Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

English Hackamore

Item #14412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The English Hackamore has a fleece lined noseband to prevent rubbing. Adjustable curb chain. Please note, in the image, the leather portion of the hackamore has been oiled. When it first arrives, the leather is a light tan color. If you prefer a darker leather, add a coat of oil such as the Hydrophane Leather Dressing or Hydrophane Darkening Oil.


Customers Also Shopped For
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by ...
Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy ...
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing ...
The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a "MouthSoftening Complex," this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and ...
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection ...
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection in one single application. Cleans and glosses items made of stainless steel, chrome, copper, brass, Argentan (German Silver) and Aurigan (German Gold). Diamond Paste is odorless, non-toxic, non-acid and a special creamy ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
out of 5
87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


English Hackamore is rated 4.213114754098361 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought this piece- it was very easy to use and my mare loves it!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed I have a new horse that was having problems with both a curb and snaffle bits. This hackamore is very comfortable until I can have his teeth floated.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Product not durable as soon as i took it out of the box and felt it, it felt very poorly made amd the quality wasnt very good and the squeaky is so unbearable you cant move it any type of way to stop the squeaking and it was wayyyyyy too small to fit my quarter horse
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective I just got this for my young horse who tends to get strong on trail rides. I just need the leverage to keep her head up and get her to stop. This is the first thing I have found that works. It's great quality for the price and it works wonders!!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits nicely on existing bridle I purchased this to use while a sore healed in my horses mouth. We actually have not stopped using it. It fits nicely and he responds very well.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for the price Bought it for my mare who was ridden with a longer shank.hackamore.. i wantef a shorter shank and this works perfectly..nice padding in the nose piece
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable for my filly!! Bought this about a month ago ..my filly needed her teeth done..equine dentist & veterinarian could not come for a month. This is a life saver!! Since a bit was too uncomfortable , she is doing great in this hackamore !!
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I bought this because my horse had a surgical procedure on her mouth and I couldn't use a bit. This product worked great! Once she figured out what was happening she actually came to love it. The price was right and worked perfectly so my horse could heal.
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for price I bought this for my off the track standardbred who has a very touchy out and hates bits because they are too strong for him and he took greatly to this hackamore. He collects nicely and relaxes his head.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped Morab from gigging Faith must not like her bit, even though it was a snaffle as she would trot every few steps and toss her head when asked to walk. She might have an issue with her teeth, but the hackamore seems to solve her problem and it turns out, she neck reins!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hackemore i love it,Gets the job done,iv been riding mu whole life,and i coldent ask for better, thank you to all that had a hand in making this bit for me
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these to train with! I keep buying these, love them. Every time I train a new horse. I buy them their won hackamore. To dark all you need to do is use plain vegetable cooking oil, nothing expensive or fancy and it darkens nicely. They last for a couple of years each. never had a problem and my horses love them. an they are easy on the pocket too!
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well - you get what you pay for I bought this hackamore as a last resort after trying sooo many bits for my OTTB (who has a bad habit of bracing on the bit and has discomfort in single joint bits). I do recommend you try this hackamore for at least 5 rides before deciding whether or not it works well for your horse. My OTTB was so used to bracing on the bit for leverage that it took him awhile to understand there was nothing to balance on and canter work was certaining interesting those first few rides. When he finally got the idea he had to carry himself, we have had lovely light rides in the hackamore. He actually listens to my seat and legs, which is so liberating for both of us.I did not love the quality of this hackamore and returned it for the nicer Herm Sprenger version due to quality issues, but if you are just looking for a cheaper alternative, this should work fine. The nose band/chain was almost too small for my large headed TB. The color of the leather is a peachy-cream color, SO MUCH lighter than the oiled version in the picture. I was not able to get it to darken more than 2 shades with regular leather oil and some of the metal parts were already starting to corrode before the first use.
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price I had to purchase a hackamore when my horse hurt his mouth. This was the perfect product. I showed in it as well. Have been very pleased!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ugly As Sin But Does Its Job What this hackamore is:- Affordable: obviously.- Reliable: I've used it for 3 years, soaped it once, never had a problem.- Effective: It works as a hackamore should.What this hackamore is not:- Attractive: This hackamore is not attractive. The color is somewhere in between light tan and if you soap and oil the heck out if it, it will not darken to a lovely color. It will look awkward.- Quality: The leather is not of good quality. I wouldn't say it would be prone to breaking unless you were doing the Yank & Crank 24/7, but if you are, get another hack.I really like this hackamore though, as it is affordable and effective. I use one on a pleasure horse and one on a Rhinoceros/Draft Cross jumper. While I wouldn't use it at a rated show, I have used it at a local show. I covered up the noseband with a super plush fleece cover and that has done the trick. I have never had a problem with the curb chain rusting.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hackamore! I bought this hackamore so I could give my mare a break from her bit. She likes it, and it is a great product at a good price.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves this I bought this Hackamore for a horse with teeth issues, and it is the best solution by far. It sits at the bit seat, which appears to be a comfortable, yet very effective solution. Great value.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I bought this product about a month ago. I had never tried a hackamore on my horse before and did not want to spend a ton of money if he then hated it. It arrived the next day and he loves it. It is much lighter in color than it shows in the picture but it does darken with oil. No complaints about this product, it is a great starter hackamore!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality It's nice to have an affordable option but the quality of the leather was so poor I was afraid to even try it for fear it might break. I read a couple other reviews that said it did in fact break during use. I sent it back the same day. It would be fine for light riding but I wouldn't trust it for much more. Also, they warn you about the color...believe it.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect! This is an unbelievable value. This hackamore fits my 14-3 Quarter Horse perfectly, but then again he does not have a very big head. The chain would be tight on a horse with a larger head. The leather does darken when oiled. I am very pleased with this product. Would have given it a 5 except I think the chain would definitely be too tight on horses with a larger head.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My trainer suggested that we try a hackamore with my mare, as she's very mouthy with every bit we've tried in the past; she'll constantly grind her teeth, play with the bit, and toss her head. She's MUCH happier with a hackamore, but as I ride English sometimes, I wanted a shorter shank than the Western models of hackamore offer. This bit fit the bill.I did need to buy a new, longer curb chain, as the one that came with this bit was simply too small for my ridiculously large-headed mare, even with the front leather pieces extended to the last hole. In fairness, said mare wears a Warmblood sized halter (she has a huge head for a Paint!), so the size is probably perfectly adequate for a normal horse.The leather is MUCH lighter in reality than it is in the picture on the website, but the light color of the leather doesn't really bother me. It did darken a bit with some oil, but as we don't compete, matching tack really isn't a priority.Overall, I'm pretty happy with this bit. My horse is sooooo much happier in a hackamore, and this bit suits my needs and budget.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works for my horse This is working well for my horse. Just concerned that we are on the last adjustment on the nose band and had to punch holes to lengthen the curb chain. He's not a big horse and his head isn't larger than normal. I don't really care about the light color of the leather that other reviewers were worried about. We don't do anything that requires matching tack.... I'd like to have enough leather on both nose and chin that I don't need to worry about the short end coming loose if he rubs against something....
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hackamore worked great until it broke on the second use. horse took off.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value I purchased this hackamore as my new horse was ridden exclusively in a hackamore for the last 4yrs and thought I would try it until transitioning to something else more gentle. He has a short/wide head making the curb strap too tight to allow for proper placement of the hackamore on his nose. I will need to change it out for a longer curb strap. That being said, if you are wanting a mechanical hackamore, this one provides decent quality for an affordable price and I it completely met my expectations
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hackamore especially for te price! Decent quality, no sharp edges like some of the other reviewers claimed, but the color of the leather is awfully light and doesn't darken with oil. I plan to cover with a fleece noseband so it's not a big deal but it would be nice if I could darken it to match my bridle.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice piece of equipment like this hackamore. good for the price.. leather is good, hardware is good. gave our old one to a friend and just replaced it.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it was daker Everything would be perfect if it came darker. I've already oiled it twice with hydrophane and it's still very light (but I knew this would be my issue as soon as I bought it). Otherwise wonderful hackamore.Will have to buy a new one to show in but worth it for the experiment! My new jumper prospect loved it. REALLY like the short shanks. Will probably replace the curb chain with leather because he's sensitive but he rides great in it!
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price I bought this for one of my jumpers who we wanted to try it on. It is a great hackamore to start with because it gives you pleanty of woah but isnt as harsh as the more expensive ones. Good quality parts for the price and if you keep it clean it looks show ready for a long time.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hackamore for the $$ I wanted to try a hackamore, but I didn't want to spend much. This is a terrific value. My horse seems to love it, so if I stay with a hack long-term, I will probably buy one to match my bridle, but, for now, this is great. A really affordable option that is safe and sturdy. I will say that I ordered one from a competitor that I was afraid to ride in. No such concerns with this Smartpak hack.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This hackamore is awesome I was very skeptical that the hackamore would help with my horses chewing and open mouth while riding but he is now a totally different horse. He is happier, quiet, and relaxed when I ride.
Date published: 2012-10-08
  • 2016-10-22T11:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_4412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders