Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Effervescent Brush Cleaner

Champion Brush Co.
- Item #13736
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Effervescent Brush Cleaner is the perfect solution for all your grimy brushes! Effervescent Brush Cleaner strips brushes of dirt, debris, bacteria, and fungi. Trapped hairs loosen and easliy comb out. Simply place an Effervescent Brush Cleaner in a gallon bucket with water, wait 8 minutes, then air dry.

Favorite Features

  • Leaves brushes sparkling clean
  • Fresh citrus scent
  • Keeps your horse clean and your brushes sanitary
  • Made in the USA

Sizing It Up

2 packets.

Customers Also Shopped For
Fine replacement blade set, precision ground high carbon ...
Fine replacement blade set, precision ground high carbon steel, satin chrome corrosion inhibitive finish detachable blade fully adjusts to 5 cutting positions from #9, #10, #15, #30, and #40. For use with the Moser Arco or the Chromado clippers. Model ...
#10 Medium Pro Series detachable blade set, fits ...
#10 Medium Pro Series detachable blade set, fits Wahl rechargeable cord/cordless model 8550-types and model 9590-types. Includes checkpoint and sensormatic label, oil, and instruction booklet. Cut length of 1/8". Made in USA.
Give your horse a healthy coat with Wahna ...
Give your horse a healthy coat with Wahna Win Complete Coat Care. Conditions, moisturizes and hydrates both the skin and the coat while creating a beautiful shine without harsh silicones. An important addition to summer grooming when frequent bathing depletes ...
Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John's ...
Natural ingredients like marigold, carrot and St. John's wort regenerate and restore damaged skin areas and stimulate hair growth on bold spots. Bio-sulphurous fluid soothes bothersome itching and rubbing tendencies with lasting effect. Favorite Features Effective against summer eczema and ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect ...
A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect and promote healthy skin. The Dermacloth is an innovative concept in rinse-free cleaning and management of skin problems. Dermacloth is commonly used for rain scald, scratches, ringworm, girth itch, cracked hooves and ...
The Tail Tamer's Economy Scraper is an after-bathing ...
The Tail Tamer's Economy Scraper is an after-bathing essential. Durable plastic assure it will withstand the rigors of life at the barn. Fun assorted colors make it easy to fin in your tank trunk amongst the rest of your supplies! ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Effervescent Brush Cleaner is rated 4.827586206896552 out of 5 by 87.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! Absolutely love this brush cleaner, my brushes look brand new after a quick scrub with this!I just wish it would come in bigger packages!
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from freshness up Cleaned the brushes of dirt and gave them a fresh smell, not the barn smell.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm Impressed I actually only bought this product to qualify for free shipping. I was pleasantly surprised. Let me start by saying my brushes weren't extremely dirty to begin. I always make an effort to remove as much dirt and hair after each groom. I started with a bucket of warm water and added the product. It imediately fizzed. I added my rubber curries, plastic items and hoof picks into the water. I used a shallow container to soak the bristles on my natural fiber and hair brushes. I ended up walking away for about a half hour and then coming back to rinse. I set everything out in the sun to dry. The following day, my brushes felt clean and grime free! The remaining hairs were loosened and easy to remove. It was gentle on my natural brushes although I can't say how it handles on wood handles. I was too much of a whimp to try submerging them. It's not a micrale product. I don't think it would bring brushes back from the grave. But for me, the best feature was how clean and odor free my brushes are. The product is sold as a 2 pack. I will definately repurchase this in the future once I finish it up.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Effective This product is a super easy method to clean all my grooming tools - I put all my brushes and combs into the bucket and they all came out perfectly clean! Please bare in mind it won't get hair out of the curry comb, you still have to do a little work!
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I just used this for the first time last weekend, and it worked great. Brushes are cleaner than any other method I've tried. I will definitely keep using this.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets brushes clean, slight fizziness Please note that the packaging is different than listed in the photo. They come in plastic packs, which is not as well designed as the ones shown. They got brushes very clean; I put the brushes in the water first, then added this cleanser. The product inside looks similar to dishwasher powder and fizzes slightly. After letting my brushes soak for the full 8 minutes and rinsing them, they looked like new and even more sanitary.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff Made my brushes look 100% brand new and they're all atleast 7 years old
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best for cleaning natural bristles I have three natural bristle brushes and natural brushes seem to collect the most dust, dirt, mud, and sweat. They are the best at grooming, but they are difficult to clean and and get dirty rather quickly. This stuff is the best at cleaning with out damaging the wood or bristles and they are fresh scented now. Other methods of cleaning brushes damage the wood or natural bristles. Make sure you rinse the brush after cleaning them, if you just pull the brush out of the cleaner water then it dries funky and isnt truly clean. You have to rinse after cleaning if you want the clean results
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works FAST!!!! Cleaned all of Hank's brushes in one evening with two packets of cleaner. Really easy and did a great job! Would recommend placing the brushes in the water before adding the cleaner as it does not effervesce for very long.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works!! This brush cleaner works amazingly! So simple and quick to use while effectively cleaning the brushes to look brand new. I was super impressed the first time I used it!
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders on brushes Cleaned older (well-used) brushes to a like new state. Worked well on both natural and synthetic fibers.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clean Brushes! Great product! Be sure to put your brushes in the water before the cleaner to get full effect. Brushes will be dust and dirt free within minutes.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective! I used to wash my brushes in hot water with a bit of liquid dish soap. Was so happy to find a product especially made for the task. In just a short time, this product gets all of my grooming brushes clean and looking fabulous. I will continue to use this product.
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job completely I have tried bleach, dawn, and other things to clean my brushes, but this works the best. I had a stiff natural bristle brush that had mud, sweat, and dirt deep in the bristles that nothing could clean until I tried this. I needed to clean my hoof pick brushes after thrush, and my stiff brush so bad, and this made them look like I just ordered them and taken them out of the bag. The brushes are brightly colored, and overall clean looking. This brush cleaner works fantastic.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like new After a case of rain rot I wanted to make sure all my brushes/combs were super clean. I bought the brush cleaner and everyone in the barn commented that they looked like new after I used the brush cleaner.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty cool stuff It does what it says! It seems a bit pricey for a cleaning product, but I don't know of any better alternative for cleaning brushes. Not bad for using just a couple times a year.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I let my brushes soak an extra half hour and they all came out good as new. I'm impressed and will buy again!
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this stuff - but why so expensive? I've been using this stuff for 10 years or so and there is nothing else out there that works as well at getting your brushes clean - but why so expensive? Price seems to really have gone up. I'll still be using it though, maybe not so often ~ love SmartPak !
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans brushes quickly I use this about every month or so and it always works fantastically on my brushes. All my brushes are natural fibers with wood backs and there has been no shedding of bristles and I am able to get my horse extra clean.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great totally thrilled, made my old brushes look like new. so easy to use, will be more willing to clean my brushes more often.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked exactly as described I've always used other soaps and products to clean my brushes and combs. I decided to try this product as my horse was having a bout of summer fungus and I needed to quickly clean my brushes. It worked exactly as described. All of my brushes, currys and combs were completely clean. I'm definitely using this again.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and effective! I've used this product for several years now. I try to clean my brushes 2-3 times a year. But always after any bouts of skin funk. I'm very picky about grooming tools and this helps me keep my brushes in like new condition. It amazes me how this cleaning solution literally melts away the dirt & built up grime. I used it again last night and just started chucking everything in, if it fit in the bucket it went in. I had it all mixed in, even a rope halter. Its all drying now and everything looks brand new! Couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleanest ever with no effort. At first I thought it was a little pricey when I wash my brushes in microtek shampoo and they come out fine. But, once I realized how easy to use it is and how amazingly clean the brushes were, I was sold. I would recommend this to anyone who is as OCD about cleanliness as I am- well worth the money.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brush cleaner pretty good got my brushes clean. I thought it would effervesce more so I think I soaked them longer than package directed, but, it did get those brushes remarkably clean.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed. These little gems had my brushes sparkling! I always get annoyed by the film left by bleach products and worried about their harshness. These effervescing cleansers do all the hard work and leave no trace on your brushes. My curries, stiff brushes, soft brushes and hoofpicks have never been so clean. Following the directions on the packet, I even used them on my nice wooden-handled brushes!
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets Brushes CLEAN I have two different set of brushes that I use, one on a daily basis and the other when we haul (shows, clinics, etc.), the brushes I use every day were EXTREMELY dirty and were in desperate need of being cleaned and it was about time for the other set to be cleaned as well. I decided to go ahead and wash each set together and one pack a set was all it took to remove every last bit of grime, grit, and dirt from the deepest nook and cranny on all of my brushes. The only problem that I had with this product is the slight odor it gave off when you first pour it into the warm water. Other than that I LOVE this product and will be sure to keep it on hand from now on!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough cleaner & time saver With a dozen dirty brushes (from course to finishing face and mane & tail brushes) and no time to spare, I merely filled a bucket with warm water and dumped two packets of the brush cleaner into the water, gave it a quick stir and went about my other chores. After 10 minutes, I was amazed at how the dirt and funk was off of ALL brushes. After rinsing and letting them dry, I discovered there's no dust left in the brushes and even the build up on the base of the mane and tail brushes is gone. I'm totally impressed.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfu Product This is the best way I've found to clean brushes in three decades of riding. I have some brushes that are almost 30 years old, and Brush Therapy leaves them clean down to the backing and looking brand new. They smell fresh. I just wish SmartPak would list this product under its trade name instead of just "brush cleaner." I would have purchased it sooner! And it was a very nice surprise to find out that it's shipped in sets of two--not one as I'd thought. Bonus!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as described I have used these packets to clean my brushes about once a year or so. They are easy to use and work great. Taking care of my Hill Salmon brushes has helped them to last a very long time. Some of mine are well over ten years old. Cleaning them, and then drying them properly (bristles down) makes them look like new again! It is hard to rate durability, since this is a single use product. But I gave it five stars since it extends the durability of my brushes.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for the barn! Unbelievable! My old expensive brushes were like new again! A must have! Used 1 packet for 3 brushes.
Date published: 2012-09-28
  • 2016-10-23T11:58CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_3736, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders