Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Bradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are ...
Description:
The Bradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed to be your favorite breech where comfort and style collide. 2" wide mid-rise waistband is fashionable and helps provide a smooth midsection with great coverage Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering ...
The Bradley Plus Ribb Full Seat Breeches are ...
Description:
The Bradley Plus Ribb Full Seat Breeches are your favorite breech. 2" wide waistband is fashionable but also helps provide a smooth midsection. Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering great coverage and shape retention. Belt loops and single zipper pocket. ...
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and ...
Description:
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. Part of the RJ Classics XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid stretchSoftshell material that is not only comfortable, but machine washable.Favorite Features Stain resistant and water repellant ...
Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of ...
Description:
Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of ourSoftshell fabric with the traditional look of a 4-button dressage show coat. Made of a solid stretchSoft shell material that is stain resistant and water repellant, the RJ ClassicsSoft Shell Piaffe Frock ...
A fashionable show shirt that might even find ...
Description:
A fashionable show shirt that might even find its way into your casual wardrobe! Favorite Features Classic Cool wicks away moisture to keep you comfortable all day Chokerless snap collar Vibrant patterns in the inside of the collar and cuffs ...
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of ...
Description:
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of lightweight stretchSoftshell fabric and sewn with the quality tailoring you expect from RJ Classics. This Xtreme Collection Grey LabelSoft Shell Hunt Coat featuresSoftshell fabrics and styling that brings innovative elements and a ...
These classic cotton breeches are specially designed to ...
Description:
These classic cotton breeches are specially designed to give the perfect fit for the ultimate comfort and confidence in the saddle! Cotton fabric is comfortable and provides great coverage Designed with a wider cut through the hip to accommodate the ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.055555555555555 out of 5 by 162.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second skin! Super soft. I've had these for almost a month and I LOVE them! They are super soft and very comfortable. They do run a little small, which I saw in a lot of reviews but I have smaller calf so I figured I'd order my size, which was a little mistake, they were pretty hard to get on at first but after quite a few rides they are just the right fit! I love the cut at the bottom because I do ride a pony that needs spurs every ride it's nice to not have to fit spurs over bulky half-chaps! I looked at a bunch of half-chaps and asked a lot of friends, and I just spent the money because I knew smartpak has free returns! Very excited to continue to ride in them!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather I was searching for chaps for some time. I had bought these chaps in February and used them for every ride. after few months, I noticed a small hole in a seam at the zipper part, which concerned me because it was getting bigger. I contacted SmartPak with my concern and I could return these chaps, again no hassle 100% return policy. I was amazed! I wanted to try different brand of chaps but at the end I ordered the same ones and I am really satisfied. Thumbs up to SmartPak!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super handsome! Started out tight, usually wear a tall, measured regular, too short. Easy return and the tall was just right. Could barely zip them at first, but by the third wear they had gotten easier to zip. Nice streamlined look, super supple and handsome. For the price, these are great!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Soft, Look Nice! I bought these half chaps last week, and like other people, I was VERY nervous about the fit. I used the exact measurements from the size chart, 15" calf and 16" height (large). When I first got them, it was VERY hard to zip them up. I wore them around with just thin socks for two days, and then with boots and breeches another couple days, and they already fit much better. They're definitely fitted, but I like that look and I love how they feel now! The leather is VERY soft, so the only problem I could see is them getting scratched easily. So glad I decided to purchase these.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small I have bought multiple pairs of other half chaps in 15/17. Ordered the large in these and there was no way they were even close to zipping up so am sending them back. The leather was very supple and soft and they look beautiful but sizing definitely runs small.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love How These Stretch for a Custom Fit! ***TIP ON HOW TO GET THESE TO ZIP AT THE END OF REVIEW!!***Just like everyone else, I bought these wary of the fact that they run small. I erred on the side of bigger rather than smaller (I was between a medium and a large) and I was quite happy that I bought the large! Although they are a little long for me, they do not interfere with my riding. Besides, they are for schooling purposes. I would not recommend these if you are short, have wide calves and would mind these being long.I'm 5' 2" and purchased the large size. When I first tried them on, I was frustrated because they showed no signs that they would zip. However, I came up with a solution; run zip ties through the holes in the zipper to create a loop (about the size of a key ring or a little bigger if you'd like). This makes the zipper easier to pull up and down (because the zip tie is a little extension) and you can exert more force to get them to zip. I can easily button these half chaps but when I first put them on, I was nearly hopeless about getting them to zip. The zip tie trick worked wonders for me! Once these finally stretch to fit my calf, I'll simply cut off the plastic zip ties. As I continue to wear these, they stretch out and seem to be creating a custom fit to my calf. I want my half chaps to be tight and secure so I have the best contact to the saddle and my horse. If you find that you CAN zip them but they make your leg numb, I would strongly recommend going up one size. You want them snug but not *too* snug.All in all, these are great, soft half chaps that I hope to use for years to come. They were a great price, too! Just got to know how to get 'em to zip.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price Bought these because I occasionally show English at local open shows and didn't want to invest a lot of money. They are comfy right out of the bag!
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather I bought these a few weeks ago. They are beautiful and buttery soft. I have 17.5 calfs so I bought the 18. So that also means they are a little loose on me. I would return them but there is not a size 17 calf offered so I just stuck with the 18. The calf sizes skip from 16 to 18. Im also concerned that because they are so soft they might not last long. Time will tell!!
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RUNS SMALL! I have bought this product and usually go in a small so without thinking bought a small pair just to find out they don't fit at all luckily I returned them with no problems and got a medium but they are still a bit tight. Other than the sizing these are a great product for the price:)
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Half Chap that fits my big chalves I have large muscular calves that are about 17-17.5", and they are short, only 16.5" tall. It is really hard for me to find half chaps and tall boots that fit. I bought the wide regular size and they are perfect! They were a little bit tight at first, but after a couple of wears they started to just mold right to my calves. I do wish that they came in a 17" width instead of just going from 16" to 18". They are very stretchy and give a lot of room for different types of breeches. Overall fantastic half chaps!
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So soft, but too small Had to return because they were too small, but they were so soft, I loved the leather. So if you have thin calves, these are perfect for you!
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits a larger sized calf I've had trouble finding half chaps to fit my 19" calves. These fit nicely and the quality is excellent especially for the price. Recommend highly.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from glovelike fit I opted for these as I live in Florida and due to the heat I wanted a thin, light half-chap. These fit the bill, and the size I got (Med/tall) was a very snug glovelike fit, which I like. I like the zipper placement and it's an easy on easy off. If they just last through the long wet summer here, I'd be happy at that bargain price.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soft leather Bought these and unfortunately have to return them. They are much to small. I measured my calf the way that they said and they just do not work.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely half chap I've been riding in these for over a month (5-6) times a week. They were overly snug at first but now fit very nicely. I love that there is plenty of room in the heel for spurs, and the leather is very soft. Only complaint is that they gape a bit on top.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actual fits nicely! I really like these half chaps. I read the reviews before I purchased them so I was very concerned that they'd be too small if I bought my actual size (calf 15", height 16"= regular large) but it's worked out just fine. Yes, they appeared like they'd never work when they first arrived. There was not a hope of zipping them on over breeches. So I followed the advice of a couple reviewers and with great effort, I managed to zip them on over my bare legs and wore them that way for several hours over two days while I did some work at a computer. I probably would have given up and exchanged them for a bigger size if there were any other size that could have conceivably worked but nothing close was offered. So I kept at it and am glad I did since they're now a wonderful fit. I've now been riding with them (over breeches of course!) for about 2 weeks and they're snug but zip easily enough. They appear well made and the leather is nice. Not too thin. Snapping the bottom snap is a little difficult but maybe if I weren't so stiff myself, maybe that'd be easier to reach. You do have to actively push your foot through the elastic that goes under your foot but I hope that will stretch out somewhat over time. I don't really know how durable these will be since I've only used them for a short time but they are good at this point. Overall, it's a great product and is very reasonably priced.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for big calves!! I bought these about a month ago and have been breaking them in, they are absolutely WONDERFUL!Just for comparison, I have large 18 3/4" calves and while these are a squeeze to get on, they DO work! I advise you while you are putting them on to take your fingers and hook onto the elastic panel in the back to stretch the elastic panel rather than trying to pull the leather together. Then use one finger to help push the zipper down. They are getting easier and easier to get on, and they fit my leg so snugly and streamline, they just really look fantastic.I also have short legs so I ordered the short size, but since they are cut higher at the end, the spanish top comes up to the knee and they are a bit tall, but you can't feel it b/c they are so buttery soft!!!! They look JUST like tall boots when they are on!! Oh, and I hate chaps that have those really weak elastics at the bottom, these have a really thick elastic that I'm sure will last for a LONG time, and the zipper is super strong. I just cannot say enough great things about these!I Strongly suggest these for any bigger riders, just dont get discouraged that they have such a large gap when you put them on, do what I suggested and pull the elastic (I hook my fingers on the leather edge of the elastic and give it a big pull.)BUY THESE CHAPS!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price These run slight snug but are super soft leather. Would recommend for sure!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from beautiful , great quality but small I went thru it with these chaps. Ordered two different sizes and nothing fit. My regular size was WAY too small and so I ordered the next up and it was WAY too big. You need a 17/17 or 17/18. There is not an option for a 17, there was 16 and 18 Widths. Oh well, LOVELY quality but did not fit. Thankful for free shipping both ways.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior to all I love these half chaps. Super soft. Fit is perfect. (Ordered a size up as most reviews suggested-good advice). Quality like no other. I would love if Smartpak would ship to Canada though! I had a friend in the states accept my order and made arrangements to get them here by another friend. Totally worth it but I would order more things if shipping to Canada was offered.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I got different sizes but they just don't fit. Either they were too small or when I went one size up, they were to wide on the top. I think they are just to narrow on the lower calf for me. Maybe a great product for sleek calves but not for mine.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable half chap! These fit like a glove right out of the box, and are incredibly comfortable. They run slightly small in the calf, and slightly tall in the height, for the listed measurements. The zipper is large and heavy-duty, so I hope it will last well. I used them at a show because I had just blown out the zipper on my old tall boots, and even though these aren't designed to look like a shiny boot, it was still a nice look. I plan to buy these again!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER SUPPLE - No Break In Necessary I LOVE these half chaps. They fit like a glove and are super supple right from the get go!. I have short legs. Typically any half chap is too tall and hits me behind the knee until they crumble down at the ankle. Then they end up too short. These are tall for me at 16 inch regular height but because of their softness, they are perfect and look fabulous even on my short legs. After only 2 uses, the zipper is now easier to do. AWESOME!! I hope the durability of these half chaps proves themselves over time, but I already purchased another pair just because I love them so much.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY COMFORTABLE I BOUGHT THESE HALF CHAPS ABOUT A MONTH AGO.I TOOK THE ADVICE TO PURCHASE 1 SIZE UP DUE TO THE TIGHT FIT. THEY FIT PERFECTLY AND I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH MY PURCHASE.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, fits well I've ridden in them a couple of times. I'm very happy with the fit. They fit at the ankles vs bunching up. Really nice leather. Looking forward to using them at a schooling show.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Half chaps Great product but fit was not right. Widespread ran way too big but xl was too small...no happy med for me.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I have Short but wide calves. I bought the wide regular and they fit perfect. Soft leather, and they look great! I haven't had them long, so I can't comment on the durability.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great These are the nicest half chaps I have come across for the price.The description is very accurate.The sizing is slightly small. The elastic panel gives some resistance if you need it to stretch the entire length of your calf.Order a size up--you can't loose with free returns.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for the price I've had these for a few weeks and have been impressed so far. I wish the elastic panel in the back was a little thinner as it's very noticeable and not greatly flattering.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous soft but run VERY SMALL I was between sizes and sized up, good thing I did because it's still a struggle to get them on. They are starting to stretch but beware of this when ordering.That being said these are the nicest chaps I have owned. I do like the thin leather, should be great in the summer. They are very soft and look great. I love that they are fitted through the ankle, something I have never been able to find in Ariat chaps.
Date published: 2016-03-20
  • 2016-08-30T11:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders