Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat

Equine Couture, LLC
- Item #20291
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a light weight, innovative fabric which offers incredible four-way stretch for total rider comfort in the saddle. This coat comes with stretch lining for easy movement while riding. Ultra suede collar and classic black buttons create an elegant look at an affordable price.

94% Micro Nylon, 6% Lycra.

Favorite Features 

  • Lightweight material
  • Four-way stretch
  • Ultra suede collar
Imported.

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
The PiperSoftshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and ...
Description:
The PiperSoftshell Coat by Smartpak is stretchy and lightweight! Match with the Piper Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak in White/Light Grey as shown or wear them with the Piper Show Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches and you're ready for show ...
R.J. Classics takes pride in offering you the ...
Description:
R.J. Classics takes pride in offering you the choices to fill your personal look of refined elegance in the show ring. RJ Classics is devoted to the attention to detail and the innovation needed which sets RJ Classics apart. The ...
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and ...
Description:
A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. Part of the RJ Classics XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid stretchSoftshell material that is not only comfortable, but machine washable.Favorite Features Stain resistant and water repellant ...
If you are ready to expand yourSoft shell ...
Description:
If you are ready to expand yourSoft shell show coat wardrobe, you can't go wrong by adding this lovely green coat. As part of the RJ Classics Grey label XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid green stretchSoft ...
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of ...
Description:
Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of lightweight stretchSoftshell fabric and sewn with the quality tailoring you expect from RJ Classics. This Xtreme Collection Grey LabelSoft Shell Hunt Coat featuresSoftshell fabrics and styling that brings innovative elements and a ...
The RJ Classics Victory XtremeSoft Shell Show Coat ...
Description:
The RJ Classics Victory XtremeSoft Shell Show Coat gives you an effortlessly sharp look in the show ring that is guaranteed to get you noticed! Featuring an unconstructed design style, with 4 front buttons, 2 zipper pockets, zipper sleeve closure ...
Classic design with high-tech features, from a brand ...
Description:
Classic design with high-tech features, from a brand you know and love: The Tailored Sportsman. Favorite Features Four-way stretch SchoellerSoft shell fabric Moisture-wicking 3XDRY fabric technology helps prevent noticeable perspiration marks, generates a cooling effect for comfort, and improves dirt ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Equine Couture Raleigh Soft Shell Hunt Coat is rated 4.055555555555555 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well, lightweight, and looks very nice! I purchased this hunt coat because I wanted something lightweight and A little more fitted for the spring show season. I had purchased others in the past that just looked cheap. This coat was perfect right out of the bag! It has a very nice shape, the material is high-quality and feels good. It is true to size. It also has just enough give when I bring my arms forward but is not gappy in the shoulder. Also, the customer service so far has been excellent. I am a new SmartPak customer and I've been incredibly impressed. Showing this weekend and wearing it for the first time! Wish me luck.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flexible fabric, good size. I am 5'11 and about 140lbs. I ordered a size 6 which fit as if it were custom made! I also love the fabric of this hunt coat, as it is flexible and doesn't feel restricting.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality and fit for the price Had trouble finding an economical black coat which fit. This coat runs true to size, except I had to exchange for the next size up (2 to a 4) as it was a little snug in the shoulders, but I am disporportionally a little wide across the upper back (hourglass shape). This made the bust and waist just a little big, but the material has enough body of its own to keep a nice shape and it looks good. I wouldn't say the quality compares equally to the more expensive coats, but I gave it 5 stars as I think the overall quality of this coast exceeds the cheaper price.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Normally it's hard to find things that fit me because I'm so small but it's really true to size. And unlike most costs it's so flexible and easy to move in and completely professional I love this coat
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good coat for the price I bought this for a last minute schooling show on a budget. It came too small so I overnighted a second coat 1 size up that fit much better. The staff on the phone was super helpful and the return slip they send with their items made it so simple to return the other coat. I think I prefer the look of the classic hunt coats (not soft shell) but this is obviously way more comfortable. When your already nervous about a show you don't want to feel restricted. Overall a good coat for the price. Not as structured as I would like but it still looks very classic. Just a tip, it is a bit shorter in length than most coats. The garment bag it comes with is also a huge plus for keeping tidy at a show!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black better in this coat I purchased the black in this coat and I love it. I wore it for a two day show and it was cooler than my wool lined coats, moves nicely, looks good and dries quickly. Surprisingly I wore it both days without it getting at all smelly. For this reasonable price I ordered the Navy as well. I didn't care for the Navy. For me it was too blue for the hunter ring. Kind of bright looking. The one I received was very wrinkled and had some strings I had to trim on seems. Maybe it had been a return. If it had been a darker navy I would have kept it. I think these coats are great especially for the price. Nice quality, attractive, cooler and comfortable! I ordered an 8 when I always take a 10 and the 8 is perfect. I took other's advice and ordered a size down.( Didn't wash it yet so I don't know how that will go.)
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Coat This review is based on not wearing the coat at a show yet. I have been trying to find a lighter weight coat with no lining and can not bring myself to pay over $500 for one that fit perfect. Another I tried was around $300 but had a very odd fit. So, I was hesitant buying this coat for only $100 but I am VERY impressed with the fit, appearance and material. I don't find it to be too shiny like one reviewer mentioned. But definitely shinier than a wool coat. It is stretchy and comfortable too. I ordered a size smaller as some reviewers recommended and it fits perfectly. I am thinking it will be cooler to wear than my wool lined coats that I will now save for fall and spring temps.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kinda disappointing... When I got this coat I was so excited it was exactly what I was looking for- fit great and was so lite weight, but after only a handful of times showing in it and a couple washes it is already starting to come apart at the seams. I hoping to be able to fix the seams (by the pockets) to be able to get a few more shows out of it but Im afraid this coat was a waste of money. Such a bummer too because I really did love this coat and it fit great.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft-shell coat! I bought this coat 1 year ago (see prior review) and have shown in it 6-7 times since. I have both the black and navy and LOVE them! After wearing my ($300) traditional Ariat coat for hunter classes, putting on my Equine Couture soft shell in black for the Derby or navy for Eq is a relief. This coat is NOTICABLY lighter, cooler, more breathable, and stretchier (and my Ariat coat does have some stretch). Perfect for hot Texas horse shows, but not too cool for the winter shows. I have not tried machine washing as a prior reviewer had an issue with how the collar looked afterwards. No problems with dry cleaning and I'm confident that to wear the coat for multiple days in a row one could just dust off/spot clean, spray with Febreze and let it sit on a hanger overnight. Trainers at my barn have some of the more expensive softs shells and I cannot tell the difference between theirs and mine when on a horse. I primarily show locally due to work/family time restraints, but (as my hubby and barn friends can confirm) I'm skilled at equine shopping and picky about gear/grooming/appearances - I would not hesitate to wear this coat at an A/AA show. I was worried that the lack of structure to the coat would end up looking sloppy or put me at a disadvantage for Equitation, but it hasn't been a problem at all. I would highly recommend sizing DOWN on this hunt coat as it goes by dress size. I know trying to figure out sizing in different brands while online shopping is a challenge (thank goodness for SmartPak's return/shipping policies!), so for reference...I am 5'7", 120lbs, 32" chest, busty, slender frame but with broad shoulders and hips and I wear a 10 in Ariat coats, 4-6 dress size, and ended up fitting the size 4 in the Equine Couture coat after multiple exchanges to SmartPak (including one after I wrote my first review). With the stretch in this coat don't be afraid to try the next size smaller than you think will fit, it actually looks better/more structured if there isn't any extra fabric to wrinkle.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits, moves, looks nice. A week before my horse trial, I decided to buy a new jacket. I needed something affordable and that fit. I picked SmartPak because of the shipping options and return policy. The jacket arrived a day early. I love that it shipped with a coat bag. Seems simple, but that's SmartPak's customer service taking care of all products. Yes, the jacket is not every expesive, but it fits, it moves, it is comfortable. I only wear a jacket 7-8 times a year so this is perfect for all of my events and whatever weather may occur. I'm a 16 and not easy to fit. Yes, it could look more tailored, but it isn't unflattering. Mission accomplished!
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Economy Jacket!! I bought this jacket on short notice, I needed a hunt coat, I only have dressage coats. Being "blessed" in the chest area makes it a challenge to find a nice fitting coat and this had the perfect amount of stretch to accommodate the "girls". This was my second coat to try, my first was a RJ Classics "Plus Size".....it was cut totally wrong! This Equine Couture was almost perfect! Very easy to move in. I haven't ridden in it yet, but I bet it is very comfortable. Only thing I don't like is the vents aren't cut high enough, very small complaint for a nice jacket (especially for the price!!) ...oh and the sleeves are too long...... :)
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect first show coat Just wore this for my first show... It was perfect! Stretchy and not too hot. I got a size 6 and it was a tad big but better too big than small! I'm just under 5'3" and about 135lbs. Very pleased with the coat!
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lightweight, great fitting jacket Bought this jacket for my daughter. She loves it. It is lightweight and very easy to care for. It fits her great. She loves that it is not super heavy or lined. It is great for her shows, as it does not trap in the heat. She has only worn it a few times since receiving it, but seems to be durable and holds up well. Great coat for the price!
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought the jacket for my daughter. She love it because it was comfortable when going over jumps. Smartpak is a great company to buy from. I got free shipping and free shipping to return item. I did return the first jacket because I bought the jacket to small. Smartpak also sent me a replacement with no shipping fee. Great product and great company.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It just didn't work for me... On first glance this jacket looked like it had it all. Flattering cut, soft color, and nice length were there but the seams on the bottom of the jacket were coming undone and it had a strange texture. Now, it may be that I'm not used to the soft shell type yet and that is my issue that I'll need to get over or just go with a more traditional (sadly, more expensive) wool. I like the price and recommend others give it a try especially since if it works for you you're saving a bunch and Smartpak has a great return policy but it was not a match for me.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great comfort! I bought this for IHSA, and have loved it so far. It doesn't have as much form as I'd like it to, but I'd trade that for the comfort and stretchiness of this coat any day!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! I'm a pretty small young woman (5'1") and have trouble competing in more conventional jackets; they tend to hide my posture and shoulder movements. I am delighted with the close fit and movement in this jacket! The size 2 fits me wonderfully and the length being a bit shorter than usual suits me perfectly.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome coat! I bought this coat a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it! I can't comment on durability because I have not had it for too long but it seems to be very well made. The fabric is light and breathable and also a little stretchy. I'm 5'4" and 105lbs and the smallest size fits me well. This coat seems to be very versatile and I'm very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You would never know its under $100! Everyone at the barn wants one now. A hair short if you are closer to needing a Tall but great fit, very stretchy and comfortable. Soft, dirt comes right off with wet towel if you don't have time to wash it and dries fast. Not heavy/hot. Awesome coat that is so much more comfortable than the old school wool ones. I highly recommend! Fits true to size but it is a hair short compared to what most traditional style coats are.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Jacket for the Price! My daughter wanted a Soft Shell Show Jacket but I wasn't ready to pay over $400 for one! This jacket is lovely and fit her perfectly! It looks expensive, it's light and you can wash it! Best show jacket we have ever bought~
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight and flexible coat. I love this coat. I live in Florida and having a lightweight flexible coat is so nice. The fit on me was perfect. True to dress size. Material is a little shiny but it didn't bother me. Does wrinkle a bit but overall I love it for showing in this super hot climate and it is so affordable.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surprise! I bought this jacket for my daughter who has just really gotten into riding. I've ridden for years and have had MANY high-end jackets, but we aren't sure how long she will be into it, so we didn't want to spend a bunch of money if she doesn't stick with it. I was a little nervous about ordering after reading some of the other reviews, but was PLEASANTLY surprised when it came. The jacket is well made and has great lines. The fabric seems durable and extremely easy to care for. I tried it on and am typically a GP size 10 and the 2 fit perfectly. I am thinking of ordering another for myself for rainy shows!! Not sure how it will do in the humid SC weather, but we will see soon!
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome for tall riders I just bought this and was super happy to find that the sleeves are long enough, which I have a really hard time finding. I am 5'11" and have long arms. The coat is nice and stretchy and fits true to size ( I normally wear a 12/14 and the size 12 coat fits perfectly, whereas my other coat is an 18) Haven't shown in it yet, but seems like a great coat for the price and will hopefully be much cooler than my wool coat for the summer
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice for the money It is definitely cut big. Thought based on size would need an 8 but a 6 was perfect. That said build probably factors in too-I'm lean, med chested, longish arms. But I think it is definitely cut larger than average. Really liked the stretch in it. I'm a fan of the soft shell! Just got it so can't speak to how it holds up yet. Inside isn't lined so will prob be good for warmer weather-but it doesn't look as nice from the inside. But that's ok-no one is seeing that side
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely for the price Bought this and the Horseware soft shell coat to compare. I much prefer this one. It's more classic for the hunter ring. If I were doing jumpers, I'd probably prefer the Horseware since the fabric is lighter. I won't be able to speak to comfort in this coat compared to wool until the spring, really hoping it's cooler. The sizing on this item is much closer to dress size than typical hunt coat size. I wear a 4-6 dress size, size 10 in Ariat hunt coats, medium in the Horseware, and a 6 in the Equine Couture. I'm 5'7", 120 lbs, 32" chest and busty with broad shoulders and a smallish frame. Hope that helps someone, I had a tough time figuring out sizes! I bought both the black (for the Derby at schooling shows), and the navy (for Eq). The fabric is fine, from a distance I don't think you'll be able to tell it's under $100. I can't wait to see what folks think at my next show in 2 weeks. I really like the navy color. It's blue enough that it doesn't look black at first glance, but still a true navy. The pic makes it look like the top part of the collar is a different, shinier fabric but it's not - the coat is all the same fabric, though it does has a slight sheen to it as it is a soft shell.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great value I ordered several jackets in the $90-$120 price range and this was by far the 'cheapest.' It fit OK - I usually wear a 12 and it fit fine - but the styling isn't flattering and the structure is flimsy.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! A soft shell coat for $99, really? After speaking with a Smartpak rep who showed at HITS in this coat, I decided to give it a try. Free ship and free return, what the heck! I was amazed!! As was everyone else I showed the coat too. No bells and whistles like the really expensive soft shell coats, but still awesome!! The first one I ordered didn't fit (my fault, I always order too big), and everyone and their brother tried it on and wanted to buy it from me! I ordered a size down and it fit perfectly. Showed in it on a warm day, it was so much cooler than those horrid wool hunt coats and much stretchier too for those bigger jumps! Love, love, love this coat!
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Coat hangs poorly This coat is very comfortable...has nice give and take, ran true to size for me...(buyer needs to realize it is shorter than most coats, look at the photo!) - but that didn't bother me at all. Its just the material looked cheap...and I know it isn't an expensive jacket, but I just expected better quality overall I guess. The collar and buttons hung poorly. Too bad - because it was really comfortable - would have been nice for those warm show days!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I expected a better jacket after reading the reviews. Not sure why I expected it to be so great at this price. This Jacket is a true example of "you get what you pay for"! In the past, I have ordered value priced items through SmartPak and have been surprised at the great quality.The sizing was fine and from a distance I'm sure the jacket will look fine. I could see how it would also be cooler than the wool type jackets. I found the back flap to kick out a bit to much and the fabric was a bit bunched at the seams.Would have loved to have found a good soft shell coat at this price, but it just was not for me. I sent it back. I will be saving my money for the ridiculously higher priced but better quality soft shell jackets!Thanks to SmartPak for the super fast and easy return.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket I can't wait to wear this jacket this show season. The style and fit are amazing. It's light weight..exactly what I was looking for at an affordable price. I could not rate durability as I have not worn it yet. Definitely would recommend this purchase.
Date published: 2013-04-04
  • 2016-09-25T13:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_10291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders