Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Harwich Curb Reins by SmartPak

Item #19854
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted with durable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows! Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the ...
Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood ...
Description:
Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood fancy stitch bridles. Edgewood strap goods are renowned for their fine attention to detail, including, hand finished edges, and lovely stitching. All in the famous deep chestnut color Edgewood is immediately recognizable ...
The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! ...
Description:
The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! Edgewood Original leather goods are made with the finest vegetable-tanned leather in the U.S. The fancy stitch, high-profile square raise, deep rich chestnut color and clean, careful workmanship combine for a striking ...
Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide ...
Description:
Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide for strap goods made in the U.S.A. Extra crack resistant with a rich chestnut finish, these pieces oil beautifully. Stainless hardware is used on all pieces of fine fancy raised leather works. ...
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather ...
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
Description:
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
Description:
All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively for KL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends; stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Harwich Curb Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.756756756756757 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great softness, craftsmanship and quality of leather! Great 'feel' right away...no excessive dye and wax. Clean and oil once, ready to go!
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected. Bought these when my horse stepped on his original pair and broke them. Shipped earlier than expected and were soft out of the package. My only criticism is that the underside is rough and unfinished. But a great value for the price.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great curb rein I have never used double reins, but this are a great length and width.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather Great reins. Didn't even have to oil them, although we did oil them
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality, classically correct I bought these to use with a pelham, and they match my Crosby hunting bridle perfectly. They were soft and supple right out of the package without feeling oily or slippery, and I didn't even have to condition them first before using them the next day. The hook studs are well secured, and the sewn end of the reins is sturdy and well-stitched. I expect these will last a long time. They are a great value and I would recommend these to riders looking for a high-quality flat rein for use with Pelham or Weymouth bridles.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Match the Plymouth Bridle Perfectly! I ordered these reins after my trainer and I decided to try my horse in double reins. I got these as the second rein and they match the plymouth bridle perfectly and work great!
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality I bought these reins recently for my Quarter Horse I'm re-schooling in dressage. Right out of the package I was shocked at how soft these reins were and they didn't need any initial oiling. They are thin and feel comfortable in my hands to use. Would definitely buy again.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather quality I really liked the quality of the leather in these reins, especially for the price. They were a little short for my 17.3 hand TB with a long neck, but they get the job done.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as pictured! These reins were exactly the style that I was looking for!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins at a great price! I was shocked how supple these came right out of the packaging- no oiling needed! The reins were beautiful and my only complaint would be that they're stitched together on the ends instead of with a buckle, but I did know that when I purchased them. Another great SmartPak product!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small hands! Finally, reins for small hands! Thank you! I have been looking for thinner curb reins for a while and have not been successful. These are great and I don't have aching hands at the end of my rides from having to deal with so much leather! Great value for the price as well.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins! I purchased two sets of these reins for each of my horses to use with their new pelham bits. This is the first review that I have ever written, but I want to assure anyone reading this that these are an amazing value! They are equally as beautiful as the curb reins on my double bridle, which are at least three times the price. They are soft and flexible right out of the package. The leather looks to be good quality. I prefer that they do not have a buckle on the end. I found them more harmonious in my hands as a result . I am thrilled with this purchase! 
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great curb reins There aren't a ton of choices for curb reins, but the Harwich offering gets the job done at a nice price. The leather is a dark brown color, which matched my Vespucci bridle very well. The leather is good quality, and the 3/8" width is perfect (I ride with the curb between my middle and ring fingers). I anticipate these reins will remain in my tack collection for a long time to come.Note to SmartPak - it would be great if you sold lip straps as well for those of us using Pelhams!
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Curb Rein I'll first start by saying that I really disliked riding with a pelham because I didn't like having more than 1 rein in my hand (including bats/crops, curb reins, etc), but this rein has changed my mind.It is nice and thin (without feeling cheap/flimsy) and fits in my hand nicely with my rubber rein. It is a nice color, the leather seems nice- I've only used them less than 5 times. The only thing I'll really need to do is oil them (& my bridle).All-in-all a great purchase, especially for the money- and it's great to get the SmartPerks discount on them too.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of leather, nice! They are a tad short but work. It would be nice if there were different lengths to choose from. I have a very large Clydesdale/Thoroughbred cross and need large sizes in most tack accessories. I would buy this brand again!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for the price I think the overall quality of these reins is excellent...dont let the price fool you. This is above average leather, not that Indian stuff. The only reason I returned these to SP was that the reins didnt have a buckle in the middle...they were just stitched together and they wouldnt lay right. If they had the buckle, they would have been a keeper.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I was looking for an inexpensive rein to test on my horse to see if he would be ok with wearing a Pelham. And this perfect. So soft and ready to use right out of the bag. I will continue to use these for a long time. Perfect size, length, width. Beautiful color.Will definitely buy again.
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian leather but useable out of the box These aren't as nice as my english leather curb reins but they are significantly cheaper and have a nice look to the leather. They are a lighter brown color than I had anticipated. Definitely not a dark brown.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality at a fantastic price! I've had these reins over a year and LOVE them. They came out of the bag SUPER soft (softer than some reins I've oiled a ton) and have remained soft with no cracking or pulled stitches whatsoever. They are a beautiful color and a perfect length- long enough for my lengthy necked TB to hack out comfortable "on the buckle" (even though there is no buckle- ha ha), but not too long that I can't shorten them without a rein loop dangling at the foot.Now, I don't use them every day because my horse doesn't always go in a bit that requires a second rein, but when I use them they work wonderfully- small enough to fit comfortably in my hands, but with enough to them that I can really use them when my ex-racer TB doesn't want to slow down after that first gallop out in the field. ;)I would recommend them to anyone- they are sturdy enough for riding out cross-country and beautiful enough to show with.
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Curb Rein for Price! I ordered this curb rein as an affordable alternative to fancy name brands. I love the supple quality to the leather and the thickness. It's a great rein (does benefit from a good oiling prior to use), well worth the price and good quality!
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins They were a slightly lighter shade of brown than I expected - I was hoping for a dark brown. They were supple enough to use after one application of oil. Very good value for the price.
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality and Reasonably Priced I bought these to go with the Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle as the textured reins that come with that bridle were hard for me to work as I have small hands and arthritis. These are wonderful curb reins, they match, they're smaller sized and much easier for me to manipulate. I plan to use the textured reins for XC and trail rides, etc.
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great curb rein These reins require barely any breaking-in. They were very soft right out of the bag. The reason i gave them four stars was because I'd love to see a buckle in the center...would make it easier for me to put my rein stoppers and martingale on..but none the less they do the job and for a very reasonable price..you cannot go wrong!!
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting at all! Because they are 100x better than what I expected!! I haven't used them yet because the pelham I ordered was out of stock, so I really can't say how their durability is yet, but I'm expecting it to be great. But holy cow! I am absolutely blown away by how soft these are coming out of the bag! I have reins that I've oiled 10 times and STILL aren't this soft. These match my current bridle/reins perfectly and are a fabulous length. And for this price? Wow. I cannot wait to use them and I will definitely be looking for these in the future.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent rein This is a good rein for the price. I wish it were just a bit longer b/c I prefer my curb rein to be longer than my riding rein.
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Curb Reins I just received these in the mail to compare to a new pair of Edgewood curb reins I bought and I must say that I am more pleased with Smartpak's reins than Edgewood's. The leather on the Harwich reins is extremely supple, right out of the box, the color matches my Harwich bridle, and the reins seem to be very nice quality overall. In fact, I like them so much that I am returning the Edgewood pair and keeping these. I can't comment on durability yet, but for $30, you can't find nicer curb reins.
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently Surprised! I was a little hesitant purchasing these reins because of the price, but trusting SmartPak, I went ahead and bought them.Right out of the box with just a little hand working these reins are soft and feel like they are three times the price!They are a beautiful color and I expect them to hold up!
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful soft reins I just received these today and have not ridden in them yet, so cannot comment on the durability, but I have to say these are GORGEOUS reins and SO soft immediately out of the packaging! They were very easy to attach to my bit and are very pliable. I anticipate them being lovely reins and would recommend them to anyone. Fantastic value.
Date published: 2011-09-30
  • 2016-09-29T12:25CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_9854, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders