Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Hamilton Nylon Halter

Hamilton Products, Inc.
- Item #15041
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come.  Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. 

Favorite Features

  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Adjustable crown piece
  • Solid brass buckle hardware

Sizing It Up

Oversize (1100-1600lbs), Horse (800-1100lbs), or Cob (500-800lbs)

Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.


Customers Also Shopped For
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that isSoft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful havana ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the features an extended 10' detachable lead. Favorite Features Brushed nylon Accompanied bySoft, 10' detachable solid-colored poly ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Hamilton Nylon Halter is rated 4.741935483870968 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Took a while too find a halter too fit my 15 hand delicate head mare this one looks good on her. and she is happy with it. So thank you for this halter!! I got this halter in cob size fits my mare perfect.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this halter two months ago and it's still holding up great. I ordered the cob size and it fits my horse well. I leave it hanging on the fence, so it's out in the weather 24/7 and it's still in good shape, and the color (hunter green) hasn't bleached out very much at all. I also like that the holes are reinforced too just in case my horse decides to test it.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Great for the Price I bought this for my 17.1hh Appendix in the largest size they had, even though he has a petite head. I've always sworn by Weaver nylon halters but the hardware on them often chips and the color eventually fades so I was looking for something new. When it came in the mail I was sure it would be too big but it fits perfectly and is very adjustable depending on how you like your halter to fit. I bought it in the Wine color and it is beautiful! In the month I've had it, the color has stayed and there is no sign of chipping or anything with the hardware. However, the halter stays inside and he hasn't been regularly bathed in it yet.....I bought this halter because of it's affordability and the reviews of fellow smartpakers...hoping it lives up to the hype and continues to last! Very impressed so far.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great halter, love it! Great product and super fast shipping, was very happy with it.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best halters made. I have purchased several brands of halters over the years and the Hamilton halters are the best and hold up extremely well.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and long-lasting This halter has brass fittings which I always look for in a halter. I detest rusty hardware. The farm where my horse lives has mostly outdoor boarding (with run-in sheds) and the halters hang outdoors near the gate in all weather so they are easily accessible in the event that the horse must be caught quickly. Nylon stands up under all conditions and with the brass hardware this can't be beat! I do wish it had a break-away feature - that is the only issue with it - but as it is used mostly for leading to and from the barn to use with crossties which DO have twine break-aways, that did not stop me from buying this nice halter.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very attractive Bought it because noseband can be unbuckled for harnessing Mr. Maurice for driving.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First Nylon Halter Ever After having gone through my fourth leather halter this year (other horses chewing, weather, growing legs), we decided to try this halter. I'm very happy with the quality and durability. I love the color and knowing it's easily identifiable. The nose band was still alittle roomy even after adjusting but for day to day, it's fine. He doesn't wear anything outside and I wouldn't feel comfrotable turning him out in this. But otherwise, very happy with this purchase. It looks good on my guy and I beileve we'll have it for a long time.
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter I had a difficult time finding a halter to fit my larger mini. This fit perfectly. I chose the yearling size. 
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost Waldoproof! Hamilton Halters have always been a good product. When these were reduced in price I ordered two! Waldo is a bit destructive with equipment, but I have noted that he can't do this with these halters. I also don't have to worry about the hardware on these either. These really last. Thank you Smart Pak for carrying this brand 
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Hold Up I am sad to say that after just 3 weeks of use, this halter broke when I pulled on it. The horse didn't do anything crazy, just stopped and didn't want to walk forward. So, I pulled and after about 3-4 seconds of a steady hard pull, the throat latch broke. It was only held together with a dab of glue and a few stitches.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Literally The Best Halter Ever! I love this halter! The color is bright and the halter is so durable! It even withstood being chewed on by other horses when my pony was in his playing halter tag days! This halter has really nice quality and the snap never freezes even when it seems like its below freezing on show mornings! LOVE halter!!! Would recomend this to everyone with a mistevous little pony!
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter This is an excellent halter, and well constructed. My horse has a large head (but isn't a draft), so I always had trouble fitting halters to him. This one fits him nicely (on one of the tighter holes) even though I ordered "horse" size instead of "draft".I'm very pleased with this halter.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Product I have a WP Quarter horse and have a very hard time finding a halter that fits over his jaw without the halter being to tight. This Hamilton is the only one so far. It is very soft, so if you have a horse who just drops his head into the halter this one is a little bit of a challenge. Runs large.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Halter was too small. I bought a cob size halter for my large pony and the halter ran VERY small. I should've bought the horse size but ended up giving the halter away as a gift. It seemed like a nice quality and very durable.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable; Excellent quality I use Hamilton halters both at home & at the show for everyone.That particular Hamilton halter in the picture on my late beloved Spirit in the picture was already several years old.That picture was taken 3 yrs ago and I am still using this halter (2/2013).I have 8 horses & that halter has been through 100's of baths.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More expensive but worth it. My warmbloods "outgrew" their nylon halters when their fuzzy winter coats came in, and this halter fits great because it runs a bit large. The pointed metal end on the strap makes it easier to get on, too. The colors are great. My halters hang on outside runs in all weather, and they still look good, wash easily and dry quickly. I have bought 4 of these so far, and I love them. They cost more than other nylon halters but are so worth it.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hamilton Nylon Halter The halter is fantastic, looks and fits great, love the little custom touches.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hamilton Nylon Halter The halter is absolutely beautiful, the fit is fantastic. It's soft and durable, the horse looks beautiful wearing it.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price The Hamilton Nylon Halter is extremely durable, the brass fittings and clasp are excellent and it holds it's shape very well. For daily use, you can't beat the quality and price.
Date published: 2012-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Halter This halter is very well made. I love the throat snap for easy on/off!
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely durable purchase This is an extremely durable halter. It stands up to heat and rain. My mare wears it every day when she is turned out and it has shown little sign of wear in the time I've used it.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for head tossers I had an old Hamilton halter that I got with a horse who retired here and I really liked it. I guess the best part is the (weighted) brass tip on the well proportioned (i.e., long enough)strap. It helps to "guide" the strap over my big boy's head as he tries to eat the rest of the halter. The new Hamiltons are softer than the old ones, too.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stable halter Bought this halter for a large Quarter pony. I ordered the cob size and had to return it for the next size up. I like the quality and the snap at the throat. It is a great everyday stable halter.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate size This halter, size large horse actually fits a large horse.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get this Halter!!! This halter is very sturdy and will last a while. The halter hasn't rusted out like all my other halters do fast!!!
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful halter I love these halters! They do great out in the weather, after a bath etc. Long lasting and do not rub. Very adjustable. Highly reccomended.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting and Gorgeous!! This is a great purchase. Even though I didn't buy it from SmartPak, I wish I had because their shipping is cheaper and the price is cheaper! The Navy looks AMAZING on him!! Love the solid brass hardware. Really stands out beautifully on the navy. Before you buy a really cheap halter that you will probably haved to replace, get this! you won't be dissapointed!
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I've gotten so many compliments on the color of this halter (I purchased the navy) and it was one of the more reasonably priced options. Average horse size was a perfect fit for my 16.1 TB gelding. Great value for the price, very durable: Honor is kind of a spaz and he hasn't managed to break any of the hardware!
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used Hamilton halters for a long time. I like how sturdy they are. The fit is good and they last. They may be more expensive than some nylon halters but they are worth the extra money.
Date published: 2011-11-30
  • 2016-10-26T13:00CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_5041, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders