Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Fieldsafe™ Halter

Horseware Ireland
- Item #13886
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Fieldsafe Halter is durable and has VELCRO brand breaking points that release at a given pressure. 

Favorite Features

  • Made from a durable nylon
  • Quick release cheek clip
  • Adjustable noseband and crown piece
  • Velcro breaking points that release when under a given pressure
  • Reflective labels to help find your horse in the dark

Sizing It Up
Pony (fits average ponies)
Cob (fits average horses)
Horse (fits large horses and warmbloods) 

Please note, all breakaway halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! Great for ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the features an extended 10' detachable lead. Favorite Features Brushed nylon Accompanied bySoft, 10' detachable solid-colored poly ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Favorite Features Adjustable ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Fieldsafe™ Halter is rated 4.482142857142857 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! I purchased this halter in a bright red when I brought my horse home. Being a chestnut, I wanted a visible "I am a HORSE! NOT a DEER!" halter since I live in popular deer hunting area. (I also purchased different weight orange turn-outs.) This halter has held up so well. I still use it as a breakaway, but the red has faded so I needed to buy another preparing for this upcoming season. I was so happy to see you still sold them!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy Nice product has been holding up well! Seems to be pretty sturdy...holding up to Halter tug of war!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The velcro is a great safety feature! I am very happy that I bought this halter for the horse that I take my riding lessons on. It has the velcro safety feature on it which is what made me choose thishalter. It fits him well and appears to be comfortable on him. No photo yet. :)
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe & nice looking I bought an identical halter about 2 years ago...really like it but it is getting a little worn so I ordered another.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseware always makes a great product Very nicely made, fits well, looks great on my horse
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the newer blue color! We have had these halters for two years for our riding school horses, and now I have found one for a client's pony. I love that if, for any reason they are caught or get pulled off, the velcro comes apart and the halter is saved! Very good quality materials, too.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome halter! This is a very well-designed and sturdy halter with plentiful adjustment buckles. The nose and has a soft lining, and after about a month of outdoor use, it still looks new. I'm very happy with its overall quality and design.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter Bought this to put a grazing muzzle on and needed the breakaway feature. I like the Velcro as it won't have to be replaced if it breaks away. Padded crown is nice, too. Bright color red to be easy to find in the pasture!
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have used several of the "original" version of this halter for many years on my two horses. I was drawn to this halter because it offered me an alternative to the leather crown piece on most breakaway halters. The concept of the halter works well and I have been pleased with the strength of the breakaway velcro on the older model. I have found the quality of the "new" version to be lacking with regard to the materials used and overall construction. The cheek pieces on the original halter are triple layered, made of a more sturdy material and the fittings, (buckles, rings, etc.) are of an inferior metal and appear to be much lighter in density. I am disappointed that Horseware has condoned this overall reduction in quality product made for their company. Unfortunately, for those of you who have never used this halter before, you will not be able to have a standard by which you can compare the halter.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good So I have a had this halter for about a month now. As soon as I pulled it from the box I loved it, the red color looks so good on my dapple bay mare, the reflectors on the cheek pieces even look nice and don't catch the eye too much (in daylight) I do have 2 complaints though, the first being that the aforementioned cheek pieces have already started to break, little pieces from the edges at least. The second is that I wish the clip for the throatlatch were a bit more sturdy, it's not going to break any time soon but I feel like if given the chance the clip might break before the velcro for the safety release pulls apart. Other than those two, I'd hardly call them problems, things, the halter has performed wonderfully and I am happy knowing my mare is as safe as she can be.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! This is a great halter! It was large enough to fit my warmblood's head comfortably. I love the reflective strips on the cheek pieces. I was a little concerned about the velcro not being held together strongly enough. I tried pulling it apart myself and it wouldn't budge. I feel better about the fact that it'll take a really good tug on it for my horse to break it (he just broke a leather break away). It's holding up just great in the rain and snow that we've been having.. Price is right for a halter which is going to be out in the elements!! Thanks!
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features The help i recently had on sizing this halter was great. love this halter. Made well.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from watch the lining I bought this halter about a month ago, I liked the idea of Velcro. Within a week my horse had removed the lining... and tried to eat it...I trimmed the lining off.Other than that it was nice to find a halter that fit my large-headed quarter horse with room to spare.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent halter We bought three, one for each horse. They hold up very well, clips maintain their integrity, even with lots of rolling. ;)The breakaway is the best! My mare got upset while waiting for another horse to load. She started pulling, getting upset, could have been pretty ugly. The halter let loose and she "unloaded" herself. The best part was I was able to reattach the velcro piece and put her halter right back on! No loose horse with only a lead rope to hang on to her!We had another one break away in the pasture, caught on something, but the horse was free and safe.They are a bit more expensive than your run-of-the-mill break away halters but worth every penny!!
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Bought this about three weeks ago and it has worked great. It is padded so no run marks after long periods of wearing. I love that it has a safety release made of Velcro. If it breaks I can just put it back together without working to another leather piece and trying to fix the halter. I got the blue halter, which looks great, but wish there were more color options.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea I bought this to have on hand when my horse looses the current halter. He goes through several a year. This appealed to me because of the breakaway feature.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good alternative to leather crown So far I've only used this halter a handful of times but I am very happy with it. I can't really rate the durability until I use it more often after my leather halter dies.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breakway Halter I needed to replace a halter with one with a breakaway release. I've only used it for about a month, but it is very nice, and has stood up to our weather in the Pacific Northwest. I very much liked that there were two different pressure relief options. The material is of a good quality, and my mare appears to enjoy it as well (no doubt because she gets told how pretty she looks in it). Our barn owner liked it so much that she is thinking of asking other folks at the stable to get this type when they need to replace a halter.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breakaway Halter for Frequent Flyers I have a horse who learned some very naughty behaviors prior to my owning him, one of which was breaking halters. Love the velcro feature as if he pops it you just attach the velcro and Voila! you have a whole halter again without chasing down another little leather strap. This is a repeat purchase to replace one that finally looked a little too worn. I was pleasantly surprised to find the new one came with two replacement velcro pieces that had two different break strengths. We've worked hard to eliminate this behavior with much success, so we can acutually use the lower strength piece. Highly reccomend this halter!!
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent solution i like this halter and i think it will be a good solution to my mare's "pull back" when tied to the trailer. i have tried other halters but none seem to be as well constructed as this one for the price.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Ever If you have to leave a halter on your horse during turnout, this is the one to have! It has 2 different velcro breakaway straps with different levels of pull needed to release them. If they do come loose, you can easily snap them back together. Other safety halters have pieces that must be replaced.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as expected Definitely heed the guidance and order a full size down. My 16 hand thoroughbred fits the Cob - on the second to last hole. Originally ordered the Full size thinking it couldn't be 'that' big but was wrong. Said thoroughbred learned a long time ago how to sit down and break lead ropes, ties and halters, so after the last episode decided to get this one so I at least I would worry less about an injury. I ordered the red and and it's a nice true red. She likes it well enough and after pulling it off once seems to now know she's not 'trapped' and hasn't attempted again. The large labeling is a bit obvious but I would recommend for the safety it provides and value of not having to replace any parts....
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saving Money on Leather Pieces While a calm horse generally, my horse does seem to panic if he feels pressure on his head. If the pressure doesn't release, he's at a serious risk of flipping over. I bought this halter to try to avoid having to constantly replace leather breakaway pieces. So far, it's working perfectly for that reason!A couple of critiques: 1. The padding on the halter is exceptionally low quality. My horse doesn't wear this halter except when in the barn (he is turned out and stalled bare-headed), but if he wore it more often I would worry about rubs. 2. The hardware does seem like it might break easily. 3. From an asthetics view, the halter is kind of ugly, especially with "Fieldsafe" written so largely on the side.All in all, I'm happy with the halter. It does it's job and easily releases my horse when he panics, and is very easy to immediately reattach. If I want something nicer, I just use our nice leather halter.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety halter I bought this for my older horse after he started having trouble in cross-ties after an unfortunate incident. Long story but he was going through safety halters like mad. The leather pieces are expensive to replace. One time the leather breakaway didn't break, he pulled back so hard that one of the metal pieces on the halter broke and he slightly injured himself. I liked the idea of a Velcro piece so you don't have to replace leather. I only had one time where this halter relesed since my horse is *mostly* cured of his head-tied problem now. And I was glad that the halter released before my horse pulled hard enough to hurt himself! I use the lesser of the two attachments so it releases sooner. They do run small, as I bought the cob for an average horse head and it fits well. I have been using this halter for almost a year and it has held up well. I bought one for my other horse because it works so well.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter for my escape artist Love this halter for my 1600 pound draft cross. He hates being caught so I need to leave a halter on him. I feel safe with him wearing this at all times. The only reason I had to get a new one was that he brokethe throat clip.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst purchase My horse wore this for 1 week. He caught it on something in his stall. The velcro did not pull apart but one of the rings broke and pulled apart. So disappointed because it was more money then I wanted to spend but it came in red and He looks great in that color. This is the first time I have been unhappy with a Smartpak product.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit XL horses The halter is described as fitting large horses, but it doesn't. I have a shire x with a typical draft head. The nose band was way to tight to use.
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good safety halter This halter is a great idea, the velcro releases if necessary and you dont have to keep buying replacement leather pieces. I have not had mine release yet so I can't comment on how that works, but the halter is pretty well made, only issue I can see is that the thin padding inside the noseband and crown piece doesn't look like it will stay intact for very long. It does run large, my horse usually does fine in a regular horse size, but the cob size they recommended fits well.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, safe halter The Fieldsafe Halter is an excellent quality product with an extra safe design. One word of caution - the sizes run partially large. The customer rep did explain that to me, but I was still surprised by how large they ranNormally I would order the "horse" size for my quarter horses. Due to the customer rep's recommendation, I ordered a "cob" for this particular young horse. It was still too large.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not buy again I have ordered 4 of these halters. All four have fallen apart from halter tag games within three months. This is not a durable halter in my opinion.
Date published: 2011-03-30
  • 2016-10-20T13:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_3886, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders