Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17107
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine loose ring design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider.  

Favorite Features

  • Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger
  • Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc)
  • Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit

Made in Germany

Sizing It Up

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm stainless steel rings. 14mm thickness.

Customers Also Shopped For
The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to ...
Description:
The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Favorite Features Bit rings and cores made of top grade stainless steel Mouthpieces are non-toxic,Soft and flexible Long ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
Description:
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with aSoft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance andSoftness. The Happy Mouth Shaped Mullen Mouth Elevator has an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. All ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
Description:
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with aSoft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance andSoftness. Straight mouth bits have an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. The core of the Happy ...
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam ...
Description:
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam fillingSoftens the curb chain against the horse's chin- offering comfort without compromising the effectiveness.Featuring T-Foam Technology, the Curb Chain conforms to the horse's chin for a custom fit, every time. Self ventilating ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Description:
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The ...
Description:
Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The English Hackamore has a fleece lined noseband to prevent rubbing. Adjustable curb chain. Please note, in the image, the leather portion of the hackamore has been oiled. When it first arrives, the ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring is rated 4.84 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HS Bit This is the most expensive bit I have ever purchased. That said, I think it is the best bit I've ever purchase as far as quality goes. I've only had it a few weeks but every single dressage rider that I know personally has suggested the HS bits for durability & responsiveness as well as kindness to the horse's mouth. The horse that I just recently bought was being ridden in this bit so I thought it prudent to keep him with the same. I think I made the right purchase. Time will tell.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit for a sensitive mouth I purchased this bit about a month ago for a horse with a very sensitive mouth. This was one of the few bits he accepted and was happy in.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse really likes the bit and is very light. Finally found a bit that my horse and I both like.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit!! I love it! I have a TB mare who has a very sensitive mouth and the bit I had her in was a bit too thick and single jointed and although she rode well in it I could tell the single joint wasn't working very well. When I got the HS I knew she would take a while to get use to it but it almost seemed like she was relieved and appreciated it a lot more and is so easy to collect now...I think she's way happier with this bit...she doesn't fight me at all.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made. I bought this for my daughter's new horse...she and he love it...very comfy but good control
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit! This bit is of amazong quality, and it is comfortable for the horse! A great buy! I find it runs a little large, so you might have to size down.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what Briches needed. Thinking about a new bit for months, I gave Smart Pak a call and spoke to a young lady who really knew about this bit. Gave it a try and my POA loves it; she is so supple and responsive with such a light hand.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit I have other HS bit like the KK etc and they are well made, balanced bits. A little expensive.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Bit! The bit is an important piece of equipment, it's how we stay connected with our horse so while the price is a tad high the quality and results of this bit are worth it!!! Each horse is different on what works, so trial and error is a must. But this bit is certainly a great starting point and works great for my horse who takes this bit with no problems and gives nicely while staying soft in his jaw and mouth. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bit I have ever owned! I love this bit. I have used it on a number of horses and always had excellent results. I love how soft it is and how the metal makes them foam a little. I've used it for both hunters and lower level dressage.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest bit ever! My mare and I have been through what seems like every bit on the market looking for the right one. We have tried in any given order 1. Plain snaffles (hated everyone we tried) 2. French link (the horror!) 3. Happy Mouth (she thought that was a work of the devil himself.) 4. Mullen Mouth (watch me walk around like a giraffe, Mom!)We finally settled on a Myler Comfort snaffle for a few months, and she was going ok in it-definitely better than anything else we had tried. She still wanted to root in it, get behind the vertical occasionally, and not round up. On a whim (or was it desperation?) I finally ordered the Dynamic RS, and it was one of the greatest breakthroughs we have ever had. From the first ride, she was light and happy--no pulling or dragging or rooting. With just a feather light touch on the inside rein, she is happy to round up and carry herself around the arena. She is so soft in this bit, and I can be feather light in my contact. I love it so much I am going to order another one just in case something ever happens to mine.I know the bit is expensive, but it is a lot cheaper than buying multiple other bits that don't work. And having a happy girl who is content in her work is really priceless as far as I'm concerned :)
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bit Looking for the perfect bit for your sensitive horse? This is it!! I have tried this bit on my Oldenburg and OTT thoroughbred. Both are notably quieter and more accepting of connection with this bit, especially the thoroughbred with a super sensitive mouth. I would buy this bit again, worth the investment
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit and Quality I have purchased Herm Sprenger bits before and this one is by far our favorite! My horse is so happy with it. He readily accepts contact and maintains it. The slight curve makes it very comfortable for him.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Responds Well My daughter got these for her dressage horse and the horse has been responding well to this new bit. My daughter and her trainer are pleased with the progress made since getting this bit.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME bit! This bit worked wonders on my horse who was stiff in the neck and difficult to collect. Able to put him right on the bit with feather-soft contact. He was using the original KK Ultra Loose Ring, but the gentle curve to this bit seemed to be just what he needed to relax into the contact. Highly recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2012-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse hated it I was very excited to try this bit after all the great reviews, and the ergonomics aspect really appealed to me. But the minute I put it in my horse's mouth he threw his head in the air and danced around in the stall. I tried riding in it anyway, and he was very tense/anxious, and held his head high. I tried it a second time, and halfway through the ride I switched to his normal hollow mouth loose ring french link, and he instantly was more relaxed and took contact with the bit. Judging by the way he disliked it before I'd even got on, I think he may have just disliked the taste. I would still recommend this bit to others to try because I think what bit works and what bit doesn't is very much just a horse's individual tastes... but perhaps see if you can borrow one before buying as it is very pricey.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth It! I'd been using a French link loose ring snaffle as recommended by my trainer on my OTTB since I started him. Nothing serious, but he just seemed to be too inconsistent in my hand at times (we've been in training a few years now) and while I didn't think a change of bit was going to cure all (I'm responsible for my own position and aids), I did start researching and thought to try a new bit.The first day I rode him in the Herm Sprenger, it was clear that he was happier chewing the bit and he was all frothy. The next few rides the old ways were back, but what I think was going on was simply habit. Once he had the new bit regularly he really started to soften. The contact has improved significantly!Again, I know there are lots of factors that could be contributing to the improvement along with the bit, but I am confident that the switch helped. Yes, it was a pricey bit, but I readily took the chance because my horse is so sensitive and I figured it was worth a try. Indeed it has paid off, and really, in the scheme of things, its one of those "you get what you pay for" deals.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse chews and chews and chews the bit and with this one his mouth is soft and quiet. He loves it. The only thing to mention is that the bit does seem to run a bit small- my horse has other 5" bits (a loose ring and a D) that fit him great, but the 5" in this bit was way too small and I ended up getting a 5 and 3/4" bit to fit him.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the extra money. I have a 3 year old OTTB gelding that needs a soft hand, and in our previous bit (Myler Level 1 loose ring) he was extremely fidgety and fought contact the entire ride. With this bit, he readily accepts contact and even seems to seek it out! I can tell that his mouth has relaxed significantly.I would very highly recommend this bit.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Good bit, made a noticeable difference in the acceptance of the bit. Increased salivation and suppleness into rein contact. Its pricey but a good product
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally worth the money!!! This was seriously the best purchase I have ever made for my horse! While the cost was high it was SO worth it. My horse is finally supple and eager to accept contact! Thanks Smartpak!!!
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Bit! I purchased this bit for my off the track thoroughbred after other "soft" bits I tried just didn't seem to work, he seemed to be fighting them a little. This bit is soft and he right away gave to it. I can really say that he is "enjoying it" and is much easier to work with.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is a great product. This is where you should sink the money into. Bits are very worth it. Horse accepts the bit better now. Tasty metal.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spend the money! Bits are not the place to cut corners financially! They are your direct communication line between you and your partner! If there was only one thing I would buy top end it would be a bit, and this bit is awesome! Major, my 17 year old dutch warmblood loves this bit! He hasn't been in just a snaffle in quite some time and is "re-learning" how to be supple without a weymouth and I attribute his success in part to this bit. It promotes chewing and conforms beautifully to his mouth.Overall, I can't stress enough how important bits are! They are the most important piece of tack you will buy, so dish out the extra moula and splurge on a good one like this!
Date published: 2011-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bit! Of all the places to save money when riding, I think the bit is our direct line of communication to the horse and the one of the few places where not to skimp. The curvature of this bit and the materials make it very friendly to the horse and does not wear or make sore, the corner of the horse's mouth. The price is a bit steep, but a very good investment. This was my 2nd HS bit and I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2011-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked For Me My Arab is very fussy with his mouth, either curling up or inverting. I had him in a JP Oval mouth, and couldn't get him to take a consistent contact. Tried a Myler wide barrel comfort mouth, and he lugged and pulled. The RS Dynamic has him reaching into the contact for the first time. His curling under is going away, and I can actually start working on half-halts. I'm really, really happy with this bit.
Date published: 2011-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but Nice! I considered these bits in years past, but balked due to the price. The principles behind the design seemed thoughtful, and the materials good quality, so I decided to go for it..My horse does seem happier with the contact-- it also feels like I get a better response to requests for flexion. I had tried a a regular loose ring French snaffle (he was very fussy) and then a Boucher snaffle with no link. He was much better in the Boucher than the French-link, but even better in this bit. Can't say exactly why that's case, but I'm really pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase so far so good After trying several different bits on my ottb I decided that I would take the plunge on this one. He needed something to help him salivate more and have a little more feel on the corners of his mouth without the added tongue pressure because other bits caused him to stick his tongue out( not a good thing for a dressage horse!) He seems much more content in this bit than any other bit I have tried thus far. He is now producing a nice white froth and chewing the bit contently and the tongue issue has seemed to resolve itself. I feel like I have something to build on now instead of thinking about the next bit I should try. FYI I had tried several different sprenger bits like the KK ultra but... he needed that extra curve in the bit and the 14mm size to fit the corners of his mouth more comfortably which in turn has made his lateral flexion much better and less resistant. Yes this was an expensive bit to buy but I was lucky to purchase it when smart pak had their sale and I got the free shipping on top of that which made it less painful! And ...if it works, it is worth every penny!
Date published: 2011-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever This bit is great for any horse. Every horse I have tried it on loves it.
Date published: 2010-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but a nice bit. I use this bit on both my horses. It is nicely made and comfortable for the horses. Both my horses seem to have slobbery mouths, so I'm not sure they really need this fancy metal bit, but it might be a good choice for a horse who does not tend to chew the bit.
Date published: 2010-11-13
  • 2016-08-25T11:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_7107, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders