Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses.

Favorite Features

  • Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof
  • Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses

Made in USA

Sizing It Up

Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg.

Stable Packages comes with 6 applications

Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old.

Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Customers Also Shopped For
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and ...
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears and ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains 2 repellents, plus pyrethrins and permethrin. Favorite Features Contains aloe and lanolin to condition the coat PABA sunscreen providesProtection from harmful UV exposure Sizing It Up 16 oz. or 32 oz. View ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap ...
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, ...
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, Stable Flies, Black Flies and Biting Gnats Favorite Features Includes sunscreen and coat conditioners Convenient, ready-to-use Endure Roll-On's easy-grip bottle features a large ball for easy, even application Works up to 5-7 ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.111111111111111 out of 5 by 171.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is GREAT for tick control Early in the season, when coming back from a trail ride, my horse had clusters of ticks on him. The bites really blew up on him, and I had to give him dex to get the swelling down. I read many reviews on many site about Equispot working for tick control, and they're all right ! Have not had one tick on him since I started using this product. We ride through woods that are heavily infested with ticks. I wish I could put it on myself ! Highly recommend this product !
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth It! I bought this product and am sad to say that it did not work at all.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works for ticks! I needed something to help keep ticks off my mare because she would come in with 2-3 on her per day. I read the reviews and decided to try this. It's been a week since I put it on my mare and I have not found any ticks so I believe it definitely works if you are looking for a tick preventative. I will continue using it. Thanks SmartPak!
Date published: 2015-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy application I like that I can apply this to my horse and she'll be protected from insects for up to 2 weeks. And it's not overly expensive.
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Knock out ticks! I have been using this product for two years during the warmer season. Though I do NOT think it repels flies, I have not found a tick on my 3 horses since I began applying this product every two weeks. Unfortunately, I have to use 4-5 "doses" to cover 3 large horses every 14 days. This is rather expensive. Also, the packaging is lousy which means some of the product ends up spilling onto the ground/stall floor. I have twice reported these concerns to the manufacturer. Wear gloves while applying as you don't need concentrated insecticide on your skin! I will keep using this product as we are plagued by many ticks in Northerm Minnesota.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more flies I have been using this for a year and it does a great job for the most part. If it is really hot out it does not seem to last quite as long as it is suppose to. Saves a lot of time because you do not have to treat horses daily or weekly like other products.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Product!!!! This product is great!!! This works great when you can be out at the barn every day! This product last for 2 weeks, way longer than fly spray. Way worth the money!!!!!
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when pastured near water I've had my mare at a couple barns with water (river/lake) nearby, and that definitely makes the bugs worse. I've found much fewer ticks on her after using Equi-Spot than without it, and I don't feel as bad if I don't fly spray her as often.Several friends and I split the value pack and it's been great!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for Biting Flies This works for those nasty little biting flies we get in Montana. This alone is the reason I spend the money on this. These nasty buggers can eat up your poor horse’s chest, face and neck in no time. It helps against the horse fly but doesn’t keep them away entirely, not sure anything really does. I like this because when my horses are out to pasture and I don’t get a chance to spray them they are still protected.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the ticks away! I have been using Equi-Spot all summer long, reapplying it every two weeks on my horses, and it has been very effective in keeping the ticks away this year. It doesn't seem to do much for the flies, and I do use a regular fly spray in addition, but it is very effective against the ticks. Usually, I find ticks in their manes and tails during the summer months and this seems to do the trick to keep them away. As a result, we don't have bald patches where they have rubbed their hair out because of the ticks and I don't have to deal with picking them off of the horses. Great product!
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't last I know this product is suppose to be water proof and sweat proof, but once I washed my horse a few days later, the flies were back on her. Since you can't reapply the product for 14 days, I was back to using fly spray from that point on. The 2nd time I used the product, I think it worked better. It seems to last a little longer, but still once I got into the 2nd week my mare was being bothered by flies, I was back to using fly spray. I don't have a tick problem where I live, so my main focus was the flies and gnats. Probably overall less flies were bothering her, anything is better than nothing. But I was hoping for a bigger difference. I didn't feel it repelled gnats at all which really bother my mare more than flies. I am hoping that the 3rd application will make more of a difference.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On our second dose and so far so good. There are a lot of tics this year and this product seems to help.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Equi Spot My Quarter horse is prone to attracting flies and ticks. So far this seems to have kept the ticks off and flies still present but a bit less annoying.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help I bought this a little over a month ago. Seems to help a little. Bugs still bother my sensitive gelding, but I haven't seen a single tick on him (he was coming in with 5+ ticks a day before). Def. worth the money.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep ticks off My mare is a tick magnet and was covered with them in early spring. This has virtually eliminated them. Flies are not out in real force yet so I can't really tell how effective it may be on them.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Good This product works really good to repel fly's from my horse. Although it does not repel all fly's it repels allot.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my horses in pasture Equi-Spot is my fly control choice for horses in the pasture. It stays on them a long time, so I don't have to catch them every day to spray them.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works! I've been using this for a year now and it's significantly reduced the amount of ticks I find on my horse. He's turned out during the day in a large (6 acre) pasture with trees and I hardly ever find ticks on him anymore. It doesn't work so well for flies, but I normally wait a few days after the initial application and start using my regular fly spray again. If you have a tick problem, I would recommend this for sure!
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I like this product but you tell after about 10 days or so it's starting to wear off. But it works great!
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big help with biting bugs... We live next to a swamp and river. Because of our extreme location it plays a key part in our bug control program for our horses. We take a multitere approach, because one approach it noy enough where our farm is located. EquiSpot, helps minimize daily fly spraying.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REPELS TICKS I have been using this product every two weeks during fly and tick season in Northern MN the past two years. I do not see any effects in repelling flies; however, I haven't found evidence of an attached tick since I have been using equi spot. I have complained to the manufacturer that the packets are poorly designed sometimes with leakage and many times with some of the liquid product landing on the ground when I try to apply to horses' legs. Also, if your horses are very large, you need one and one half doses (containers) to cover the body areas per the directions. This increases the cost of applying this product. Wear gloves to reduce your insecticide exposure!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must use more often than it says I bought this and started using it after my horse developed Lyme disease. I didn't want another re-infection. Well somehow even though I was using it every 2 weeks, he became re-infected again! I have a chestnut horse, so it is very hard for me to see any ticks. In fact, I've never even seen one on him! Maybe it does need to be re-applied sooner like the other reviewers have said...I usually stop using it once it freezes here, but our winter has been crazy. One week it was 50 degrees! I would suggest using it throughout the whole year if ticks are bad in your area...We do the same with our dog, so I assume it should be the same with horses.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great this product keeps ticks off my horse. I havent seen one since i started using it 2 yrs ago. I use it from may until november..
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from spot on My horse tested positive for Lyme a few years ago and it resulted in a lot of down time from training. I haven't found any ticks on him with this product on board and I've even been late with a few applications. Only down side is he doesn't like the feeling of it being applied, but he has not had any visible irritation from it.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tick control Bought this to try it to see if it would help with the ticks on the farm. I was pulling 10 - 20 ticks a day off them after using this I have not even seen ONE on them will continue to use this it is a great product
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from keep ticks off your horse! This product bypassed my expectations by a mile. My horse was coming in with 15-30 ticks in his mane just from being out overnight, and since putting the equispot on I have maybe pulled off two ticks, both at the end of the two week cycle before reapplying. My only complaint is that I was not expecting it to be so oily, and putting it in his forelock left a oily look for a couple of days. Just make sure to put it on after riding/bathing and at least 48-72 hours before going to any type of competition. Great product
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to my fly-fighting arsenal Wears off 7 days faster than advertised, but definitely works! My mare with Equispot had no ticks, my other mare without it had alot!
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tick control! No harsh chemicals! I don't know about fly control, but it is great at keeping ticks off your horse :)
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best control against ticks I use the equi-spot and do a fair amount of trail riding. I live in NH which does have a lot of ticks. This product has been the best to keep the ticks off.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Since my horse lives in the edge of a National Forest, ticks are a huge issue for us. He gets huge, oozy welts from the bites and will itch for days even after the tick is gone. This year seems to be exceptionally bad for ticks and in late April I was already pulling off at least 3-4 ticks per day. I applied Equispot and immediately saw no ticks for about 2-3 weeks. This product has been a lifesaver for my guy because nothing else has really worked for him to repel the ticks.
Date published: 2013-05-22
  • 2016-10-27T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders