Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Raised Fancy Stitch Standing Martingale by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17223
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Coordinates perfectly with the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle. Rich Brown leather is accented with delicate off white fancy stitching. Stainless steel hardware.

Brown. Cob, Full or Oversize.

Customers Also Shopped For
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Traditional style with raised and fancy stitch accents. Stainless steel hardware. ...
Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
Description:
Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the ...
Description:
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the Edgewood Standing Martingale is vegetable tanned in the U.S. and has elegant and traditional styling. Favorite Features Raised fancy-stitch Rich chestnut finish that oils beautifully Crack resistant leather Smooth, nicely plated back ...
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is unique ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Harwich Raised Fancy Stitch Standing Martingale by SmartPak is rated 4.723404255319149 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small I bought this for my 16.1 hh TB. I'm so glad that I ordered up one size after reading the reviews. The oversize fits him perfectly!
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value: Runs small I was looking for an inexpensive Martingale--but one that would last. This one fit the bill. The quality is solid. It does run a size small--I purchased the O/S for a horse that is a horse/full size.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this martingale! I got this martingale over a year ago to match my harwhich bridle - and it's gorgeous! My 16 hand OTTB gelding uses a horse size whereas his bridle is a cob, so it might run a tad small. The leather is such a pretty color and so supple and soft, plus it's held up great with daily use. It looks so nice that I even show with it, and unfortunately, apparently someone else thought it looked nice too and stole it. Sigh. I'll be buying another one for sure.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small I had to return the full size for a Warmblood size for my four year old Warmblood. It was small around the neck. I have not received the larger size, so I cant comment at this time on its overall fit. Hoping it fits as it is a beautiful product that will match my Hartwich Bridle I ordered and love through SmartPak.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Standing Martingale I just received this yesterday and I bought it a week ago (love SmartPak's shipping) and it was so soft right out of the box! I showed it to my dad who's very old school and will only buy quality things and he said I did a good job oiling it up even though I hadn't done that yet. All I did was clean it with regular leather soap and a little conditoner and it was ready to go! I bought the full size for my 16hh appendix mare though I haven't tried it on yet. The raised and fancy stitching makes it looks very neat and show ring worthy. This is probably one of the nicest martingales in this price range!
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made This is a very nice leather and is made so well. It looks so nice with my bridle and saddle. It is pretty durable.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle! I bought this bridle to use for showing.It oiled up very well.The reins and bridle were very soft upon arrival.The fancy stitching really makes it sharp.I especially love the band over my horses ears.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality martingale but runs on the small side. Ordered the horse size and it had to be adjusted to one of the longest it could be, but it works. Fits my 16.1 1/2hh warmblood well when adjusted. Really impressed with the leather quality. Darkened right up to match the rest of my tack.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price Bought this for my 16H TB after someone stretched out my edgewood! I brought a cob and it was a little snug to start (which is to be expected) but with conditioner and use it fits nicely now. Was easy to match to the rest of my tack. Pretty enough for the show ring but great for schooling. I've had it for a few months and use it at least 5 days a week and so far its holding up great and cleans up easily.
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SMALL! I like this martingale to look at. It's pretty. But it's REALLY small. I got the full-size for my 15.3hh TB (she goes in a cob size bridle and her neck's not especially long) and it was still way too small for her. I'm trying to decide whether I want to try again with the oversize. But the martingale is really beautiful so if I can get the sizing right, I'll be thrilled.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely martingale Love this martingale, it fits my TB great and matches his Harwich bridle perfectly!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Martingale I finally got this martingale after having the Harwich bridle for about 6 months. Smartpak was awesome with putting the nameplate on with my order and it looks great. It does run very small (bridle is big, martingale is small!), so I would order up. My 17.1 hh Belgian Warmblood needed an oversize while he fit the normal full Harwich bridle... but no big deal. It's fairly new to me so I haven't softened it up completely, but the bottom keeper on the neck was very stiff and me and my trainer struggled to get it in place for a while... But other than that it's great and is a perfect match! The color matches my brown Bates saddle perfectly.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Martingale This martingale has nice leather, and is nice looking...good for schooling or showing. It fits well.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Great Martingale! Had to exchange the full size for oversize for my 4 yo WB who I don't think is huge. Even the oversize is nearly as big as possible on her, yet the ending of the raised part is way far back from where the joint now is. So sizing may be a little funky. Nonetheless, it works great and looks very nice. I intend to use this for schooling and showing for now, so can't speak to durability yet, but I certainly hope it holds up well to daily use!
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality The martingale is great and looks great with my Harwich bridle. Like the bridles though, order large. I have a 17.2 QH and need the WB size in both bridle and definitely in the martingale.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly fabulous! I actually got this martingale as a schooling martingale because I ordered the Harwich Bridle and was impressed with the quality and look of it. I ended up returning the Bridle because I didn't care for the fit, but this martingale will now be my new show martingale! After one oiling, it is just stunning and supple and i love the way it fits my TB mare.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Nice quality runs small compared to the matching bridle. I have a 16'1" baby warmblood and it is on the last notch. Purchased both bridle and this in " horse" size. Bridle runs big this runs small. Both are great quality!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Martingale out there! I got this martingale for my new TB expecting to use it for a schooling bridle only, but once I got it I use it for shows also! It is so fancy for the show ring! People come up to me asking where I get this martingale all the time, thinking that it is really expensive. The leather is a gorgeous color, and made of great quality stuff! I had this for almost a year and it still looks brand new! This is my all time favorite product from smartpak and will definitely buy it again!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price Love this just as much as my Harwich bridle. Soft supple leather and fits pretty well.The only downside is that the buckle is really low... just not the norm.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice martingale I bought this martingale with the matching bridle. The leather is good quality but a bit stiff. Looks very nice with the fancy stitched bridle. It would have been nice if it came with a doughnut.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Martingale Awesome value - oiled lightly to match the Harwich padded fancy stitch bridle. Looked great at a show on a darker bay horse. Super value for the money.
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Schooling Martingale This is a very nice martingale for every day use or local showing. It looks nice, and matches my tack well. It has held up well on my school pony with daily use (we do clean it & oil it)
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice Very nice martingale - will look great with the Harwich comfort bridle I love.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Match This martingale is a perfect match to the Harwich Raised Fancy Bridle. I bought them at the same time so that all of my tack would match, even though I don't use the martingale as often as the bridle. It is good quality leather and looks nice enough for the show ring. It also fits the 16 hand, rather stocky TB I ride perfectly. If you horse is taller you may want to move up to the larger size, as there are only a few holes left. I've only used it a few times, but seems to be good quality.
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Martingale, have not used on my horse yet I have not had a chance to reall use the martingale yet, my horse is greens, so we're just getting him used to having me on him, but it's a lovely martingale, and the leather is really nice.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality This martingale is a good quality piece for the price!
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Martingale for the price, I ordered the Full size and had to return it for the O/S. Not sure of the durability as I have only been using it for a couple weeks now.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice for the price Very impressed for the price. A little oiling helps but definitely worth buying for schooling or low level showing. The raised leather and stitching is very nice.
Date published: 2011-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super martingale for the price I needed a new martingale, since the one I had been using broke. I had bought it used at a tack sale many years ago. I had no idea how expensive martingales could be. So based on other reviews I thought that the price of the Smart Pak martingale was worth a try. Well I LOVE it. Very nice soft leather (even though I oiled it anyway) the fit was great. I bought the full size for my 15.2 TB. I saw the matching bridle at the barn, and I soooo badly want to buy that too!!!!
Date published: 2011-09-22
  • 2016-09-25T13:07CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_7223, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders