Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Der Dau Boot Stretch

Der Dau
- Item #18999
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Give long break-in times the boot!

The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helps soften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula will soften even the stiffest boot or shoe, making it so comfortable you'd swear it was custom-made! 8oz

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Equine Couture Whales Bamboo Socks are too ...
Description:
The Equine Couture Whales Bamboo Socks are too cute to pass up! These bamboo knee high socks are created a from an eco-friendly bamboo blend, wear them with your favorite casual tall boots!   Favorite Features Cute whale patterns Arch support, reinforced toe ...
The Noble Outfitters XtremeSoft Boot Socks offer cushioned ...
Description:
The Noble Outfitters XtremeSoft Boot Socks offer cushioned comfort on the foot bed while still maintaining breathability. This innovative sock is especially great for hot weather riding with stretch mesh inserts that aid in increasing airflow. Favorite Features Cushioned comfort ...
For additional comfort and fit, the Dubarry footbed ...
Description:
For additional comfort and fit, the Dubarry footbed is high-tech luxury with added hygiene. Favorite Features Sculpted heel area for support and EVA padding provides cushioning Wicks moisture from foot and inhibits odour and fungus Biomechanical forefoot flex grooves to ...
100% CoolMax double-layer AriatHeavy Duty Sport Socks wick ...
Description:
100% CoolMax double-layer AriatHeavy Duty Sport Socks wick moisture 14 times better than cotton. AriatHeavy Duty Sport Socks offer superior all-day comfort, enhanced with an elasticized support band at ankle and arch. Reinforced toe and heel makes the AriatHeavy Duty ...
The Ariat Slim Line Sport Socks give superior ...
Description:
The Ariat Slim Line Sport Socks give superior all-day comfort, enhanced with an elasticized support band at ankle and arch. The Ariat Slim Line Sport Socks has a reinforced toe and heel for extra durability. Moisture wicking CoolMax fabric of ...
The Tredstep Pure UltraCool Socks provide an Ultra ...
Description:
The Tredstep Pure UltraCool Socks provide an Ultra Cool feeling without added bulk and ensure an all day freshness. The socks are made with Pearl Cotton which is an ultra fine, sheer natural fabric that has a high absorbency, strength ...
The two-pack knee socks from Horseware are the ...
Description:
The two-pack knee socks from Horseware are the prefect addition to your fun sock collection! Wear them under your favorite casual footwear or tall boots, and match them back to the Hoseware collection!Favorite Features Fun horse and stripe patterns Soft ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Der Dau Boot Stretch is rated 4.7317073170731705 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It worked! After a couple of applications, the boots that I had planned to sell can now be ridden in! I sprayed both the inside and outside of the boot where I wanted it to stretch, and reapplied about 10 minutes later when the first application had been soaked up by the leather.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! This stuff really does work to stretch boots enough to get them on. My boots were so tight in the ankle I almost crushed the heel cap getting them on. Now they go on easily even though I have to use the spray every time. Now that I have used half of the bottle, one of the boots goes on with no spray. I hope that soon they both will.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed I bought this for a pair of show tall boots I have. Before when I zipped them up I would lose all feeling in my feet. I was a little skeptical of this product but I gave it a try and it really works. I can walk around all day with my boots on now.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product to have around I have purchased two bottles of this product over the last year or so and it works well. One thing I have noticed is that if your boots get wet and you let them air dry they will shrink and you will have to apply the Boot Stretch again. Not a big issue as this product is reasonably priced and it goes a long ways. It worked great on a pair of Ovation Gold tall boots I purchased nearly 10 years ago, but does not seem to work as well on my new Ariat's.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not much change I used this product on Ariat Quantum Crowne Pro Field Boots and didn't notice a significant amount of stretch in the calf.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product and Great Service I bought a pair of boots to fit my large calves. The young woman in the store was excellent. She talked me out of a pair I thought fit, helped me select the right size, and told me the boot stretcher would work to make them fit well. When I received them I thought OMG these will never fit. But the boot stretcher works like a charm and I have a pair of tall boots that look like they were made for me! Couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works!! Like some others have said, I was pretty skeptical of this product, despite the great reviews, but I ordered it out of desperation. My $400 ariat show boots (an extreme splurge for my family to buy), were way too tight, but only four years old, so I sure wasn't going to replace them! At a clinic last week, after about a minute of having them on, pain was shooting down my calf, and I actually had to ride with one half way unzipped! I put this on the inside calf for the first time yesterday and walked around for a while, and was limping by the end of the process. Today I put the boots back on, and there was absolutely no pain!! Not at all! They're still pretty snug, but I can actually fully use my lower leg now. I plan to do a third application tomorrow to get it just a bit looser. So thrilled this worked!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well Used it on the clad of a new pair of DeNiros and it stretched them a little but. Not as much I I needed them to stretch though. I had to put the spray then oil. Then I heated it up with a hair dryer and wore them till they cooled.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought some very expensive custom boots last spring and was very disappointed when I could barley zip them up. Even after I got them zipped up my foot would fall asleep (not very helpful when riding). I applied this product two times and my boots now fit perfectly. This product is awesome and has a great price. I would encourage anyone with boots that are too tight to try this product first before buying new boots or expensive alterations.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!! I can't believe how well this worked! I bought some very expensive boots second hand but I couldn't get them on over my calves. Literally minutes after applying this spray I was fitting into my boots. More spraying and they got more and more comfortable. Thank you for carrying this product! Attached is a pic about half an hour after application.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! I inherited several pairs of custom field boots that needed real TLC. I tried the Der Dau bootstretch to soften them up and give them some flexibility--it gave the boots the stretch and liability I needed!
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! Used this spray on some very narrow calf Ariat boots with the stretcher. Really helped loosen the leather.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All you need is one application! I recently purchased La Mundial customs... I was extremely disappointed to discover the left calf to be significantly smaller then the right one. I read the reviews of this product and decided to give it a try! One application (a few sprays) on the inside of the calf and the boots fit perfectly (and I can feel my toes now). I will admit I was a bit skeptical of this product even though the reviews were wonderful. However, I am VERY happy I purchased this product and recommend it to anyone with tight boots :-)
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saved my boots for me I broke my ankle and that leg was too big for my De Niros, which had fit me like custom boots. The Der Dau Boot Stretch worked like a charm. I had even taken the boots to a repair shop to have them stretched. The pro failed. The Der Dau did not!
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I bought this because a set of closures on a pair of boots was a touch too short to snap up when the boots were on. This helped the closure tab stretch just enough so that I could get it closed. It's a good deal for the money because it only takes a little bit of the spray to work.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for boot owners!!! A pair of my zip up tall boots tend to be too tight to zip after I've been on my feet all day. I spray the boot stretch spray, and then I'm able to zip them up all the way. this is a must have for ALL boot owners!
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!! This product was remarkable. It saved me $300 on a new pair of boots. My daughter had a growth spurt and, while the feet have not yet caught up, she had trouble zipping her barely used, 6 month old boots. We sprayed this on them, she wore them around the barn one Saturday and voila, a custom fit.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Total Money Saver This Christmas I ordered a pair of patent top semi-custom DeNiros. I have a small calf, however I am also runner and consequently have very pronounced calf muscles. Thus, when I got my boots this spring they were so tight that I could barely zip them up. I thought that I would have to eat the $900 dollars I put into them until I read the reviews about this product and decided to give it a try! It worked wonders! In about 3 applications my boots were fully broken in at the ankles and the product allowed the calf area to stretch and mold to my leg. They are now the most comfortable boots I've ever ridden in (I've ridden in Ariats for the last 8+ years), and they also look completely custom!
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well I actually got this to use on several leather high heals in an effort to make them more comfortable. It did the job! You have to commit to spraying and walking until the leather is dry.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Had Petrie boots that were killing my legs after months of attempting to break them in. Finally tried this product... and viola! No more blisters!! Only had to use two applications. Recommend to anyone buying a stiff dressage boot!
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Der Dau boot stretch Pretty good stuff - didn't need it on all parts of my boots, just the top - seemed to work pretty well.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works! I bought this for my husband to try to salvage a pair of expensive work boots that were a tad too narrow. So far, he's used it a number of times and is seeing results. Better than wasting $100!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!!!! I recently pulled out my pair of Ariat field boots that had been sitting in their box for quite a while. I couldn't get the zippers up, so after reading some reviews, I decided to try Der Dau boot stretch spray. It works! I did have to spray the boots and then get them zipped up & wear them for a while, and I did have to do this several times. I definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually Works I got a pair of tall boots on clearance that were .5" short of what I measured for, but figured they were worth the chance. With the help of this boot spray and some old fashioned exercise, they fit with no problem! The spray helped my boots from being unable to zip up fully with thick breeches, to a snug but comfortable fit with any riding attire. Major win!
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works and so easy! This is a great product. I wish I had found it when I first started breaking in my Dressage boots. I used lambswool padding on my ankles for months and after using this spray twice, my boot are comfortable with just socks.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This works great. I noticed a difference on the first application!
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I had gotten a real deal on a barely used pair of Ariat Monacos and I was so excited! The only thing was that they were cutting off the circulation in my feet and it took me over 10 minutes just to zip one boot, getting a nasty blister on my finger. On the next boot I broke the zipper pull off! I was desperate to make these fit so I took a warm bath in them and wore them until they dried (over my socks and breeches) then a couple days later used this spray. after spraying once and walking around, I could zip them up without assistance. after the second spray I could zip them easily and they look and feel custom! I only used about half the bottle so I plan on using this to break in the schooling boots I just bought. Amazing, boot-saving product!
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My husband was wanting me to take my tall boots to our local shoe repair to have them stretched as he was sick of pulling them off of me. The shoe repair man did not think he could stretch them much and was trying to convince me to put a zipper in my Vogel custom boots. I was horrified. So, I found this product on SmartPak and used it - it really works. The first time I sprayed it lightly and it worked a little. The second time I put a heavier mist over the tight area and the boots came off with ease. We are so pleased!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does work! I was breaking in a pair of tall boots and the zipper broke after 3 rides. When Smartpak replaced the broken tall boots, I had them add a thing of this boot spray. After 3 rides of using the spray, there was a huge difference in how broken in the second set was (that I used the spray with) vs the first pair of exact same boots that I didn't use the spray with. You just spray on the inside of your boots and wear.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can now keep my new boots! This is a great product. I got new boots as a Christmas gift that were very tight in the calf and needed to be stretched to fit. I bought this product based on other reviews hoping for a miracle. Well, I got one. After 3 applications the boots fit so much better and now I can keep them! I am very happy with this product and would definately buy it again.
Date published: 2012-01-17
  • 2016-09-26T12:32CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_8999, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders