Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

EquiSect Fly Repellent

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #14037
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Unique active ingredient approved by both the EPA and OMRI. EquiSect Fly Repellent repels and kills horn, stable, house, horse and deer flys as well as mosquitoes, lice and gnats on horses and ponies. Controls fleas and ticks on cats and dogs. EquiSect Fly Repellent is guaranteed to provide better results than any other popular natural repellent product. 

View Product Label

Customers Also Shopped For
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic ...
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic gallon jug traps up to 35,000 flies. Fly Terminator Pro is insecticide-free - ideal for use around livestock operations. Reusable. Patented, NO-RUST plastic top won't rust when exposed to the elements and ...
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and ...
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears and ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains 2 repellents, plus pyrethrins and permethrin. Favorite Features Contains aloe and lanolin to condition the coat PABA sunscreen providesProtection from harmful UV exposure Sizing It Up 16 oz. or 32 oz. View ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, ...
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, Stable Flies, Black Flies and Biting Gnats Favorite Features Includes sunscreen and coat conditioners Convenient, ready-to-use Endure Roll-On's easy-grip bottle features a large ball for easy, even application Works up to 5-7 ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


EquiSect Fly Repellent is rated 4.2025316455696204 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best organic flyspray Have tried many natural and organic choices, this one works as well as any of the chemical sprays and works better than any of the other natural sprays. I use it for both turn-out and trail riding and combine it with a Cashell flymask with ears for complete protection. It is OMRI listed, meaning it is approved for certified organic farm use.
Date published: 2011-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good fly spray I wish that I could use something stronger but my horse broke out in bumps when I sprayed him with Tri-tec. I like that Equisect is all natural. It has a pleasant odor and lasts just fine through a 2 or 3 hour ride. It's only OK for turnout but the flies have been exceptionally nasty this year. I like that I can use it on my dog too.
Date published: 2010-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and effective We've used Equisect since it was first introduced, and we've been very happy with it. It is safe and effective, and smells good.
Date published: 2010-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ! Doesn't have an obnoxious smell, and it seems to work well on the pesty face flies. Reasonably priced, I'd buy again.
Date published: 2010-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work for me this is a great idea - i'm all for green and natural but this did nothing to deter the green head flys, or the biting black flies. I was very disappointed.
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite! This is by far my favorite fly/mosquito spray. I have tried everything - and I mean everything. I have one horse that generally doesn't like fly spray, but will stand for this. I do have to spray my horses daily, but even with the sprays that claim to work longer I was spraying daily. I also like that it doesn't smell like chemicals and I can use it on the dogs ears.
Date published: 2010-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Really like this fly spray. It is strong enough that it lasts for days, and I don't have to keep reapplying harsh chemicals to my horses. Has a pleasant smell as well!
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Natural Product Keeps the bugs off, smells great, and doesn't have that "toxic" feel that many of the other bug sprays do. Isn't as effective on the big bombers or biting greenheads as the longer-duration traditional sprays (but what product really is?), but is a really good product which I would purchase again.
Date published: 2010-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This fly spray works great! My horse gets attacked by flies and would come in with blood all over his legs from the flys biting him, ever since I've been using this spray the bugs don't come near him! This is a great product at a great price!
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Natural Fly Spray I was on a quest to find a natural fly spray that actually worked for more than 5 minutes and my horse didn't develop hives from. I decided to try Equisect and am so glad I did. This smells nice, is all natural and actually works. I took my horse out in the bug infested park with this and she didn't get attacked at all. Her trail companion wearing a regular fly spray was attacked without mercy. I've repurchased this several times and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2010-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not stinky Doesn't appear to be as toxic as other fly sprays, which means that the spray doesn't stink but the flies aren't exactly dropping dead on contact, either. It's decent and I would recommend it because it's not bad for my horse or the environment.
Date published: 2010-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice I just received this 2 days ago and I love it already.I gave my horse a bath and put this on afterwords and it worked great, a fly came towards him and flew away.. It even chased off a bee that was bothering him. I definitely love this product.
Date published: 2010-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good so far this is working very well but its still early in the spring ;D smells good too
Date published: 2010-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works! As a "green" fly repellent, I was dubious about whether it would actually work, but have been pleasantly surprised at it's effectiveness! I re-apply daily, and appreciate the fact that I don't feel like I'm slowly killing myself every time I do. Seems to do a decent job keeping everything but the biggest horseflies away (but few repellents do anything against those guys!). I used to swear by Tri-Tec, but this is now my fly spray of choice.
Date published: 2010-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly repellent on the market!! After years of trying just about every product out there, I have finally found a spray I feel not only works but is safe for my horse. The combination of natural ingredients works very well on my very sensitive TB who is normally tormented by flies and other insects. I use it while he's out to pasture as well as on the trail. I have found EquiSect to be the most effective as well as long lasting and a great value compared to other, more expensive and less effective products. I also like that my horse isn't doused in chemicals - and it doesn't cause his dark bay coat to fade!
Date published: 2009-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well Got the first bottle of this as a free sample with my feed-through, and reordered another bottle for the rest of the season. Has worked very well - especially for gnats. Smells odd at first, but I like the natural ingredients instead of more oily chemicals. We will continue to use this product and recommend it for turn-out as well as stabled horses.
Date published: 2009-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy I love this bug spray and buy it by the gallon. Sure, at some point, no bug spray seems to work 100%, but this product works just as good, if not better, than the super expensive brands...and it's natural. Equisect smells nice and I don't feel like I'm poisoning myself or my horse when I use it.
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this fly spray I love this fly spray. Like most organic fly sprays, I do find myself using a lot, but I really appreciate the fact that I am not covering my horse with chemicals. At a certain point during fly season, it seems like no fly spray works that well. Even with the traditional fly sprays, and those that are made to supposedly provide several days of protection, I find myself spraying again and again in a single afternoon. I worry about the effects of such overuse, so it means a lot to me to have a fly spray I can use without guilt. Also, this smells lovely and makes my horse's coat feel nice - not oily or greasy, and he never objects when I spray him.
Date published: 2009-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best "Natural" Choice Over the years, I've gotten quite fed up with fly sprays. Most fall into one of two categories: 1. "chemical" sprays that work fairly well but have label warning that scare me away from using them and 2. "natural" repellants that the flies hardly seem to notice. Equisect, however, has been a blessing for me. Unlike other natural sprays, the bugs actually acknowledge its existence by (mostly) staying away. I also love how it's safer to use than chemical repellants. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2009-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Natural Fly Repellent I have been using this product for over a year and have stayed with this brand because I think it is the most effective "natural" fly spray on the market. Other brands that also claim to be more natural are typically not effective enough. This brand has changed my opinion of natural fly sprays -- they CAN be effective!!
Date published: 2009-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fly Spray I love this fly spray! It doesn't smell that bad, and it's all natural!! I use it all the time on my pony, and she rarely has a problem anymore!
Date published: 2009-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good Fly Spray I purchased this fly spray because I wanted a fly spray that worked but wasn't as harsh as some of the ones on the market today. It keeps the flies away while I ride and it really does kill any flies that are on him when I spray him. I will purchase this product again.
Date published: 2009-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from best "all natural" It competes with the "chemical" fly sprays. I find it works extremely well when I need it- dressage tests- but is more short term. Don't expect it to work for days.
Date published: 2009-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Fly Repellent We are having a ridiculous fly season, because of wet, steamy weather. This is my favorite fly spray. It works, it smells good.
Date published: 2009-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Natural, AND it works! I love this fly spray. It smells good, is natural, and is CHEAP, esepecially comapred to some other natural fly sprays. It does a fairly good job of repeling flies, ticks, etc, and I usually spray it once a day on my horse.
Date published: 2009-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good natural spray For a natural fly spray this works well. I started using this after reading the label on the back of one of the regular chemical fly sprays. The smell is pleasant. It does not last as long as advertised as I need to reapply it almost daily, which does make it more expensive. I'd says it's about a 3 on a scale of 1-5. My horses are right next to a creek, so mosquitoes and gnats are a constant problem. I like using it when I ride or on windy days because I don't have to worry about getting the spray on me, and it works well enough that I am satisfied.
Date published: 2009-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, need to reapply often I have tried a number of fly sprays and this is one of my favorites. It has a pleasant scent, I like the more natural ingredients, and it appears to work pretty well. You do have to reapply it fairly frequently, but I have found that to be true of even the sprays advertised as being long lasting (and I get nervous about applying those too frequently)
Date published: 2009-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insect spray! On our farm we are very much in to using the most natural or organic products we can find and this spray fits the bill! Nice smell as well, and it works! We have soooo many flies and mesquito's here in the desert of Arizona.
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent!! I will never use another fly spay! The only other fly sray that worked on my sensitive pony was Endure but since this doesn't have all the bad chemicals ( and it's cheaper) I switched. I love it!!
Date published: 2009-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I love that EquiSect Fly Repellent has a lack of dangerous chemicals. I recently had been another brand of fly spray on my QH gelding and he had broken out in hives. The EquiSect does not repel as well as the other ‘traditional sprays', but it works well enough to keep your horse pretty comfortable. Plus, it is gentle enough for even those sensitive-skinned horses!
Date published: 2008-08-11
  • 2016-10-21T11:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_4037, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders