Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only ...
Description:
Convenient, multi-purpose bench water caddy stores not only water but your supplies too! Recessed handles for carrying and compartment storage area with lid strong enough to stand on. Molded-in spray bottle or beverage holders on top. 3 year warranty Natural ...
The Reflective Bridle/Halter Kit provides high visibility for ...
Description:
The Reflective Bridle/Halter Kit provides high visibility for horse and riderProtection. Adheres to European safety standard EN-471. Comes with reflective nose and browbands. Also has 11" reflective strips that can be used on cheekpieces or reins. Strong adjustable touch tape ...
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater ...
Description:
This convenient 4 gallon Hott Wash water heater is perfect for the horse or dog owner on the go. Attach an ordinary garden-hose, a hot water hose, plug the Hott Wash in and you're done! titanium tank andHeavy duty commercial ...
The Fi-Shock Portable Paddock electric fencing system is ...
Description:
The Fi-Shock Portable Paddock electric fencing system is perfect for containing 4-5 horses for short periods of time. Ideal for horse shows, polo matches, trail rides, and more! Portable Paddock is packed in a light weight canvas bag with a ...
Supple English bridle leather lead with a solid ...
Description:
Supple English bridle leather lead with a solid brass 24" chain and snap. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Choose Havana, Chestnut or Black. Measures 7'L x 1"W. If you ...
The Hott Wash Select-A-Spray Nozzle & Hot Water ...
Description:
The Hott Wash Select-A-Spray Nozzle & Hot Water Hose increases the Hott Wash Heater's flexibility with its five position dial and five spray patterns. The Spray Nozzle features a convenient hold-open clip for continuous spraying. Rust-resistant. Lifetime leak-proof seal. Favorite ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.315068493150685 out of 5 by 146.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope This lead rope is just what I was looking for. It has been hard to find a decently priced cotton lead with a good size clip and enough length to it, and this one has both.
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good lead at good price I haven't used this too much, but I like the length and feel. Seems like a good purchase for under $10.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so great it fell apart after about 4 months of occassional use. the rope twisted off the buckle when my horse was tied one day. No Bueno. I would have spent more money for a rope to last a decent amount of time without untwining itself.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice lead line I needed something hanging on the front of my stall. When you need something quickly, running to your tack locker can waste precious moments, plus I like having it at my fingertips. Since my last lead went missing (it may have been borrowed, I may have misplaced it) I didn't want to invest alot. I like the fact that it has a brass snap and the cotton is nice and heavy. It was sturdy enough to write my horses name near the snap with puffy paint :)hahaha, we'll see how long THAT last!
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frayed after a week of use Maybe I got a lemon, but I have used this lead rope six times and already it is starting to fray and come apart. It's a shame because I like the brass snap. I am working with a young, spirited mare so I need a lead rope that will hold up under some stress. I'll keep looking.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lead, great price Really that is all I have to say; nice thick soft cotton lead and cheap. I won't cry if I lose it. I will just order another one!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product I'm horrified! It started fraying almost right after I got it. Now there is a thread hanging off it. I think Smartpak missed this one hit. Never be buying this again.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Barn Staple Even though this is just a humble, plain old lead rope, cotton is my favorite material. It's comfortable, and if a horse acts up, won't burn your hands/be slippery like a poly lead. One can never have too many lead ropes around a barn. This is a good price and a super value.
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no fraying!!! My horse lives in a paddock and the other horse likes to chew on my leads only and he can't chew through this!!! The lead is long enough to do anything and has a good weight!
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday lead This lead is a nice weight, tough material. Color choice is nice. Snap is heavy.
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Good quality lead at a really good price. Available in lots of colors. I plan to buy more in other colors
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Nice, long, heavy cotton lead rope that I have been using 2x per week for the past month. No complaints.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice practical lead rope. It is sturdy, well made, and utilizes good hardware.
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leadrope I bought this lead to replace one I had previously purchased that had a clip that rusted out in 3 months. This one is going strong over a year later and there is NO rust on the clip. The only reason I gave a 4 for quality instead of a 5 is because the rope is fraying. I will be replacing it with another of the same. I am tired of other leads that have clips that end up rusting shut.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality product which is just the right length for maintaining control while still giving the horse plenty of freedom.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardware is of excellent quality This is a quality lead for those of us who prefer cotton. It's solid, comfortable to the touch and the brass hardware is substantial. I really really like this lead rope.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Name Sums it up! This really IS a heavy cotton lead. Substatial and well made. It is wearing well after several months of use- other than the inevitable dirt, this still looks brand new.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a nicely made lead with a heavy duty snap. Great product for a reasonable price. The length is perfect. Good purchase!!
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sturdy I have a bit of a bully for a pony. This lead rope is very sturdy and can stand the test of time!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope! I love this lead rope. For the cost, it's one of the best leads I've bought. Nice and soft, strong snap, and it's black so when it gets stepped on and chewed up, you can't tell!
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft! I love these, I will never again buy another lead rope outside of these
Date published: 2011-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic Lead Rope Purchased this lead rope in the royal blue color, which nicely matches the Havana/Blue padded leather halter also sold by SmartPak. It's of a good length and thickness. The cotton is soft and easy on the hands. The only drawback is the cotton itself is not braided, which may lead to eventually fraying. But so far it's proven sturdy. The brass snap is nicely weighted and solid, clearly not the cheap brass plated hardware found on some ropes.All in all, a good basic lead rope that should last quite a while.
Date published: 2011-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different colr of the bolt snap The picture shows and says BRASS bolt snap, but we got a silver one, does not math with the halter.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead A good utility lead. I would prefer it about a foot shorter but it has good hardware and has a good feel to the hand.
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! Love this rope. Feels good in my hand while leading and is heavy duty enough to deal with a bossy little Morgan. Would buy again any day.
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts forever! Great quality! I've had a few of these now and I just replaced one that last me 4 years. Just be careful if you ever try to wash them, one came apart in the washing machine while others held up.
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic rope and easy on the hands. Great colors and durability.
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my only lead rope It's getting more difficult to find cotton leads, but it's all I use. Having a nylon lead ripped out of my hands by a yearling made me a firm believer in cotton. The length is good and the snap always outlives the rope.
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality I have purchased a few of these lead ropes and plan to buy more in the future. They are good quality and I am very pleased with them.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cotton lead I needed a replacement lead for my AQH mare and saw one on SmartPak. As I have never been disappointed by one of their products I thought I would try this one. Pleasantly surprised. Nice and strong with a heavy clasp and I do not believe I will have to replace it any time soon. And any one who has trained horses before knows having a 9-13 foot lead is ideal.
Date published: 2011-01-08
  • 2016-08-28T12:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders