Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Elastic Breastplate

Item #16539
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Leather and elastic breastplate with removable running attachment and stainless steel hardware.  Brown, horse size.

Customers Also Shopped For
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
Description:
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Perfect match for the Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle and ...
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe leather goods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Traditional style with raised and fancy stitch accents. Stainless steel hardware. ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with ...
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the ...
Description:
Made of the very finest Sedgewick leather, the Edgewood Standing Martingale is vegetable tanned in the U.S. and has elegant and traditional styling. Favorite Features Raised fancy-stitch Rich chestnut finish that oils beautifully Crack resistant leather Smooth, nicely plated back ...
This 100% cotton girth is reinforced with nylon ...
Description:
This 100% cotton girth is reinforced with nylon webbing.Heavy duty elastic ends on both sides with roller buckles are great features of this washable girth, which distributes girth pressure evenly. A centrally located D-ring enables the rider to easily attach ...
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is unique ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.140350877192983 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for schooling As others have stated, the girth strap is extremely long and needed an extra whole nearly 6 inches from the last one to fit my horse. Other than that, it is a great breastplate! It keeps my saddle in place better than my last one and looks nice too. I do like the clips also, makes it easier for on and off when you have your horse in the cross-ties. I wouldn't show in it, however it is perfect for schooling and looks like it will be very easy to keep clean also. I don't use the running martingale, so I can't comment on that.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty nice for the price I was looking for an easy clean breastplate for my Appendix QH. His leather one would get grimey so easily and I wanted one that I could hose off in the summer. I was impressed when I opened it, it seems pretty good quality and it looks really pretty. I will agree that the girth strap is extremely long and needed several holes punched before it fit properly. Otherwise, this is a great schooling breastplate. It looks great on my horse and keeps my saddle in place really well. It did not seem to restrict his movement at all. The leather is soft, but I would suggest oiling or conditioning it to make sure that it doesn't crack with use. The stitching on all leather pieces looks good and tight, there are no frayed areas to make it look cheap.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Pretty but didn't fit my TB! I received this breastplate and appearance wise, its very pretty for the price. Sadly my OTTB's chest was wayyy to big for it, as it went up onto his windpipe, which can be very dangerous!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's perfect! Grate price for amazing quality! it is grate for every thing i do! i love this!!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It will do for the price Good deal nice snaps for easy on and off. Leather not great quality and it is a little loose due to breast part being elastic. Keeps my mare's head down though and is good for everyday.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price I have been using this breast plate for about a month now. It is a very good quality for the price. As others have said the metal hardware that attaches to the saddle are hard to use at first. Just add a little clipper oil on the clip slide and you are good to go. So far I have not needed to reapply the oil. One thing is that I wish it had is an option for a standing martingale and not just a running. I use this when riding my hunter to keep the saddle in place.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit My horse is very narrow and I've had a difficult time find a breast plate that fit him because they were all too long, especially the piece that attaches to the girth. This breastplate fit him perfectly, and there is plenty of space to punch more holes if necessary. my girth does not have a ring to clip the breast plate to so I simply removed the clip and was able to put the girth through it like you would for a normal martingale or breastplate.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for a Great Price! When I got a gift certificate to SmartPak from one of my clients for Christmas, I knew exactly what I was going to spend it on. I was incredibly pleased the quality of the product for the price I paid. The only thing I would change would be the clip at the girth part of the breatplate. it made the area too long, so I ended up taking it off and using the loop like a martingale loop. Aside from that, this is a great product!
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I am very happy with the look of this breastplate! It is a wonderful value for the $. It matches the Plymouth bridle wonderfully! The leather on this product is very soft and supple right out of the box.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to My Tack. I bought this about a month ago. It has worked beautifully. My friend and I like to ride our horses at night, especially when the summers in Texas get too hot to ride during the day. We click a flashing light to the breastplate, amongst other safety night riding gear for both us and our horses so that we all can enjoy a fun and most of all a safe ride. This is just one of the many uses for the breastplate.The breastplate runs a bit long in chest to belly; but with an additional hole, it fits perfectly.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price Super happy with this breastplate. It is rather long on the chest strap, but I just punched some extra holes and we are good to go. It has fleece on the chest where the running martingale attaches that may be a little difficult to keep clean but is not personally a concern of mine. The leather is nice for the price and the martingale attachment is nice and long. My only complaint would be that the buckles are a little difficult to work with, but once it's adjusted you don't have to mess with them so it's not a big deal.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! This breastplate has very good quality for the price it's listed at. Matches perfectly with my other tack too! The only complaint is that the strap that connects to the girth is VERY long. Like I had to punch almost four holes to get it at the right place, but at least it's fixable.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! I bought two of these for my jumpers for schooling. They're great quality after you oil them a few times. They fit my 17.1hh stallion and my 16.2hh gelding fairly well after a few adjustments. I may end up using them at shows.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cracked leather I was so excited to get this in the mail for my green jumper! I've never owned a breastplate before, so I was happy to see Smartpak's great price on this one. Although I knew it wouldn't be extremely nice, I didn't expect the leather to crack when I was first adjusting it. :( I did like the elastic and hardware. it's overall an okay buy for the price, but I was disappointed in the leather quality.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price it doesn't get any better! I bought this originally to school in but it turned out to be pretty enough to show in. I never thought I'd get compliments on it and people can't believe it was cheap when they ask! I've had it for almost five years and its still going strong, thought I don't use it every day. It really fits any horse also have a smaller 15.3 horse and 16.2 and it fits both.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PHENOMENAL breastplate for the price This breastplate is great for the price. You can't beat it! I probably wouldn't show in it, but it is great to school in! I have a 16.3hh tb and it fits her great. I do wish the elastic came in different color options though. But it is very conservative.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice This really seems to be good quality for the price. I haven't used it yet because I've been riding western lately! That is why I gave 3 stars so far.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value This breastplate is better than I expected for the price. I agree with other reviews that say the strap that goes to the girth is rediculously long, almost to the point that I cannot use the snap with it even after punching multiple holes. Granted, I do not ride a very large horse, but the horse size for my 16hh TB/WB mare is marginally too big. One exception is the running martengale attachment, which is almost too short. The leather is not terrible, although on a light colored horse it may rub off some color when the horse sweats. The hardware is very high quality.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Schooling or Show I have been looking at elastic breastplates for a while now, and was surprised to find one this cheap. I figured I'd give it a try, since SmartPak has a great return policy. I am in love with this item! The leather isn't the best, but I wasn't expecting Antares quality at this price. The elastic is pretty heavy duty, as are the snaps. Can't wait for spring and summer to roll around so I can use it more than the once per week I am now!
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made, very adjustable Very nice material, well made and feels durable, easy to adjust to fit. Would not fit a cob or large pony. Had to punch a few holes to fit my 15.2 gelding but fits the bigger horses great too. We don't use the martingale so it would have been nice to be able to purchase at a lower price without but we stuck it in the tack room in case we need it later.Good product, Good price!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I don't recomment this Poor quality, stiff leather, made in India. The only good quality part was the elastic! I returned it and I love Smartpak because they are so good about taking things back and refunding money!
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the Price While this breastplate certainly isn't fancy, it will get the job done and look nice doing it. It was a bit big for even my giant 17h gelding, but that issue was quickly solved with a few extra holes made by a leather punch. This breastplate seems very durable and of reasonably good quality for the price. Perfect for schooling!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this for my 16h Dutch Warmblood mare, and it fits her well. I don't love the quality of the leather, and the fleece part in the front actually gave my mare a rub and irritated her skin after only a few rides. While it served its purpose until I was able to get a saddle that fit better, its now just hanging in my tack room. If I needed to use a breastplate on my mare daily, I would spend a bit more and get one that didn't irritate my mare so easily.
Date published: 2011-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my 16.1 QH well. Looks like it should have cost more than it did!
Date published: 2011-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok I have to say right off the bat, this is a good breastplate for the money. I have been using it for a few months now and I haven't had any problems with the elastic stretching out. The middle strap that goes back to the girth is comically long, but this is easily fixed with a hole punch. I purchased the cob size, which works fine on both my 16.1 H narrow TB and my 16 H stocky paint. Overall, I like the style. The buckles are unusual and a little inconvenient, but if you are just usuing this on one horse and don't need to adjust often, this shouldn't be a problem.All that said, I would not recommend this breastplate to anyone with a grey horse, or any light colored horse for that matter. My paint is white at the shoulders, and where the leather attaches to the tops of the elastic pieces, he ends up with purple/brown-ish stains every time I ride. I understand that this is likely just the dye from the rather inexpensive leather coming off when he sweats, and it comes off easily with a bath, but it is pretty unsightly.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Adjustable I have used this breastplate on everything from 12.2 ponies to chunky 16 hand guys. Punch a couple of extra holes and you have a very nnie breastplate for the price. I've had mine for 7 months and it hasn't stretched as much as I expected.
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality I was surprised by the good quality of both the leather and the elastic. The clips seem sturdy too, and the swivel feature is very nice. So far we've used it on several pretty tough xc courses and for schooling, and it is holding up well. The ony criticism I have is that the elastic seems short - or the straps to the saddle could be longer. I bought a full size for my skinny 16.2 TB, and it is already a bit tight. However, I'm sure that a leather shop will be able to redo the straps to give us more room as he grows.
Date published: 2011-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered as a gift I ordered this breastplate as a gift for a friend of mine. i had it shipped to me first to see if the quality was good and if it would be something she liked. The Leather quality was excellent! Vey soft and supple, and lovely rich brown color. The elastic was subtle and had just enough "give" to it. The fleece padding on the disk was conservatively put on, but i guess it;s better than nothing. they stitched a plastic cover onto the fleece which could be a pain to take off if it gets stuck in the stitching... overall seems to be an excellent value for the price.Though it does have conway buckles, many higher end breastpplates use conway buckles because they are more durable than regular buckles - it has been my experience that many times the tongue of a regular buckle will fall off at a very bad time!!! Anyway, everything looks fine, very good quality. Seems like it will hold up to daily schooling.
Date published: 2011-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad for the price I got this for my jumper mare who tends to jump out of her tack on a regular basis. It fits her well (although I did take off the clip at the girth and only had to punch 2 extra holes) and seems to be quite good quality for the money. The only 2 things I didn't like are the buckles (they're the punch hole style, more often seen on western tack) and the plastic that is sewn over the fleece on the center of the chest of the breastplate. However, that being said, I'm considering buying another and taking it to the leather repair shop down the street from my university to see if he can alter it to 'normal' buckles...it would make it look exactly like other breastplates that cost upwards of $150.
Date published: 2011-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it I received this yesterday, and it's clearly low quality. I am returning it. I wish SmartPak would put up a better photo and description. First of all, there are no traditional buckles - they are the "pin in hole" type, which are not that secure IMO. The snaps feel lightweight and cheap, and I can just imagine them getting rusty after a few rides in the rain. The leather is OK - indian leather. The elastic seems fine. My least favorite part is the cheap hardware, followed by the pin attachments, which should've been in the item's description.
Date published: 2011-03-04
  • 2016-08-27T11:57CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_6539, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders