Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Hawthorne's Sole Pack

Item #10636
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for those tough-to-maintain hooves. Hawthorne's Sole Pack offers pain relief and fast healing of bruises, maintaining proper moisture levels and combating thrush. Hawthorne's Sole Packs are in extremely convenient single-use "paddies" you'll want these in your tack trunk at every show.

Favorite Features
?

  • Convenient
  • Pain relief
  • Fast healing of bruising
  • Helps maintain proper moisture levels

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked ...
Description:
Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself. The gentle acting chemical formulation forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking, producing a tougher, stronger ...
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
Description:
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory ...
Description:
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing for the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an ...
Description:
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an exclusive protein enriched formula developed to maintain strong yet flexible hooves.- Deep moisturizing formula helps reduce dry and brittle hooves- Protein enriched formula conditions the entire hoof surface including coronary band, walls, ...
Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-roundProtection for healthy ...
Description:
Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-roundProtection for healthy hooves. Promotes the elasticity of the hoof horn and makes evenSoft hooves very robust. Effol hoof oil is absorbed very quickly and gives a long-lasting shine. Favorite Features The practical brush-tin ensures ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
Description:
White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating ...
Description:
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating treatment that effectively aids in the treatment of thrush, seedy toe, white line disease, coronary band scurf, cracked heel bulbs and other problems associated with the sole, frog and hoof. A unique ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Hawthorne's Sole Pack is rated 4.9655172413793105 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I bought these for my horses first winter barefoot and they've helped tremendously with soreness. When the weather snapped and the ground froze he came in pretty sore a few times but I packed his feet with these and within one or two nights he was back to normal. The amount of packets you get is great and the packing in each packet is more then enough. I actually just split them in half and only used a half per hoof. The only thing I found out the hard way was the packing sticks to cement (but not to much else besides the sole) and it will pull it out of the foot so I packed him in his stall and the shavings helped keep it in. The longest the packing stayed in was two days with stall/turnout on frozen ground without any sort of boot or wrap holding it in. I haven't used any other packing products on the market and I probably won't after trying this one. The ingredients are also pretty basic which is nice and you can feel the springy-ness of it. This ones a keeper!
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great stuff! I purchased two cases of Sole Pack. With 19 schooling horses under steady use, I have needed a good sole packing. This product is great, stays in the hoof, relieves sole soreness, is easy to use. We also use it on the occasional horse that needs shoes and pads. My farrier recommended it and SamrtPak has the best price.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hawthorne's sole pack I only have one horse and love the packs. Easy to put in my grooming tote,and easy to store in my tack area.I also have to say that the amount you get for the price is outstanding. This product works and I do not know where I would be without it.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! I have always used Magic Cushion to pack my horses' feet during long horse shows, and it has always worked. However, the application was messy and less than ideal, and good luck getting it off of anything you didn't want it to touch! Sole Packs are so easy, they measure the amount out for you and make the process much cleaner. They are also a good bit cheaper than Magic Cushion and I find the results are the same for my horses.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this product years ago when I was horse sitting for a friend. Her yearling mare put a nail through the side of her hoof and I packed this in every day and in pulled out lots of puss (and helped prevent further problems!). I purchased these to add to my own first aid kit because the individual packaging ensures that it won't dry out and it's convenient for travel!
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use, work great I love everything about these packs! They are easy to use and work great. I have used all sorts of packing in the past (epsom salt + sore no more, animalintex poultice pads, etc) but this is by far the easiest and cleanest thing I have used. I would recommend wearing gloves though, the pine tar still tends to get all over. I just plop the blob into his hoof, mush it into all the crevices and wrap it up with vet wrap/duct tape. My horse pulled a shoe and was foot sore (even after the shoe went on). I packed his hoof for a night with Sole Pack and he was good to go the next day. I recommend this to all my friends.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Very easy to pack a hoof with this product. No fuss, no muss. And it definitely eased the soreness in my horse's left front foot caused by some bruising under his bars. The best part was that it arrived so quickly!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker My horse was dead lame from a bruised frog. 3 days with the sole pack and she was sound again. Great stuff!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I have an old horse with severe laminitis. He is prone to abscess's . This product works fast to open and drain them. Pack it wrap it and starts draining quickly. A quick and easy application to use with fast results.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Abscess Tool! These sole packs are a wonderful "final" step when rehabbing my horse back from an abscess (Following proper farrier care and draining of the abscess). They are pliable which allows you to work them into the frog and sole of the hoof. A word of caution, they have a strong smell so wear latex type gloves when applying them.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this stuff During competitions I don't like to take chances- Part of my routine is to pack my horse's feet each night with this stuff and set him up with wraps, etc as usual. We have been going strong and he is sound and happy. I like the individual patties for easy application (rather than scooping an inconsistent amount of hoof packing out of a bucket). If you pack it well enough it stays in all night and sometimes I even leave it in rather than picking it out the next day to protect from any rocks or gravel on our way to and from the show ring.A vital part of my show routine!
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent abcess product My vet recommended these and used them on my mare's last abcess. They work great and I have now purchased some to keep on hand for future first aid needs.
Date published: 2011-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pack ever! I love this hoof pack. It is not sticky or messy and still gets the job done. I love the fact that it comes in individual sizes, no mess at all! It works well on my horse. I can get 2 feet done per packaging and still get results. Good value!
Date published: 2010-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great... Although it needs to be used in an EZ Boot or wrapped.. It works great.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! These are economical and easy to use. I keep them on hand in case of a little infection in the frog or particularly rock hard/sore feet during times of drought.
Date published: 2010-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was very impressed I have never used a product such as this before, but I can tell you now that I have it was a joy to work with. Very simple and not messy at all. It adds that little bit of cushion as well as help with soreness. Will definitely keep this on hand to use again.
Date published: 2010-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for bare foot horses My horse just recently got his front shoes taken off (I no longer jump him). His feet are in good condition, but he is still tender on trail rides. I use this with the hoof wraps on trail rides and he is no longer sore then or the days after.
Date published: 2009-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This product works well for abcesses. Easy to pack into sole of hoof. Horses seem to have a releif from pain using this product. I also wrap hoof to draw abcess out.
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hawthorns sole pack is the best! The individual paddies are very quick and easy to use. There is virtually no mess and the product works like a dream!
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest hoof packing These paddies are great. No mess and easy to take them to horse shows. I just grab the amount I need and go. Also, because they are individually wrapped, they do not get dried out or hard. They stay soft and easy to apply. I have tried another kind of hoofpaking (just because the other kind was on sale) only to find out the first step the horse took, the hoofpacking was left where he was standing. These ones really do stay on. Now I am never going to use any other kinds of hoofpaking. I love them and use them all the time.
Date published: 2009-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Hawthorne's Sole Pack is a great product that excelerates the healing of hoof disease. I also use it to prevent problems. It really draws out the infection. I saw improvement in just a few days.
Date published: 2009-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Smelly, but Great Product. My horse had pulled a shoe and since his feet are not great, he was a bit sore. I packed his feet w/ Hawthorne’s Sole Pack, and even though it was quite potent...it WORKED! He was sound and more comfortable in two days.
Date published: 2008-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must-Have for your tack room/trunk An excellent hoof packing in an easy-to-use form. Just take out of the plastic sack, unwrap the inner casing to expose the "mudpie" of packing and place against the inside of the hoof. Use the inner casing to protect hands from the poltice as you press it into the frog and onto the sole. Then run your tape or wrap over the inner packing. Works great - I love the way Venice Turpentine helps my horse, but it is SO messy to apply. The Hawthorne's Sole Pack has VT plus more ingredients and is much cleaner and keeps the hoof much cleaner. I love it.
Date published: 2008-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pack ever made! I used Hawthorne’s Sole pack for the first time on my QH. He suffers from small, tender hooves that dry out easily. However, he also gets thrush easily, despite prevention plans. This pack changed everything! He is back to solid, healthy hooves - I even ride him barefoot with no problems! I intend on starting to use Hawthorne’s Sole Pack on my retired pony - a perfect treat for her old feet! You have to try this - it's really worth it!
Date published: 2007-02-05
  • 2016-08-24T11:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_636, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders