Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17108
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine eggbutt design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm flat stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness.

Made in Germany

Customers Also Shopped For
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards ...
Description:
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards bit technology. With the help of computer design, Neue Schule has the freedom to be more innovative with creation of mouthpieces and cheeks to promote overall comfort for the horse. Neue Schule ...
The Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore is stainless ...
Description:
The Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore is stainless steel and is complete with a padded leather noseband and adjustable leather curb strap. Favorite Features The cheek is relatively short, reducing the nose pressure. This 'bit' should sit halfway between where ...
Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to the anatomy of the horse's mouth. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: the interior volume of the mouth ...
KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research ...
Description:
KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: the interior volume of the mouth was less than previously thought and the palate was smaller and flatter. Therefore, the ...
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept ...
Description:
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Exacting care goes into each bit: All the bit cheeks and rings are made of a top grade stainless ...
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
Description:
Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 13mm mouthpiece. Imported.
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection in one single application. Cleans and glosses items made of stainless steel, chrome, copper, brass, Argentan (German Silver) and Aurigan (German Gold). Diamond Paste is odorless, non-toxic, non-acid and a special creamy ...
out of 5
99% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is rated 4.869565217391305 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BIT My horse loves this bit, he likes to chew and he is very anxious and gets excited, so this bit is very calming for him.
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful bit, but not for my horse I spent about a half-hour on the phone speaking with a very nice person at SmartPak about possible bits for my OTTB. We thought this one might work--but when I tried it, clearly my horse was not happy with this in her mouth. But just as the SmartPak rep said, I was able to return it and get a refund. The search for the perfect bit continues, but I am very pleased with SmartPak's support and return policy.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be comfy New horse, former jumper now destined to be a dressage horse, was ridden in a pelham; he actually still has a very sensitive mouth and I couldn't take up a steady contact without him trying to go behind the bit. After much hemming and hawing, I decided to order this bit for him because I have had good experiences with HS bits in the past; the lozenge is key to avoid the 'nutcracker' effect of single jointed bits, and I wanted an eggbutt because I don't personally like the extra 'play' of loose rings and I worry about the possibility of pinching.Well, he must VERY comfortable in this bit, because I am now definitely able to take up a steady contact. Maybe TOO steady at times, haha. He is still learning what I'm expecting of him in his new job, so I'm not too concerned that at times he starts to try to lean into this bit. I'd rather that he seeks a bit too much contact, which is correctable, than have him going behind the bit, which is more difficult to correct. He is salivating well in this bit, more so than plastic or steel, but it doesn't produce the extreme salivating of a full copper bit. Have you ever tried tasting those? I have! It's weird and gross how it forces salivation to an extreme. Call me crazy but I 'taste-tested' this bit and it tasted good. :)The only thing I don't love about this bit is that it looks basically like a D-ring. I wish the rings were more rounded like most other eggbutts are, but that's really just an aesthetic preference.Herm Sprenger bits seem so pricey but they can be worth the money. The anatomical design and blended metals really can make the difference. You can search and search for something comparable and cheaper but I always end up coming back to HS. The bit is such an important piece of equipment, if you are not satisfied with how your horse is going in a cheaper bit, it's worth a try.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit I purchased this a month ago for my new mare. She loves the shape and goes beautifully in it. I was hesitant due to the cost, but think it was worth every penny.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I bought this bit and I am so happy I did! My horse is very responsive and light in this bit.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I bought this bit about 9 months ago and couldn't be happier with it! I was a little hesitant considering the cost, but ultimately I feel that it was worth it. My gelding really responded to it the first time - much more relaxed, and has started really stretching through his back and into the bit. 9 months of consistent riding like that has helped his muscle memory and now he goes like that even lunging in a halter.
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit! This is the 2nd time I have purchased this bit (new horse). I had my other HS bit for 5 years and it still looks like new when it is polished with the HS polish. My horses love this bit, as do I. They seem to like the taste of the metal, as they seem to chew more and have a more relaxed mouth. I tried a regular stainless bit on my horse and he practically spit it out! I love that the bit is curved, it makes sense! I also love the eggbutt design as it does not pinch like a loose ring can and yet it still provides good contact. This bit is pricier than most, but I think one of the most important pieces of tack you can buy, so it is very much worth it.
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality bit I have only used this bit twice on my horse but I really think it has made a difference in steadier contact. My hands have always been inconsistent with my loose ring snaffle, but I find it quite easy to keep a steady contact with this new bit. The down side is that my horse wants to lower his head too much, so that's something I'll have to figure out with my trainer. I had read that this type of bit makes horses want to pull on the reins and my horse did try this a few times especially on our first ride.
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! Don't let the price scare you away, it's definitely worth the money! I wasn't intending to spend this much either, but I didn't want to go cheap on something that goes into my horse's mouth. My horse has a sensitive mouth and used to move her head around when I put the old bit in her mouth, but she readily takes this one and still seems happy after an hour or more of riding. She's also much more receptive to subtle cues. I would definitely get another.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My horse does not go well in a regular snaffle, doesn't respect it and runs through it. Thought I would try something different and this bit was great. He rode very light and responsive like he does in a curb bit ( I also ride western and this horse goes in a spoon curb bit) he was quiet in his mouth and not fidgeting and trying to chew and grab onto everything like normal, I couldn't believe it. I never thought I would spend this kind of money on a bit, worth every cent! BUY THIS BIT!!
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by our mare! My daughter's green mare loves this bit. She was happily going in a 3 piece loose ring but we wanted to try something with a bit more control. It has worked beautifully for both the mare and my daughter!
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMOOTH AS SILK This bit is as easy on my mares mouth as it is beautiful, and it is a beautiful bit. It has made a great difference in how she acts with a bit in her mouth, I think she actually enjoys it.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working well Got a new horse and needed to buy a bit. I had been using a KK Ultra eggbutt on loan. After reading about this on I decided to give it a try. So far it has gone well. He seems to be happy with it and it fits well.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Augrigan Eggbutt Style Bi Purchase based on recommendation of trainer. I have a young horse that was not willing to take the contact and since we have switched to this bit the contact issues have resolved.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed I wanted my 4 year old to take a steadier contact. The Eggbutt style and curve of the mouthpiece has really helped. After just one ride he was more relaxed and willing to stretch down into my hand. What a difference, and it's a beautiful bit!
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced a $30 dollar borrowed snaffle with the Herm Sprenger. My new horse really likes it. I figured why compromise on the only item of tack that goes in my horse's mouth! Glad I got the best, a quality product should last much longer than the alternatives.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but worth the money Started riding in this bit a few weeks ago & my horse seems more comfortable and accepting of the bit. I was using a loose ring previously and he was fidgety in the contact, so I am very happy with the change in him. Not to mention it is a beautiful bit!
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for horses This is my 4th HS Aurigan bit and I couldn't be more pleased with them. I've used them with 3 different horses, and each horse has gone well with the Aurigan metal alloy. The bits are beautifully made and the finish will last for years.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best bits All my horses go in HS bits, some in lose ring, and now a new one in an eggbutt. Horses just seem to like the fit, the taste, and they are so comfortable.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit. Started using this bit a month ago and saw a difference by my 3rd ride. My horse is much more relaxed and now reaches for the bit. Excellent construction and a very expensive looking bit. Very glad I bought it, well worth the money.
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit This bit is great. My mare is very strong and is always pulling on me or I was pulling on her....It was like a tug of war everything I ride. The professionals at Smartpak listened to my issues and helped me find the right bit.. I know it pricey but worth every penny.
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Young horse loves it! Purchased a young horse used to an eggbutt snaffle, so I tried the Herm Sprenger. This horse was fussy about the other bit he had, but has readily accepted this one. Very pleased.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! This bit made all the difference for my OTTB. She is now supple and willing, no longer tossing her head or getting antsy. This bit may be expensive it its now my favorite piece of tack I own!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Quality and my horse loves it! Bought this bit about a month ago after my trainer had tried hers on my horse and he accepted it so willingly. Love how it sits in his mouth, very level and it is a very kind bit. No pinching with the dee rings and looks very professional. Nothing better out there than HS :-)
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bit My trainer highly recommended this bit and I am so glad I listened to her. It is perfect! My horse loves it!
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality My mare loves this bit! Much easier for her to accept the bit.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the young horse I have a young horse, and was having trouble with him resisting metal bits. He would go well in a happy mouth type bit, but open his mouth and fuss with a french snaffle, half moon snaffle, or slow twist. This bit he accepts and nicely stretches into. Total difference!
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creates a happy horse! About ten years ago I bought one of these for my lipizzan mare. It was the third bit I had tried. She was so happy with it and we've been using it ever since. I now also have a young lipizzan gelding. He has not been happy with any of the training bits we've tried, so I 'bit the bullet' and spent the money for this one. He is finally not fussing with it or trying to get his tongue over it. He just goes along quietly. The first one is still in great shape and I anticipate this one lasting forever as well, so I can live with the price. I tell them they are like kids with a mouth full of expensive metal - they should appreciate the expenditure! But I am seriously happy with this bit!
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it Tried this bit after a friend recommended it and even though it is expensive it is worth it. My mare chews and salivates, has stopped grinding on the bit and seems to go that much better. Glad I splurged.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product, quality results Fabulous workmanship, like all Sprenger products. My 6 yr old BWP has accepted it well. Good soft control. Exactly what I had hoped for.
Date published: 2013-03-08
  • 2016-10-01T12:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_7108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders