of the wrap to avoid such problem. the hoof goes thru after 8 hours of simple walk turn out . In conclusion , very useful for a day as you wait for your farrier , not an every day solution.
Date published: 2010-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will last for multiple uses One of my biggest concerns when purchasing this product was that the description listed it as disposable, so I wasn't sure how long it would last. After receiving them I am very impressed with them, and noted that while note meant to last as long as cavallo boots, they definitely will last through several uses. I was really impressed with how ingeniously they were designed with velcro closures that allow for a wide range of hoof sizes.
Date published: 2010-08-08
  • 2016-08-28T12:01CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_6183, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders