Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Effax Leather Cream Soap

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20819
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Effax Leather Cream Soap cleans and cares for the leather in one single step with no water required! Get great-looking leather that's supple and durable for years to come with this easy and convenient formula.

Favorite Features

  • Provides a pleasant leather surface with a good grip, without any danger of staining other equipment
  • Flic-Flac bottle design allows you to hang it up in the tack room and makes it easy to apply in just the right dosage
  • Contains high quality ingredients such as soya-kali-soap and lanolin

Sizing It Up

400ml

Made in Germay

Customers Also Shopped For
Lexol Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time ...
Description:
Lexol Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time classic favorite amongst many equestrians due to its fantastic reputation of pro-longing the life of your leather, andProtecting your tack investment. This formula bothSoftens leather and helps prevent cracking. Lexol understands the ...
HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
Description:
HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...
Leather Therapy Laundry Solution is a one-two cleaning ...
Description:
Leather Therapy Laundry Solution is a one-two cleaning punch for riding apparel and tack! Clean and condition natural and synthetic leather, fabric, and sheepskin items in your washing machine. Voted Horse Journal's product of the year! Favorite Features Restores theSoft ...
Belvoir Tack Conditioner SpraySoftens, preserves and shines saddlery ...
Description:
Belvoir Tack Conditioner SpraySoftens, preserves and shines saddlery leather. Contains a pure, clear quality soap formulated from vegetable oils including coconut oil and glycerine. Formulated for regular use to condition,Protect and supple leather. Favorite Features Specially designed bottle which offers ...
Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner ...
Description:
Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner is an award winner from the inside out to make leather stronger and last longer. Eradicates mold and mildew problems. Shortens leather break-in period. Leather remains supple and beautiful with increased strength. Leather Therapy Restorer Conditioner ...
Leather CPR Cleaner & Conditioner prolongs the life ...
Description:
Leather CPR Cleaner & Conditioner prolongs the life of leather. All-in-one leather rejuvenating cream. The natural cleansers in Leather CPR Cleaner & Conditioner safely melt dirt in seconds! Non-greasy natural lanolin penetrates leather toSoften & restore suppleness. Made in the ...
Leather Therapy Wash safely and effectively deep cleans ...
Description:
Leather Therapy Wash safely and effectively deep cleans even the toughest grime problem without hardening or darkening leather. Concentrated micro-suds lift out embedded dirt leaving leather clean with a wonderfullySoft feel. No buildup in tolling areas to worry about with ...
out of 5
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Effax Leather Cream Soap is rated 4.875 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Effax! Love all the Effax products! This one has a lid with a hook, so you can pop it on the bottom and hang it from the bridle hook which makes it easier to squeeze out the product and clean. Use this to clean and condition my leather.
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well!! This is my second bottle, it lasts and works really well!!
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and convenient for daily use. My must have product for my daily training program to keep boots and tack clean, supply snd sweat free.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really cleans! Wanted something quick to clean tack with after riding. This stuff works great. Dab some on a sponge and wipe away. Does not leave any residue and dries quickly. I may have used a bit more than necessary, but I couldn't read the directions as they are printed in ultra-microscopic print which would have required a trip to the car to fetch my reading glasses and a magnifying glass LOL - hence the four star rating. I will use this in conjunction with the Effax leather cleaner.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product....the smell, the feel of the leather after using it. I will definitely buy it again.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells good and works great I use this on my schooling boots and it's kept them in great condition. It cleans and conditions leather really nicely, all in one step. My favorite thing about this soap is the clean smell. The hanging bottle with the flip cap is really convenient in the tack room. The only downfall is it seemed to make my saddle a little slippery, so I mostly use it on my boots and bridle.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice option when water isn't available Cleaning tack with water in the freezing winter barn (even hauling the water into the heated tack room) is not very desirable, so this is a nice option to have when it's really cold or I'm in a hurry. I don't feel like it cleans as well as some other products and it does start to build up over time, so I find I do have to still take my tack home once a week and do a really good thorough cleaning.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome polish..but i really love how easily my boots are clean and shiny when most polishes have a matte finish. the only con about this is that my friend used used this also and it rubbed black stains on her grey horse's sides. other than that I love the product!
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works really good Smells great and is easy to use.I will order it again.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to use! This product is so,easy and quick to use, and does a great job on cleaning my boots after a trip to Laramie River Ranch in Colorado!!
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for black tack I use this on all my tack, but it's great for black tack. Sometimes when I use a heaver conditioner, like Liederbalsm, on black tack it either doesn't soak in or the black bleeds, this solves the problem. Great that you don't need water and love the hanging cap design.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all in one cleaner and conditioner! I've been using this product for 6 months. Its great for lazy people like me who don't love cleaning tack. Since this product cleans and conditions at the same time I definitely use it more than any of my other tack cleaners. It keeps my saddle, bridle, and tall boots in tip top shape. I try to use this product on my tack about once per week. Then once every 2-4 weeks I use the Effax Lederbasalm to deeply condition. I love the cap on this product. You can attach it to the end of the tube and hang it upside down so its ready to dispense with no drip.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love this soap! Super easy to use, leaves all my tack feeling soft supple and clean.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Nice Keeps my expensive tack looking and feeling great. Doesn't stain soft leather like other products.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Effax, what more can I say. Just a great product always.
Date published: 2014-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! I live in Central California where conditions are DRY.  Even our winters are dry. Frequent conditioning of tack is necessary as our summer heat dries tack out quickly.  I have my bottle of soap hanging on my bridle rack.  I actually do fill a small bucket of water so that I can rinse the sponge and slightly dilute the soap.  Water isn't necessary, but I find that since I use the soap daily, I don't need very much of it.  I simply dampen my tack sponge, squirt some soap directly on the sponge, and wipe my tack clean.  Once I've finished (a simple 5 minute job), I do take a clean cloth and wipe off any extra product which seems to keep it from building up.My bridles haven't ever been this soft and clean.  Everyone few weeks, I also use a hardier conditioner, but that's even easier to apply as my bridles are extra clean all the time!  
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the soap! The soap cleans leather without making it sticky and leaving white residue. 
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Just got this stuff today and immediately tried it on all my tack. I loved it!  Made my saddle soft yet grippy.  Also made my tall boots look better than they have in a while!  Definitely recommend if you want something thats quick to use and leaves your leather products looking and feeling like butter. 
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product only have used it once, but the product is liquid/creamy similar to lotion making it very easy to apply
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy! Love this stuff!I have it hanging on my bridle hook and it's so easy to grab a sponge and clean my tack right away after riding. In the dry climate here I love that I don't have to use both tack cleaner and conditioner to keep the leather nice. When's it's humid it can get a bit tacky but it's worth having the moisture when it's dry out.Love the ease and access of the bottle. I have used most of it already, but I think you could make it last longer if you use it sparingly.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tack Cleaner This is my go to cleaner for my tack. I love the ease of applying- just squeeze product onto sponge and apply to leather. Leaves tack feeling soft and supple but gives a decent amount of grip. One of my favorite features is the hook built into the bottle so that you can hang it and just squeeze onto a sponge. Thank you to whoever thought of that! Genius feature! The only thing is be careful hanging it when it is 100+ degrees outside, it will drip out of the bottle. I follow with the Effax Leather Balsam every so often and the Effax Mildew-Free.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely fabulous product. Will recommend to others and reorder for myself
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome & easy daily leather cleaner! I was using HorseTech's ReitSport Saddle Soap, which smells great, but it was drying out my Amerigo Vega dressage saddle to the point my leather was "squeaking" when riding; very annoying. I started using this Effax Leather Cream Soap -- recommended by my local tack shop -- and I cannot believe the difference! This cream soap smells great, goes on SO easy (no water needed!) and wipes off clean. It doesn't leave a "tacky" feel but still gives you a nice "stick" in the saddle, so awesome! I highly recommend this product for your daily tack cleaner! I still pair it with Antares Leather Conditioner every few weeks and Antares Leather Oil ever other month or as needed.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product As with other Effax products this is an excellent cleaner for leather.I have two Hermes saddles and will use only the best-and this is it.
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome! In southern California tack dries out very quickly. This cleans leather without stripping it dry nor leaving it goopy. An excellent one step cleaner for daily use. As a tack cleaning junky I HIGHLY recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite one-step cleaner This has been my favorite one-step cleaner for daily use for a long time. It goes on easy with a sponge and leaves leather clean and soft. The hanging bottle makes it easy to use. It also does NOT remove the black dye from tack (e.g. black dressage saddles), unlike some other products.About once a month, I also use a two-step process of Effax Leather Combi -- which strips off residue -- followed by Effax Lederbalsam.
Date published: 2012-08-14
  • 2016-08-29T11:40CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_10819, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders