Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest

Hit Air
- Item #19904
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is a culmination of more than a decade of experience in airbag technology by MUGEN DENKO, LTD. The Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is a "harness type" airbag that employs the new higher speed key ball mechanism which activates the CO2 cartridge.  Versatile design makes it perfect for riders of all equestrian disciplines including Eventing and Western.

Favorite Features

  • Top fast: 0.09 sec deployment time!
  • Attention to detail is unmatched by any other brand of airbag apparel
  • The neck airbag is significantly larger than the leading competitor's
  • The neck airbag inflates first, where most injuries occur, followed by (in only fraction of a millisecond) the torso and hip airbag
  • The key box where the CO2 cartridge is deployed is protected from dust and dirt and provides sound insulation to minimize spooking the horse during an unintended deployment
  • Added comfort in the saddle because the hip air bags are concealed inside a special pocket making it unnecessary to have a long "duck tailed" style that can be uncomfortable in the saddle
  • Cool to wear due to the open design
  • Cartridges: Advantage 2XS-S and S-XL uses 50cc 

Includes: Instruction Booklet, Canister-Changing Tool, (1) Canister, (1) Saddle Strap, & (1) Lanyard

*** Airbag vests should only be used with english saddles or western saddles without a horn***

Sizing It Up


Safety Vest Comparison Chart

CO2 Canisters are not returnable and cannot be expedited.
Customers Also Shopped For
The Tipperary Eventer Vest is most preferred by ...
Description:
The Tipperary Eventer Vest is most preferred by world class riders! Light weight Flex-Pad design allows for a contoured custom fit that is not restrictive to movement. This versatile safety vest can be worn through all levels of competition, from ...
The Hit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is ...
Description:
The Hit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is a "harness type" airbag that employs the new higher speed key ball mechanism (component that activates the CO2 cartridge). This model is especially light weight, cool and more comfortable than the competing brand. It ...
We love riding and we love safety, so ...
Description:
We love riding and we love safety, so why not combine the two? A vest version of the Corrib Neon Jacket, the Corrib Neon Vest is perfect for anyone looking for some additional warmth while also being noticed. If you're ...
The Reflective Safety Vest provides high visibility for ...
Description:
The Reflective Safety Vest provides high visibility for horse and riderProtection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. Front and rear reflective strips. Adjustable elastic at both sides. Imported.
The Tipperary Ride-Lite Vest is a great choice ...
Description:
The Tipperary Ride-Lite Vest is a great choice for the beginner or recreational rider. The dual density padding system provides superior shock absorption and impact reduction. The short-backed style allows for a greater range of motion (although please note that ...
Replacement CO2 canisters fit exclusively with the Point ...
Description:
Replacement CO2 canisters fit exclusively with the Point Two Air Jackets. Please Note: Please specify Bayonet or Screw-in Fitting for your replacement CO2 canisters As a general guideline: Bayonet fittings should be purchased for vests manufactured after October 2012 Screw-in ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Hit Air Advantage Airbag Vest is rated 4.533333333333333 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every rider should have one I bought this for my daughter. I was concerned about the fit; it only comes in 2 sizes and she was probably right in between. It fits fine but I would consider that it has to go over a heavy coat in the winter in the northern states. I ordered it in early Dec and got it in mid January. Quite a wait. The shipping date changed every 2 days. However now that it is here, I am happy. I hope we never have to see if it really works. It is expensive, but I know that a broken neck or back is much more expensive.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Came off horse stepped on me. Came off horse, he stepped on me, hoof print on the back of the vest, I didn't feel a thing. Everyone who saw it had heart failure, I got up and said I'm ok.I have between 3 and 4 pounds of Harrington rods in my back,
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe Landing Sorry, should have hit 5 stars, not 1! My review is the previous one.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Safe Landing I have a good seat and can ride out most anything until the day my horse tripped and his head dropped out from under me and I had no choice but to fly off. Cracked a few places in my back which is what drove me to search for a way to avoid this should I ever fall again. This vest was so worth the investment. 6 months later my horse tripped and dropped out from under me again but his time I was wearing this vest and it worked beautifully and saved me from any injury. I will never ride without it.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from probably saved my life I bought this last year after a park accident resulting in a lumbar fracture and broken pelvis. I had it on last weekend when I was "ejected". It might have saved my life, in addition to my helmet, but certainly protected me from injuries more serious than a broken shoulder! The only addition that I could suggest would be shoulder "caplets". I'm so glad I made this investment, and Thanks to Dover Saddlery and Smartpak for making it available to recreational riders.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Decision As a foxhunter and jumper I am so glad I purchased this item for the 2015-16 hunt season. I wear a pacemaker and cannot believe I did not get this long ago!
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Very nice vest. Light weight,fits well,seems to be well made. Luckily haven't had to experience how well it protects, but I feel much safer wearing it.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you event this should be mandatory This product has saved me probably months of injury. I've had it for almost four years now and have had it save me more than a handful of times. Not even for bad falls or naughty horses - just simple unpredicted nonsense that can happen with horses. I love this vest, it is lightweight and not a flour sack like the Point Two Pro Air. The canisters are easy to remove and vest is easy to deflate. When it comes to safety, really no matter your level, consider one of these vests for cross country. It really will save you a lot of pain.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hit Air Vest I did a ton of research and I am 100% sure that this is the best on the market. It has the fastest delivery time in the event of a fall. The company was the first to go into motorcycle vests and then went to equine vests. It is really comfortable. You can order buckle extenders and a foam back which goes on the velcro that is on the vest for additional support. (from Hit Air) This vest is very comfortable. I wore a black jacket (winter) under it and my husband was surprised that he could not see the vest--that it was conservative in appearance. This is a MUST for anyone on a horse. Workmanship is excellent!
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! IMO this should be mandatory riding equipment for minors. As is the case with most recreational (e.g, bicycle helmets) AND professional (e.g, football helmet face masks) activities/sports the use of protective equipment is often slow to be incorporated. As more professionals endorse and use inflatable vests, alongside vocalization on the benefits of wear, perceptions will change, followed by rapid acceptance and wider affordability.My adventurous teenage daughter is aware (as are all the girls) that she is the ONLY person in her riding class (actually the entire training facility) that uses and who's parent's require her to wear the Hit Air vest as a condition for riding lessons. She fell out of the saddle on her third class. Everyone heard the instantaneous "poof" of the vest inflation. The horse ran for the pasture as my daughter, un-injured, stood and said with a big proudful grin "I fell off my horse." A quick vest change and she was back in the saddle. Yes - my family is new to the sport. I understand that injuries can/will happen. Most are minor, some serious, rarely fatal. I cannot protect her from every accident; however, I can try to minimize the Injury. That is my job as Dad.IF YOU HAVE THE MONEY -- THEY ARE A GREAT VEST!
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great... Hasn't gone off yet, because I haven't fallen yet.... but so glad I have a little extra insurance. The best fits easily and beautifully. No one can tell it's not a normal piece of clothing unless they look carefully. It's lightweight. It fits over my coat or just over my jacket or just a shirt. Easy to adjust. Super easy to clip in and out. Does not get in the way when riding or posting. What's not to love?
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actual use in a wreck II had a wreck driving my carriage when my mare bolted. I broke three ribs and was laid up for about a month. After that happened, I wore this vest. A good thing because the goofy mare decided to bolt and fling me out of the carriage again. I can say that it isn't any fun landing on the ground but with an inflated vest, it meant no broken ribs and way less pain. With my new horse (no more bolting mare for me), I use this when I ride or drive him. I am thankful that I have had no further need to test it.
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware the size chart is not accurate I love the confidence the vest gives me that my core will be protected in case of a fall. However unless you are the measurements for the medium size in the size chart you may need the extenders. I wish smart pack would carry those or the next size up vest. I would also recommend ordering a CO2 canister. That being said I do love the vest and it is light and fairly cool. I wear this and my helmet on all my rides.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Added layer of protection Two episodes of broken bones in my back/pelvic in 2 years, falls from "high places", so I bought this to give me the self confidence to get back in the saddle. It is very light weight, and not hot. I have voluntarily dismounted from the saddle, forgetting to untether it, and it hasn't gone off. I'm very glad for the fact that it requires 35 lbs of pressure to inflate. Glad I bought it. I would suggest that they include 2 air cartridges in the price instead of just one, since you would have to wait for the shipping of a new air cartridge if you set it off.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit Bought this for my 13 year old daughter to wear in addition to her Tipperary vest. Fits great and love that she can have double protection.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, reliable air vest. I held off on purchasing an air vest for a while, as I didn't want to add more bulk and weight to my Tipperary Eventer vest. This air vest is surprisingly lightweight and very comfortable. Worth the peace of mind. I'm 5'2" and 115lbs and the small JUST fits, the medium was much too large.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hit Air Advantage ProtectiveVest I purchased this vest in Dec 2011 time frame and do not regret it. I haven't and hope to never have to experience a fall again, but should it occur, I am comforted that my neck will be protected along with my back. Due to back injury in the past, I wear an eventing vest under the HitAir Vest. The only reason I get hot is the eventing vest, when worn separate, the HitAir there isn't even a noticeable different. I recommend this vest to all my horse buddies.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be good protection I haven't actually ridden in this yet, but it seems to be good quality. I'm an adult amatuer with a warmblood 4 yr old that I hope to event, decreasing my likelihood of injury is always good. A friend of mine had suggested this vest over the P2 because it seems to have a bit more coverage. I have an old neck injury and am pleased with the ample airbag around the back of the neck. When it first arrived, I tried to test deploy it. I could not, for the life of me, pull the little ball thingy out of the deployment device. Images of myself falling off my horse only to be dragged to kingdom come, attached by my vest to a running horse, I looked online and found a chat room with an entry describing my exact experience: I yanked, husband yanked, I stood on and pulled, the thing would not deploy. I called the contact# at air-vest.com, sent the vest to them for inspection, and they returned it with a video of my vest (I have to trust them on this, its impossible to tell if its really mine or another one), deploying. Apparently, to prevent premature deployment, it takes 30kg of weight, and a sudden jerking motion. Upon return, my husband was able to deploy the vest. Final decision - I will be wearing the vest whenever I do finally go XC. The air cartridges are cheaper than P2, and I have to admit The Hit-Air history in motorcycle vests is comforting.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this vest! This vest is light-weight and, while still hotter than no vest at all, is a complete joy compared to the old school body protectors. I wore mine for the first time yesterday while schooling cross-country and found it very easy to move in and comfortable. The CO2 cartridge is a little heavy and you can certainly feel it there, but once I got into the rhythm of the course, I forgot it entirely. My only word of caution is about the sizing. By all rights and measurements, I should have been a S-XL with some room to spare, but I had to exchange that for an XL-3XL because the waist strap was so tight as to cut off my breathing standing still in my kitchen--no way I could have ridden in it. The larger vest is a hair too big on me, but there is room for a traditional body protector should I decide I want to add one underneath. The S-XL came with a grab strap, but the XL-3XL did not--luckily I had already bought one in prep for the smaller vest.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hit-Air Advantage Vest I tried two other non inflatable vests. This one is perfect. It is light weight, flexible, confortable even in hot weather, yet plenty of protection should you need it. The services from SmartPac was also exceptional. Would buy a protective vest from no one else.
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hit-Air Advantage Vest tried 2 other non-inflatable protective vests before the Hit-Air. they were difficult to get a good fit, restristed movement, hot and uncomfortable. the hit air is well worth the difference in price. had gotten to a point i would have stopped wearing a vest before trading it fot the hit-air. it is light, lots of ventilation and if i need it i know it will protect me. great product
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service, nice vest I bought the large vest, and found that it didn't fit over my body protector (though the measurements said it should). The SmartPak people were fantastic, though, and fixed everything right away. I will totally buy anything expensive with them because of the great service. I ended up getting an extra large. The vest is a little heavy, but not very bulky. It's very easy to snap on, and to hook on to the saddle horn. The superior neck protection is why I bought it. I would recommend this because based on everything I could find, this is the most protection you can get.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase...... I have had a four decade gap in riding and I purchased the Hit Air vest as an insurance policy and plan to ride in such a manner that this vest will stay deflated and remain just a pretty accessory to my riding clothes. I am working with a psycho therapy horse and am doing a lot of ground work getting to know her, with her revealing my deepest self to me and establishing myself as the leader of our herd of two. By the time we head out on the trail, I feel confident that I will be able to respond to her and her to me, and we will be able to keep each other safe. The Hit Air vest will definitely raise my confidence level and that makes it worth every cent. I am 66 years young so purchasing insurance policies is familiar to me. :-) Thank you for offering this product for sale.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, Great Service! (at least skim to the end, impt info!)So, when a family member offered to get me an airvest for my bday, I was "blown" away. After a lot of research, I decided to go with Hit-Air instead of Pt.2 because of the fit, and increased size of the inflated neck. When I started looking for a retailer I was thrilled to see smartpak was a dealer, but bummed that there were no reviews. Realizing this was a new product, I was worried about purchasing, but given the great customer service I've received in the past, I decided to go for it.The vest arrived quickly, and fit very well. While I was reading the instruction manual (yes I'm one of those!) I became confused about the sizes and the appropriate CO2 cartridge, as well as the new strap. I called smartpak that night, and spoke to a very helpful rep who put a message in to a product specialist, Sam, who called me back promptly with info the next day.The label on the hit air vest stated that it was an H-L and that it needed an R60cc CO2 cartridge. The rep went above and beyond to help figure this out, as smartpak didn't carry that size since they were told, and the hit air website said, that the Advantage S-XL used the 50cc. After speaking to the Hit Air company, it was determined the label was correct, the L needed the 60cc cartridge. Sam helped arrange for the company to expedite drop ship me the appropriate 60cc cartridges. They also assure me they are working with Hit Air to fix this mistake.Sam also was able to tell me that the new leash wasn't in the instruction mannual, because HitAir hadn't updated it, but the professional rides that were surveyed stated that this was the one thing they liked about Pt. 2 that Hit Air didn't have. Make sure you have a grab strap though, because you'll need it to attach your vest and saddle!Thanks SmartPak!
Date published: 2011-08-10
  • 2016-08-27T11:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_9904, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders