Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee

Happy Mouth
- Item #14751
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee has a double jointed mouthpiece providing independent action on each side of the horse's mouth.  

Favorite Features

  • Unique apple scent to increase your horse's acceptance
  • Non-toxic
  • Stainless steel center core makes this bit long lasting
  • Double jointed mouthpiece makes this bit great for advanced training

Sizing It Up

  • 20mm thickness

Customers Also Shopped For
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...
The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, ...
The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select ...
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept ...
The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Exacting care goes into each bit: All the bit cheeks and rings are made of a top grade stainless ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with aSoft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance andSoftness. The Happy Mouth Plain Mullen Loose Ring has an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. All ...
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards ...
Neue Schule takes on a "school" approach towards bit technology. With the help of computer design, Neue Schule has the freedom to be more innovative with creation of mouthpieces and cheeks to promote overall comfort for the horse. Neue Schule ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee is rated 4.675 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality I haven't used this but yet but my initial impression is that it's great quality, exactly what I was expecting!
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I have owned several happy mouth brand bits and I have to say they are my favorite. A lot of other rubber bits are heavy and bulky, and made out of a lesser quality material. My horse knows the difference and prefers the happy mouth every time.
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I knew this was the bit I wanted for my horse and it was quick, easy and reasonably priced thru SmartPak
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OTTB likes this bit Got this after the rubber Kosteel bit feel apart. My OTTB just off the track likes this bit and doesn't fuss to much with it in. He has worn it 3 times and so far it is in good shape. My OTTB chews a lot!
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Loves It My horse is performing so much better in this bit. It's very light and easy and doesn't have heaps of pressure like other bits I have used before. He accepts the bit and works with is not against it. He opens his mouth right up for the bit. This still has good control
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thickness just right The white plastic portion is just the right thickness. Thinner than the black rubber bits, but thicker than many metal bits.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit! I bought this bit for a young Arabian having issues with bits. Found him to be much happier with this bit and performing much better.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Great quality bit for a horse with a soft mouth. Good quality as well
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit My OTTB mare has issues with grinding her teeth under saddle. This bit, while still somewhat new, is helping her move into the bit and relax a little more. She willingly takes the bit and is not fighting against it as has been done with other bits. I cannot speak to the wear as the bit is still new, but so far so good.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit This is a well made bit. So far it is holding up to 3 rides a week with no bite marks. The sensitive TB that I ride seems to like it.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sensative OTTB accepts this bit. I had purchased an elevator Happy Mouth bit at a consignment store just to give the Happy Mouth part a try. My horse is a 7 y.o Uber sensitive OTTB. when I first got her she would constantly have her tongue flopping in the wind and get it over the bit. Teeth were done and a flash applied and the line of bits in my tack room began to grow . A loose ring French link with a lozenge seemed to be best until I found that happy Mouth but since it was too big for her still I ordered the best of both worlds. I think if you look at the series of photos you will see a horse who goes from saying 'NO way' to 'OK' . At least for now. I have not ridden in it yet but I did do ground work flexion with her.
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit for Sensitive Mouths My horse tends to toss her head around a lot when I ride her and I felt maybe the traditional metal bits I was using may be bothering her. I decided to give this a try & I'm happy with the results. She seems much more content & even more willing to go on the bit than she already was. I also think she enjoys the apple flavoring, as my horse lives for food so what could be better than being ridden & tasting apples. Even though it is covered in plastic I do not feel it is less strong or that I have less control. I would highly recommend this & seems to be worth the extra expense!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not for chewers We thought my horse needed more bit for jumping, and tried a bunch of harder bits including a single jointed slow twist. As it turned out, the problem was attitude and not a hard mouth - we have gone to using only this bit for flatwork and over fences and he is so much happier. I used this bit on another horse previously and bought three of them before I got sick of replacing them as soon as they got chewed. This new horse is fairly young and REALLY mouthy, so I thought he would chew right through this - I was picturing replacing it every month or two and was NOT happy. Surprisingly, he doesn't chew on it at all. He likes it enough that even if I had to replace it often, I would probably still buy it, but the cost would be annoying and I would continue looking for other options.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit, but not for chewers! My mare has a funy mouth, she can be very dull, put also requires something gentle in her mouth and not a lot of rein contact. I got this bit and she loved it! When I would take the bridle off she wouldn't let go of it.However, if you have a horse with a busy mouth, aka chewers, I would NOT recommend this bit at all. The plastic is not durable enough and she grabs on and chomps at it, ultimately chewing off piece of plastic or chewing it so badly the bit became sharp in her mouth and she then became bitter about putting the bit in. I literally had to replace the bit every single month, and I wasn't pleased with spending almost $600-700 per year on a bit. I tried my trainer herm sprenger double jointed bit and she loves it. Plenty of salivation and suppleness. I will be purchasing one this week and I know it'll last a VERY long time.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very gentle for sensitive horses I recently bought a horse that has a very touchy mouth, he also did not like the single jointed snaffle he was currently in and would tilt his head to the outside to avoid contact. In dressage he goes in a Neue Schule double jointed loose ring, so for jumping I thought I would try the happy mouth with a roller to give him something soft and gentle yet with a little stimulation. He loves this bit, he keeps a very soft contact yet I can feel him play with the roller. His mouth is very soft and he really enjoys himself now and his head tilt is completely gone. It is a great bit for those with sensitive mouths.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I have two thoroughbred mares, both are very sensitive in the mouth and absolutely love all the happy mouth bits. I use this on the younger one and she really likes it, it helped get her accustomed to the contact and accepting the bit. My only complaint is that she was able to chew through part of the rubber within a couple of months, but overall it is still a good bit.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cracking I have had this for about a month. It is cracking. I plan on talking to Smartpak about this.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great bit for sensitive horse My horse will not tolerate a metal bit and is sensitive. the straight bar Nathe did not give enough control. This gave enough control with still being gentle. My horse accepts this bit much better than others.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My mare has a sensitive mouth (think rearing up if in too strong of a bit) and she LOVES this bit. Gives me the control without being too much in her mouth!
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little bit This product truely lives up to its name. My horses mouth could not be happier. The only problem is....He doesnt always want to let it go.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought my own I had borrowed one of these from a friend for my TB who didn't seem to like single jointed or metal bits. So far, it's working, as he'll accept more contact and I don't feel like I have nothing or overkill.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and best price! This bit is just what I wanted and expected! Smartpak had the best price too! Thanks!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit I've used this type bit on several horses and they all have liked it. I bought this one specifically for my new horse and he's very happy working in it. The only issue with a Happy Mouth bit is that you must check it after each ride to be sure it hasn't developed any rough or sharp marks on the mouthpiece due to chewing by the horse.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell Apart Fast I have had a mullen mouth D for years from happy mouth with no problems, but the rubber on this bit cracked in less than a month. The horse I was using it on is 22 years old and requires very little rein contact and has a quiet mouth so I'm not sure why this happened. Thankfully Smartpak allowed me to return it for a full refund.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hacking! My horse loves it! I use it when im hacking or riding bareback!
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have a horse who is a little funny through his mouth due to a not so nice past. I'm not sure whether it's the texture of the plastic or the supposed apple flavoring, but my horse really does love this bit! The manufacturing quality is superb as well.
Date published: 2011-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality bit I ordered this bit to use to show my hunter mare and am delighted by its quality and large dee rings which looks great in the hunter ring.
Date published: 2010-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bit! I like this bit on most any horse. It's super soft, but still allows contact. Definitely my go-to bit for nervous horses that back-off too much from other bits.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Soft Bit I Love this bit for my horse. He likes jointed soft bits and this is absolutly perfect. I recomend this for a horse with a soft mouth but if you still need contact to his/her mouth.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is either allergic to metals or themetals increase his salivation to the point it bothershim - i am not sure which but the Happy Mouth has relieved his wanting to constantly rub his mouth.
Date published: 2009-05-27
  • 2016-10-21T11:39CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_4751, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders