Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Heavy Duty Bell Boots

- Item #17945
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Heavy duty Bell Boots by Smartpak are premium rubber bell boots with Velcro® double hook and loops closures. 

Favorite Features

  • Hook and loop tabs are sewn down for added strength
  • Sold in pairs


Sizing It Up

White, Black or Gum

M (Quarter Horse)

L (Average Horse)

XL (Warmblood)

Customers Also Shopped For
Savings on a full set of front and rear boots! Studies have shown that horses wearing supportive boots on their front legs exhibit increased comfort by shifting a greater percentage of weight onto their forelimbs. As a result, many conscientious ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy for injury prevention and management that is cost effective! Top quality ReitSport Cold Bell Boots include removable Cryopak cooling cells that stay cold 23% longer than ice, providing a convenient and reusable ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Exercise Boots use ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Exercise Boots use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection to the next level! This superior boot combines technology with savvy design to provide serious overreachProtection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," the tendency for ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric infused with ceramic powder, to reflect the horse's own body-warmth to create a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate discomfort associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints and ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Heavy Duty Bell Boots is rated 3.7483870967741937 out of 5 by 155.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great material but.... I received these bell boots in the mail and thought they were perfect. I put them on my mare and turned her out (she lives in her padock 24/7). I came back the next day and she had horrific rubs from them. They just didn't work out for my sensitive mare.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality bell boot! This bell boot is made with a heavy grade of pliable rubber with easy close velcro strips for on and off use.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from doing their job Recently had to put front shoes on my mare and she promptly ripped one off. I bought a pair of the smart pak bell boots and the Davis bell boots. The smark pak boots are working just fine out in the pasture. No rubbing or irritation. They stay on and are easy to clean. They do seem to run a little smaller than the Davis boots but cover her heel just fine.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wished more durable I like these boots but within a day or two they already had chunks missing. The velcro doesnt allow for much adjustment and my guy lost a boot after less than a week of wearing it. Likely would not spend the money again.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable I purchased these bell boots after purchasing the rubber version. The rubber bell boots should be called test boots because I definitely found out that my horse over reaches- they lasted one ride and then had a giant gash in the back. These have worked wonderfully and are only about $10-$20 more!
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Serve the purpose but a little stiff The medium bell boots were too small for my guy and the larges seem a tad big, no sure if i will keep them yet. The rubber isnt very soft either, not sure if i want to turn out for long periods in them.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good. I like them. Fit good, stay on good. No problems with them at all. Doin their job.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sturdy but rubbed These seem very sturdy and well made but they left a nasty rub on my horse the very first time he wore them. I think they are quite heavy and not very pliable and thus, they rubbed my horse, that can normally do fine in any bell boots. Nicely made, but didn't work for my 17.1h warmblood on xc.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, durable bell boots! I bought these a few weeks ago for my 18h warmblood who kicks his stall door when he doesn't feel like dinner is being served timely. He is usually very rough on equipment and these have held up perfectly even with nighttime turn out!
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sturdy Bell Boot but.... These bell boots - even when I tried different sizes on different horses - gave them all pretty severe pastern rubs! These bell boots aren't very flexible/pliable and thus caused the rubs, though they are very sturdy and secure.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy These are great. They fit well and are well made. I don't leave them on all the time. I use them for trailering and riding.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy Okay, I really wanted to like these and I was really excited about them BUT:1. They smell weird, maybe I'm just being picky but the nasty rubber smell stunk up my locker. I used them for a week and they still smelled gross.2. They are stiff - sounds like a good thing, because they wont rip, but they'll rub your horse raw instead3. They are either weirdly shaped, or I don't know how to put on bell boots.4. As mentioned above, they rub. Not only did these rub my horses fetlocks, they rubbed his heels, to the point that he was LIMPING. (As a side note, my horse ripped a chuck of his hoof wall and coronary band off, which is why i go the boots actually- to prevent it from happening again, and when he ripped a chunk of his foot off he was SOUND and these made him LIMP).....
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These are AWFUL. I am SOO disappointed with this product. I've been using them on my horse and recently she has began a very bad limp. For the longest time I thought it was from her feet. Thank goodness my friend was rinsing her today for me and discovered the raw spot they have caused. I almost did not ride her in the Bernie Traurig clinic I have this weekend because I thought she was lame. I'm NEVER getting these again and I DO NOT recommend them.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible quality This is the first time I've ever been disappointed in smartpak. My tb gelding wore the same pair of bell boots every day for 7 months before they got so tired looking I bought these. They lasted less than two weeks before one ripped completely in half when he was trotting on the lunge. Do not stand up well. Very sad.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My go-to bell boots I love these for daily use. They last just as long if not longer than the more expensive name brands. I order these all the time for my horses and for my boarders.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SMARTPAK Bell Boots I bought these boots about 2 months ago and am extremely disappointment in their quality. The rubber is very thin so they do not last long. My horses rip and tear them within a few days.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid long lasting bell boots Yay for these bell boots. I have a horse with big feet. I thought I would need to size up but I was wrong. The Large fit perfectly. My horse is an OTTB 17+h and wears a size 86/87 rug for sizing purposes. The velcro lasts forever. My horse had his first pair for several years. Finally got a new pair as he had a stress point that he finally punctured. Velcro was as strong as the first day I bought them.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good bell boots, just didn't work for my horse I bought these because my new TB pulled a front shoe the day after he got shod. He wore these for a few days and they rubbed the back of his pastern to the point his left front swelled. He's a super sensitive horse so I believe the thick rubber aggravated him too much. These seem like quality, heavy duty bell boots that unfortunately just didn't work out for my horse. I'm saying 'no' to recommending them to a friend because of the fact they rubbed horse raw.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boots for the price Nice boots just not tough enough for my guy! He's hard on things and these held up well to him but did get a slight tear!
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy enough for turnout These boots are made of sturdy yet flexible rubber with double strength closures. No rubbing and still perfect after three weeks of wear for daily turnout over heartbars. So nice, I have sometimes used them for short rides instead of my reach boots.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but beware These bell boots are actually a really nice quality, but after only 5 uses for no more than 1 hour each, these boots rubbed the back of my gelding's patterns raw. This is the first product with the SmartPak label that I'm disappointed in. I didn't think they were too small, so I don't think going up a size would have made a difference. Might just use these when traveling, but not for schooling my horse.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm afraid that I was very disappointed in these bell boots, they were on the small side, and they broke within the first 2 weeks that my horse wore them.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really strong hold up great during exercise They're great for turnout even when the horses are playful
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No good! I bought these a month ago looking to stop my horse from overreaching and hurting himself. Instead, the bellboots rubbed so bad that after one ride he was left with no hair around his hoof and a bloody mess! After only one use I will no longer be using these even though they appear they that could last must longer
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I love these bell boots! They are durable, priced great, and also look great.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap Boots I bought these for my youngster as he starts his training with the theory that he will outgrow them any day now. At this stage in the growth game, I wanted to buy a cheaper pair versus buying and re-buying increasing sizes of a more expensive pair. A few bucks on the lunge line, and the boots chipped at the bottom. That's the purpose of bell boots, and I'm glad he had them on, but I was hoping for a little more use. I only expect to get a couple more wears out of these before looking for a new pair.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like these bell boots These boots are the perfect blend of soft enough rubber to stay flexible and thick enough to offer the protection I was looking for.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These are great for wet weather, unfortunately one ripped off within a week.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do have a sensitive thoroughbred mare but with one day of turn out in these bell boots, she came in with multiple rubs. One bell boot was split in half and the other was ripped.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great bell boot These boots are worn for turnout 24/7. No rubs. Velcro is sturdy, in fact a little tough to open. Boots themselves are rugged, not flimsy.
Date published: 2015-10-10
  • 2016-10-24T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_7945, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders