Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

EquiSect Fly Repellent

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #14037
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Unique active ingredient approved by both the EPA and OMRI. EquiSect Fly Repellent repels and kills horn, stable, house, horse and deer flys as well as mosquitoes, lice and gnats on horses and ponies. Controls fleas and ticks on cats and dogs. EquiSect Fly Repellent is guaranteed to provide better results than any other popular natural repellent product. 

View Product Label

Customers Also Shopped For
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic ...
Description:
The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic gallon jug traps up to 35,000 flies. Fly Terminator Pro is insecticide-free - ideal for use around livestock operations. Reusable. Patented, NO-RUST plastic top won't rust when exposed to the elements and ...
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and ...
Description:
Swat Fly OintmentProtects wounds, open sores, scratches and abrasions from dirt, filth and disease-carrying flies. Botanically-derived pyrethrin formula repels house flies, stable flies, face flies and horn flies, and kills them on contact. Ideal for use on the ears and ...
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains ...
Description:
Flysect Super-C is an economical concentrated flyProtection contains 2 repellents, plus pyrethrins and permethrin. Favorite Features Contains aloe and lanolin to condition the coat PABA sunscreen providesProtection from harmful UV exposure Sizing It Up 16 oz. or 32 oz. View ...
TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. ...
Description:
TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. Uses an advanced, patented, triple action attractant that brings flies in to feed on the station. 2 pack. Advanced, triple action attractant Attractant lures flies from feeding areas Curved surface design facilitates ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
Description:
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
Description:
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, ...
Description:
Protects from House Flies, Face Flies, Horn Flies, Stable Flies, Black Flies and Biting Gnats Favorite Features Includes sunscreen and coat conditioners Convenient, ready-to-use Endure Roll-On's easy-grip bottle features a large ball for easy, even application Works up to 5-7 ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

EquiSect Fly Repellent is rated 4.2025316455696204 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok Only works for a few hours, I have to reapply every so often.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells great, doesn't irritate my skin I bought this fly spray as an alternative to harsh chemical ones which irritate my skin. It's not totally effective but I haven't found a spray that is.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't really work on my horse I've used this for a few days now and it really hasn't helped much. My horse is a dark bay and is really sensitive to the flies. I sprayed it on and then turned him out and saw that he was just as bothered by the flies as he would be without the spray. Not saying this spray doesn't work, just saying it didn't work for my horse.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray- I like it better than others! Been using this for about 2 months and really like the scent and the way it goes on. Seems to work better than the others I have used in the past.
Date published: 2015-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! I got this about a month ago and while my mare isn't too keen on the current flavor, it was nicely packaged (no bugs), is "horse proof," and the flavors smell great. Not for horses uninterested in food as it is too much "work" for my gelding.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super effective & smells great! I bought this for my horse because she's allergic to strong fly sprays. Since it's all-natural, I had to try it. I've been using since the start of this summer and it's the best spray I've used so far! It has a great smell and keeps the flies off really well.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective! And smells great! Bought it because it wasn't overpowering with smell. Realized how effective it is after trying!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My back up spray I use this spray as a back up when I run out of the ingredients I use to make my own natural formula. It works well and has been used in both SC and FL where bugs can be relentless. The scent is pleasantly subtle.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay I have been looking for a natural fly spray that works and this is probably not it. Florida is on a different level with bugs and flies and this doesn't quite cut through them. I felt like I had to keep reapplying. While it did work it didn't work as long as I had hoped. I think in a less extreme bug place this fly spray would work better.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best natural spray I've found! My vet and I both prefer to use natural fly spray when possible. The EquiSect is the best I've found (I think it's telling that my local farm supply quit carrying all the other natural brands but this one--but I can't get the gallon refills from them). The scent is pleasant enough and I can use it on myself too. You do have to spray liberally with this stuff for it to work, so I do go through more of it in a season, but the tradeoff for no chemicals is worth it to me. It doesn't repel ticks, though, so when I turn my gelding out in the long spring grass I do use some Endure on his underside.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Natural Product I use this on my mare with allergies. It works the best of all the natural products I have tried.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the $ Seems to work as well as any of the other natural, less expensive products. Definitely does more than nothing, but not as potent as some of the more toxic options.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well This product works well, but only for a short tiime. I like the pleasant smell.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! I have been using this during black fly, and now mosquito season. I have been happy with this product and use it for trail rides as well as to spray my livestock that lives on buggier parts of our property. It works better than other sprays I have used and I like that it sound have a super chemically smell or feel.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work Flies started landing even after I just finished spraying. Save your money. This spray doesn't work during the height of fly season.
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Compares poorly with water I bought this product for a horse with skin reaction to stronger products. I have sprayed this product on flies and they don't even go away! I'd rather be using water, cheaper and eventually the flies will drown!!
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For My Horse My horse is esp bothered by flies but is allergic to flysprays with heavy chemicals, which is why I bought it. It didn't last very long & I wouldn't buy it again.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good price but didn't work This only lasted about two hours when I used it, I would have to constantly have to spray my horses throughout the day it's a good price but not worth it as it just doesn't keep the flys away for long
Date published: 2011-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Fly Spray I absolutely LOVE this fly spray. It smells great - like fresh squeezed lemons. I've never had a problem with flies when using it, as compared to other brands of fly sprays. The price is great and it is safe for you, your horse, and the enviorment.
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Fly Spray! My favorite fly spray; by far. It smells great, seems gentle, and works well! It does a pretty good job at repelling flies but I've found it doesn't repel as long as more heavy duty sprays. I don't, however, need or like a spray that lasts super long. This spray fits my needs and I will continue to use it for a very long time. Also adds some shine!
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! Love this flyspray. My horse has reactions to alot of flysprays BUT not this one. It is great. I can use it everyday and it seems to keep most bugs away.
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Equisect Fly Repellant Unfortunately, the horse needs to 'literally' have a bath in this product to be effective at all. Also, the effects are short lived. This products is not suited for the biting flies or mosquitoes.
Date published: 2011-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works For Only a Few Minutes I bought this product for my sensitive mare who reacted to just about anything chemical. Although this fly spray did not cause any sort of reaction, it also only kept the flies off for about 10-15 minutes before they were back on her again. I finally spot-tested Pyranha fly spray and she had no reaction to that, and it worked. I realize that natural fly sprays aren't going to work as well as chemical fly sprays--but I certainly expected more from this spray then what I got out of it. I used two different bottles, in case the one was a bad batch, and still got the same result. Definitely would not recommend this spray. I would go for Pyranha's natural fly spray next time I need something natural.
Date published: 2011-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something natural that actually works Great natural product that actually keeps the flies off. Has a nice smell, and does not make the horses coat greasy.
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly repellent I have used this product in the past and am very happy with it.
Date published: 2011-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice natural alternative Equisect Fly Repellent is a nice alternative to other chemical sprays. It does seem to repel the bugs longer than other sprays without the patented ingredient. The horseflies in our area have been relentless this year and this repellent helps, although you need to reapply it frequently if working at prime bug time during the day.
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Safe Product Ingredients are natural and safe. Provides decent protection, as good or better than many products. Not the best for heavy fly days, but I'm not afraid to have overspray drift onto my own skin.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Horse I really like this fly spray because it doesn't have the strong chemicals and their smells like some of its competitors. My horse has sensative skin and it doesn't seem to bother him; works well to keep him happy and fly free.
Date published: 2011-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Spray Ever!!! I purchased this fly spray for the first time this May. With all the insects that new england brings this fly spray repels them all. My horse is out for about 7 hours a day, while the other horses are being pestered by the bugs, my horse hasnt had any bites and doesnt get stressed out. I also love how it doesnt have any harsh chemicals or a strong smell I reccomend this product to everyone!
Date published: 2011-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly spray!! I love this spray. It is all natural which is great to know that your not putting all of these chemicals on your horse. I have a dark mare and the flies just love her. When I got this they stayed away when riding and for turnout. Shes out all day so this was awesome. And at such a great price! Its worked the best out of all the fly sprays I've tried. I will definitely be buying again.
Date published: 2011-05-20
  • 2016-08-27T12:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_4037, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders