Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Eventer Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #18383
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted with durable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows! Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown, alleviating pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and premium hardware. Crafted in rich Brown leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband for the ultimate in comfort and style.  An excellent value, available exclusively at SmartPak!

Favorite Features

  • 1” padded noseband
  • 5/8” padded browband
  • 5/8” cheeks
  • Hook stud ends and brass buckles
  • Completely removable flash noseband
  • Includes 5/8” raised rubber reins.

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Spend more time riding and less time cleaning ...
Description:
Spend more time riding and less time cleaning with a Wintec Bridle! Ideal for trail riding. Reins sold separately. Favorite Features Durable, lightweight, and weatherproof Synthetic leather Padded noseband Easy to care for Stainless steel hardware Sizing It Up Cob ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. UltraSoft and ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds just that extra bit of sparkle to your ride! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our favorite choice for hunter and derby horses! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
A quality, leather, non-padded hunter style bridle made ...
Description:
A quality, leather, non-padded hunter style bridle made from genuine full grain European cow hide. The Arc de Triomphe Tribute Bridle is a bridle with exquisite styling and detailing that will look gorgeous on your horse. Favorite Features Fancy stitch ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Harwich Eventer Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.69811320754717 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle I bought this about 2 months ago, I ordered a Cob size the first time and it was just a little too small so I returned it and got the full size. I am very pleased with the bridle. It was very soft right out of the bag. The color is nice and matches my saddle nicely. The white stitching is very pretty and I love how it looks. When I tried the full size on my horse it was a bit big for her face even on the tightest setting, but the Cob size was to small on the loosest setting. This is the only drawback that I could think of. I love this bridle and it is very nice quality.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I have had this bridle for a few months now and still love it just as much as when it came! The leather was so soft right out of the box and the brass buckles add a nice touch. I also love the padded monocrown and I think the horses do too!! The bridle has held up really well and fits a variety of horses, and the removable flash is a great feature. It looks just beautiful on and I have gotten so many complements. For the price, this bridle is unbeatable!!
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect- especially on a budget I just bought this bridle a few weeks ago and I am already thrilled. The leather is nice and soft right out of the package. The picture is true to color. I really love this bridle, and my horse thinks it is very comfortable also. I did struggle putting the pieces together- but the struggle was stopped when I grabbed my leather conditioner (to put the pieces through on the crown piece)
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! This bridle is really very nice for the price. Like other reviewers stated, it is very soft leather straight out of its bag. I love the fact that the flash, and the attachment can be removed, and then easily slipped back on the bridle when needed.The bridle does look as if it could be a much more expensive bridle than it is. The tag does show that the bridle is made in India. That said, I have purchased other bridles that were made in India and they have never been this nice. I find that the bridle fits both my larger headed QH, and my ISH very nicely. I am pleased with this purchase, and would highly recommend this bridle!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday bridle I bought this bridle almost 2 years ago and use it as my schooling bridle. I even used it to show in before I got my Antares bridle. It's held up great and I am not the best at cleaning tack on a daily basis. The leather is not that cheapy leather or the very buttery soft leather but an in between that you would expect in this price range. I have a 16 h warmblood and the cob fits her so I think it runs a tad big.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but not perfect. Leather and hardware quality on this bridle are excellent! I love the brass hardware. I bought the Cob size for my 15 hand Arabian. I'd say this runs on the large size. I purchased the Micklem in Cob Size, and the Parelli Cradle in Small which they say is a Cob/Arab size and both were WAY too small for my horse. But the Cob size in this Harwich Event Bridle is perfect! So go down a size if you're unsure. This Cob size will fit my Appendix also and normally she wears a Full size.DISLIKE: The design of the crown. You have to feed the cavesson strap through tiny slots in the crown piece, and this task literally took me an hour. The slots were so tight and it ended up ruining the free end of the cavesson strap. You can NOT easily adjust the noseband if needed. It takes time and effort to feed the strap back and forth through the crown piece and you can't do this on the horse's head. Also the color of the bridle is a funky rosy colored brown that doesn't match any of my tack. It took copious amounts of oil to darken it so it doesn't have that funky pink tinge to it.I'm not sorry I purchased it, and I do like it, but I don't love it.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and price The leather on this bridle is soft and I love to color and the pading. I love that this bridle had no fancy sitching because my horse's face had a lot of markings. The reins on this bridle are rubber which I love because I can grip the reins. The rubber is also a good thickness (not too thick for small hands) and feels great. I love to detachable flash too however I had to punch more holes in mine. The more I condition/clean it the softer and better looking the leather gets. The price is fantastic for the quality
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Stylish, Good Quality for Price I bought this about a month ago for my daughter's OTTB. Seems true to size. Very nice looking bridle, matches perfectly with my havana saddle and the buckles set it off. I like the quality of leather, soft cushioning on headpiece, removable flash is convenient and topstitching detail just makes the bridle look even better.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle for the price! Leather was already supple and fit my large (but not obscenely so) warmblood's head. Most times, bridles fit through the bit but have an oversized noseband, but not so with this one! I've used and oiled it twice, and I'm happier with how the underside of the leather looks; it started out looking a little rough, but at least it doesn't show. I really love that the flash and attachment is completely detachable! That means I could use it in the local hunter ring as well if needed! Overall, very pleased and would recommend definitely for schooling and local shows!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for cost The rich brown color looks great on my bay Morgan mare. The throat latch is almost too long, and the caveson strap is difficult to get through the hole in the crown piece (just wiggle it back and forth and it comes through and gets easier every time). The only regret I have is that that I ordered it with brass buckles (which looks great with the color of the leather) but of course, most bits are stainless steel.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle, would definitely recommend I picked up this bridle used about a week ago and I love it. It looks very nice on my gelding. The leather quality is very good for the price point. I haven't had the best luck getting it to darken, but I'm not terribly worried about it. My gelding has a pretty average sized head. The horse size works well, but doesn't have a lot of adjustments to move up. If your horse is between sizes or on the smaller side, I would order down.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather, great looking Very nice bridle for the $. nice looking on my draft cross.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bridle, But A Tad Irritated.... I bought this bridle for my 15.2hh Appendix gelding. His head is one of the hardest heads to fit, in my opinion, and I'm always jumping between a Cob and a Horse size. I initially bought the Micklem Competition bridle and was completely unimpressed with the quality, so I returned it for credit and attempted this bridle. I went with the Cob first and was overjoyed that it fit almost just right, with a few minor adjustments and some fiddling, although a tad on the tight side. So, being happy with the fit, I oiled it and left it to dry. This is when I became irritated... Half of the leather stain came off the browband, noseband, and crown piece. It now has odd patches of faded leather against the nice chestnut color. The bridle is great for the price and completely functional, just irritated the stain came off with the first oil. There are a couple of things I would add/change:First, I would like to have some padding beneath the noseband. I found it odd that the buckle lays right under their jawline flat against the skin.Next, the throat latch is WAY TOO LONG. No horse has that thick of a throat...Lastly, I would like that they take more care on the way they stain their bridles and make sure the stain STAYS. It shouldn't come off with a slightly damp rag....OVERALL:Great bridle for the price and looks like some of the $200-$300 bridles. I also love the monocrown that you can adjust perfectly to their heads. I would suggest this bridle to others, just keep an eye out when you do your preliminary cleaning....
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Great Quality I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great quality bridle at an affordable price. Bought this as my jumping bridle and it fits my TB just right.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous bridle I bought this bridle at Rolex. I'm. In. Love. Such quality for such a reasonable price. I had been shopping around for a while and chose this bridle over some other expensive brands and am very glad I did so!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the Price! I bought this bridle because of the removable flash, such a great feature! The leather is high quality, definitely can't be beat for the price. The bridle is inexpensive enough for an everyday schooling bridle, yet nice enough for shows as well. I've had mine almost 9 months, and it is holding up beautifully. I'd recommend oiling it up before using, as the keepers were very tight to start out with. I ordered the O/S, and I'd say the bridle runs on the large size, as it is a little big for my very large headed horse.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice bridle I ordered this bridle but ended up returning as I didn't really NEED a new bridle at the time, had buyers remorse, and returned. Am back in bridle shopping mode though and this one is definitely on my short list! Seems like a great value!!
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My FAVORITE Piece of Tack!!! I ordered this bridle and the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle at the same time because they looked so good on the web that I couldn't choose which one to buy, but in the end I went with this one!First of all, I think that the leather quality on this bridle is absolutely phenomenal; it's so soft and supple and I would be willing to pay $200+ for such leather quality on an unpadded bridle (if I had the $$), but $150 for a fully padded one? Impossible! Then, the rich, deep color is droolworthy - even my mom loved it! And the contrast stitching? Makes for a very, very fancy bridle! My trainer commented on it the moment she saw it and couldn't get over how nice it was! Then, the padding is fantastic. Every padded part is so soft and I have no fear of rubs! Plus, I LOVE the fact that the crown is padded, but not monocrown - I sometimes like to take the noseband off of my bridle and ride in a simple bosal-type hackamore that attaches to the cheek straps, and that would be very difficult/unattractive with a monocrown bridle! I'm definitely going to take good care of this bridle in case the monocrowns take over so I'll still have that option! Additionally, the rubber reins were SO soft, yet grippy at the same time! Normally when I ride with rubber reins they bite right through my hands, but these are "squishier," which also helps improve the grip - my reins didn't slip even with my thick winter sports gloves that aren't made for riding! Plus I love the detachable flash - I only use flashes when I ride in loose rings to keep the rings from slipping through the horse's mouth, so it's great that I don't need an empty loop on my noseband when I'm not using the flash!With all that said, I would maybe add a few things to this bridle:1) A padded chin on the noseband. I was kind of surprised with all of the great workmanship that the noseband was plain.2) The throatlatch is way, WAY long! This bridle fit my 14hh pony with holes to spare on everything except for the throatlatch, which was so big that it sagged all the way down to her noseband unless there was a knot in it! I'm taking it to my local cobbler to shorten, but I found that pretty bizarre.3) Maybe have a fancy stitch option? I know that makes it sound too much like the other bridle, but comparing the two bridles I would prefer this exact one fancy stitched than that one in this color!4) As someone else said, maybe have a laced rein option? I'm almost glad it doesn't because I probably wouldn't have gone with the rubber reins (which I'm now in love with and will probably only switch out if I absolutely must because of a rated hunter show or something), but I understand that some people would prefer laced reins.But overall, the best piece of tack I've ever bought! I have three bridles (one that I bought for $215!!) and this one's leaps and bounds above them both! Thank you SmartPak for offering this lovely bridle, and anyone who's ever considered purchasing it - do it now, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbeatable! I planned on spending around $300 for my next bridle, but when I read all the reviews on this bridle I though I'd give it a shot (hey, free return shipping!). The quality is phenomenal, and not just for this price range. It was soft and supple right out of the box. It fits my horse great and looks awesome. Another great buy from smartpak
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bridle Very nice bridle, leather is soft right out of the bag. One thing I do not like, and did not like when ordering, is that the only reins available are the rubber ones. I wish Smartpak offered web or rubberized web reins that matched and were in the same price category.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle for the price... Purchased this bridle for my horse a year ago - it's held up beautifully and is very nice looking. Liked it so much we purchased one for my daughter's new horse. The flash on the Horse size bridle is rather long (had to punch a few extra holes in it) - but other than that it fits my 16.1h FriesianX very well. We did order the cob size for my daughter's 15.3 Selle Francais/TB (as she has a more petit head)
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo Nice!!! After lots and lots of research on which bridle to buy, I chose the Harwich because of overwhelmingly positive customer reviews. So glad I did, the bridle is much much nicer than the picture makes it look! It is not all light and shiny and nasty looking as it appears in the photo. The leather is soft and supple and after an oiling feels really expensive and construction is not only pretty but also looks durable. Just got it so cannot comment on durability or fit but pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I loved this bridle the moment I pulled out of the box! It was very soft and supple, but I oiled it before using for extra protection. I feel it is appropriately priced, and it seems like it is great quality. I have only used it a few times, so time will tell how it holds up. I ordered a full size for my larger headed TB after reading other reviews that the sizes runs large, and it fits her great! It also would work on my other TB who has a "normal" size head, but the browband is a bit large on him. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase thus far!
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bridle is amazing! I initially bought this as a schooling bridle but when I got it, it ended up being nicer than the bridle I was showing in, so I started using it for shows. The leather is soft and supple, and the padding on the crown piece and nose band is lovely, and not something you usually see on a bridle at this price point. I also love the brass hardware. The only negative thing I could point out is that there is no padding underneath the nose band where the buckle goes, so at least on my horse, it buckles smaller, which leaves a flapping piece of leather. I attached a rubber band to keep it in place.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I have a Harwich hunter bridle that I love. So, after a recent horse show w/ my new trainer, I wanted to get him a thank you for a great show. He's just really starting out, so he doesn't have a whole lot of extra tack. So, I thought would be a great gift. And it was! He loves this bridle! I had his last name engraved on it and it came about beautifully!!
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality I've had this bridle for about 6 months. I like everything about it from the quality of the leather, the way it fits and looks on my horse, to the price. I love the design of the mono crown. My horse has a regular size head and this bridle fits him perfectly. The only complain I have is that one of the keepers is very tight. I would definitely recommend Harwich bridles to my friends who are looking for a good quality bridle at a decent price.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it! I bought this bridle for my TB eventer. He is 17.2 and very big boned. The browband was a bit big for him (would slip down by his eyes), so I switched it with a slightly smaller one and it fits perfectly. I love the padding (and so does he), and the fact the flash comes completely off. I did have to punch some extra holes in the flash to tighten it up. I didn't like the rubber reins, but I don't like any pairs of rubber reins, so it's no big deal.
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks fantastic, high quality This fits my 17.2hh big boned TB great for the most part, except for the brow band-it's so big it falls in his eyes! And he has a big head. Luckily, it was easy to switch with a different brow band that is a bit smaller. It looks like a much more expensive bridle and I get a lot of compliments on it. Only thing I don't like are the rubber reins but those were easy to switch.
Date published: 2011-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you smartpak! Wow, this bridle is amazing. The picture really does NOT reflect the quality of this bridle. The leather is not shiny at all, it's soft, pliable and sturdy. It feels like it will last forever! The leather is a little dry, but it took oil really well and became even softer. The padding is generous, but the buckle on the noseband could padding. Unfortunately, this bridle runs large and is bulky, so I don't recommend it for refined faces like mine. It's nice enough, I'm keeping it in case I ever buy a bigger horse! Definitely buy this bridle!
Date published: 2011-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seemed good...Initially Purchased the bridle about 2 months ago and it has held up well. Initially the bridle seemed amazing, it matched all my tack, decent leather for the price, and the sizing seemed true, however, I was very disappointed upon further inspection. The monocrown is a poor design, the browband won't rise past it due to the padding, while it doesn't affect me it could be problematic for others. My draft cross has a true sized draft head, he's usually in the large oversize range and the browband fit him when it was raised as high as it would go, if the horse's head was any smaller it would begin to cover their eyes rather than sit in its proper place. The monocrown also makes cleaning difficult, I can usually take apart and put a bridle back together in 5 minutes tops, this bridle doubles the time at best, my trainer even commented on the poor design. We normally clean our bridles after every use, not this one...its a major hassel. I also hate the noseband, it doesn't have a flap behind the buckle so my horse's hair and skin often gets caught inside. If you have a horse on the larger end of each size and don't mind my other complaints the bridle is fine, but it doesn't work for me and is probably the least liked bridle of the entire barn (over 30 horses on property, so lots of tack around). I much prefer the bridle I paid $30 for from my tack store, I'm going to buy a flash attachment and use that one instead.
Date published: 2011-06-22
  • 2016-09-24T12:58CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_8383, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders