Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup

Herm Sprenger
- Item #14510
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made of rubber with two types of properties.

The internationally renowned System 4 technology used in these stirrups enables immediate release of the foot in case of emergency.

Bow Balance design provides easy "pick up" upon mounting as they require very little effort on the rider's part - a simple touch of the foot to the stirrups and it gently folds onto the rider's foot.  

Made in Germany

Customers Also Shopped For
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon ...
Description:
SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers are lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. Covered withSoft leather, requires no break in time!The SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers measure 7/8" wide. Holes spaced .75" apart. Stainless steel roller buckle. Brown 48" or 54" long. Black ...
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
Description:
Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Favorite Features Half hold lined leathers made of fine calfskin with nylon lining Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk Provides ...
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the ...
Description:
Lorenzini Stirrups are the only ones in the world patented and made of aluminum and titanium, two extremely light materials. These innovative stirrups feature a wide, titanium footbed with a high densityNeoprene to provide extra grip. The unique design of ...
These wide-based stirrups are uniquely designed to reduce ...
Description:
These wide-based stirrups are uniquely designed to reduce stress on the body and increase safety. Based on an Italian design, the MDC Super Sport Stirrup brings offers a combination of features not currently available from any one stirrup manufacturer. Favorite ...
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
Description:
The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather.Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wideSizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black in the ...
Based on an Italian design, the MDC Sport ...
Description:
Based on an Italian design, the MDC Sport Line brings to the market a combination of features not currently available from any one stirrup manufacturer. MDC Sport Stirrups offer the look and strength of stainless steel, blended with the lightness ...
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile tread and is practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup is rated 4.613333333333333 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Knee pain resolved! I grew up on a horse farm and have spent half my life literally in the saddle. Now in my early 30s all those miles were starting to catch up with me. I still ride 2-3 times weekly for about 2-4 hours total time actually in the saddle. My trainer noticed I really wasn't using my legs much anymore and I had also noticed my seat getting very loose over the last year. 3 years ago I had switched to smaller lighter saddleseat stirrups when my knees started to hurt and that helped for awhile. I was riding most of a 4hr foxhunt without stirrups only picking them up to gallop and jump to avoid knee/heel pain. I explained to my trainer that both knees and my right Achilles had been really hurting up to 4 days after riding and I just thought that with my 30's my golden days of being a really good rider were naturally coming to an end. My knees crunched a lot and felt better straight and I would often ice them. She suggested I try some sprengers. I balked at the price for sure but thought they sounded better than a trip to an orthopedic surgeon and a barrage of tests, which I had also considered. First day I tried them I was instantly able to actually step down into my heels and get my secure seat back which hadn't happened in over a year and I had NO knee or heel pain at the end of two back to back, hour long jumping lessons! It was a miracle! I have my seat back and I don't hurt. I've had these stirrups for about a month now and I still feel good and I haven't needed to ice my knees at all. Thank you Sprenger and Smartpak! I may need an orthopedic surgeon some day but I don't think it will be in this decade! P.S. I wear a 5 1/2 shoe and I bought the smallest size...perfect fit! I was impressed at how light they are and I feel safe with the flexibility of the stirrup. I like safety stirrups especially for when I foxhunt.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I love these stirrups. They are a bit expensive but worth it. Great grip and super flexible. Very comforatable stirrips.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have been really happy with the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups so far. Before purchasing these I was using another brand of jointed stirrups with cheese graters and had leg pain from my knees down to my ankles from trying to turn my feet inward so they didn't stick out. The shape of the Herm Sprengers really does help with foot/leg placement and the wider foot bed helps me feel mpore secure in my irons. The rubber on the foot bed is really grippy too. The joints on these stirrus are much more flexible than the other brand of stirrups I had been using, which makes it a little easier to keep my heel down. I've only been using these for about a week but so far, I'm happy with them!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the extra cost I've tried a few different stirrups, and look for a design that will release the foot in an emergency. One pair I bought (no longer made) was too heavy, though they were well designed. Another was lighter and I thought pretty good. Then I decided to splurge on these Sprengers -- love them! I didn't realize how much I liked them until I had to ride in one of my other stirrups briefly, and just hated the feel from the moment my foot went in. The Sprengers are very well balanced, the wider tread is comfortable, and while they are more expensive, I think they are worth it. Bought a second pair for my other saddle, too. I'm careful about what I spend my limited funds on, just think that these are worth it and have helped me improve my riding as I feel more balanced and secure.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice stirrups; purchased for my weak ankle I have a weak right ankle which starts to bother me after a couple back to back rides. With 5 horses to ride daily, that wasn't working for me and a friend recommended these. They seem to help, don't eliminate the early pain/fatigue entirely but do help. The price tag is a bit steep but if thats the price for comfort and longevity i'll pay it.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those with joint pain... I had been suffering with major pains in my ankles and knees after just an hour of riding. These stirrups immediately alleviated the problem when I started using them. I barely have an ache now even after 2 1/2 hour long Hunter Paces.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Undecided Had to send first pair back, too small even though I had customer service assistance in sizing. Three days ago received correct size. Quality stirrup. Have ridden all three days, there does not appear to be an advantageous relationship between my rolling ankle and this stirrup. Too much "play" in the stirrup so far. Yet, I will try a few more rides because I love the happiness guarantee at Smartpak. Also ordered the 4-F and am trying those at the same time. Same opinion. One warning, if the stirrup is a close fit size wise, it is VERY difficult to intentionally drop a stirrup if needed because the rubber on the sides has sticking power to your leather boot if it makes contact. So, go a size up. Not that I was riding an exciteable horse or anything like that. LOL. The stirrups are worth a try, I can see where they would be beneficial to some riders.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieved Stress on Joints The first time I rode in them, I felt my leg was softly against my horse without a lot of work; when I was done my ankles weren't stiff and I didn't get numbness on the soles of my feet. I'm an older adult with some painful joints; these were expensive but worth it if I can ride without aggravating anything.
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from heel helper, knee saver I used to have a hard time keeping my heels down and these help me keep them down. I also have really bad knees and these help absorbed the impact when I jump. They have held up really well, I got them in Nov 2011 and they look brand new I ride in them 3-4 days a week. I love these stirrups and recommend these to everyone.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups Ever! I purchased these about five years ago, shortly after they were introduced. They have made a huge difference in my comfort while riding. With these, I now longer have knee or ankle pain. I am able to ride more effectively since I am no longer in pain.These stirrups (like all HS products) are expensive, but they are so well made that they will last forever. When I clean the pads of these stirrups, they look like new! So worth the investment, I have never regretted this purchase!
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My trainer instantly noticed a difference! I think between everyone at my barn we probably have a version of every single kind of jointed stirrups on the market. Without looking at price tags first (silly...) I tried several different pairs of jointed stirrups and fell in love with my roommates bow balance pair. She's had them for 3+ years (so while I can't personally attest to their durability that sounds pretty good to me). I did gulp when I got online and saw how much they cost! But at that point my trainer had told me how much better my position was in my lesson I took using them and I had tried several other pairs but not liked how much they moved. I rationalized it as "well these are much cheaper then a hip replacement later on..." and have been extremely happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Thanks, Sprenger I am a long time fan of the classic Herm Sprenger hinged irons so I thought these would be even better. Although the quality and durability is top notch, I loathe the blue pads and I do not feel that these irons are any easier to pick up (as they are advertised to be). I say save your money and either buy the Herm Sprenger jointed irons or upgrade to the more modern, lighter, more comfortable and less $$$ in the Royal Riders Flex Composite Stirrups.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stirrups I moved up from the inexpensive jointed stirrups with cheese-grater pads to these. I wasn't sure if I'd like them but they're the rolls-royce of stirrups and I LOVE THEM! I know George Morris frowns on this type of stirrup, but they put your leg in the right position, which I think is amazing. The rubber pads are as grippy as the cheese grater, if not more. I can't comment on the durability yet, but Herm Sprenger is known for superior quality, so my guess is that they'll last forever. Expensive but worth it.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price When I was using my trainers saddle she had the Herm Sprengers 2 way and fell in love with them. I got my own saddle and was waiting for my Bow Balance stirrups to come in and borrowed an old pair of irons. Boy were my ankles and knees sore from just one lesson. Once I got my new ones I really noticed the difference. I would highly recommend these to anyone. I even gave a pair to my daughter
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM I have had a few sprained ankles and a broken foot. I was unable to ride with a shorter stirrup until I got the bow balance stirrups because my foot kept going numb. My foot no longer goes numb and I feel like I can canter around in a 2-point all day! The foot bed is much wider and grippy than other stirrups. My foot and leg feels very secure with these stirrups. Definitely worth the money!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stopped using them After going through a lot of ankle rehab this spring for acute on chronic strains and sprains, I bought these hoping to reduce some of the pain I was having. I had a couple problems with them. My foot kept sliding out of my stirrup when I got my heels really really down. I always seemed to pick up the stirrups backwards, especially at the trot or canter... and they were on the correct sides. Plus, my trainer never liked the look of them, saying that they were bulky and not at all elegant. So I went back to my regular flexible joint stirrup and really don't miss these at all.
Date published: 2011-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from why didn't i buy these sooner? my sprenger knock offs were dying, my back/knees/ankles were hurting and i decided to shut up and cough up the money. i love them, why didn't buy them sooner? my only gripe is the stirrup itself seems to be a little small in width (i'm a size 8, normal width). as for the price. meh, i'm still coming to terms with the fact that i spend abotu $220 on a pair of stirrup irons.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For Aching Feet I purchased these to soften the pain of a foot injury. The ball of my foot sustained a painful muscle injury and my current stirrups hurt every time I pressed into them. Other brands of flexi-stirrups or wide stirrup pads did not ease the pain. The Herm Sprenger stirrup pads have just enough "give" to soften the contact on my foot. They are lighter than my old pair. The pads grip very well. They are fairly easy to "pick up" when dropped during riding. They feel very natural when riding. Due to the covered flex area, H/S's 5-1/8" are as wide as a Fillis 4-3/4".
Date published: 2011-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GOOD BUT TO MUCH BEND at first i was considering the HS stirrups but when i tried them out i noticed they had wayyy to much give for my young legs(but frequent knee and ankle pain). the bend was so extreme it seems as though you would need a prosthetic leg to use them without slippage and it made the pain even worse. So i opted for the intec UMS stirrups and they are fabulous and over $100 less than the HS stirrups. AND I HAVE NO DISCOMFORT-PAIN( and they have the perfect amount of give!) (plus cheese grater pads!) I haven't lost a stirrup yet! (and they really don't hurt the bottoms of your boots!
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but worth it I bought these even though I was hesitant about the price. I'm amazed at the difference. I have a weak ankle that's prone to collapsing or turning out, and I hardly have any problems with it now. I often get pain in the balls of my feet and knees when riding for several hours, but I don't get that with these stirrups. I really noticed the difference when I spent a few hours in a pair of regular stirrups last weekend and felt all the old aches come back.
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv'em Great Stirrups!! Started with MDC Ultimate Stirrups and quickly converted to Herm Sprenger Bow Balance. Standard size stirrup, light, flexible, easy to pick up with foot, great foot grip, and easy on the leg. Pricey, but worth it!! Will keep for a long time. :-)
Date published: 2010-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stirrups Comfortable stirrups. I didn't notice a big difference between these and the old HS stirrups, but some knee pain sufferers have commented on the improvement they felt. I like the weight of the HS stirrups - it helps keep the stirrup in place if you lose it and need it back quickly.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for me I found this stirrup compromised my leg positon by being too soft and fexible giving me nothing to steady my leg with. My trainers frown on the flexible stirrup systems but i wanted to try them considering all the rave reviews out there. I now have my opinion with is they are not for everyone!
Date published: 2010-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Too pricey, but awesome. I love the width, the height, the lightness, the angle and the secruity/safety.
Date published: 2010-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! These seemed expensive, but now that I've tried them I'll never use anything else. They provide good foot grip and position and have really alleviated fatigue and discomfort in my joints. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Irons Ever Well worth the money. I have tried several types of stirrup irons b/c my toes go numb after an hour or so in the saddle, but with these irons I have not had that happen at all, and my knees do not get fatigued and painful.
Date published: 2009-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love em... I love these irons.... I have had a broken ankle previously and it tends to hurt when riding. When riding in these my ankle doesn't hurt at all! This purchase was well worth it.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Stirrups These stirrups are good quality. I like them but I did not notice a big difference in these compared to the regular HS stirrups. Either one would be just as good I think.
Date published: 2009-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, Orthotic Stirrups! These are truly amazing. I have plantar fasciitis, and thse have helped remarkably. They also help combat fatigue, and improve position. A pro rode in these, and was really impresses. She has the flex Herm Sprengers, but said these really made a deifference. They are really good to combat fatigue through the whole body, especially the feet and legs. Love them!
Date published: 2009-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good like them ~ the angle really does make a differenceI was used to a more weighted stirrup and these are more lightweight than I expected. You do seem to notice the flexion as well when riding.
Date published: 2009-06-24
  • 2016-08-24T11:25CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_4510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders