Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Flash Converter

Item #14142
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A Flash Converter converts a regular cavesson into a flash noseband. Designed with stitched-down stainless steel buckles. Brown or Black.

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Made of strong elastic which attaches to the ...
Description:
Made of strong elastic which attaches to the girth and adjusts over the poll. Encourages your horse to drop his head, flex and stretch forward to the bit without encouraging the resistance and resentment of a nonelastic cord. Black. One ...
Designed for use with asjustable tree Wintec, Bates ...
Description:
Designed for use with asjustable tree Wintec, Bates and Collegiate saddles. The EASY-CHANGE Gullet Set comes complete with five gullet sizes, an instruction booklet, 2 spare head screws, 2 spare t-nuts, 5 spare gullet screws and the Easy Measure Gullet ...
All Thorowgood saddles feature a quick change gullet ...
Description:
All Thorowgood saddles feature a quick change gullet bar system which enables you to alter the width of your saddle to best fit the profile of your horse's withers. If your saddle has a square cantle, it will be fitted ...
Do you ride lots of horses in a ...
Description:
Do you ride lots of horses in a day? Tired of searching for the right girth to fit a variety of horses? Look no more! The Girth Extender is made of top quality durable bridle leather with roller buckles. Brown. ...
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
Description:
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
The EASY-CHANGE Fit Solution is the first total ...
Description:
The EASY-CHANGE Fit Solution is the first total saddle fitting solution that not only enables full adjustment to be made to the saddle, but empowers riders to custom fit their saddles in a matter of minutes. Riders can select the ...
This handy piece of schooling equipment may be ...
Description:
This handy piece of schooling equipment may be small, but it carries its weight in gold. The Instant Gag, was designed with Olympic Medalist, Anne Kursinski and is used to turn any bit into a gag bit without the hassles ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Flash Converter is rated 3.9302325581395348 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and Convenient The flash converter is so convenient. I found it to run a bit big, but nothing that a hole punch can't fix. No complaints !!!
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Manufacturing Mishap When I first bought this product, I thought the buckle would be on the left side and there would also be an extra keeper. Like a "normal" flash attachment would have. A few days later my attachement came in. After I oiled it, I figured out that my flash's buckle was on the right side and there was no keeper. It is very annoying now to fasten the buckle on the other side than what I am used to. I will not be buying this again.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugly leather, but works The "brown" is one of the ugliest pieces of low quality red-orange leather I've ever seen, and hasn't darkened yet with oiling. However, the buckle and stitching are fine and it works for schooling. I was surprised to see that this was Kincade brand, not Harwich as I saw in the catalog - I was expecting better quality. The strap is very long, but easy to fix with a hole punch. The folded piece was large enough to work perfectly with my raised and padded 1" wide nosebands. I wouldn't recommend this for showing unless you are already using a Kincade bridle as it is unlikely to match most tack.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Returned this! I did not like this flash converter. It was very poor quality. I wasn't even sure if it was real leather. Besides it being much to light, it had a weird smell. Like berries or something.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from mixed reviews The flash serves it purpose. However its a red leather. It won't match most bridles unless its oiled several times.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big We bought this for my son's large pony and the loop that attached to the bridle is too big so the flash comes down too far on her nose. A regular flash bridle does not have such a large loop so I am not sure why this one does. I will have to return it, if I can ever remember too. It seemed like it would have worked well if it fit. Not great leather, but good enough for our purposes as we wanted to try out a flash bridle to make sure it was what she needed before investing in something really nice.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but... I'm happy with the quality of this product for the price. My only complaint is that the attachment piece is a bit big. On my 14.3 hh QH it came down too low and I had to punch holes in my caveson. Also like most flashes i had to punch extra holes in the strap and cut it shorter. Could this product come in pony or cob size???
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Impressed This was not as I expected. The leather was very thick and stiff. I conditioned it repeatedly in an effort to make it a little bit flexible but it remained very stiff. It was so thick and stiff that it was very hard to thread the strap through the little converter piece itself. It did not even think about laying flat on the bridle or the horses nose, looked horrible and looked like it was rubbing the horses nose pretty good as well. It was so bad I ended up going without a flash.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for a great price This is a very nice flash converter, the leather is soft and its easy to put on my bridle. It is pretty long, so if you have a smaller horse you may have to add a few holes. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for a cheap alternative to buying a new flash bridle.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice workmanship This is nice quality leather. I actually bought it to use for a rein-extender. I cut it, punched holes, and hooked it to each end of my reins to make them a little longer. It's plenty long and you can cut it to whatever length you like. It's a nice piece of leather and at a very reasonable price. A good value whatever you use it for!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple but Great Value! Very attractive flash converter but the leather is a little hard. It was exactly what I expected considering the fact that it's $10. Definitely the nicest flash converter that I've ever had and matches well with my medium-dark brown bridles.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, Yet High Quality This flash converter had very good quality, soft, and supple leather. Fully adjustable to fit all sizes. (You may have to punch a few extra holes if you own an Arabian or a smaller nose horse.) Excellent value! As always, superb customer service and fast shipping with SmartPak!
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple but it works The flash converter seems good- it is cheap and does the job. The leather is a lighter color than I had hoped, but hopefully after oiling it a lot it will darken to more closely match my bridle. Leather seems good quality.
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value! I bought this flash as a replacement for a lost one and I was amazed by the quality at this price. I would definitely recommend this prodcut to anyone who is looking for a replacement flash or a converter!
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent flash converter This flash converter is decent, but it runs a little large. The leather is fairly stiff at first and definitely needs oil.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Replacement I bought this to replace the flash on my black dressage bridle. I slid the converter tab off and it works perfectly. I didn't know when I ordered it but it is made by Kincade - an actual name brand which was a huge plus.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints! My trainer recommended that I use a flash for my horse, so I purchased this addition for my bridle. I have no complaints- easy to put on, works perfectly!
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Item is very nice. It works perfect for our pony. We had to cut it down, but works like a charm!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This flash converter is BEAUTIFUL! I had to punch a couple of extra holes in it to make it fit my Trakehner mare but that was done in probably four minutes! I love it!
Date published: 2011-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheaper leather than expected This nose band is fine for a small amount of money, but I don't for see it lasting very long. The leather is stiff and already has little cracks from me putting it on my bridle and on my horse. It's also way too big for my quarter horse mare. I am planning to soak it in oil for a while in hopes it might loosen up a bit, but I have done this to cheap leather in the past and it doesn't tend to get any more supple no matter what you do.
Date published: 2011-05-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unattractive, Not Worth It Smartpak should have a larger selection of bridle pieces. This was the only flash I could find, but it was too large for my horse, bulky, unattractive, not a good purchase.
Date published: 2011-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, economical flash converter. The leather is plasticy, but again it's inexpensive. Seems to run a bit large.
Date published: 2010-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works... but it sure isn't pretty. I am having a really hard time getting the leather to darken to match my bridle. That said, it works and the leather seems to be decent quality- its soft and supple out of the box.So, its a good buy for the price, but don't expect it to be a dark havana brown. It's reddish brown in color.
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not attractive This flash attachment is unfortunately not very attractive. The connector piece is very large and looks extremely awkward on the horse. The leather quality seemed good and the color was fine as well, but the connector piece just looked awful. I returned this item.
Date published: 2010-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quaility So pretty. Leather matched previously purchased bridle perfectly. Fit was perfect and material quality (both leather and buckle) was unbelievably nice, especially for the price!
Date published: 2010-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to attach This is a nice alternative to buying a flash cavesson.It is easy to attach. Leather quality is o.k.; what you could expect for the money.
Date published: 2010-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but broke This item has quality, and for the price it's a steal! Terrific leather (for the price) and wonderful. Only thing, the VERY FIRST time a latched on my pony, the keeper snaped. I was disapointed, only because I loved it. I would really reccomend this to my friends, it's a good price for a good product.
Date published: 2010-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent buy Very nice converter for the price! Fits my briddleperfectly.
Date published: 2009-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Great piece of tack to have around. Very easily converts any noseband into a flash. Economical. I had to punch a few extra holes in it, but that is to be expected and not a problem. Leather is very good quality. I am very satisfied with this purchase and would have no problem recommending it to someone else.
Date published: 2009-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Aid Great price,good quality,easy to use,my horse seems to like it!
Date published: 2009-08-14
  • 2016-09-27T12:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_4142, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders