Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Fly Predators

Item #12493
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The environmental solution to pesky flies!

Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insects never bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt the breeding cycle of flies. Sprinkle on manure areas monthly to control fly populations. Up to 94% reduction in pest flies have been reported. Fly predators cannot be returned as they are living.

Favorite Features

  • Automatic delivery available for easy, convenient reapplication

Customers Also Shopped For
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant ...
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant bugProtection forHeavy workouts in the hottest, most humid weather! This water-based formula kills and repels multiple species of flies and mosquitoes and stays active for up to 14 days. Favorite Features Protects ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UVProtection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily Imported Sizing It ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet RideProtecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader pasture fly mask Can ...
The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection ...
The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrumProtection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free shine. ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Fly Predators is rated 4.239669421487603 out of 5 by 121.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Product does NOT work on horse flies! I did not realize until after I received my first shipment and read the advertising brochure that came with the product that Fly Predators does NOT work on horse flies which is our major problem. I came back here on the site to see if it stated anywhere in the product description that it only works on certain flies and didn't see anything describing what is stated in the company's brochure.I can't recommend this product only because it does not take care of horse flies.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They're effective, non toxic and a good value. This area has pigeon fever, so it's really important to keep the farm very clean & fly free. These simply work & I don't need as much strong chemical fly spray.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I have used fly predators from another source and still had fly problems. This year I decided to use to the Spalding Labs predators and I am so glad I did. My fly population is so low this year. They arrive right on time and have never had a problem with my order.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not worki I tried the fly predators. I didn't see any difference.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought these a month ago and they really seem to work great for our farm we only have to worry about the no seeums and gnats now
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic fly control So, we started the fly predator journey 4 months ago. We were ready to change the farm name from Legacy Dream Stable to legacy of flies stable. Fly predators saved us from the invasion! We live in a highly concentrated farming area with all types of agriculture kept on these various farms, we had flies on top of flies followed by flies. Even with proper manure maintenance from us our neighbors flies were still vacationing on our property. Love thy neighbor is ok, loving thier flies is another issue! We have a few flies here and there around the property now and have also gotten a few of the neighbors interested or ordering these little life savers. Our horses and chickens thank SmartPak! If you are thinking about ordering them, stop and just push the buy now button in 3 months you will be the happiest fly-less person ever.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't work I know several people who use fly predators and they work great. So far for me I see no change. Wondering if I haven't used them long enough or not using the correct quantity
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love!!! We started using fly predators this spring, and its great! Our barn is no longer taken over by fly's, like before. Our horses are happier too!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Florida I get Fly Predators every single month and incorporatell it into other fly products I use to keep my horses as healthy, happy and fly free as possible.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps flies down with 3 horses we have a few flies but it's not swarming. I put them out by the barn and manure pile. My neighbors don't use them so we get flies from their farms, but it keeps them to a minimum around here. (Maybe my neighbors will see this and get some!)
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Might seem like the wrong season for this, but... Reflecting over what I did during the summer with my horse, I would like to think the fly predators did their job. Although, having nothing to compare it to, I am not 100% certain. I still saw flies about in November (?!?!?!?) but, we had abnormally high temps through the solstice. All I can say is, if you have 1-2 horses, 19.95 is a small price to pay to minimize such pests.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing for small Horse property We used this for our small Horse property of 2 equines for nearly 2 years. We discontinued use of fly predators this past year and see no difference. The recommended amount for so few Horses seemed inadequate. It's just a tiny bag that seemed silly and ineffective. We are having much better success battling flies by giving our horses Smart BugOff ULTRA along with weekly harrowing of manure.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful little bugs! Been using Fly Predators several years. They are simply fantastic. It doesn't take long to notice a difference between your barn and others. One thing you need to watch is the additional fly repellents you use, since most will kill your Predators as well. I always opt for a product like VeruGreen Bug Repellent, so my little critters aren't harmed.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only thing that works Until we started to use fly predators, we were plagued with flies and no product worked. I put them out twice a year and put out a lot. This works better for us than the monthly recommended amount. We are in a horse community in Florida and live on ten acres with three. I put out 20,000 or more twice during the spring/summer.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fly predators We can't see that the fly predators at all, but my shipment was messed up and we received them mid summer when the flies were established.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly predators worked well The predators worked well but I think I needed more predators than recommended because the fly population did not reduce as much as I hoped
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slight decrease in flies I live in an area where the flies are very bad for about 4-5 months. I started using the predators this year. I noticed a slight decrease in the amount of flies. Nothing significant though for me to order them again next year.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We bought this product last year and decided to buy it again. It really helps reduce flies!
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok I think I probably should have bought double even though we only have two horses because it is a very large property and we have four goats.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from natural way to combat fly issues While it doesnt eliminate flys 100%, the reduction in population is definitely noticed. We have several areas that house horses around us that to our knowledge dont use this method, but we still manage to significantly see a reduced problem and a natural way to do it. It does require more than one treatment per season.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did very well Did what it was supposed. We just had way to many flies this year. It doesn’t work on horse flies.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is the best way to help with future flies. Our barn had minimal flies this year due to the fly predators
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment for pest control Forgot to order these earlier this year so we started having a real issue with flies. This summer has been wet and mild which is perfect breeding for flies. Since starting we have had 4 orders and our pest population has dropped 80% or do!
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT STUFF I love these bugs!!!! They totally work!!! I was freaked out at first but when I saw how they were eating the bad bugs and noticed less flies around my barn and fields, I started to fall in love and couldn't wait for the next delivery. My non horse friends now think Im crazy because I get excited when my BUGS get delivered. Even my neighbors have commented about less flies in their yards.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoo, Flies! Fly predators work great! I have been using them for a few months now, and even with all the rain we've had, there are very few flies.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm a believer I had reservations about this product since I had no way of really judging how well it worked. Our flies are way way WAY down from last year, even with the buckets of rain we've had. I do wonder how long they "last" due in part to the consistent rain, there seems to be no perfect time to spread them. Seems to be worth the money for our area, now we just need horse fly, mosquito, and gnat predators!
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not thrilled Product did not work as well as thought wld. Clda been because of my birds eating them
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Fly predators We have 2 horses and I purchased 1 to test and see how well it worked. I am very pleased with the results. No flies and a lot less buggy.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Definitely saw a reduction in flies. Very easy to use
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They sure do help Have seen a lot less Flys since my first purchase of fly predictors
Date published: 2015-06-24
  • 2016-10-27T13:10CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_2493, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders